TSjoe_mamak
post Jun 4 2010, 05:33 PM, updated 16y ago

363 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...p-over-lawsuit/

Naza empire faces breakup over lawsuit
By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani
June 04, 2010

KUALA LUMPUR, June 4 — The Naza empire built by the late tycoon Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin SM Amin is in danger of breaking up if the legal battle between his first and second wives is dragged to the syariah court.

This comes as Nasimuddin’s second wife, Rokiah Abdullah, and her five children filed a legal suit to claim RM350 million and properties in Malaysia and England as well as control of six companies now being held by Nasimuddin’s first wife and their five children.

Under Islamic inheritance law, the property of the deceased must be distributed equally according to the proportions stated in the Quran.

This will divide the Naza group of companies between the two feuding families and result in a split of one of the country’s biggest privately-held conglomerates.

At stake is an empire said to be worth over RM3 billion.

Nasimuddin had built this empire on the back of the government’s affirmative action Approved Permit (AP) system to import cars. He was said to have received up to 18,000 APs a year.

The Naza group of companies includes a complex array of over 30 entities engaged in businesses ranging from automobile trading to hotels to property development and taxi services while the family holdings apparently included properties in London and Los Angeles.

Syarie lawyer Aziz Hassan told The Malaysian Insider that the Quran is very clear on the distribution of inheritance.

“Islamic inheritance law can be found in the Quran and it predetermines and states how the inheritance is distributed among the family. It is quite clear and there is no issue of anything circumventing unless the inheritors agree otherwise.

“It states how much the parents, spouse and children get. Also, how much can a son and a daughter inherit. All of it is stated.

“The most fundamental aspect in the inheritance law is that the son is the one who takes the most after the residue,” he said.

“In normal circumstances, the parents will get 1/6, the wife or wives will together get 1/8, the sons will get two portions and the daughters get one portion. That is the basic distribution of inheritance under Islam after the debts are paid.”

The companies being claimed by the second wife and her children are Naza Kia Sdn Bhd, Naza Automotif Manufacturing Sdn Bhd, Nasim Sdn Bhd, Naza Motor Trading Sdn Bhd, Naza TTDI Sdn Bhd and NZ Wheels Sdn Bhd.

The suit in the High Court was filed by Rokiah, 53, and her children Sharifah Roslina, 26, Mohd Azli, 25, Sharifah Rosnani, 24, Sheikh Mohamad Azrul, 21, and Sharifah Sofia, through the law firm of Jamil Mohamed Shafie & Associates.

Named as defendants were Nasimuddin’s estate, his first wife Puan Sri Zaleha Ismail, 57, and her children, Datuk Faisal, 31, Nur Diana, 28, Sheikh Mohd Nasarudin, 26, Sheikh Mohd Faliq, 25, and Nur Nadia, 24.

Besides the sum of RM350 million, the plaintiffs are demanding Zaleha, her children and CIMB Trustee declare all assets, movable and immovable property in the country and overseas, that was owned by Nasimuddin from May 1, 2008 until now.

The plaintiffs are also claiming interest in the companies, assets and properties of Nasimuddin in Malaysia and in England.

They also want Ekspedisi Nikmat to hand over details of assets held in trust for Nasimuddin.

Aziz said Islamic inheritance law has precedence over any written will.

“Whatever net value, it goes to this ratio. It is very clear and there is no question even if there is a will. Unless we want to respect the deceased and his will then everybody has to agree in complying with the will. Otherwise the inheritance law will prevail,” he said.

According to the statement of claim, the plaintiffs are claiming that while Nasimuddin was alive, he had promised to hand over Naza Kia, Naza Automotif Manufacturing, Nasim, Naza Motor Trading, Naza TTDI and NZ Wheels to them.

The plaintiffs are also claiming that before he died, Nasimuddin had told them his assets were worth more than RM3 billion and handed over to them details of the companies and properties he owned.

