Science Plagiarism in Higher Education Research, Any Anti-Plagiarism Strategies?

TSpgboy_serdang
post Jun 2 2010, 03:22 AM, updated 16y ago

19 posts

well, 1st of all..
i'm new in this section of lowyat forum, i'm not sure whether is this the suitable section to talk about this issue..
but since it happened in my lab, and i'll be taking postgrad studies, so i guess this is the place..

and the story is basically about...
i've been robbed...
literally, of my efforts and hardwork...

well, in my lab, there's some sort of "tradition" set by my supervisor...
an assignment for the newbies after 1 or 2 months of training in the lab...
if they pass, they can start their own research project...
so my supervisor assigned this newbie N to run an experiement which he did in his final year project during undergrad...
and he failed....coz lack of lab skills and initiative...
as that experiment would affect my results, i took over, ran it, and succeeded...

i think some of u guys might already figure out the ending...
yes.. he presented the result...
and never mentioned about me and my involvement..
(and basically i owned every single bits of the results!!)
and an illusion had been made that it was his effort and his contribution that this experiment has established in our lab...
and.. my supervisor asked him to present "his" work in a upcoming conference...

not cool man, not cool......
this was an assignment for him to prove his worthiness in this lab...
its like STPM to enter uni...
we cant use other ppl's result to enter uni right??
it must be based solely on our own effort...

definately a daylight robbery....
not cool....
not cool...
but i cant do anything about it...
i cant deny or object my supervisor's judgement as it would be impolite...

taking without asking = stealing...
taking in front of you and claimed rightfully theirs = robbery..

i've been robbed...

what to do ???
haiz...
SUSslimey
post Jun 2 2010, 03:24 AM

6,914 posts

this is clearly kopitiam stuff
Beastboy
post Jun 2 2010, 09:08 AM

242 posts

What to do? Nothing. It happened, just move on. On the upside its not a total loss for you either. You gained a lesson to be careful where you place your trust. Trust me, better it happen in a place like a lab than out there.

faceless
post Jun 2 2010, 09:54 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Jun 2 2010, 03:24 AM)
this is clearly kopitiam stuff
Yup this section is not about voicing your feeling of being robbed.
ComposMentis
post Jun 2 2010, 10:15 AM

420 posts

I'm sure this is not the suitable section to talk about this issue smile.gif
CallMeMonkey
post Jun 2 2010, 09:57 PM

506 posts

sorry man, if i were you i would take revenge.

you would not want to be a sissy boy and just cry about this all day right?
dhui
post Jun 3 2010, 12:53 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

Well, this is a copyright issue bro.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 3 2010, 12:54 PM
night
post Jun 3 2010, 03:27 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

This is definitely not PhD stuff. And by the way, this is pretty common amongst people these days. Heck, I faced such situation before and worse of all, I can't do anything about it.
DG41
post Jun 5 2010, 09:27 AM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

robbered? this things happen because u have done something wrong before...believe me nod.gif ...btw, kopitiam
ComposMentis
post Jun 5 2010, 11:15 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(DG41 @ Jun 5 2010, 09:27 AM)
robbered? this things happen because u have done something wrong before...believe me nod.gif ...btw, kopitiam
this thread should have been merged with ' bad karma ' as it's somewhat related to karma smile.gif
exsaga
post Jun 11 2010, 01:12 AM

128 posts

i have heard so many cases of research robbery thing.
even back-stabbing.

advise: once u got whatever good finding, present it straight away to your
supervisor. =)

furthermore, that robber will faced trouble in order to write the paper for the conference. believe me
ComposMentis
post Jun 11 2010, 07:48 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(exsaga @ Jun 11 2010, 01:12 AM)
even back-stabbing.

supervisor. =)

furthermore, that robber will faced trouble in order to write the paper for the conference. believe me
back stabbing ? you mean using physical weapon like a knife ?
faceless
post Jun 11 2010, 11:35 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(exsaga @ Jun 11 2010, 01:12 AM)
even back-stabbing.

supervisor. =)

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Finally, a worthwile comment - how to combat research robbery.

This assumes that the supervisor will be on your side. Since this this form of robbery is so common, is there a danger of the supvisor robbing you instead?

