12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 01:54 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

The reason why Nokia decided to make rootsh small was to make the file accessible faster.

Pre-requisites - Rootsh installed, fdisk, flasher-3.5, latest firmware (.bin) and some guts
I lol-ed at bolded part. laugh.gif

There might be a limitation in Maemo 5 for the /home/ partititon.I'll wait for few more person to test it out before deciding.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 02:50 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BLABLAsheep @ Jun 20 2010, 02:20 AM)
Hi guys, would like to ask, is Sygic GPS works like Garmin Mobile?
Yup.It does provide turn to turn navigation & everything but the maps aren't so updated like Garmin.
We don't have any other choice since Nokia's own OVI Maps don't provide turn to turn navigation for N900.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 03:31 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 20 2010, 03:28 AM)
Finally got the n900 version of W3M CLI text-based web browser working, great for low bandwith use. As it presents the web as full-text, with no images or other media elements, it's blindingly fast, even on 2G.

Good for CLI/Terminal Junkies and people who can live with text-based web for the sake of speed and low packet traffic.

It's about 1/3 the size of the Lynx browser, and is working far better too. A great find for anybody interested (Only hard nix geeks need apply lol).
Share with me please.
Been looking for text based browser only but none seems to work for me.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 11:42 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 20 2010, 11:21 AM)
Yes, I can verify that MSCIM screws up with the VKB and normal input in general.

I persomally use Emacs for Japanese input as it's capable of Chinese, Japanese Korean, Thai and a lot of other language input ALL by itself and it doesn't mess up my system too much - plus it can be used for programming if I ever swing that way.

But yeah, you'll have to live with minor inconveniences like Cut-Paste and those wonderous Emacs shortcuts lol. Though between Emacs and W3M, my fingers have gotten used to acrobatics edi.

And for some unknown reason, I feel a heck of a lot more productive surfing the web in W3M lol. Even though it does not:

1) save passwords.
2) show webpages properly lol.
3) play nice with LYN's reply-page (only can quick-reply lol, else it will complain of missing files hmm)

But I guess we've been spoiled by the automation in modern browsers anyway lol.
I want text-only browser for it's speed & low data download tongue.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 07:07 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Anyone here tried compiling Navit on N900?
Spend a long time on this but still nowhere closer to make it work.

For those who want OVI Maps to fully work with N900 might have to wait till N8 release.Since both N8 & N900 both based on QT,there is good chance that Nokia will finally release a proper OVI Maps with turn to turn function at same time.

Found an interesting bug on Nokia Messaging.If you delete the account for Nokia Messaging seems that the Messaging itself will be uninstalled.

Anyone here managed to Yahoo Mail to the email?
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 07:50 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 20 2010, 07:45 PM)
I have problem with my keyboard, I don't know why I don't have virtual keyboard. Another problem is I can't turn on the caps lock on my qwerty keyboard. Each time I press twice the Alt or Ctrl button the screen dissapears automatically. What should I do to solve the problem?

Added on June 20, 2010, 7:47 pmit will appear 'internal error. Conversation application closed'
Have you updated to latest firmware?

Virtual keyboard is disabled by default.
To enable it:
Go to settings -> Text input -> Click the "use virtual keybaord"

Caps lock the arrow up key.

For the conversation application error try to update your firmware 1st.I never had this problem.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 08:23 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 20 2010, 08:16 PM)
I already fixex the setting to use virtual keyboard but still it doesn't come out. The caps lock is working if I only press the arrow up key once but if I press twice the screen dissapears. the same case if I want to type the number,I have to press the blue arrow up key each time I want to type one number. It sucks hey!
Which bring us to my 1st question again.Have you updated to PR 1.2?

Using any chinese character app?

Resin case should be in sale by this week.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 20 2010, 08:24 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 08:49 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 20 2010, 08:28 PM)
How to update it? I really appreciate your help.