The properties include a few bungalow properties in Malaysia, five properties in London, a bungalow in Johannesburg, South Africa, as well as an apartment and a bungalow in Los Angeles, the US.

The plaintiffs claimed that Nasimuddin also told them that CIMB Trustee was the trustee of a significant portion of the movable and immovable assets, including shares in the companies.

However, Aziz stressed that the wives can lay claim to jointly-acquired property (harta pencarian).

“It does not matter as it can be proven that the wife’s marriage is legitimate then 1/8 is shared among the wives but as far as the wives are concerned, they can lay claim to jointly-acquired property or wealth accumulated since marriage,” he said.

“The first wife should theoretically get more because of the period of marriage and the younger will get less.”

He added that the claim to jointly-acquired property must be made before inheritance is distributed.

“The jointly-acquired property must be given before the inheritance law is applied but the property must be claimed and the contribution must be proven. So it is not automatic. What do you claim? How much do you claim? And how do you prove that you have contributed to the acquisition of the assets. The right is there but you have to prove your claim,” he said.

Aziz admitted that determining the value of the Naza empire would be a major stumbling block in determining an accurate distribution.

“Yes, she (Rokiah) has not been married for a long time so definitely she has claim to jointly-acquired property. However, the question is how much is her share? The problem is that nobody knows the true value of Naza’s property. Private companies are very difficult to value.

“Technically, all the companies under the Naza group were held under the name of the deceased so all of it must be considered as inheritance. Unless it can be proven otherwise,” he said.

The plaintiffs said they had asked Nasimuddin’s first wife and children to settle the issue of their rights.

They also said that on Jan 27, the defendants, through Akhberdin & Co, had sent a letter to them offering RM20 million as a final settlement for their claims without taking into account the intentions of Nasimuddin.

Through lawyers Radzuan Ibrahim & Co, the plaintiffs had requested for the case to be settled with a payment of RM350 million and for the control and assets of Naza Kia, Naza Automotif Manufacturing, Nasim, Naza Motor Trading, Naza TTDI and NZ Wheels to be handed over to them as promised by Nasimuddin to Mohd Azli, the second son of his second wife.

They also demanded a temporary payment of RM20 million from Zaleha and her children through Ekspedisi Nikmat and for the balance of their claims to be made after trial.

Second son Nasarudin declined to comment when contacted yesterday.

Nasimuddin started his business in 1974 and was awarded almost 18,000 APs for imported cars a year from the government.

Naza also came under the spotlight late last year when it was awarded 65 acres of valuable government land in the highly-prized Duta area of Kuala Lumpur with an estimated gross development value of RM15 billion without going through an open tender.

Naza is best known for its motor trading business which includes distribution rights to Mercedes Benz, Ferrari, Porsche and Harley Davidson. The group also assembles Kia and Peugeot cars in factories in the north of Malaysia.

paktua
post Jun 4 2010, 05:40 PM

40 posts

uh...naza nazak oredi...
SUSsoundsyst64
post Jun 4 2010, 05:42 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Kerana harta, apa2 boleh erjadi biggrin.gif
TSjoe_mamak
post Jun 4 2010, 05:44 PM

363 posts

Why need to go to court? Why not split fairly and squarely right from the beginning?
SUSedwardstevens
post Jun 4 2010, 05:46 PM

366 posts

according to his will, all will go to 1st wife i think
caballero206
post Jun 4 2010, 05:51 PM

430 posts

Just like in a drama where family members take legal action to claim their right of the properties...

Malaysian is watching this drama now..
mecharojak
post Jun 4 2010, 05:57 PM

84 posts

Lucky only 2 waifs.
If 4 it will become turf war.
Now who ever got more sons will have larger cake.

