super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 08:06 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 18 2010, 07:56 PM)
thanks for replying bro.

i'm sorry but what is 'conky'.....

anyway, issit theoretically possible that it is because my phone is still new, so need to over charge the battery long only it can last long as it should be?

regrading bg apps, i cleared every window from the display screen.. dont know if there are any hidden apps else running...
and by the way, i do have wlan and bluetooth on all the time..
That's your answer.
If you connected to WLAN/Bluetooth all the time,your battery will run out fast.This happens to all smartphones.Though not as fast as you mentioned.
Try full recharge & disconnect from WLAN/Bluetooth.

Conky is an application like Windows Task Manager for Linux.
You can download it free from App Manager.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 08:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 18 2010, 08:13 PM)
thanks bro. i'll put it for a test starting now....

how long it usually takes for a full recharge? can the phone be charge all the time whenever i'm free? (i mean, not waited until the indicator turns red)
Yup.You can recharge whenever you want.
But personally I prefer to recharge if the battery level is below 50%.

Just let it charge till the LED indicator turns green.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 08:32 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 18 2010, 08:24 PM)
how many times you charge it in a day?

regrading the conky apps... i cant find it in my apps manager... i only have 2 item displayed: 'Disks - this single or two player game is a classic' and 'weoffset - we:offset enables you to offset your flight emissions'.....
You need to enable Repositories Extras 1st.

http://my-maemo.com/download/repos/extras.install

Install this file in your phone.This will enable extra repositories

I charge my phone once per day.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 10:41 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Here's some of modification that I remember.Credit to meLi,D4klar(maemo talk) & few others that I don't remember.
All the instructions are in zip files.

I'll start with the easiest way to mod which is with OpenSSH/WinSCP.

1)Install OpenSSH from app manager
2)Remember to set password for root when asked.If you forgot follow these step.
i)Open X-Terminal
ii)Press "sudo gainroot"
iii)Press "passwd"
iv)Set your password & exit
3)Download WinSCP from http://winscp.net/eng/download.php#googtrans/it/es
4)In order to connect N900 & PC/Laptop you should know your phone IP address.It can be done with X-Terminal.
i)Open X-Terminal
ii)Press "sudo gainroot"
iii)Press "ifconfig"

IP address is the 1 highlighted.
5)Run WinSCP
6)Your hostname is your IP address,username is root & password is the 1 you just set.
7)When you press connect WinSCP should show 2 window now.

Mods

Attached File  850MHz_OC.zip ( 28.54k ) Number of downloads: 10

850MHz OC from status bar.You can modify it according to speed you want or just copy paste if want to use 500-850MHz setting.

Battery Icon Mod
Attached File  Battery_Mod.zip ( 190.27k ) Number of downloads: 11

Cell Icon Mod
Attached File  Cell_Level_Mod.zip ( 56.11k ) Number of downloads: 11

Change Media Player Background
Attached File  Change_Media_Player_Background.txt ( 130bytes ) Number of downloads: 16

Clock Mod
Attached File  Clock_Mod.zip ( 946.09k ) Number of downloads: 12

Conversation Mod
Attached File  Conversation_Mod.zip ( 10.14k ) Number of downloads: 15

The all famous pacman lockslider.You can make your own with the instructions inside too.
Attached File  Lockslider_Mod.zip ( 138.57k ) Number of downloads: 15

This shortcut is very helpfull to create phone shortcut in all 4 homescreen.
Attached File  Multiple_Phone_Shortcuts.zip ( 7.92k ) Number of downloads: 9

Add the very useful reboot button & fancy icons.
Attached File  Powerkey_Mod.zip ( 22.47k ) Number of downloads: 20

Welcome video mod.
Frankly speaking I feel that Nokia only deserve 1/2 the credit for making this phone.I prefer maemo welcome video over default video.There are 2 welcome video inside.You can choose either 1.I'll update later if managed to find the maemo video.
http://www.mediafire.com/?w33jjmgczkd

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 18 2010, 11:35 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 11:08 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jun 18 2010, 10:56 PM)
can combine the mod into 1 single zip with the respective folder inside?
http://www.mediafire.com/?tmmydkh4nyq

Another person who appreciate resistive touchscreen
http://noknok.tv/2010/06/18/n900-mypaint-meego-potential/

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 18 2010, 11:31 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 11:13 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Surprisingly Milestone have just around the same number of users as N900 in LYN.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 11:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jun 18 2010, 11:15 PM)
Super Alien,

for the welcome mod, please edit it to

Hands-v32-h264.avi

instead. the one in the instruction notepad is wrong. smile.gif
Somehow I knew I typed the filename wrong.
All link fixed now.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 18 2010, 11:54 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jun 18 2010, 11:49 PM)
Hi guys im intersted in this open ssh mod's care to explain more on how do we transfer the file's that we d'loaded to N900
After installing the WinSCP & OpenSSH you should have 2 window when you run WinSCP.
From there you just have to copy & paste to the specified link.