This post has been edited by faceless: Jun 11 2010, 11:36 AM
exsaga
post Jun 12 2010, 03:01 AM

128 posts

ahaha if knife is used, i cant post this comment. dead lol

in normal practice, researches done by using money (grants) or rather information by the supervisor. so no issue of 'supervisor robbing'

nando
post Jun 12 2010, 06:28 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(pgboy_serdang @ Jun 2 2010, 03:22 AM)
well, 1st of all..
i'm new in this section of lowyat forum, i'm not sure whether is this the suitable section to talk about this issue..
but since it happened in my lab, and i'll be taking postgrad studies, so i guess this is the place..

and the story is basically about...
i've been robbed...
literally, of my efforts and hardwork...

well, in my lab, there's some sort of "tradition" set by my supervisor...
an assignment for the newbies after 1 or 2 months of training in the lab...
if they pass, they can start their own research project...
so my supervisor assigned this newbie N to run an experiement which he did in his final year project during undergrad...
and he failed....coz lack of lab skills and initiative...
as that experiment would affect my results, i took over, ran it, and succeeded...

i think some of u guys might already figure out the ending...
yes.. he presented the result...
and never mentioned about me and my involvement..
(and basically i owned every single bits of the results!!)
and an illusion had been made that it was his effort and his contribution that this experiment has established in our lab...
and.. my supervisor asked him to present "his" work in a upcoming conference...

not cool man, not cool......
this was an assignment for him to prove his worthiness in this lab...
its like STPM to enter uni...
we cant use other ppl's result to enter uni right??
it must be based solely on our own effort...

definately a daylight robbery....
not cool....
not cool...
but i cant do anything about it...
i cant deny or object my supervisor's judgement as it would be impolite...

taking without asking = stealing...
taking in front of you and claimed rightfully theirs = robbery..

i've been robbed...

what to do ???
haiz...
talk to your supervisor. but be careful. you must know what kind of person he is. Dont want to get into bad books with him just over a small issue.

ITs a small issue, but it can lead to bigger problems. Small issue because its just a conference and a 10-15 minutes presentation. but it can be bad because it can represent lack of ethical practice in the lab. But again, it maybe a small issue, overlooked by your supervisor.

but be careful when it comes to publishing papers. always know the ethics of publishing.

DarkForXe
post Jun 12 2010, 06:33 PM

747 posts

trust me, direct confrontation is the best way. you said you did the experiment yourself, you should own the original copy, methodology of reproducing the result. Why the scare with your supervisor?

Luckily i am doing theoretical study, no one else other than me can reproduce what i did. lol.
VinluV
post Jun 12 2010, 06:36 PM

1,947 posts

well you clearly had the chance to document your findings, apply watermarks if needed, and provide references.

Don't think you did it now did you..
SnackAttack
post Jun 12 2010, 07:57 PM

That is life for a research student.
What you need to do was to sign an agreement which states that results that you obtained if he were to publish them with your supervisiors research you will become a co author (depending on the significance of your results)
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 13 2010, 04:27 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 11 2010, 11:35 AM)
rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif Finally, a worthwile comment - how to combat research robbery.

This assumes that the supervisor will be on your side. Since this this form of robbery is so common, is there a danger of the supvisor robbing you instead?
Truth be told, the supervisor has robbed you already by this point. He/she is a researcher working on a project funded by a research grant. Maybe he/she is the principal investigator, maybe not. If he/she is, you get robbed by him/her. If he/she isn't, then he/she robs you and is in turn robbed by the principal investigator to whom the funding grant belongs. Biasa la. THank ur lucky stars ur name even appears on the paper at all.

But on the robbery of TS work, dun worry bro, wat goes around comes around. In the lab rubbish in = rubbish out. If the feller has to curi ur work to get where he wants to go, he wont be able to stay there for long. Take it in stride, lesson learnt. Look on the bright side: at least u didn't lose some earth-shattering game-changing piece of technology breakthrough worthy of Nature that you could've patented or earned a Nobel prize from. Better this happens now, early in ur career and u learn from it.

This post has been edited by pleasuresaurus: Jun 13 2010, 04:33 AM
faceless
post Jun 14 2010, 04:51 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jun 13 2010, 04:27 AM)
Truth be told, the supervisor has robbed you already by this point. He/she is a researcher working on a project funded by a research grant. Maybe he/she is the principal investigator, maybe not. If he/she is, you get robbed by him/her. If he/she isn't, then he/she robs you and is in turn robbed by the principal investigator to whom the funding grant belongs. Biasa la. THank ur lucky stars ur name even appears on the paper at all.

But on the robbery of TS work, dun worry bro, wat goes around comes around. In the lab rubbish in = rubbish out. If the feller has to curi ur work to get where he wants to go, he wont be able to stay there for long. Take it in stride, lesson learnt. Look on the bright side: at least u didn't lose some earth-shattering game-changing piece of technology breakthrough worthy of Nature that you could've patented or earned a Nobel prize from. Better this happens now, early in ur career and u learn from it.
So this is how it works eh tongue.gif When you get higher it your turn to rob people. It sucks to be the junior.

0.0190sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:07 AM