This post has been edited by mecharojak: Jun 4 2010, 05:58 PM
siksa
post Jun 4 2010, 06:01 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

bagi jak lah sama rata tenang arwah tu nanti.
hunt2sp
post Jun 4 2010, 06:04 PM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

...(silently)......zakat dah bayar ke belum..?...
paktua
post Jun 4 2010, 06:06 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(hunt2sp @ Jun 4 2010, 06:04 PM)
...(silently)......zakat dah bayar ke belum..?...
ohh..kene pure2 batuk dl...zakat..ehem2..da baya blum...ehem2...
if got 350mil zakat will be how much?

This post has been edited by paktua: Jun 4 2010, 06:06 PM
toothgnasher
post Jun 4 2010, 06:10 PM

204 posts

what Perkasa have to say on this? Defender of Malay, Islam and King? lol.

Later it pecah, bankrupt. bought by other company which headed by other race, then claim kenot achieve 30% kononnya.

see, those NEP/AP projects for malays are not sustainable.
toothgnasher
post Jun 4 2010, 06:11 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Jun 4 2010, 05:46 PM)
according to his will, all will go to 1st wife i think
IF he wrote a will. if takda, all will spread out equally.
mypetridish
post Jun 4 2010, 06:20 PM

1,313 posts

this guy kaya only because of gov's help. after kaya lupa all the other meleis. im somewhat glad that he's.... heh
SUSCharkoteow
post Jun 4 2010, 06:21 PM

225 posts

pictar of waifs nao!
meteoraniac
post Jun 4 2010, 06:21 PM

1,099 posts

wohooooo naza got sales on cars !
TSjoe_mamak
post Jun 4 2010, 06:23 PM

363 posts

I not greedy. I just want 2 APs. Can I get them?

OK, 1 also can. Can I get one? Please? Pretty please? laugh.gif
Ichibanichi
post Jun 4 2010, 06:24 PM

327 posts

Under Islamic inheritance law, the property of the deceased must be distributed equally according to the proportions stated in the Quran.

“Islamic inheritance law can be found in the Quran and it predetermines and states how the inheritance is distributed among the family. It is quite clear and there is no issue of anything circumventing unless the inheritors agree otherwise.

“It states how much the parents, spouse and children get. Also, how much can a son and a daughter inherit. All of it is stated.

“The most fundamental aspect in the inheritance law is that the son is the one who takes the most after the residue,” he said.

In normal circumstances, the parents will get 1/6, the wife or wives will together get 1/8, the sons will get two portions and the daughters get one portion. That is the basic distribution of inheritance under Islam after the debts are paid.”

Who the fucuk editor and reporter who wrote the term "distributed equally" and then put the inheritance law with proportional claimage? doh.gif doh.gif
Izzit the standard of England so poor.
Better use /k/ england

BTW now I know Islamic inheritance law can precedence any written will. Fuyoh.....No wonder I din see any will writer for muslims. Well......I forcast alot of syariah lawyer will start to encourage this islamic law to be enforce and the every muslim guys are encourage to take max 4 wifes. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

qqmeng
post Jun 4 2010, 06:26 PM

1,098 posts

those APs are actually our tax money...... stop cutting the subsidies and stop these people.

cutting subsidies to benefits only a few people is a big NO!!!!
FaTJ3sT3R aka Th!NjOK3R
post Jun 4 2010, 06:32 PM

416 posts

Poor Marion...
RaedeanBF2
post Jun 4 2010, 06:33 PM

276 posts

Hmmm...a big mess doh.gif

What they can do is unite...but instead, one wants more than another.

Greedyzzzz
SUSsoundsyst64
post Jun 4 2010, 06:37 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jun 4 2010, 06:24 PM)
Who the fucuk editor and reporter who wrote the term "distributed equally" and then put the inheritance law with proportional claimage?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Izzit the standard of England so poor.
Better use /k/ england

BTW now I know Islamic inheritance law can precedence any written will. Fuyoh.....No wonder I din see any will writer for muslims. Well......I forcast alot of syariah lawyer will start to encourage this islamic law to be enforce and the every muslim guys are encourage to take max 4 wifes.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
you know Amanah Raya Berhad? biggrin.gif
mecharojak
post Jun 4 2010, 06:43 PM