I gave all the target folder(the folder you should copy/paste) in the "Instruction" files inside the zip file.

Added on June 18, 2010, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(jloi @ Jun 18 2010, 11:37 PM)
[/spoiler]

great job! thx bro..finally i can change d sms layout biggrin.gif
There are some more sms/im layout.
I'll post somemore when I'm free.

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jun 18 2010, 11:49 PM)
anyway.. there is an app for boot vids.... so change as you want.... hehe...
Rename,copy & paste.
How hard can it be? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 18 2010, 11:58 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 12:01 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jun 18 2010, 11:55 PM)
Thanks Bro.. just dloading the files.. will try it out later..

BTW which one is better coz at the moment im using Beecon widget and some dloaded scripts from the net to create some nice widget.
You can do the mods I posted & still use the Beecon at same time.Nothing will be affected.

I only use Beecon widget to show my CPU temp.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 12:44 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jun 19 2010, 12:13 AM)
Any interesting Beecon script that u wanna share ( i have got all the one that they are using in Maemo talk)

u can share ur personal written scripts ...  smile.gif
BTW guys anyone found what is the model for astro remote control.??
I lost most of my scrips when I reflash my phone.
Because before this I mod whenever I feel like it without properly backup the scripts/images/icons tongue.gif
This time I'll try to save all my mods.

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 19 2010, 12:18 AM)
whao... that is wonderful... really thanks a lot bro... now i wonder how you guys can found out so many things....
Reverse engineer maemo talk guys discoveries laugh.gif
Whenever they learn something others always try to improvise it to suit them.

@aspire
Are you subscribing to OVI beta apps?
Is there any new OVI Maps beta coming out?
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 10:28 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(wcshin @ Jun 19 2010, 04:57 AM)
guys...new app 2 try...

http://maemo.org/packages/view/rotatedaemon/

seems cool 2 me...
very new app...beware...
so far so gd 4 me...
4 way rotate...nice...
No point downloading this.
This just rotates the screen but don't rearrange the screen.You can get better result with CTRL+SHIFT+R

@Eiraku
I pm-ed the seller yesterday.He was wondering how much case he should order now.Most probably he'll get the case by next week.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 11:38 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 19 2010, 11:22 AM)
[repost]

good morning guys.... its the newbie again.... can i have a suggestion of the most useful chinese input app?

secondly.. how you guys doing with MSN messenger on n900..? i tried install the 'aMSN' but seems its a bit unstable and have crashes against my device... can the IM (under SMS and conversation) support MSN messenger account?
thanks a lot, gentlemen (any ladies around? xP)
N900 have integrated IM.Like me I'm uisng YM so I just install pidgin protocol things & just add my IM.From what I can see with my phone you can add your msn the same way.

Alternatively you can install Pidgin Instant Messenger from app manager.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 19 2010, 11:37 AM)
my msn is great. Now only problem cant receive or send files.

And yes the SMS and conversation support MSN messenger u just need to install the right plugin and add an account
Always had this problem or what?
My YM is working like charm.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 19 2010, 11:40 AM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 12:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jun 19 2010, 11:51 AM)
guys im a bit lost here imtrying enable my YM need some step by step tuto from u guys...

my skype is up and running BTW
Download Pidgin protocols plugin for conversation & contacts from apps manager
Go to status bar->Availability
Go to Account at bottom of screen
You can start creating new YM account now.

QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Jun 19 2010, 11:52 AM)
getting more n more people using the n900 now i realized, saw 3 in one day in my uni...dont feel special anymore....LOL laugh.gif
So far I never seen any other N900 in my U.
It's godd thing that more & more people using this phone.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 01:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jun 19 2010, 12:45 PM)
dloaded the pidgin thingy...  but then when i try login keep on getting wrong username or password error,i tried with 4 diff acc. im 100% sure i typed in correct details.. anyone face this b4
username should be something like super_evil_alien only.Not super_evil_alien@yahoo.com

super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 01:28 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(liamlain @ Jun 19 2010, 01:17 PM)
ya i installed openssh client and server....but still show the same problm cry.gif
is it the problm is my pc is wireless connect to my modem?coz i tested using lan cable to conenct my modem,it success connect to my n900(not every time will success) .....i donno is it my pc is using wireless connect to my modem probm  sad.gif
Most probably it's the router problem.

