Guiatar tuning dilemma, dont knowto use

oxalato
post Jun 3 2010, 08:35 PM

609 posts

QUOTE(syiafuku @ Jun 3 2010, 08:18 PM)
i see. i never played a bass before.tuning half down step for a bass is the same for tuning a guitar kan? like turn the tuning peg 45 degrees from the original angle?
not necessary 45 degree leh. haha. use a tuner smile.gif
Junkyard
post Jul 31 2010, 01:35 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 2 2010, 03:39 PM)
Faceless, to clarify:

A guitar has a standard tuning of E A D G B E..... which is, lets call it the "base" tuning.

1) drop tuning
Drop tuning means that you "drop" the last string to a full step down, but don't touch the rest of the strings..... which reads as D A D G B E.
The reason for this, is easier fretting for bar chords, and also giving you a deeper, lower tone (normally for metal) while still able to retain the standard tuning for solos and stuff like that.
For example: To play a G minor Chord on standard tuning, you'd fret:

E---3---
A---5---
D---5---
G---3---
B---3---
E---3---

That means you have to bar the chord with your index, ring and pinky finger. But if you Drop D

D---5---
A---5---
D---5---
G---x---
B---x---
E---x---

See? Because the E is now Dropped to a D, I can just bar with my Index finger. It's the same chord, but I just need one finger to barr the notes.

2) flat tuning
Means that instead of tuning only 1 string down, you tune all the strings down from the "base" tuning. Which means if I want to tune to a D, I have to tune E A D G B E all one tone down, or one full step down: D G C F A D.
But you can also tune it a "half step down", meaning you can just tune it to Eb Ab Db Gb Bb Eb. This is equal to playing everything one fret down from standard. A full step down means everything is played 2 frets down from standard.

3) Standard Tuning are of course the standard E A D G B E base tuning.

More info can be found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guitar_Tuning
4) Custom Tuning
Tune ur guitar with ur own tune.. example: G C D G D E
for me.. i tune my guitar to G C D G C D (currently creating a song with this tune)
try ur own tune ^^ (guitar & bass) ---> http://www.tunemybass.com/

5) Alternate Tuning
http://guitar.about.com/library/bltuningcgcgce.htm

A whole bunch of tuning gathered (guess the tune for G C D G D E nor G C D G C D still not in the list yet lol) -- > http://www.guitarzone.com/forum/topic/43641-tunings/
corpz
post Aug 7 2010, 10:58 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Junkyard @ Jul 31 2010, 01:35 PM)
4) Custom Tuning
Tune ur guitar with ur own tune.. example: G C D G D E
for me.. i tune my guitar to G C D G C D (currently creating a song with this tune)
try ur own tune ^^ (guitar & bass) ---> http://www.tunemybass.com/

5) Alternate Tuning
http://guitar.about.com/library/bltuningcgcgce.htm

A whole bunch of tuning gathered (guess the tune for G C D G D E nor G C D G C D still not in the list yet lol) -- > http://www.guitarzone.com/forum/topic/43641-tunings/
Bump! nice info
junky_man
post Aug 9 2010, 09:36 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

Usually if one guitar is in standard tuning, and the other guitar is in E flat, a quick fix is to put a capo on the 1st fret of the E flat tuned guitar to get into standard tuning. So now both guitars are in standard or base tuning.

This is only one remedy though. Another simple way, get two guitars! One in standard and one in E flat.

Baru rock star when you bring more than one guitars when jamming. Plus, it's an excuse to get a new guitar!
kumbang
post Aug 9 2010, 10:29 AM

157 posts

nice thread and nice replies, thx to blacktrix and junkyard for the links thumbup.gif
killerkamote7
post Aug 9 2010, 12:51 PM

418 posts

Artists used different kind of tunings to make their own style.

If you want to see a different and weird tuning, listen to Goo Goo Dolls. J.Rzeznik signature hit 'IRIS' , the acoustic guitar in the song has a very odd tuning: the bass E string is tuned down to B, and the remaining 5 strings tuned to D. It's like a 12-string guitar ringing LOL. But yeah it was fun and easier to play (do that in standard tuning and you'll die).

Same with 'Black Balloon' and 'Name'. FUn Fun Fun happy.gif
corpz
post Aug 9 2010, 08:11 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 9 2010, 09:36 AM)
Usually if one guitar is in standard tuning, and the other guitar is in E flat, a quick fix is to put a capo on the 1st fret of the E flat tuned guitar to get into standard tuning. So now both guitars are in standard or base tuning.

This is only one remedy though. Another simple way, get two guitars! One in standard and one in E flat.