84 posts

someone go tel them,
jgn jgn gado gado,
kita ni 1Malaysia, 1NAZA. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by mecharojak: Jun 4 2010, 06:47 PM
leyley
post Jun 4 2010, 06:46 PM

2,096 posts

talk bout money bapak also no feel talk
SUSMuhammad Nur Hanief
post Jun 4 2010, 06:51 PM

555 posts

Aku bersyukur hari ni aku dapat RM30.
Faidzal
post Jun 4 2010, 07:06 PM

240 posts

For those who don't understand (both Muslim and non-Muslim), here's a primer:

If you die, 1st thing to do by next of kin (NOK or waris) is to settle your debt on your behalf. NOK can use or liquidate your assets if need to.

After all debts settled, then the rest of the assets are to be distributed. If you wrote a will, that will will only affect half of your total assets. The othe 1/2 MUST divide accoding to Faraid (Arab name for division of assets according to Islamic or syariah law).

Let's say after settling all your debts, NOK finds that you left RM1 milion in assets. And you wrote a will saying that your secret girlfriend gets all of it (there was this case which did happen).

So secret girlfriend only gets RM500k because that's 1/2 of RM1 million. The rest of the RM500k is to be divided by Faraid.

Most surprising about this case is the revelation that the Late Naza had a 2nd wife with several children. Normally we only here about their sons and daughter from Zaleha side.

Also, this will give a chance to know exactly how much is Naza worth, since his name never came up on the Richest Malaysians list, because all his assets are not listed anywhere except in his head.

The shit has hit the fan, expect some UMNO bigwigs trying to disturb this case because Naza has been known to be an UMNO nominee....
TSjoe_mamak
post Jun 4 2010, 07:08 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Jun 4 2010, 07:06 PM)

If you die, 1st thing to do by next of kin (NOK or waris) is to settle your debt on your behalf. NOK can use or liquidate your assets if need to.

After all debts settled, then the rest of the assets are to be distributed. If you wrote a will, that will will only affect half of your total assets. The othe 1/2 MUST divide accoding to Faraid (Arab name for division of assets according to Islamic or syariah law).

Let's say after settling all your debts, NOK finds that you left RM1 milion in assets. And you wrote a will saying that your secret girlfriend gets all of it (there was this case which did happen). 

So secret girlfriend only gets RM500k because that's 1/2 of RM1 million. The rest of the RM500k is to be divided by Faraid.

Most surprising about this case is the revelation that the Late Naza had a 2nd wife with several children. Normally we only here about their sons and daughter from Zaleha side.

Also, this will give a chance to know exactly how much is Naza worth, since his name never came up on the Richest Malaysians list, because all his assets are not listed anywhere except in his head.

The shit has hit the fan, expect some UMNO bigwigs trying to disturb this case because Naza has been known to be an UMNO nominee....
Oh, thanks. This is going to be interesting. laugh.gif
Faidzal
post Jun 4 2010, 07:15 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Jun 4 2010, 06:37 PM)

QUOTE(ichibanichi)

BTW now I know Islamic inheritance law can precedence any written will. Fuyoh.....No wonder I din see any will writer for muslims. Well......I forcast alot of syariah lawyer will start to encourage this islamic law to be enforce and the every muslim guys are encourage to take max 4 wifes. 
you know Amanah Raya Berhad? biggrin.gif
Amanah Raya Berhad (ARB) provides will writing sevice, but as I mentioned, the will can only affect 1/2 of total assets left by deceased. 1/2 must still be divided according to Faraid.

ARB will actually explain this to you and your heirs if should you request for their will-writing services so that they cannot complain later.

ARB will execute the will and also provide the Faraid service if you allow them to do it.

SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 4 2010, 07:20 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Jun 4 2010, 05:44 PM)
Why need to go to court?  Why not split fairly and squarely right from the beginning?
bcause the father forget to make will la i think bcome like this.. so have to use default setting
deeplyheartbroken
post Jun 4 2010, 07:23 PM

774 posts

So will it be affected if buy any car brands related to Naza now?
TSjoe_mamak

363 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jun 4 2010, 07:20 PM)
bcause the father forget to make will la i think bcome like this.. so have to use default setting
So defendant don't want default setting?
mecharojak

84 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Jun 4 2010, 07:06 PM)

wait, 2nd waif is not halal? A secret waif? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mecharojak: Jun 4 2010, 07:24 PM
seiken
post Jun 4 2010, 07:32 PM

216 posts

When one person dies, it's always like this. Especially Cainis families
~LynX~
post Jun 4 2010, 07:34 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Jun 4 2010, 06:23 PM)
I not greedy.  I just want 2 APs.  Can I get them? 

OK, 1 also can.  Can I get one?  Please?  Pretty please?  laugh.gif
If you dapat I come work for you ok? tongue.gif
SUSb3rnard7
post Jun 4 2010, 07:50 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

lesson to be learn:

nvr ever to have a 2nd wife,or else...u will end up like tis!
pgsiemkia
post Jun 4 2010, 07:54 PM

470 posts

They forgot to caveat all the properties in the companies, nanti 1st wife's party will dispose of all assets overseas via a offshore company..then last-last 2nd wife's family dapat tin kosong onli..

Like this-la the the rich and uneducated live..if not hire gunman and tembak during kenduri...
Faidzal
post Jun 4 2010, 07:57 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Jun 4 2010, 07:23 PM)
wait, 2nd waif is not halal? A secret waif? rclxub.gif
2nd wife must be halal, but still kept a secret until now.

This is why Muslims must declare in court that they want to marry more than 1, so that shit like this don't happen.

Same situation with Sultan of Kelantan, nobody knew he took a 2nd wife until the 2nd wife brought police to visit him while in hospital and then kena attack by 1st wife.

Same situation with Bung Mokhtar who because of lust simply marry Zizie without telling court.

Sekarang semua rahsia sudah keluar, sape malu?

Faidzal
post Jun 4 2010, 08:01 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Jun 4 2010, 07:54 PM)
They forgot to caveat all the properties in the companies, nanti 1st wife's party will dispose of all assets overseas via a offshore company..then last-last 2nd wife's family dapat tin kosong onli..

Like this-la the the rich and uneducated live..if not hire gunman and tembak during kenduri...
This can't work in Malaysia because Syariah law overrides any law involving Muslims.

Yes, this isn't fair, that is what all the non-Muslims and the people who want to leave Islam are mad about.

Anyway, 1st wife can't simply dispose of all assets, too many things going on with Naza, business is booming for them in a sense (Platinum Park, new Matrade Convention centre, Naza TTDI property dev. official Ferrari/Porsche/Peugeot/Chevrolet mporter for Malsyia etc.).

As mentioned before, shit has hit the fan, another court drama to rival Sodo Mee Part II.
red-queen
post Jun 4 2010, 08:05 PM

1,310 posts

kuang kuang kuanggggggg........
heavenly91
post Jun 4 2010, 08:10 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

no $$ no tok
sniper69
post Jun 4 2010, 08:19 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

wow... banyaknya...
Shanashi
post Jun 4 2010, 08:20 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Jun 4 2010, 05:33 PM)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...p-over-lawsuit/

ZOMG i didnt know this
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 4 2010, 08:26 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Father died.
Children f**ked it all up.
SUSautoman5891
post Jun 4 2010, 08:34 PM

1 dead father, 10 fatherless children!!!!!
TSjoe_mamak
post Jun 5 2010, 12:17 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(automan5891 @ Jun 4 2010, 08:34 PM)
1 dead father, 10 fatherless children!!!!!
All his? Perhaps some are step children?
mecharojak
post Jun 5 2010, 12:57 AM

84 posts

This can be a muvee named "Naza Saga".

0.0229sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:48 AM