There's another way of connecting.But this will require you to have laptop/desktop with WiFi capability.

1)Make sure your laptop/desktop connected to internet.
2)Go to Network & Sharing
3)At left side you'll see "Manage Wireless Network"
4)Click "Add"
5)Click "Create ad-hoc network"
6)Choose a adhoc name & password.
7)Your ad-hoc should be available now when you search for WiFi network in your phone.
8)After connecting to the ad-hoc start from the step 1 of my previous tutorial.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 19 2010, 01:33 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 02:07 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(kunyit_kampung @ Jun 19 2010, 01:53 PM)
i open acc but couldnt find any YM to setup,do i need to download it first?where can i download it
You need to download Pidgin protocols plugin for conversation & contacts from apps manager 1st
Go to "App Manager" & download from there.Make sure you already add extra repo before that.

Is it really that hard setting up IM with this phone?
I found it very easy.

Added on June 19, 2010, 2:14 pm
QUOTE(liamlain @ Jun 19 2010, 02:04 PM)
i cant find the network and sharing under My network places rclxub.gif
Are you using Windows XP?

My instruction is for Windowx Vista/7
Network & Sharing is under Control Panel.
I don't have any computer using windows xp near me. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 19 2010, 02:15 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 03:16 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 19 2010, 03:10 PM)
when i use pixelpipe to share my video to youtube. the final result at youtube were sucks.

the original file stay at pixelpipe were 2xmb but after transfer to youtube were only 9mb.

quality drop.

any way i can fix it?
Any videos uploaded to youtube will have quality degrade.
Google need to re-encode the files to keep the video size down.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 19 2010, 03:49 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jun 19 2010, 03:42 PM)
the specification say up to 16gb..

so i think it cant
Nope.
This phone supports 32GB internal memory + 32GB external memory.
I know few guys who are using 32GB + 32GB memory.Most of the extra 32GB memory users using it to install NITDroid(Android for Maemo)

I doubt any normal user can fill the internal 27GB GB memory.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 12:47 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 19 2010, 09:29 PM)
hi, i do have some question about the overclocking.
in http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=595582&postcount=774

the page said ulv profiles are pushing the limit of n900.

i do know if overclocking at high frequency are pushing it but ULV profile do the same things? i am so confuse here.

the page told me to test the ideal speed which is 500~850mhz.

this setting work fine for me ,but will this  profile  better than the ulv profile which is 125~850?

don't blame me because i am sucks in those theory.
Ideal kernel use lower voltage.
Main reason why I prefer it.

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jun 20 2010, 12:22 AM)
U mean the Black Hard Rubberized Casing?

Let just say its not up to the expectation....but for that kind of price...you cant expect much too~~~

1. The fittings make your slider hard to slide..making it stiff
2. The locking mechanism to lock your phone to the case will cause your keyboard slider to "Lift" a bit
3. The locking of the case wont last long...some break already....
4. Fingerprints all over...haha...expected this already...
5. Hard to press the On/Volume/Photo button as it makes the button deeper...as in the casing is a bit same level as the button...
Mine broken after 2 days.doh.gif

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Jun 20 2010, 12:29 AM)
lol. thx for ur review.
so its practically not recommended to buy right? =p
lhongwuh will be bringing proper rubber case.I think his case should be better.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 20 2010, 01:19 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jun 20 2010, 12:52 AM)
Otterbox FTW!!!

Yeah....
Hopefully lhongwuh got a Nice Color Choice bring in...still dint see any other case in his topic for N900....

Added on June 20, 2010, 1:02 amSo anyone got solution for Password Protect File & Folder?
Otterbox is too expensive & need to order from oversea.I'm lazy to do that.

You mean you want to password protect folder like root folder?
I don't know whether the is app like that available for maemo.Because from what I read this function fell into maemo's closed source category.Only Nokia can write app like this.

QUOTE(CellPhoneDealer @ Jun 14 2010, 02:02 PM)
I've just bought N900, my God it is worse than Iphone. The keypad is useless,makes everything slow!
This taken from another thread.
What a lot of crap. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 20 2010, 01:20 AM

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0476sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:24 AM