Baru rock star when you bring more than one guitars when jamming. Plus, it's an excuse to get a new guitar!
lol. might get 1 guitar for each tune.. ahahha mayb hundreds of guitar?? lmao! but.. i totally agree with u on this.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kumbang @ Aug 9 2010, 10:29 AM)
nice thread and nice replies, thx to blacktrix and junkyard for the links thumbup.gif
Yeps. really a great info to open our eyes @.@ credits to them biggrin.gif

QUOTE(killerkamote7 @ Aug 9 2010, 12:51 PM)
Artists used different kind of tunings to make their own style.

If you want to see a different and weird tuning, listen to Goo Goo Dolls. J.Rzeznik signature hit 'IRIS' , the acoustic guitar in the song has a very odd tuning: the bass E string is tuned down to B, and the remaining 5 strings tuned to D. It's like a 12-string guitar ringing LOL. But yeah it was fun and easier to play (do that in standard tuning and you'll die).

Same with 'Black Balloon' and 'Name'. FUn Fun Fun happy.gif
This.. i have to agree!
junky_man
post Aug 10 2010, 01:36 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(corpz @ Aug 9 2010, 08:11 PM)
lol. might get 1 guitar for each tune.. ahahha mayb hundreds of guitar?? lmao! but.. i totally agree with u on this.. biggrin.gif
This is what you tell your significant other on why you need more than one guitar. Say that this particular guitar can only be tuned that way, and so on and so on! icon_idea.gif

Back to topic, I prefer standard or 'base' tuning for my guitar. Haven't learned to appreciate other tunings like Drop D or E flat.

But if you want to try drop D, play some songs from this band called "Billy Talent". The guitarist, Ian D'sa, is a genius when it comes to variations playing in drop D tuning. I highly recommend playing their songs like "Try Honesty", "surrender", "where is the line" and "the navy song" to name a few.
Maloperro
post Aug 18 2010, 10:35 AM

154 posts

I'm a beginner so correct me for any mistake..
normally the entire band will use the same tuning..
for example, my fav band, billy talent - the guitarist & bassist are using
drop D and if i'm not mistaken all of their song is using drop D.
I feel as if drop D is like a trademark for their music.. smile.gif
junky_man
post Aug 18 2010, 11:15 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Maloperro @ Aug 18 2010, 10:35 AM)
I'm a beginner so correct me for any mistake..
normally the entire band will use the same tuning..
for example, my fav band, billy talent - the guitarist & bassist are using
drop D and if i'm not mistaken all of their song is using drop D.
I feel as if drop D is like a trademark for their music.. smile.gif
Hah! Finally found someone who also like Billy Talent! rclxm9.gif

To answer your question, it's better for the entire band to tune in the same key so they can play easier together as a band. You can mix up the two guitars one with standard and the other with drop D, but some chords can't be played on both guitars to have the exact tone and sustain. To illustrate:

Tuning: Standard

Emaj (bar chords)
e |---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
B |---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
G |---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
D |---2-----------------------------------------------------------------------|
A |---2-----------------------------------------------------------------------|
E |---0-----------------------------------------------------------------------|

Tuning: Drop D

Emaj (bar chords)

So, if you want to play D#/E flat bar chord in drop D:

D#/E flat (bar chords)
D |---1-----------------------------------------------------------------------|
A |---1-----------------------------------------------------------------------|

The guitar in the standard tuning can't simply shift to the first fret like this:

D#/E flat (bar chords) *Wrong way*

As simply stated, the above is wrong way to play D#/E flat bar chord in standard tuning!

So the only way for the standard tuning guitar to play the same chords as per the guitar in drop D tuning is to go down one string, which is:

D#/E flat (bar chords)
G |------8-------------------------------------------------------------------|
D |------8-------------------------------------------------------------------|
A |------6-------------------------------------------------------------------|
E |---------------------------------------------------------------------------|

Although the D#/E flat bar chord above is correct for standard tuning, you'll lose the heaviness of the tone if you had played it in drop D tuning.

The above is also the same for Bass tuning with a drop D guitar. Usually bass does not need to drop D since it can be substitute or replaced with a lower string, but again, you'll lose the heavy tone.

In the case of Billy Talent, the Bassist uses drop D tuning to get the heavy tones to match Ian D'sa's (Billy Talent's guitarist) guitar riffs.

Hope that helps!

