Overclock confusion, imma noob here :D
TSEdison83
Jun 3 2010, 09:43 AM, updated 16y ago
I recent brought my i7 PC set, MSI p55 GD80 and corsair dominator 4GB CL8 DDR3-1600
P55 do not support DDR3-1600 without overclok the board (max till 1333 onli) so wen i plug in the RAM it show onli 1333 which max support of the board. In order to use 1600mhz i overclok the board and now it appear 1600mhz does it need to set the voltage as well????
My theory was:- the RAM is 1600mhz, then by default the voltage spec should be at 1600mhz voltage speed right? (1.65v) The way to overclok RAm is increase the speed clock and voltage correct?
question is... i made the mobo work the RAM at 1600mhz correct or not?? if is not, what will happen?
BigSaver
Jun 3 2010, 01:48 PM
iinm yerp,if u follow manufac spec like timing,voltage and etc,it should run perfectly.
That GD80 is well equip in oc'ing,kinda friendly and easy.
This post has been edited by BigSaver: Jun 3 2010, 01:48 PM
TSEdison83
Jun 3 2010, 02:15 PM
in other case like "if" i overclok the ram without setting the right voltage, wat will happen? random crash?
BigSaver
Jun 3 2010, 02:28 PM
probably u just cant boot windows.. intel recommend 1.65v for the ram,more than that is a bit risk.but to achieve tight timing or higher freq required more than recommended voltage.
This post has been edited by BigSaver: Jun 3 2010, 02:31 PM
TSEdison83
Jun 3 2010, 03:01 PM
if i remember correctly, those non-high performance ram (under 1600mhz) are 1.5v or 1.55v, correct me if i was wrong
tech3910
Jun 3 2010, 06:27 PM
ur RAM is design to run @ 1600MHz wit the default voltage. so now even if ur OC bck to 1600, u don't hav to increase DRAM voltage. ur RMA <b>must b able to run at least 1600MHz<b> with giving default voltage, otherwise, it must hav problem.
selferino
Jun 16 2010, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 3 2010, 06:27 PM) ur RAM is design to run @ 1600MHz wit the default voltage. so now even if ur OC bck to 1600, u don't hav to increase DRAM voltage. ur RMA <b>must b able to run at least 1600MHz<b> with giving default voltage, otherwise, it must hav problem. yerp, this is the answer ur looking for, remember, DUN CHANGE THE VOLTAGE! if not better juz get a normal 1333 stick n overclock