Added on June 20, 2010, 8:41 pmWhere to update PR 1.2?
Read 1st page post number 3.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 11:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 20 2010, 11:09 PM)
Yes because free yahoo doesnt support pop mail only yahoo plus support pop to make this works very simple

Register an account here
http://email.nokia.com/account/home.action

then add your yahoo mail here. Then after that on your nokia n900 sign in your nokia messaging account . WALLA yahoo works now with POP
Yet some people saying they successfully added yahoo mail into mail client.

I am using Nokia Messaging now.Trouble is this is a trial service.We may have to pay for it later.That's why I'm considering ditching my Yahoo email now.
Even with Nokia Messaging it's not easy to add Yahoo email.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 21 2010, 01:12 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 21 2010, 12:49 AM)
also problem with registering email account,it keeps rejecting me eventhough I put the correct username and password. N900 is really a crazy device.
Send your phone to me.I'll settle all your problem.

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 21 2010, 01:04 AM)
No problem with google but yahoo.com.
You mean you cannot synch Yahoo email?
If yes then it's known fact that free Yahoo mail don't support POP/IMAP

Only working I know is by getting Nokia Messaging.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 21 2010, 01:14 AM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 21 2010, 02:51 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 21 2010, 12:26 PM)
I heard it's doable through EasyDeb chroot? Ironically lol.

Though for native gcc, it seems you need to get down and dirty by actively breaking Maemo. Obviously it WILL break any future upgrades - if we even have any lol.

Go lepak the dev area on Maemo.Org, IINM there's one thread dedicated on the subject - if you haven't been there already that is.
I rather wait for Docs to Go Premium laugh.gif
Nokia already announced that there will be further update for Maemo5.But only god knows when next update will be released.doh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jun 21 2010, 08:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Daniel89 @ Jun 21 2010, 08:05 PM)
That bad I thought this phone can have GPS system x.x
It does.
Just OVI Maps needs update & Sygic map isn't so updated as garmin
super_evil_alien
post Jun 22 2010, 11:14 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/fring-vide...-network-2.html

Anyone going to try this?
super_evil_alien
post Jun 22 2010, 11:49 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 22 2010, 11:21 AM)
based on my experience it is painful to use resistive touch screen on N900,it slow down my job,sometime I have to hit 10 times on a button
only then it works. Capacitive on Iphone eases my job. I also have to deny the fact that N900 is not lagging but the real story is it lags worse than Iphone. I feel like to throw away this crap to the bin.
Dude,you haven't even update to latest firmware but you're shouting nonsense?
I used my phone with stock speed for over a month.I admit that there will be some lag.WHEN I OPENED MORE THAN 6-7 APPS ONCE.
About the screen,the max time I have to press something is probably 3 times.But for 90% of time just once.

Apple product seems to ok since their principle is "if they cannot make it work,they won't include it"
Prove of it are multitasking,facetime=faceproblem etc.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 22 2010, 11:50 AM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 22 2010, 03:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I second Eiraku's motion to stick this at 1st page laugh.gif
Good comparison with joke.

About iPhone as much as I don't like apple product I do admit that it's a good phone for normal users.However in hand of power user it's nothing more than a newly invented phone in 19th century while N900 is the 21th century phone.

Nokia has clearly stated that N900/Maemo 5 is step 4/5 in order to improve themselves on smartphone market.N9/MeeGo will be the polished final product.N9 will have much more user friendly version of Maemo.

Now you guys should know why I really hate to talk things with iPhone fans.
Usually this is how the discussion will be:

iPhone user : N900 not responsive like iPhone wei.It's not good as iPhone overall.
N900 user : I had to admit N900 isn't perfect.But there somethings that this phone does better.etc ect.
iPhone user : Don't care.N900 still sucks.iPhone x1000 better.

I had this talk over & over again plenty of time.doh.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 22 2010, 03:39 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 22 2010, 04:45 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I wonder why most of the additional language things kill VK?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 22 2010, 04:50 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 22 2010, 06:37 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 22 2010, 04:25 PM)
Lol, Aspire, lol... brows.gif

Now back on track... I see more stable PenPower installation scripts somewhere on Maemo.org. Look for the "HK Firmware screenshots" thread or something like that. Will still kill off the normal virtual keyboard though.