Maloperro
post Aug 18 2010, 09:59 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 18 2010, 11:15 AM)
Hah! Finally found someone who also like Billy Talent!  rclxm9.gif

To answer your question, it's better for the entire band to tune in the same key so they can play easier together as a band. You can mix up the two guitars one with standard and the other with drop D, but some chords can't be played on both guitars to have the exact tone and sustain. To illustrate:

Emaj (bar chords)

So, if you want to play D#/E flat bar chord in drop D:

D#/E flat (bar chords)

The guitar in the standard tuning can't simply shift to the first fret like this:

D#/E flat (bar chords) *Wrong way*

As simply stated, the above is wrong way to play D#/E flat bar chord in standard tuning!

So the only way for the standard tuning guitar to play the same chords as per the guitar in drop D tuning is to go down one string, which is:

D#/E flat (bar chords)
G |------8-------------------------------------------------------------------|
D |------8-------------------------------------------------------------------|
A |------6-------------------------------------------------------------------|
E |---------------------------------------------------------------------------|

Although the D#/E flat bar chord above is correct for standard tuning, you'll lose the heaviness of the tone if you had played it in drop D tuning.

The above is also the same for Bass tuning with a drop D guitar. Usually bass does not need to drop D since it can be substitute or replaced with a lower string, but again, you'll lose the heavy tone.

In the case of Billy Talent, the Bassist uses drop D tuning to get the heavy tones to match Ian D'sa's (Billy Talent's guitarist) guitar riffs.

Hope that helps!
thumbup.gif my fav jamm from billy talent is Saint Veronika.. and also tears into wine..
those two song really make me rclxub.gif coz ian way's of giving a unique yet exciting riff
is really hard to learn.. especially the timing.. It took me nearly three hours to play perfectly
Saint Veronika.. dunno how many time i repeated the song.. but for sure with help from guitar pro notworthy.gif

Lamb Of Dog
post Aug 18 2010, 10:06 PM

387 posts

wanna jam sonic youth's TEEN AGE RIOT?
Lee Ranaldo's tuning is GGDDGG
Thurston Moore's tuning is GABDEG thumbup.gif
Maloperro
post Aug 19 2010, 05:20 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Aug 18 2010, 10:06 PM)
shocking.gif can't find the tune in guitar pro..
sweat.gif not my level yet, I only know drop D, 1/2 step, & drop C..
junky_man
post Aug 19 2010, 11:55 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Aug 18 2010, 10:06 PM)
Fuh, melampau the guitar tunings by those two guitarist! Will check the song out to hear how the guitar plays.

Lamb Of Dog
post Aug 19 2010, 12:04 PM

387 posts

tat song is wicked,its just a simple strummy song but the tuning is wank

Added on August 19, 2010, 12:22 pmoh ya,saint veronika ftw biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Lamb Of Dog: Aug 19 2010, 12:22 PM
junky_man
post Aug 19 2010, 01:56 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Aug 19 2010, 12:04 PM)
tat song is wicked,its just a simple strummy song but the tuning is wank

Added on August 19, 2010, 12:22 pmoh ya,saint veronika ftw biggrin.gif
You should hear more billy talent songs. The guitar riffs are fun to cover. smile.gif

This post has been edited by junky_man: Aug 19 2010, 02:11 PM
Maloperro
post Aug 19 2010, 02:01 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 19 2010, 01:56 PM)
You should more billy talent songs. The guitar riffs are fun to cover.  smile.gif
Agreed.. haha.. but if u're more to pentatonic scale
IMHO oasis song wud just be perfect 2 practise with..

This post has been edited by Maloperro: Aug 19 2010, 02:17 PM
Lamb Of Dog
post Aug 19 2010, 02:24 PM

387 posts

hell yeah,im a big billy talent fan,i always play the Devil on my shoulder lick when i pick up the guitar. OASIS,im Madferit:D
blacktrix
post Aug 19 2010, 03:08 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Please keep the discussion to tunings please. thanks.
Maloperro
post Aug 19 2010, 03:14 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Aug 19 2010, 02:24 PM)
hell yeah,im a big billy talent fan,i always play the Devil on my shoulder lick when i pick up the guitar. OASIS,im Madferit:D
thumbup.gif when I saw ur pic which is Jimi Hendrix.. I remember voodoo child.. haha..
do u know orianti? a guitar soloist, anak murid steve vai i think.. haha.. the Great Kat ( know rite who she is) wanna be..
she play voodoo child when she came to Malaysia this year I suppose.. I saw on youtube..
ow ya, Malmsteem idol is Jimi Hendrix kinda weird at first if compare to his music as Malmsteem are real deal in Arpeggios..
Haha.. as if from 2 different world tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0223sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:46 PM