And anyone of you played around with the flash virtual keyboard mock-ups here: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=56129

This guy's has got some really cool ideas on how a proper VKB should look like... And his demo VKB is fairly nice as well, though it's just a demo and does nothing much really. But even the demo was far more accurate and easy to use then any VKB I've ever used, at least the landscape one - even though it was sooooo sloooow.
Ok.About this VKB,I would give 5/5 score for the landscape VKB & 3/5 for potrait version.
I guess most of people here never used pc keyboard like this.But in practical use I think this design in landscape mode will work much better than the "straight" keyboard.
I think the writer for this should make potrait VKB bit similar to the landscape version.His current version is mainly more 1 hand only.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 23 2010, 07:56 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 23 2010, 12:01 AM)
Prob 1: Most prolly ContMerger is not compatible with PR1.2 or something. Check Maemo.org for updates (search Contact Merger).

Prob 2: Not sure, because I use other apps to Play Music and Movies (Symphonie and Media Box).

Prob 3: Use Tracker Config to make tracker SKIP the Nav Audio folder (and any other folder you don't want). Solution #2: Install an alternative player, Symphonie is a good choice and I'm using it personally (due to folder play, and equalizers).

Prob 4: Use Mussorgsky.

-----

For some unknown, obscure reason that truthfully escapes me, I'm really OBSESSIVE over keeping my free rootfs over 75MB lately.

Currently at 78MB, with everything installed. I dipped really close to 75 a moment ago (75.4MB to be precise), and out of OCD I moved the Nokia Maps app files over to /opt/ and symlinked - an old Pre-PR1.2 trick to free rootfs. Not much change in the speed Ovi Maps loads and works, it was kinda slow to begin with lol.

Must have been all those devel apps I've been installing and testing, leaving orphaned libs everywhere. Darnit, should have manually purged all of them. Thankfully everything's still working fine.

How's the rootfs situation with you guys?
I'm keeping mine at 80MB.Magic number for me.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/06/22/nokia-p...ming-june-30th/
I'm as exited as 5 years old child waiting for new toy now laugh.gif

Regarding Stair Dismount and our future plans:

As mentioned in the original post, the other game that will be available on Ovi Store (as soon as possible) is SPiN, the fast-paced 3D shape-matching arcade puzzle game.

The sales of those two games will determine if further titles will be ported to Ovi Store. The math for that determination is simple: if the sales from Ovi Store are higher than the cost of taking one of our guys off some other project to do the port, then further games make sense.

So, the big picture for us is to get these two games out, see what happens and then figure out what to do next. It has been great to see the response on this forum and I personally tip my hat to everyone who's supported both our studio and the platform itself.

And for those who have uploaded Zen Bound to file sharing sites, I hope you someday understand how much damage you were doing in a critical time for the N900, a device you own and apparently want to play games on. Piracy can kill a platform, and right now is the worst time to steal a game if you ever want to see a new one.

This was taken from maemo talk.
Explains itself well.I'm hoping those can afford this game will buy it.Most probably it'll cost you 1 lunch at KFC.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 23 2010, 08:25 AM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 23 2010, 12:59 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Jun 23 2010, 12:55 PM)
conky shows my connection quality is below 30%..
da FOTA update not moving at all.
NSU keeps failling
Megaupload also... wahlaoeh ..internet ar

eh why sometimes microB can't open certain webpages...just stuck..
websites like google can load fast...
This could be ISP problem also.
Reset your modem & try again.

If there's something that I want to complain N900 is I wish Nokia added more RAM for this phone.256MB RAM is ok but anyhting higher than 384MB would have been sweet.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 23 2010, 01:01 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 23 2010, 01:06 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

WITHOUT CACTUS THEME

http://www.2shared.com/file/8akgu3d1/blue-sky_12_all.html

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled