The Secret World, MMO in real world not fantasy

TSwangpr
post Jun 2 2010, 02:09 AM, updated 11y ago

758 posts

Imagine if every myth, conspiracy theory and urban legend was true. Imagine if your worst nightmare came to life. Imagine a world where vampires hunt for mortal blood in dingy London nightclubs, where werewolves lurk in the sewers beneath Seoul, and where the undead prey on the living in the shadows of New York City. This is the premise for «The Secret World», Funcom's upcoming massively multiplayer online game set in the modern day real world.

•Urban environments - Throw yourself into the bustling urban environments of New York, London and Seoul. Shop for clothes, weapons and accessories. Stop by the local nightclub to socialize with your friends before heading out into the darkness that is slowly encroaching on the city streets.

•Real-world locations - Discover real-world locations throughout Europe, Asia, Africa and America. From New England to Egypt, explore vast lands full of detail and story as you unravel the myths, legends and conspiracies of the world through a unique, story-driven gameplay experience.

•Freeform gameplay - Experience a game that has no classes or levels. Truly freeform character customization allows you to create the alter-ego you want to play, and gameplay that goes beyond the usually rigid MMO structure allows you to play the game the way you want to play it.

•Hundreds of powers - Wield fiery katanas, gold-plated pistols, and deadly automatic rifles. Learn martial arts, black magic and voodoo. Choose from hundreds of powers to create a character completely customized to your liking.

•Action-packed combat - Lose yourself in the most intense real-time action-packed combat system ever. Aim, strafe, shoot – movement is key as bullets fly past you and explosions threatens to tear you apart. Swords or firearms, magic and melee, each offering a similarly intense, reactive combat experience.

•Secret societies - Join the Illuminati, the Templars or the Dragon - the three secret societies that pull the strings of our world. Work your way to the top, earn titles and rewards, and play a key role in the battle for world domination.

•Player-made organisations - Create or join player-made organisations called cabals. Create your own headquarters, and decorate and furnish it to your liking. All cabals are ranked against each other, and a cabal's success will bring fame, fortune and power to its members.

•Track your progress - Earn points for everything you do - from combat and exploration, to trade skills and PvP - in order to rank high on both local and global scoreboards, gain titles and worldwide acclaim, and help make your secret society the most powerful and influential of them all.

•Intense player vs. player combat - Take part in ferocious, non-stop player vs. player action in the Battle for Hollow Earth. Fight to control anima, a priceless resource deep within the bowels of our world that will bring unprecedented power to whichever cabal that collects it

•Next-generation graphics - Featuring the latest in cutting-edge graphics technology, explore beautifully realized real-world locations that will truly set the standard for next-generation massively multiplayer online games. Prepare for an audiovisual experience unlike anything seen before.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.darkdaysarecoming.com/

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Nov 9 2014, 06:11 AM
karwaidotnet
post Jun 2 2010, 09:02 AM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

im kinda anticipating this game but i hope:
- it doesnt lag (fat hope)
- it not just another overhyped game
- regardless of how many hundreds varieties it's offering, it all feels and react differently. not just graphically different
- the graphic better be cutting-edge
- last but not least, i hope there's less grinding, more fun.

the previous 'superheroes' mmo kinda dissappointed me. yes, it has lots of varieties, which kinda reminds me of spore unlimited creativity freedom...but at the end of the day...it all seems kinda generic. whether im holding gun or shooting plasma ray from my hand - it has the same kinda effect. and when i see every heroes in the same place fighting the same toons...it just feels like another cheapo mmo wif no real contents.
TSwangpr
post Jun 2 2010, 11:01 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Jun 2 2010, 09:02 AM)
im kinda anticipating this game but i hope:
- it doesnt lag (fat hope)
- it not just another overhyped game
- regardless of how many hundreds varieties it's offering, it all feels and react differently. not just graphically different
- the graphic better be cutting-edge
- last but not least, i hope there's less grinding, more fun.

the previous 'superheroes' mmo kinda dissappointed me. yes, it has lots of varieties, which kinda reminds me of spore unlimited creativity freedom...but at the end of the day...it all seems kinda generic. whether im holding gun or shooting plasma ray from my hand - it has the same kinda effect. and when i see every heroes in the same place fighting the same toons...it just feels like another cheapo mmo wif no real contents.
Superheroes loko more like cartoonish gua
Hahaha.. also it science fiction......

Jas2davir
post Jun 2 2010, 12:24 PM

461 posts

same company who made age of conan
karwaidotnet
post Jun 2 2010, 02:02 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jun 2 2010, 12:24 PM)
yeah i just recalled that....i quit Conan coz of the muscular-LAG... flex.gif

onscreen
post Jun 2 2010, 09:04 PM

Nomby
675 posts

Also the same company that comes out the first Sci-Fi MMO that will be celebrating its 9th years.

What i hope is The Secret World uses what Anarchy Online have.. intensive profession customization so no cookie cutter builds etc.
ray6369
post Jun 30 2010, 06:41 PM

453 posts

nice. :]
kirashin
post Jul 2 2010, 12:31 AM

108 posts

interesting...well it still in development...
wodenus
post Jul 2 2010, 10:59 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

C'mon we need a few more votes for "Boring" smile.gif

spacelion
post Nov 22 2011, 10:36 AM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

http://massively.joystiq.com/2011/11/21/ha...e-secret-world/

very good first hand impression of the game!

I'm very impressed. Looking forward to this.
mz2020
post Nov 28 2011, 11:58 PM

235 posts

Interesting game. Looks like Guild wars game system . P2P or F2P ?
ray148
post Nov 29 2011, 02:03 AM

451 posts

too bad i can't see EA pushing this game to the masses like they did with SWTOR...i REALLY hope this game turns out great (based on the impression, the odds are good!!) and positive word of mouth will carried it forward....can't wait!!!

btw, you guys can register for beta here: http://www.thesecretworld.com/
took the test n apparently i'm Illuminati... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ray148: Nov 29 2011, 02:04 AM
diehard1979
post May 8 2012, 11:26 AM

1,194 posts

got secret world beta key already
dunno the client how big.
This friday to sunday got test.
dezz
post May 8 2012, 02:41 PM

201 posts

still, this game really is being overshadowed badly. with diablo 3 coming round the corner, guild wars 2 hype, and tera launch and all..
Teddysaur
post May 8 2012, 04:25 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

It does sounds fun but who knows.
Jigoku
post May 9 2012, 12:16 PM

289 posts

o-o those who get beta key post some ss show us plox
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 9 2012, 12:19 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jun 2 2010, 12:24 PM)
good. it will be free to play in a matter of time.
kucuboy
post May 10 2012, 11:55 PM

710 posts

Can get free weekend beta key if free signup as Gamespot.com member, hurry, The game client is 11GB. It has taken me 1 and half days non stop to dl it. Another few hours going to complete DL
fuzzybear
post May 11 2012, 12:51 AM

126 posts

mine already DL and patch and ready for it

if u r lag depend on what type of lag
lag from bandwith
or
your pc cant handle the gfx engine and horde of mob and effects.

its not f2p
its p2p

im a templar brows.gif

This post has been edited by fuzzybear: May 11 2012, 12:52 AM
meetxj9
post May 11 2012, 01:15 AM

187 posts

I already bought the game, im giving Funcom this last chance to redeem themselves. They make great games, but they sure hell cant maintain and manage them.
fuzzybear
post May 11 2012, 01:33 AM

126 posts

yalr lor they have been doing badly
esp with all their games lauched
like AO and aoc

Jigoku
post May 12 2012, 09:37 AM

289 posts

beta started anyone got extra key or screenshot of game?
Jabenja
post May 12 2012, 11:31 AM

59 posts

i have beta key for this game. currently downloading at very slow speed... will took about 21more hours to finish (already overnight)

the client size is 13gb.

if u want the beta, head up to gamespot.com they giving away like 100k beta key away!

anyone who managed to finished download the client? can i just come over to ur house and take it. lol.

want play so bad
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 12 2012, 11:46 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 10 2012, 11:55 PM)
Can get free weekend beta key if free signup as Gamespot.com member, hurry, The game client is 11GB. It has taken me 1 and half days non stop to dl it. Another few hours going to complete DL
beta only for this weekend oh? 11gb seems big.
ray148
post May 12 2012, 07:12 PM

451 posts

heard in beta, only Templar is available.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 12 2012, 08:53 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

^ aye that is true.

oh btw is there a nda for this beta? we cannot talk about it?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 13 2012, 12:07 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

its crazy.

the beta client is 25gb+
ray148
post May 13 2012, 01:19 AM

451 posts

25GB?? deng...after the game is out, do we need to download a new one? or they'll just patch it? already pre-ordered the game btw.

i really hope it'll delivers.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 13 2012, 01:27 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ May 13 2012, 01:19 AM)
25GB?? deng...after the game is out, do we need to download a new one? or they'll just patch it? already pre-ordered the game btw.

i really hope it'll delivers.
i think the actual size is 28gb. sweat.gif

folder size is 24.8 gb now.
still got 3.75gb to download.

i can test it on sunday i guess.

until monday 3pm then end i think.

Added on May 13, 2012, 8:13 amtotal client is is 28.8 gb.
ping about 200 - 300ms

combat feels like activating skills, macam guild wars 2.

got some hellgate london too feel i guess.

some random pic.
http://imgur.com/AyYvB.jpg

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: May 13 2012, 08:13 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 13 2012, 08:16 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

one of the earlier in game cinematic scenes.

http://i.imgur.com/iIhaM.jpg
Jabenja
post May 13 2012, 09:39 AM

59 posts

lol nice..im still downloading the client
ray148
post May 13 2012, 12:30 PM

451 posts

so how the quest was given?
is there any hint on how to be a healer/tanker/dps from the ability selection?
or you have to experiment it yourself?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 13 2012, 02:20 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ May 13 2012, 12:30 PM)
so how the quest was given?
is there any hint on how to be a healer/tanker/dps from the ability selection?
or you have to experiment it yourself?
quest, i think standard. got icon above head.
then follow directions.
complete quests, kill stuff for exp. too bad no exp sharing when killing zombies together unless in a party.

healer tank dps i dunno.

i know got

ranged
melee
magic

ranged got
- pistols
- shotgun
- assault rifle

melee got
- claw
- hammer
- blade

magic got
- blood?
- chaos?
- etc
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 13 2012, 04:27 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

kecian no one else playing the beta?

28.8gb

at first i wanna try out because i thought the client is 11-13gb.

mana tau 28.8 gb. sweat.gif

Jabenja
post May 13 2012, 07:04 PM

59 posts

have 2 char.. lol once my char sangkut in between boxes! wait for zombies run n kill so i can respawn.. lol.

im in instance ..but very hard want to lepas trap -,-
SUSdD_se7en
post May 13 2012, 08:23 PM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

enviroment look like hellgate
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post May 13 2012, 08:44 PM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

in the end nid to purchase the game ? @@
gg sial no money for it later laugh.gif

Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 13 2012, 09:18 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ May 13 2012, 08:23 PM)
enviroment look like hellgate
well it is in london after all
diehard1979
post May 14 2012, 05:01 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ May 13 2012, 08:44 PM)
in the end nid to purchase the game ? @@
gg sial no money for it later laugh.gif
Not only purchase, it still got monthly fee so I think hard to capture players at here.
Most of us will go guild wars 2.
kucuboy
post May 17 2012, 02:43 AM

710 posts

I tried the Beta last weekend. I actually really like the stories in a lot of the quests. Makes you care for it. I may actually buy this game as it looks very promising. If only there is much more publicity for this game, more people will take notice of it. The graphics are very pretty as well, not cartoony.

You can even hear the NPC's curse foul language and can see the tits on some of the mobs. This game is trying to cater to a more mature and experienced group of players. I'll try the next two beta weekends before deciding to pre-order it.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 12 2012, 12:15 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

3rd beta weekend this 15 june 2012.

guess everyone busy with diablo 3 and guild wars 2 beta weekend events hur dur
ray148
post Jun 16 2012, 11:33 PM

451 posts

lots of positive response in the current beta--improved combat, music, questing etc..
can't wait!! rclxm9.gif
meetxj9
post Jun 18 2012, 12:41 AM

187 posts

I have already been playing this since first beta~

Its like watching a movie. I played it without knowing what im doing, now im stuck at a academy with mobs i cant kill without losing 90% of my health. No lvl indication is actually a good thing, attack a mob at your own risk~

This is the first mmo that freak me out, after completing a library event, a mini boss that looks like a freakish pile of raw meat was chasing me. There is no way i can kill him so i ran for my life!!! Turns out he was wondering the whole dungeon, but i never saw him until the end.

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Jun 18 2012, 12:41 AM
TimKen
post Jun 22 2012, 06:54 AM

398 posts

Trying out this game for the last beta weekend before deciding to buy....hope it doesn't turn out to be AOC with guns....
frega
post Jun 25 2012, 11:42 AM

396 posts

I would buy if this game has no sub.
But then I might buy then just play 1 month...

Big ability wheel but like 7 active skills to use. Hardly enough. It's going to be very 11112211113 game...A lot of combo building with 1, then finish off with 2 (use 2 combo points), 3 (use 5 combo points) x2 weapon set.

Dodge has a long cooldown making it quite useless most of the time. Not sure if dodging makes you immune to damage like in GW2 but probably not.

Story is okay and refreshing I guess. But a bit out of whack. Imagine your main theme is zombie invasion. Then you go to next zone, Hell has spawned up in a motel. Theme seems all over the place, but then I don't know the full story yet, but seems unlikely...
TimKen
post Jun 27 2012, 01:45 PM

398 posts

Try out the beta weekend, like the modern day settings with the mythical and folklore creature, like it and bought the digital copy from origin quite cheap compare to bought from funcom direct which cost EU49.90 ?
frega
post Jun 27 2012, 04:53 PM

396 posts

Can't get initiate pack from Origins >.<

This post has been edited by frega: Jun 27 2012, 04:55 PM
Channel84
post Jun 28 2012, 02:16 AM

245 posts

offgamers selling for RM140 only. Seem like not many ppl in lyn play this game...T_T
garfieldX
post Jun 29 2012, 04:19 PM

109 posts

im going play this game, already buy it from origin, still not sure which race to chose tongue.gif

Boldnut
post Jul 1 2012, 10:10 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(fuzzybear @ May 11 2012, 01:33 AM)
yalr lor they have been doing badly
esp with all  their games lauched
like AO and aoc

AO was good, it was their flagship product until they pour all their money to AoC. lol Instead of polishing the flagship product they opt to develop AoC + letting the flagship AO slowly rot. = Major fail lol.

just dont put high hopes on this company they sucks.

*ex-veteran AO player here.
ray148
post Jul 1 2012, 11:20 PM

451 posts

there's been alot of praise so far actually for this game.

i'm still downloading though, sux the client didn't resume my download.
now have to start all over again... vmad.gif
liwei92
post Jul 1 2012, 11:45 PM

410 posts

anywhere to buy this game using paypal except from offgamers?

plus anyone have review for this game?

This post has been edited by liwei92: Jul 1 2012, 11:52 PM
TimKen
post Jul 2 2012, 03:09 PM

398 posts

Perhaps different pple have different taste, no any MMO can appeal or suit for everyone just look for the one u like, for me TSW i like the game modern day settings and also get to fight on the mythical lore creature such as Cthulhu, mummy, boogieman, jack-o-lantern, etc etc... I haven't try out the PVP yet though can't give any comment on that but for the PVE part i would say is not bad you pretty much don't see the kill 10 rat quest, and most of the quest can be repeatable (will have cool down after u done it), especially some of the investigating quest which is seriously need you to google outside the game to find the solution, it also got quest which pretty want's you to avoid confrontation with the enemy, like infiltration quest.

Combat wise you get pretty much a lot of combination which you can try out or you could use the pre-made deck suggested by the game. And the skill that u get later doesn't mean is better, it's much more specialized according to the dev.

Oh almost forgot about the dungeon part, well the first dungeon encounter would be a 5-man dungeon, the dungeon seems quite short, avg is about 15-30mins depends on the team capability, the dungeon have very less trash mob to kill most is about 4-5 then will encounter boss.

This post has been edited by TimKen: Jul 2 2012, 03:13 PM
garfieldX
post Jul 2 2012, 03:14 PM

109 posts

so tim, which society are u in? im in dragons, and looking forward to be in neoshaman/martial artist (only want the costume actually) tongue.gif

TimKen
post Jul 2 2012, 03:23 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(garfieldX @ Jul 2 2012, 03:14 PM)
so tim, which society are u in? im in dragons, and looking forward to be in neoshaman/martial artist (only want the costume actually) tongue.gif
I'm in dragon too, at ceberus server i'm building monk build(healer) can easily get grp tongue.gif

Played too much medieval style MMO, want to break away from that a bit.

This post has been edited by TimKen: Jul 2 2012, 03:25 PM
garfieldX
post Jul 2 2012, 04:04 PM

109 posts

monk huh? seem like a good deck, actually i want to use sword and ele mag, but it wont earn any costumes, let see tonight im trying to make a helaer templar biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Cerberus is for hardcore player rite? im in Arcadia RP server
TimKen
post Jul 2 2012, 04:37 PM

398 posts

lol RP ? role playing ?
not sure if cerberus is for hardcore though but heard it was the most populated, because on beta test i was in cerberus so choose back the same server
meetxj9
post Jul 2 2012, 06:16 PM

187 posts

I have no regrets buying this.

The server is much more stable then AOC, gamplay is your normal button masher but Funcom manage to hide alot of the obvious stuff like lvl's. I played the game for 3 days straight none stop just because i want to see what happens.

Now here me out, the puzzles in this game are something to fear, as most of them will require you to google it out or be a smartass. But its really great once you figure it out. Quests are you normal quests, but sometimes you are given pretty fun ones that to me are surprisingly entertaining.

What i enjoy most is the dungeons, i have only played 1 which is POLARIS. After i we beat the last huge mob at the end of the map, i thought it was over, only to be surprised that it wasnt the final boss.

This game actually scared me when we was fighting that cthulu spawn. When it goes into a transdimensional state you cant attack but to hide from it, other wise you get paralyzed and 95% of your HP dissapears once he sees you. Avoiding that thing as it hunts for your team is scary shit. Atop of that, you have to survive its minion onslaught while doing it. We wiped 4 times before we finally beat it.

Going to try INFERNO tonight. rclxms.gif

But what sell this game, is how well the story is written. Dare i say better then SWTOR. Its like watching an episode of Supernatural.

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Jul 2 2012, 06:17 PM
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Jul 2 2012, 08:53 PM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

seems like a lot of good comment abt this game ? yawn.gif

ray148
post Jul 2 2012, 10:22 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ Jul 2 2012, 08:53 PM)
seems like a lot of good comment abt this game ? yawn.gif
it really is, the atmosphere in some of the places is just awesome.
the only bad thing i can say about the game is some buggy quest and unstable dx11.
gbwedward
post Jul 2 2012, 10:39 PM

259 posts

tsk.. if only this is an ARPG genre.. what a waste.. i liked the settings and the concept too
TimKen
post Jul 3 2012, 05:44 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 2 2012, 10:22 PM)
it really is, the atmosphere in some of the places is just awesome.
the only bad thing i can say about the game is some buggy quest and unstable dx11.
Yes about the unstable DX11, i get this low resolution graphic like after few hours of playing, had to restart the game to get it working again. Probably had to take a SS and feedback to the dev wonder if it's a driver issue or something else...
But overall the graphic setting is good at DX11 very detail.
ray148
post Jul 3 2012, 06:32 PM

451 posts

Pretty good trailer.
meetxj9
post Jul 3 2012, 07:48 PM

187 posts

Im proud to be a Dragon!!! Join your brothers in arm!!
ray148
post Jul 3 2012, 08:04 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Jul 3 2012, 07:48 PM)
Im proud to be a Dragon!!! Join your brothers in arm!!
sory...illuminati here. biggrin.gif
/back listening to hiphop lol

question...what's next after Kingsmouth?
should i redo all the quests there to level up my other skills, or just move on n do it at the next place?

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 3 2012, 11:50 PM
meetxj9
post Jul 4 2012, 01:55 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 3 2012, 08:04 PM)
sory...illuminati here. biggrin.gif
/back listening to hiphop lol

question...what's next after Kingsmouth?
should i redo all the quests there to level up my other skills, or just move on n do it at the next place?
DO not skip the misisons. SOmtimes you wont get specific missions from other NPCS because you never completed another NPC's mission. Im just surprised to how well Funcom made this game. Here is a tip, once you are out of Kingsmouth, fast fast go get the BLACK HOUSE mission. Then come back here and tell us how you what you feel while running tru the house. Spoiler alert, dont play with the lights off. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Jul 4 2012, 01:56 AM
THE ZUL
post Jul 4 2012, 03:13 AM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

this game free to play?
TimKen
post Jul 4 2012, 06:49 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Jul 4 2012, 01:55 AM)
DO not skip the misisons. SOmtimes you wont get specific missions from other NPCS because you never completed another NPC's mission. Im just surprised to how well Funcom made this game. Here is a tip, once you are out of Kingsmouth, fast fast go get the BLACK HOUSE mission. Then come back here and tell us how you what you feel while running tru the house. Spoiler alert, dont play with the lights off. tongue.gif
Well don't get your hope high for the black house quest hehe, sometimes the quest is bugged in certain dimension.
Timemuffin
post Jul 4 2012, 08:40 AM

98 posts

hows the ping?
i cant play any other MMO if dont have TOR 150ms ping.?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 4 2012, 09:50 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Jul 4 2012, 03:13 AM)
this game free to play?
it will be in the future.
ray148
post Jul 4 2012, 10:59 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Jul 4 2012, 01:55 AM)
i never skip mission, in fact i just love roaming around looking for one. i was wondering if is should redo missions to level up other powers.
QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Jul 4 2012, 03:13 AM)
this game free to play?
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 4 2012, 09:50 AM)
it will be in the future.
owh come on, this is the best & most unique mmorpg that comes in a while.
support good games please.

this game reminds me why i love paid mmos more--the community.
last mmorpg i played was WoW and that game had a nice community at first, then the constant chuck norris joke+casuals sort of ruin it.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 4 2012, 11:19 AM
meetxj9
post Jul 4 2012, 11:35 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 4 2012, 10:59 AM)
i never skip mission, in fact i just love roaming around looking for one. i was wondering if is should redo missions to level up other powers.

last mmorpg i played was WoW and that game had a nice community at first, then the constant chuck norris joke+casuals sort of ruin it.
Im realistic on this, i can say it wont go F2P for very long time. It will, but not soon, maybe in 3-4 years, longer if Funcom continues to roll out story arcs and maps. Reception has been good, ranting is almost minimal at most forums about the game.

Rift made it this far, TSW will do the same.
Timemuffin
post Jul 4 2012, 01:23 PM

98 posts

is it even out yet?
ray148
post Jul 4 2012, 01:43 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Jul 4 2012, 11:35 AM)
Im realistic on this, i can say it wont go F2P for very long time. It will, but not soon, maybe in 3-4 years, longer if Funcom continues to roll out story arcs and maps. Reception has been good, ranting is almost minimal at most forums about the game.

Rift made it this far, TSW will do the same.
Oh yeah, Rift. I really hope so.
There are plenty of mmorpg fans the market, I hope the positive words of mouth will caught on to them.
QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Jul 4 2012, 01:23 PM)
is it even out yet?
Officially launch today. The current players are pre-order folks & beta players i think.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 4 2012, 01:53 PM
TimKen
post Jul 4 2012, 02:05 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Jul 4 2012, 08:40 AM)
hows the ping?
i cant play any other MMO if dont have TOR 150ms ping.?
Can't see the ping number in the game though but on top of the screen shows 2 bar signal and i don't feel any lag at all
so my best guess is the ping should be around 250ms+ or less

This post has been edited by TimKen: Jul 4 2012, 02:06 PM
meetxj9
post Jul 4 2012, 03:22 PM

187 posts

Support the DRAGON!!!! You are ASIAN!!!!! DO it!!!! rclxm9.gif

Ps, Stonehedge though simple is great fun. Just finished INFERNO yesterday. I was screaming like a f***tard since the last boss is an asss. Orbital bombardment to your face if your slow.

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Jul 4 2012, 03:22 PM
TimKen
post Jul 4 2012, 03:24 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Jul 4 2012, 03:22 PM)
Support the DRAGON!!!! You are ASIAN!!!!! DO it!!!! rclxm9.gif

Ps, Stonehedge though simple is great fun. Just finished INFERNO yesterday. I was screaming like a f***tard since the last boss is an asss. Orbital bombardment to your face if your slow.
Lolz, inferno was so easy, i thought it was so difficult seeing a lot asking for QL5, but the 2nd last boss is abit hard though, is a DPS race boss
meetxj9
post Jul 4 2012, 03:31 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Jul 4 2012, 03:24 PM)
Lolz, inferno was so easy, i thought it was so difficult seeing a lot asking for QL5, but the 2nd last boss is abit hard though, is a DPS race boss
its only easy if you knew what the last boss does....... shakehead.gif I took an ass bomb and died on the spot. Sat on the sidelines watching my teamates try to kill it. After that, i was awarded with boobies. drool.gif LOL
Timemuffin
post Jul 4 2012, 03:50 PM

98 posts

can
can't find it on steam. is it region locked?
sai86
post Jul 4 2012, 03:57 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Jul 4 2012, 03:50 PM)
can
can't find it on steam. is it region locked?
get it from EA store a.k.a Origin
Timemuffin
post Jul 4 2012, 04:06 PM

98 posts

oya o this is an EA partners game

wut servers u guys on?
ray148
post Jul 4 2012, 05:19 PM

451 posts

I'm on Arcadia, RP server.
Getting the hang of the gameplay by doing PVE.

Buying from Origin is cheaper for us btw--Singapore price point.
And you don't need to launch Origin to play the game.
pcomet
post Jul 4 2012, 06:09 PM

75 posts

Server : Hudra
Factio : Dragon
Nick : Rai-den
spacelion
post Jul 4 2012, 06:44 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

Im guessing most if not all asian player will be Dragon.
meetxj9
post Jul 4 2012, 07:53 PM

187 posts

Only traitors got to other factions beside DRAGON.
garfieldX
post Jul 5 2012, 12:19 PM

109 posts

seems like there are a lot dragons here..... Arcadia Monk reporting in tongue.gif

ray148
post Jul 5 2012, 01:35 PM

451 posts

lulz...am i the only one Illuminati here? sweat.gif
fine, i'll make Dragon character later.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 5 2012, 01:56 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 4 2012, 10:59 AM)

i just hate monthly subscriptions.

if it has a different billing system i would consider.

i.e. world of warcraft taiwan server has "time cards"
i.e. about 150 taiwan dollars for 30 hours of in game time or approx rm17 per 30 hours.
good for casual players who do not want to pay rm50+ per month.

the problem with "paying rm50+ per month" is that i will feel an urge to keep playing that game everyday to get my monies worth.

the world of warcraft taiwan also have a 30 days package for 450 taiwan dollars. which means if i do not play 90 hours per month it will not be worth it.

i tried out the 30 days package once and i never got another 30 days package again. i stuck to time card instead. during that 30 days i was playing world of warcraft taiwan everyday.

with a time card thing i could take a break and play other games etc.
ray148
post Jul 5 2012, 02:16 PM

451 posts

While I agree that the time cards is a better solution, it's rare to see an mmo adapting this unfortunately.

The thing about monthly subs is that, ppl perceive it as "YOU MUST PAY EVERY MONTH TO PLAY". When in fact it just you pay when you want to play.

A month of play will get you to do almost everything in the game anyway. Unless you're only playing for like 1-2 hours per day.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 5 2012, 02:23 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 5 2012, 02:16 PM)
While I agree that the time cards is a better solution, it's rare to see an mmo adapting this unfortunately.

The thing about monthly subs is that, ppl perceive it as "YOU MUST PAY EVERY MONTH TO PLAY". When in fact it just you pay when you want to play.

A month of play will get you to do almost everything in the game anyway. Unless you're only playing for like 1-2 hours per day.
well for me, it is "paid for one month liao. if no play then waste money. so everyday must play etc"

so i avoid monthly subs lor.
meetxj9
post Jul 5 2012, 04:00 PM

187 posts

I see monkeys in the forest, monkeys want to be my friend, monkeys go steal metal, monkey make zombies angry, zombies ass rape me cause i was just a bystander.

Moral of the story, if you want to solo in Blue Mountain or beyond, you get ass rape unless you party or play sneaky or have a good dps build.
Boldnut
post Jul 5 2012, 11:06 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 5 2012, 02:23 PM)
well for me, it is "paid for one month liao. if no play then waste money. so everyday must play etc"

so i avoid monthly subs lor.

and is from Funcom, with good record of bad customer service lol.

ray148
post Jul 6 2012, 08:53 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 5 2012, 11:06 PM)
and is from Funcom,  with good record of bad customer service lol.
Not sure how they does it in the old days, but last night i made a petition (report) coz got bugged in a quest.
A GM responded in about 2 hours later assisting me. So I think they're improving.
garfieldX
post Jul 6 2012, 10:48 AM

109 posts

In the website, it says that to play TSW need notebook with GTX 660M, any1 play with this gpu? im still trying to adapt with the system now tongue.gif
meetxj9
post Jul 6 2012, 11:36 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(garfieldX @ Jul 6 2012, 10:48 AM)
In the website, it says that to play TSW need notebook with GTX 660M, any1 play with this gpu? im still trying to adapt with the system now tongue.gif
FUncom always have heavy MMo's. Luckily my com no problem. Anything else would be graphic glitches and memory leaks. I hope they fix the DX11 problem fast.
ray148
post Jul 6 2012, 12:12 PM

451 posts

i keep getting the "out of memory" crash when i roam around too much. kinda got use to it by now. yawn.gif

funcom never issued a launch day 1 patch right? considering how many patches they issued in beta, i think the next patch will be a big one.
and i hope they'll include an Auction House too.
Breaktru
post Jul 6 2012, 02:00 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Just got mine throught Origin , now to download the 15GB >.<
garfieldX
post Jul 6 2012, 04:08 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Jul 6 2012, 02:00 PM)
Just got mine throught Origin , now to download the 15GB >.<
last time check my TSW folder its 31 GB, wonder if i download too many rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
btw when we bought the games it includes 1 month free play? or now still F2P?
ray148
post Jul 6 2012, 04:45 PM

451 posts

Mine's 30+ GB too. It's the compression i think.
This game was never F2P, buying new will give 1 month free just like every paid mmo.

The site is live now.
http://chronicle.thesecretworld.com/

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 7 2012, 08:14 PM
Breaktru
post Jul 7 2012, 08:49 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

You download 15GB , but it takes 30GB in your disk . Playing Illuminati on Arcadia now . Progressing through Kingsmouth already .
frega
post Jul 7 2012, 08:58 PM

396 posts

I've bought, and I will only play the first free month.

Subs in this day and age is not deserved, unless you're WoW, not because it's deserved and more because its f***ing WoW and ppl's already been paying for years.

ray148
post Jul 8 2012, 12:00 AM

451 posts

Or they could do it like Rift, but instead of level they should limit the free players to only be able to explore kingsmouth. That should entice the players to keep playing.
QUOTE(Breaktru @ Jul 7 2012, 08:49 PM)
You download 15GB , but it takes 30GB in your disk . Playing Illuminati on Arcadia now . Progressing through Kingsmouth already .
what's ur ID?

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 8 2012, 11:15 AM
takkicom
post Jul 9 2012, 10:55 AM

422 posts

expensive game sad.gif
TimKen
post Jul 9 2012, 04:01 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ Jul 9 2012, 10:55 AM)
expensive game sad.gif
not expensive actually if u purchase from origin
about SGD40+ if u convert is about rm100+ and u also get 1 free month to play
ray148
post Jul 9 2012, 05:36 PM

451 posts

anyone playing in Arcadia server? I'm in Blue Mountain already and really in need of a partner.

The quests there are so damn hard on solo, and I'm banging my head when it requires you entering a solo instance. mad.gif

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 9 2012, 05:37 PM
TimKen
post Jul 10 2012, 05:50 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 9 2012, 05:36 PM)
anyone playing in Arcadia server? I'm in Blue Mountain already and really in need of a partner.

The quests there are so damn hard on solo, and I'm banging my head when it requires you entering a solo instance. mad.gif
My advise is finish your main quest (the blue one) and go straight to egypt, the mob there is much managable and u get Q7+ loots
ray148
post Jul 10 2012, 09:21 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Jul 10 2012, 05:50 AM)
My advise is finish your main quest (the blue one) and go straight to egypt, the mob there is much managable and u get Q7+ loots
I see, thanks. Btw it looks like there'll be an update today, freaking finally!!

Hopefully they done sorting out the chat bug. Been getting it more and more frequently last night. doh.gif

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 10 2012, 09:21 AM
TimKen
post Jul 10 2012, 09:44 AM

398 posts

yest main broke the chat box lolz, can't chat and can't see anyone chatting T T
ray148
post Jul 10 2012, 08:39 PM

451 posts

Damn...didn't expect the server will be down for 5 hours. sad.gif
Less game time for me today.
CyberTroop
post Jul 10 2012, 09:19 PM

743 posts

Is there a free trial for this game?
ray148
post Jul 10 2012, 09:25 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jul 10 2012, 09:19 PM)
Is there a free trial for this game?
Not at the moment. But there's a buddy code that let you play for 24 hours, it was awarded to pre-order ppl.
Gave away mine though, sory.

Btw, the patch is live!!

Update 1.0.1

thx god for that Blue Mountain changes. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 10 2012, 09:25 PM
Convael
post Jul 10 2012, 10:28 PM

1,109 posts

Hope they fix some of those graphic bugs on dx 11 . Also had a few crashes on the game earlier .

But this is such a fantastic MMO . According to Xfire its one of the top 3 most played mmorpg ( the other 2 being SWTOR / WOW ) in the market right now.
ray148
post Jul 11 2012, 01:17 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 10 2012, 10:28 PM)
But this is such a fantastic MMO .  According to Xfire its one of the top 3 most played mmorpg ( the other 2 being SWTOR / WOW )  in the market right now.
Xfire is not really a good indication on how many ppl plays a game nowadays, but seeing it at no. 3 is good enough.
And Funcom also added a new server!! rclxms.gif

Some update from the man himself:
http://forums.thesecretworld.com/showthread.php?t=42532

More investigation mission?? Sounds cool as hell!!

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 11 2012, 01:18 AM
finecut
post Jul 11 2012, 12:16 PM

497 posts

want to purchase the game, but no credit card sad.gif
ray148
post Jul 11 2012, 12:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(finecut @ Jul 11 2012, 12:16 PM)
want to purchase the game, but no credit card sad.gif
Yeah, sory about that.

Weird that EA singapore didn't release a retail version of this game. Hell, no marketing at all too.
WTF EA??????????!!!! vmad.gif
finecut
post Jul 11 2012, 12:52 PM

497 posts

unless i could pay someone to gift it to me sad.gif
even SWTOR got retail version...
Channel84
post Jul 11 2012, 08:34 PM

245 posts

Arcadia dragon ign Gengki, add me if anyone want to play together. For those whining about monthly sub they can always go the life sub route ^^
frega
post Jul 11 2012, 09:18 PM

396 posts

Anyone able to download 1.0.1? Its not moving at all...
Channel84
post Jul 11 2012, 09:19 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(frega @ Jul 11 2012, 09:18 PM)
Anyone able to download 1.0.1? Its not moving at all...
No problem for me, been playing 1.01 since yesterday
pretentiousme
post Jul 12 2012, 12:24 PM

how you guys find the game?

ray148
post Jul 12 2012, 01:09 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(pretentiousme @ Jul 12 2012, 12:24 PM)
how you guys find the game?
Buy from Origin, $44 SG dollar.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 12 2012, 01:09 PM
BlackWoods
post Jul 13 2012, 10:26 AM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

Always appreciate a non-fantasy MMORPG until I see monster starts appearing.
CaidD
post Jul 13 2012, 07:38 PM

How do i get the 30 Days of free time when i bought from the origin store?
ray148
post Jul 13 2012, 08:55 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(CaidD @ Jul 13 2012, 07:38 PM)
How do i get the 30 Days of free time when i bought from the origin store?
Just register the game code here: https://register.thesecretworld.com/
Convael
post Jul 14 2012, 03:54 AM

1,109 posts

I liked the game so far .

However for a game have a vanity and costume cash store , this game is simply too expensive .
I am not whining about it , I am currently still paying for it but it wont be very long until I unsub.

American having to pay 11 Euro ,while the Europe and Asian have to have 15 Euro a month for the game. ( read : roughly equal to rm 60 a month )

Unless you sub for longer term in which you receive a 7% discount subsequently , it is still quite alot more expensive than the other mmo.

A short comparison to the other mega hit MMORPG on the market now on subscription :

RIFT - £5.84 (TSW is 65.41% more expensive)
SWTOR - £7.69 (TSW is 25.61% more expensive)
WOW - £7.69 (TSW is 25.61% more expensive)
TERA - £7.92 (TSW us 21.96% more expensive)
EVE - £7.50 (TSW is 28.79% more expensive)

I can tell their developers team are very confident at the game . It is indeed a fresh breath in the air among mmo despite of getting much less attention in the spotlight
than the other mega hit , but that alone does not justify why do they charge the players so much more .
The game is still fresh, yet alot of the upcoming features are still in the process of getting implemented , the end game content is still lacking
( even swtor has launched a few Raid instance by now )

Its an amazing game but give it a few months and I reached the 'end game' , I am not very sure if I would want to pay rm1200 a year for the game .
Its unlikely I will pay for life time or a straight year especially given the history of funcom ( Look A.O.C ) .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 14 2012, 04:02 AM
Channel84
post Jul 14 2012, 11:21 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 14 2012, 03:54 AM)
However  for a game have a vanity and costume cash store , this game is simply too expensive .
I am not whining about it , I am currently still paying for it but it wont be very long until I unsub.

American having to pay 11  Euro ,while the Europe and Asian have to have 15 Euro a month for the game. ( read : roughly equal to rm 60 a month )

Unless you sub for longer term in which you receive a 7% discount subsequently , it is still quite alot more expensive than the other mmo.

A short comparison to the other mega hit MMORPG on the market now on subscription :

RIFT - £5.84 (TSW is 65.41% more expensive)
SWTOR - £7.69 (TSW is 25.61% more expensive)
WOW - £7.69 (TSW is 25.61% more expensive)
TERA - £7.92 (TSW us 21.96% more expensive)
EVE - £7.50 (TSW is 28.79% more expensive)

I can tell their developers team are very confident at the game . It is indeed a fresh breath in the air among mmo despite of getting much less attention in the spotlight
than the other mega hit ,  but that alone does not justify why do they charge the players so much more .
The game is still  fresh, yet  alot of the upcoming features are still in the process of getting implemented , the end game content is still lacking
( even swtor has launched a few Raid instance by now )
Its an amazing game but give it a few months and I reached the 'end game' , I am not very sure if I would want to pay rm1200 a year for the game .
Its unlikely I will pay for life time or a straight year especially given the history of funcom ( Look A.O.C ) .
We're malaysian, why do you calculate in euro or pound sterling. If you have a problem just change your country and address setting in your profile. I was using white house address to get the USD pricing

This post has been edited by Channel84: Jul 14 2012, 11:22 AM
TimKen
post Jul 14 2012, 11:37 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(Channel84 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:21 AM)
We're malaysian, why do you calculate in euro or pound sterling. If you have a problem just change your country and address setting in your profile. I was using white house address to get the USD pricing
Lolz...white house address blink.gif
ray148
post Jul 14 2012, 11:51 AM

451 posts

However  for a game have a vanity and costume cash store , this game is simply too expensive .
You don't have to buy it. There's a costume store in-game you know, in London.

The dev already announced the next chapter for the game btw. Coming this July 31st.
http://thesecretworld.com/news/the_secret_..._2012_unleashed

And I love they are planning for the world to keep changing.
Eventually The Secret World will start to change forever. Imagine, instead of discovering more of Sam Krieg’s story, you were to find that he’d been killed off in the latest issue? What an investigation mission that could turn out to be. I expressed concern about latecomers to the game – wouldn’t they then miss out on that character’s missions and dialogue?

Yes they would and, indeed, yes they will. But that’s how a world creates a history for itself, in the conversations about what has been before but is no longer, and in the memories of those players whose experiences can no longer be replicated. The idea of a changing world, which evolves not through procedural wizardry or player action but rather through the guiding hand of a team of writers, goes a long way to explaining both why The Secret World isn’t simply a single player game with an MMO glued onto it and, if the changes are significant and the monthly plan is adhered to, justifying that subscription fee.

Convael
post Jul 14 2012, 03:16 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Channel84 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:21 AM)
If you put your address as Malaysia or any asian country , the default currency they are charging you are in EURO and its 14.99 EURO.

And if you are using fake address, that is against the rules and regulation you agreed upon logging , because you are considered giving fake payment information.

Look at what happen to the Auction House in D3 when people put fake country in theirbackground information.
I just spoke to their live chat , they pretty much say the same .

Wouldn't want to risk to get banned sorry.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 14 2012, 03:20 PM
Eventless
post Jul 15 2012, 08:45 AM

2,643 posts

How did you get RM1200 a year? At RM60 a month, it should only be RM720 a year.

I have a question here, how do you download the client? If you need to download through an activated account, do they start calculating the subscription date from the date you enter your key or the first time you login to the game? A 15GB download is going to take days to complete with local internet.

This post has been edited by Eventless: Jul 15 2012, 08:53 AM
ray148
post Jul 15 2012, 03:36 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Eventless @ Jul 15 2012, 08:45 AM)
I have a question here, how do you download the client? If you need to download through an activated account, do they start calculating the subscription date from the date you enter your key or the first time you login to the game? A 15GB download is going to take days to complete with local internet.
Here: https://register.thesecretworld.com/

It'll start calculate once you log into the game.
Channel84
post Jul 17 2012, 11:13 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 14 2012, 03:16 PM)
If you put your address as Malaysia or any asian country , the default currency they are charging you are in EURO and its 14.99 EURO.

And if you are using fake address, that is against the rules and regulation you agreed upon logging , because you are considered giving fake payment information.

Look at what happen to the Auction House in D3 when people put fake country in theirbackground information.
I just spoke to their live chat , they pretty much say the same .

Wouldn't want to risk to get banned sorry.
If u change ur address to US and then change back to malaysia it will charge you in USD from then on, thats the case for me.
SUSifourtos
post Jul 17 2012, 12:12 PM

2,256 posts

How this game compare to GW2?

The monthly subscription of 15euro.. ermm.
~I got limited play time.

But if this really a good/innovative MMORPG, i would give it a try.
ray148
post Jul 17 2012, 12:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 17 2012, 12:12 PM)
How this game compare to GW2?

The monthly subscription of 15euro.. ermm.
~I got limited play time.

But if this really a good/innovative MMORPG, i would give it a try.
Just play for a month, it really is different from other mmo.
It actually feels like an RPG.
TimKen
post Jul 18 2012, 01:54 PM

398 posts

Finally beat the damn gatekeeper yesterday
huhu, ready for nightmare instance now
Djin
post Jul 19 2012, 04:05 PM

Wow look like realy nice game ehh.. Well i give it try, maybe next month.. I have questions... How bout the ping? What is the recommended internet connection to play this game? Because i just bought G55VW and do you think it can handle this games?
Lucifer696
post Jul 19 2012, 04:27 PM

Anyone sell the digital download here?
ray148
post Jul 20 2012, 12:19 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Djin @ Jul 19 2012, 04:05 PM)
Wow look like realy nice game ehh.. Well i give it try, maybe next month.. I have questions... How bout the ping? What is the recommended internet connection to play this game? Because i just bought G55VW and do you think it can handle this games?
Usual is 250-350ms like any other US hosted mmo. For connection, 1mbps at least is recommended.
Your new laptop seems capable enough to play it, just don't expect to reach a High setting.

QUOTE(Lucifer696 @ Jul 19 2012, 04:27 PM)
Anyone sell the digital download here?
Try this guy:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=720517&hl=
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...hl=secret+world

Though I recommend buying it yourself from Origin, it's way cheaper.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 20 2012, 12:21 AM
TimKen
post Jul 20 2012, 06:45 AM

398 posts

The latency can't really see the numbers in the game but on the top right corner of the screen there is an icon looks like a wireless signal bar strength, mine have 2 bars (i think max is 3 bars) and i hardly feel any lag at all, so i would guess the overall ping is somewhere around 200-300ms
SUSifourtos
post Jul 20 2012, 10:21 AM

2,256 posts

too bad its a laptop. and this game is quite graphic power demanding.

Min requirement : Radeon HD3850.

Your G55VW equiped with GTX660M

Translate GTX660M to desktop Graphic = ~ Radeon HD7750
Merely Pass the Minimum Requirement.
Should be able to run at your screen max resolution but not the smooth FPS (20~25 maybe)

ray148
post Jul 20 2012, 10:31 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Jul 20 2012, 06:45 AM)
The latency can't really see the numbers in the game but on the top right corner of the screen there is an icon looks like a wireless signal bar strength, mine have 2 bars (i think max is 3 bars) and i hardly feel any lag at all, so i would guess the overall ping is somewhere around 200-300ms
There's a mod for that: http://forums.thesecretworld.com/showthread.php?t=45461
SUSifourtos
post Jul 20 2012, 12:56 PM

2,256 posts

Any Dailou can sent me a trial buddy pass? (24H)
by invatation. ( all registered TSW player can invite buddy to try )

Thanks in advance.

my email:
gan@i4tos.com

Added on July 21, 2012, 1:44 amPurchase the Game.

Downloading the client. finishing in 11 hours.

This post has been edited by ifourtos: Jul 21 2012, 01:44 AM
ray148
post Jul 21 2012, 03:50 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 20 2012, 12:56 PM)
Any Dailou can sent me a trial buddy pass? (24H)
by invatation. ( all registered TSW player can invite buddy to try )

Thanks in advance.

my email:
gan@i4tos.com

Added on July 21, 2012, 1:44 amPurchase the Game.

Downloading the client. finishing in 11 hours.
lol...that was fast. rclxms.gif

Enjoy the game man.
And remember, everytime you finishes a quest there will always be another quest close to where you are.
CyberTroop
post Jul 21 2012, 08:51 PM

743 posts

Edit

This post has been edited by CyberTroop: Jul 9 2018, 11:02 AM
SUSifourtos
post Jul 22 2012, 11:08 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jul 21 2012, 08:51 PM)
Can anyone share a trial invite for this game. I've searched all over google and can't seem to find it anywhere.

I can't decide whether to start to game anot.

My email is jamesng138@gmail.com

Thanks alot
Invitation send. - thats my only invitation.

it great. non like any other MMO RPG.

guys, something the game just stuck at loading screen, do you guys meet this problem?

This post has been edited by ifourtos: Jul 22 2012, 11:10 PM
ray148
post Jul 23 2012, 12:08 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 22 2012, 11:08 PM)
guys, something the game just stuck at loading screen, do you guys meet this problem?
Yep. Happen to me quite a few times.
I think it was caused by streamyx lag spike which happen when the game trying to detect us entering a new area.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 23 2012, 12:09 AM
SUSifourtos
post Jul 23 2012, 01:06 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 23 2012, 12:08 AM)
Yep. Happen to me quite a few times.
I think it was caused by streamyx lag spike which happen when the game trying to detect us entering a new area.
maybe game bug.

i got near perfect unify connection.

i never fell lag when playing MMORPG (AAA's title)
ray148
post Jul 23 2012, 01:17 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 23 2012, 01:06 AM)
maybe game bug.

i got near perfect unify connection.

i never fell lag when playing MMORPG (AAA's title)
Doesn't have anything to do with speed really, but more about the efficiency of our country's gateway to the US.

Sure your u/d speed can reach like 500 Kb/s but thanks to the poor quality of our gateway to the US, the data stream itself actually fluctuate alot.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 23 2012, 01:17 AM
SUSifourtos
post Jul 23 2012, 11:28 AM

2,256 posts

Currently Blade Build

Nick name : xentra

still in kingsmouth..
Djin
post Jul 23 2012, 12:06 PM

Thank you guys... Currently downloading the game... But i can't buy it from origin because i don't have credit card, so kena beli dari funcom lah.... The price sooo difference.. origin =rm110.XX/ and funcom-=rm 191.XX... (T_T)..
SUSifourtos
post Jul 23 2012, 12:54 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Djin @ Jul 23 2012, 12:06 PM)
Thank you guys... Currently downloading the game... But i can't buy it from origin because i don't have credit card, so kena beli dari funcom lah.... The price sooo difference.. origin =rm110.XX/ and funcom-=rm 191.XX... (T_T)..
contact us mah........

we help you buy...
Djin
post Jul 23 2012, 01:03 PM

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 23 2012, 12:54 PM)
contact us mah........

we help you buy...
Really? Thank you very much.. But i'll buy after download finished.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Djin: Jul 23 2012, 01:03 PM
finecut
post Jul 24 2012, 12:50 AM

497 posts

who can help me buy???!?
-kytz-
post Jul 24 2012, 03:04 AM

12,573 posts

Didn't quite check up on this game, but seemed quite interested in it. Got a few questions:

1) Officially launched already?
2) B2P/P2P or F2P? biggrin.gif
3) What's the most appropriate youtube video to get me hooked. Something like a "10 reasons why you should be interested in... bla blabla )
4) Modern setting with monsters right? What else makes the game interesting?

Thanks!

Added on July 24, 2012, 7:27 am
QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 20 2012, 10:21 AM)
too bad its a laptop. and this game is quite graphic power demanding.

Min requirement : Radeon HD3850.

Your G55VW equiped with GTX660M

Translate GTX660M to desktop Graphic = ~ Radeon HD7750
Merely Pass the Minimum Requirement.
Should be able to run at your screen max resolution but not the smooth FPS (20~25 maybe)
Really that demanding ah? Graphics don't seem to be that great IMO

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 24 2012, 07:27 AM
TimKen
post Jul 24 2012, 07:49 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 24 2012, 03:04 AM)
Didn't quite check up on this game, but seemed quite interested in it. Got a few questions:

3) What's the most appropriate youtube video to get me hooked. Something like a "10 reasons why you should be interested in... bla blabla )

Thanks!

1)It's already official launch on 3-July some as early as 27 june because got early head start tongue.gif
2)P2P + item store purely vanity only
3)lolz 10 reasons....u gotta play it to believe it
4)How about u get to fight along side dracula to defeat the vampire queen ? Dev says they gonna patch in more new content soon, gonna be seeing that in auguest

ray148
post Jul 24 2012, 08:06 AM

451 posts

1) Yes.
2) P2P.
3) Not sure if got such videos, but I can assure you most of the video reviews/gameplay I found are from the beta. doh.gif
4) -The setting is basically like this---Something is happening to the world and you (you'll see this in the intro cutscenes). You'll then got invited to join one of the faction--Templars (arrogant prick), Illuminati (a$sholes) & Dragons (anarchist). Then there goes your adventure/story.
-What make the game interesting? The QUESTS (can't state this enough!!), the story (mystery/horror/conspiracy), the Lore (easy to follow coz it's happening in a real world), the characters & the atmosphere.

The graphic is pretty great actually in highest setting.
The game is abit demanding coz of the engine it uses.
SUSifourtos
post Jul 24 2012, 10:16 AM

2,256 posts

Thanks!

1) Launched. 1.0.2 now

2) SGD43 Free 30days subscription - USD15 monthly subscription
( currently the most expansive MMORPG >SWTOR >TERA >WoW >FFXIV)

3) My review for ToS :
a) A heavy story focus MMORPG
most NPC are heavily voice acted, script. even most Side-quest has a storyline and NPC with voice acted.
ToS can be a very good Single Player RPG its own
b) Challenging Investigation Quest
Honestly, i need to use youtube to pass all this kind of quest. it doesnt involve your combat ability, but
puzzle solving is real hard.
c) Character development
Complicated, open end, leveless, classless. You are totally free on how you develop your char.
All skill tree from all weapon/magic type are open to player. No level, you grant Ability Point/Skill Point at certain
amount of XP, hardcore RPG Fan favorite
4) Read Above

About the graphic,
The game will shine in DX11 setting. If you able to run it under DX11.
Whatever111
post Jul 24 2012, 10:02 PM

113 posts

Hi, need some clarification from you guys, is the price stated in Origin in singapore dollar or us dollar? In origin website it's stated that the price is in us dollar but it seems that you guys are saying that it's in sing dollar.
-kytz-
post Jul 24 2012, 11:00 PM

12,573 posts

Thanks everyone for the replies smile.gif

Btw, I heard someone mentioned that there are guest passes? Anyone can let me try the game pretty please biggrin.gif
ray148
post Jul 25 2012, 12:10 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Whatever111 @ Jul 24 2012, 10:02 PM)
Hi, need some clarification from you guys, is the price stated in Origin in singapore dollar or us dollar? In origin website it's stated that the price is in us dollar but it seems that you guys are saying that it's in sing dollar.
The store should show SGD price if it detect your IP is malaysia.
Try refresh your browser or just straight register.
SUSifourtos
post Jul 25 2012, 10:56 AM

2,256 posts

waiting the in-game MarketPlace launch @ 31st Jul.

I am stucking at Kingsmouth.
Why:
I trying to proceed the main story questline but i stuck at tier 7.
( those monster at that area have 2x HP than me.. )
Total SP Gained : 16

* Question :
I saw a Deck Build, there is a button "Get Reward" if we follow the build configuration in specific Deck, what was the reward?

* Can i respec?
TimKen
post Jul 25 2012, 12:50 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 25 2012, 10:56 AM)
waiting the in-game MarketPlace launch @ 31st Jul.

I am stucking at Kingsmouth.
Why:
I trying to proceed the main story questline but i stuck at tier 7.
( those monster at that area have 2x HP than me.. )
Total SP Gained : 16

* Question :
I saw a Deck Build, there is a button "Get Reward" if we follow the build configuration in specific Deck, what was the reward?

* Can i respec?
The reward u get is the build's outfit, u can check by clicking on the outfit button

no respec needed as eventually u will get enough AP to have all the builds
SUSifourtos
post Jul 25 2012, 03:19 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Jul 25 2012, 12:50 PM)
The reward u get is the build's outfit, u can check by clicking on the outfit button

no respec needed as eventually u will get enough AP to have all the builds
Meaning at the end we will learn all the Ability Point?
ray148
post Jul 25 2012, 03:31 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 25 2012, 03:19 PM)
Meaning at the end we will learn all the Ability Point?
Yes, if you're doing every quests that is--PVP quests, Lair quests, Lore collecting, etc.
You can max out all 2 weapon skills though (i think) if you're doing all the story/side quests.

Btw, the XP needed to get AP & SP is always the same throughout the game.
So later in the game, you can get like 10 AP everytime you finish a mission.
Convael
post Jul 25 2012, 07:15 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Channel84 @ Jul 17 2012, 11:13 AM)
If u change ur address to US and then change back to malaysia it will charge you in USD from then on, thats the case for me.
Yes correct but your payment history is incorrect and unintended and you are risking your account to a permanent ban.
I am saying you can do this alright but you are not suppose to do that .

I already have several friends who did exact same thing before Age of Conan 's F2P release ( also by funcom and 15 EURO /month )

It was fine until 1 day he had to look for customer service online for some game bugs .
When the CS agent go through his profile info, he was permanently banned on the second day receiving an email saying he was paying with the right background info .

Added on July 25, 2012, 7:20 pm
QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 25 2012, 03:31 PM)
Yes, if you're doing every quests that is--PVP quests, Lair quests, Lore collecting, etc.
You can max out all 2 weapon skills though (i think) if you're doing all the story/side quests.

Btw, the XP needed to get AP & SP is always the same throughout the game.
So later in the game, you can get like 10 AP everytime you finish a mission.
At Transylvania and faction rank 11 atm

I didn't pvp or do every quest out there , already have earned enough AP/ SP to complete 2.5 decks .
( almost maxed out 5x weapon skills )

I estimate to have 5-6 decks completed by the time I am ready for Nightmare dungeons.
Although many of the deck abilities are mostly awful and not worth using at the end game.

Thanks!

I am not sure which game you are comparing to , hopefully not the Offline RPG ?
this is most likely the best looking mmo game ( beside swtor or TERA ) going on max Resolution.
The game running on DX 11 with TXAA is very breathtaking , especially when you reach the Egypt deserts.
Everything look so sophisticated . Sad thing is this only work if you have a Nvidia 600 series card.
Take a look at this preview video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HvoXNnrEFc...player_embedded

If you have ATI cards , don't even think about it . The DX 11 features also tend to bug out a lot . artifact , graphic glitches and everywhere.
And the game is very unfriendly with 32bit OS user as well .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 25 2012, 07:46 PM
Whatever111
post Jul 25 2012, 10:14 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 25 2012, 12:10 AM)
The store should show SGD price if it detect your IP is malaysia.
Try refresh your browser or just straight register.
Forgot that I'm connected to vpn lol doh.gif
SUSifourtos
post Jul 26 2012, 11:25 AM

2,256 posts

Currently still in Kingsmouth.

Which quest worth replaying in kingsmouth?
Convael
post Jul 26 2012, 01:07 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 26 2012, 11:25 AM)

Why do you want to repeat a quest you have completed before ?

If you are grinding for AP might as well do a quick Polaris of Inferno Run .
But you really shouldn't be grinding for anything until the very end game.
Channel84
post Jul 26 2012, 02:16 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 25 2012, 07:15 PM)
Yes correct but your payment history is incorrect and unintended and you are risking your account to a permanent ban.
I am saying you can do this alright but you are not suppose to do that .

I already have several friends who did exact same thing before Age of Conan 's  F2P release ( also by funcom and 15 EURO /month )

It was fine until 1 day he had to look for customer service online for some game bugs .
When the CS agent go through his profile info, he was permanently banned on the second day receiving an email saying he was paying with the right background info .

So far i've contacted CS for several time now and still no ban. And under what basis are we getting ban when we're not EU resident. Either your friend is illiterate in consumer right or this is just an urban legend.
TimKen
post Jul 26 2012, 02:26 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 26 2012, 11:25 AM)

Kingsmouth quest has a 16-18hrs cd, so if you want to grind AP/SP usually polaris is the best choice because no CD you can grind as much as you want
SUSifourtos
post Jul 26 2012, 04:30 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 26 2012, 01:07 PM)
Why do you want to repeat a quest you have completed before ?

If you are grinding for AP might as well do a quick Polaris of Inferno Run .
But you really shouldn't be grinding for anything until the very end game.
actually i dont like grinding.
i wanted to skip all the side quest and proceed the main story quest.

but i stuck at kingsmouth airport ( trails left by benemouth - tier 7 )
the mobs there is tooooooo hard for me..
Convael
post Jul 26 2012, 06:40 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 26 2012, 04:30 PM)
actually i dont like grinding.
i wanted to skip all the side quest and proceed the main story quest.

but i stuck at kingsmouth airport ( trails left by benemouth - tier 7 )
the mobs there is tooooooo hard for me..
You still do not have to grind for anything at all in this game. I didn't and did fine until rank 12 .

There are times where I find my equipment sub-par but most of the times it isn't your equipment.
Just make sure you learn the right weapon skills and equip the right things.

For eg : You are a DPS and getting killed too quickly , you can usually put on few tanking piece to boost your HP or drink a health of barrior Potion.

If the monster is far too strong , you must have miss a few quest point .
Turn on your map, Look around the places and see if you miss any of the NPC .
Visit them and see if you miss some of the quests.

SUSifourtos
post Jul 26 2012, 06:54 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 26 2012, 06:40 PM)
You still do not have to grind for anything at all in this game.  I didn't and did fine until rank 12 .

There are times where I find my equipment sub-par but most of the times it isn't your equipment.
Just make sure you learn the right weapon skills and equip the right things.

For eg : You are a DPS and getting killed too quickly ,  you can usually put on few tanking piece to boost your HP  or drink a health of barrior Potion.

If the monster is far too strong , you must have miss a few quest point .
Turn on your map, Look around the places and see if you miss any of the NPC .
Visit them and see if you miss some of the quests.
How to call out the quick action bar for consumable?
Convael
post Jul 26 2012, 07:22 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 26 2012, 06:54 PM)
How to call out the quick action bar for consumable?
You can't unfortunately .

The only easy way I find is to make an extra volume of bag place ( by clicking the ( + ) button ) from your bag ,
put all your consumable in that bag spaces . Put it beside your action bar and lock it .

Or the easier way is to learn this ability called 'TURN THE TABLE' that instantly restore 600-700 HP and not affected by +heal with a 35 seconds cooldown
ASAP . Its on the Misc TAB.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 26 2012, 07:25 PM
SUSifourtos
post Jul 26 2012, 07:47 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 26 2012, 07:22 PM)
You can't unfortunately .

The only easy way I find is to make an extra volume of bag place ( by clicking the ( + ) button ) from your bag ,
put all your consumable in that bag spaces . Put it beside your action bar and lock it .
Or the easier way is to learn this ability called 'TURN THE TABLE' that instantly restore 600-700 HP and not affected by +heal with a 35 seconds cooldown
ASAP . Its on the Misc TAB.
i notice the misc ability.
but the mistake is, i bet on Blood ability, max out the 1st level of blood ability, the barrier healing power not as good as i think. (maybe i need to get some +heal item)

i waiting the MarketPlace so i can "instantly" buff up my char.
The best item in char is a Blue QL3 Blade with 147 DMG.....
other all Green QL2
CyberTroop
post Jul 26 2012, 09:05 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 22 2012, 11:08 PM)
Invitation send. - thats my only invitation.

it great. non like any other MMO RPG.

Thank you very much for the invite!! This game is awesome! I'm gonna buy it soon!
lawchau
post Jul 27 2012, 06:33 PM

[deleted]

This post has been edited by lawchau: Aug 5 2017, 02:04 AM
-kytz-
post Jul 27 2012, 07:23 PM

12,573 posts

Ohmai. This game seems to be more demanding than Crysis
SUSifourtos
post Jul 27 2012, 07:30 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(lawchau @ Jul 27 2012, 06:33 PM)
Hello guys. I am currently very interested to play this game and willing to buy for it. However I wish to ask some question that I cannot find answer from the internet.

Is this game require alot of party up to do quest, i mean is it a highly party dependable game, like if you not party you will be stuck forever? because I am online mmo solo player most of the time even though I don't mind to make some friend for chatting and tag along. If yes then this game may not suites me.

There is RP server (Role Play), i play it for 1 week, solo quest is just fine. For PVP, system will auto arrange party for you. For Early game progress, solo is good enough. But i believe the endgame dungeon (item farming), you need party

Is it alot of puzzle to do in game? I always loved to play puzzle as in games like resident evil, silent hill, dead space, fallout 3 etc. I just don't really like game that is monotonously keep killing monsters for advance.

Puzzle is challenge and rewarding in this game.

Last question is, since the game is released at 3 July and it is almost near one month, anyone that started early can tell if the game content is short or long?

Content is Long. and dev promise new content monthly

Sorry if I sound bossy or demanding (as I feel it), I do not mean that, it is only my english are limited, and I do not know any better way to ask this in english.

I hope that I am not too late to join this game now.

Welcome to ToS
Convael
post Jul 27 2012, 07:42 PM

1,109 posts

Is it alot of puzzle to do in game? I always loved to play puzzle as in games like resident evil, silent hill, dead space, fallout 3 etc. I just don't really like game that is monotonously keep killing monsters for advance.

There are 3 types of missions . The first is the sabotage mission , where you have sneak pass enemies and reach your destination . The second type is the puzzle solving and the last one are the "Quest N Kill " type.

Ohmai. This game seems to be more demanding than Crysis

That is mostly because the game engine isn't optimized . The game does look ridiculously stunning under all that TXAA but it will take a monster rig to run it flawlessly (exclude the glitches and bugs)
Also the game is not user-friendly with 32bit OS.

I hope that I am not too late to join this game now.

Its never too late to join a game especially you are a 'solo' Player .
But if you are looking to find a spot on the leaderboard ( think Armory profile from blizzard game WOW but with ranking http://chronicle.thesecretworld.com/ ) then you are out of luck.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 27 2012, 07:56 PM
ray148
post Jul 27 2012, 10:51 PM

451 posts

Dun worry. This game is perfect for solo play, and the missions are varied enough--especially the puzzle mission that at times I find it ridiculously challenging (satellite hacking mission WTF!!!!!!!).

Sure there are quests that require a 5-ppl dungeon run, but there's only one mission for each dungeon as far as i know.
And the benefit of doing dungeons for the most part is pretty much about getting a better gears and weapons.
lawchau
post Jul 28 2012, 02:15 AM

[deleted]

This post has been edited by lawchau: Aug 5 2017, 02:15 AM
Convael
post Jul 28 2012, 02:30 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(lawchau @ Jul 28 2012, 02:15 AM)
Thank you guys for the reply. It is convincing me more to try out the game biggrin.gif

I will probably buying the game at this early august, when my salary is out.
Game is offering a free to play weekend soon .

http://www.gamingexaminer.com/the-secret-w...everyone/17340/

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 28 2012, 02:31 AM
ray148
post Jul 28 2012, 05:11 AM

451 posts

future updates:

-New weapon sounds coming with patches, sounds modeled to the look of the weapons.
-Custodian (atomatrons in Agartha) investigation mission in upcoming update.
-Combat pets (maybe).
-Stuff like the new interaction menu is a hint to some big change coming in the future (change of control scheme?).
-Draug speaking Islandic.
-The Secret World playable for free for everyone the next weekend! (who created an account once, or may create an account prior to the next weekend)
-There will be events, partys and competitions ingame, basically they try to brake the game wink.gif

Bold are the best news!!
THE ZUL
post Jul 29 2012, 10:36 AM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 28 2012, 02:30 AM)
Game is offering a free to play weekend soon .

http://www.gamingexaminer.com/the-secret-w...everyone/17340/
free to play forever?
that means i can play w/o pay?
Convael
post Jul 29 2012, 02:38 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Jul 29 2012, 10:36 AM)
free to play forever?
Not forever of course but during that weekend only .
Might wanna pre-download the client earlier as the game client is quiet big .
-kytz-
post Jul 29 2012, 03:58 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 29 2012, 02:38 PM)
Not forever of course  but during that weekend only .
Might wanna pre-download the client earlier as the game client is quiet big .
Awesome!!!

But errr, where to download the client lol. Need to sign up account first then can download?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 29 2012, 03:59 PM
ray148
post Jul 29 2012, 05:17 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Jul 29 2012, 10:36 AM)
free to play forever?
It's free weekend only. I think it's meant for players who'll mostly have their free month over by that time.
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 29 2012, 03:58 PM)
Awesome!!!

But errr, where to download the client lol. Need to sign up account first then can download?

There should be a client download after sign in.

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 30 2012, 04:51 AM
Convael
post Jul 29 2012, 08:25 PM

1,109 posts

client setup download link : http://cdn.funcom.com/tsw/live/setup.exe
ArchAngel56
post Jul 31 2012, 09:36 AM

how is the end game and pvp?

This post has been edited by ArchAngel56: Jul 31 2012, 09:39 AM
TimKen
post Jul 31 2012, 02:01 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(ArchAngel56 @ Jul 31 2012, 09:36 AM)
how is  the end game and pvp?
PVP have fusang, stonehenge and el dorado
from what i know;
fusang = persistent PVP (24/7 no round)
stone henge = dominate the stone henge (got round one i think)
el dorado = some sort like capture the flag, u have ur own flag to defend and u can captured enemy flag then defend it to get point to win (got round)
ray148
post Jul 31 2012, 02:15 PM

451 posts

For end game, you can do:
-Lair--a high level quest/boss hunting.
-Elite/Nightmare difficulty dungeon.
-Collect Lore & achivement.
I think I remember funcom promising a raid content.
Convael
post Jul 31 2012, 04:36 PM

1,109 posts

Despite of being a brilliant game among the MMO sea , both end game and PVP aspect in this game is a Disaster as of this moment.

There is no raid in the game yet (although it was said to be implemented soon) . End game gearing is just downright hilarious now .
The Nightmare tuning is so difficult it is likely impossible to do a full run with a bunch of pick-up strangers
So pray that you are in a very active guild , with very active players which has playstyle you are familiar with .
If you are mostly casual or solo player you can stop playing at the beginning of transylvania as you stop getting new gears from quests/vendor.

The PVP aspects also have a lot of major problems . Faction imbalance was one , the fusang project PVP is ridiculous .
Pray that you are in 'right' (most played) fraction and you will win all the time . Hell you even get free Marks ( PVP tokens ) without doing anything
There is no PVP stats so you get 1 shot from all the most played faction all the time.

None of which they plan to fix in upcoming announced updates.
Just play this as story game if you are looking for a real PVP , look elsewhere . Funcom has never been good at any PVP games.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 31 2012, 09:21 PM
tempted
post Jul 31 2012, 04:44 PM

25 posts

cool will be looking forward for the free weekend.
TimKen
post Aug 1 2012, 06:54 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 31 2012, 04:36 PM)
Despite of being a brilliant game among the MMO sea , both end game and PVP aspect in this game is a Disaster as of this moment.
There is no raid in the game yet (although it was said to be implemented soon) . End game gearing is just downright hilarious now .
The Nightmare tuning is so difficult it is likely impossible to do a full run with a bunch of pick-up strangers
So pray that you are in a very active guild , with very active players which has playstyle you are familiar with .
If you are mostly casual or solo player you can stop playing at the beginning of transylvania as you stop getting new gears from quests/vendor.
The PVP aspects also have a lot of major problems . Faction imbalance was one , the fusang project PVP is ridiculous .
Pray that you are in 'right' (most played) fraction and you will win all the time . Hell you even get free Marks  ( PVP tokens ) without doing anything
There is no PVP stats so you get 1 shot from all the most played faction all the time.

None of which they plan to fix in upcoming announced updates.
Just play this as story game if you are looking for a real PVP , look elsewhere . Funcom has never been good at any PVP games.
Well nightmare not really hard though once u get the hang of it, of cos compare to normal/elite it's extremely hard.
I have done it quite fine with some random PUG when i just get nightmare license tongue.gif
Convael
post Aug 1 2012, 09:04 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Aug 1 2012, 06:54 AM)
Well nightmare not really hard though once u get the hang of it, of cos compare to normal/elite it's extremely hard.
I have done it quite fine with some random PUG when i just get nightmare license tongue.gif
You mostly are speaking for yourself. Which NM have you been doing up to ?

It wasn't the boss difficulty that was a problem , it was mainly due to having very specific requirement under some very extreme condition.
For example if a boss is casting uber deadly spell , you will absolutely require someone to have an interrupt skill ready .
If nobody have it , its a wipe . So coordination and familiarity with your playmate is a must.

And just like you said ' Get the hang of it' . How about an entry level who are just starting ?
I just find it hard to believe you just got your NM attunement and a random PUG accept you into the group. Maybe you should intro me some of your friends.

I have done more than 50 NM dungeons in the past week .
Most of them are noob-unfriendly I can tell you 50% of them consisted of very ignorant and rude group leader that has worse manners and temper than awakening a half sleeping lion.
I consider myself lucky cause I had a very old gamer friend that is so willing to guide me through .

This post has been edited by Convael: Aug 1 2012, 09:06 AM
athlonmax
post Aug 2 2012, 01:45 PM

558 posts

i'm going to try the free to play this weekend,see if i like it,i might get the full version. smile.gif
ray148
post Aug 3 2012, 06:08 AM

451 posts

Don't forget, the free weekend starts 12.00 am tonight.
And if you do 30 missions, you'll get bonus points!! biggrin.gif

Checkout the link below to register;
http://thesecretworld.com/news/celebrate_t...he_secret_world
athlonmax
post Aug 3 2012, 08:49 AM

558 posts

I already did the sign up but didnt receive any email from Funcom?
Need to wait when the free play started?
ray148
post Aug 3 2012, 09:26 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Aug 3 2012, 08:49 AM)
I already did the sign up but didnt receive any email from Funcom?
Need to wait when the free play started?
Not sure, but whatever the case you should start downloading the client.
The game is quite big.
athlonmax
post Aug 3 2012, 09:44 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Aug 3 2012, 09:26 AM)
Not sure, but whatever the case you should start downloading the client.
The game is quite big.
I've just finished downloading the client last night smile.gif
now waiting for the e-mail to grants me the free access,i think.
retsmot
post Aug 3 2012, 01:28 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

interesting, free this weekend?

can i use origin to download it?
athlonmax
post Aug 3 2012, 02:33 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Aug 3 2012, 01:28 PM)
interesting, free this weekend?

can i use origin to download it?
Nope no origin download,sign up and download he client from here http://www.thesecretworld.com/news/celebra...he_secret_world
retsmot
post Aug 3 2012, 02:37 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

thanks.

i used to have a funcom account, am trying to link that account to secret world. but it requires a key? where to get this key to tryout the free weekend? without buying the game.
athlonmax
post Aug 3 2012, 03:01 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Aug 3 2012, 02:37 PM)
thanks.

i used to have a funcom account, am trying to link that account to secret world. but it requires a key? where to get this key to tryout the free weekend? without buying the game.
I'm not sure about that,from what i know,just complete the sign up on the right side bar of the website and maybe wait til tonite when the free play becomes available and then login i guess.
Convael
post Aug 5 2012, 12:58 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Aug 3 2012, 02:37 PM)
thanks.

The free weekend is only from 3/8 ~ 5/8 . if you are going to try it might as well just register a new account .
ray148
post Aug 5 2012, 11:49 AM

451 posts

Finally, done all 30 missions.
takkicom
post Aug 5 2012, 07:45 PM

422 posts

monster environment story is good
but combat is so byer healer tank best of all
other was left out no people wanna play with
Convael
post Aug 6 2012, 04:11 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Aug 5 2012, 11:49 AM)
Finally, done all 30 missions.
Congratulation rclxms.gif

It seems like the PVP quest works too , just any 30 quests . I got my points from 30 pvp quests .

Djin
post Aug 11 2012, 08:32 AM

Anyone can help me buy this game from origin please?
Convael
post Aug 11 2012, 10:19 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Djin @ Aug 11 2012, 08:32 AM)
Anyone can help me buy this game from origin please?
you can buy it from Eseong --> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2311514/all
Djin
post Aug 11 2012, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(Convael @ Aug 11 2012, 10:19 AM)
you can buy it from Eseong  -->  http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2311514/all
Trusted seller?
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Aug 12 2012, 01:29 AM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

QUOTE(Djin @ Aug 11 2012, 12:12 PM)
Trusted seller?
yes he is trusted as i deal with him before smile.gif

Convael
post Aug 12 2012, 01:41 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Djin @ Aug 11 2012, 12:12 PM)
Trusted seller?
I have bought over hundreds of bucks from him so yes he can be trusted .
Djin
post Aug 12 2012, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ Aug 12 2012, 01:29 AM)
yes he is trusted as i deal with him before smile.gif
Hehe okey thanks guys..

Added on August 12, 2012, 11:45 am
QUOTE(Convael @ Aug 12 2012, 01:41 AM)
I have bought over hundreds of bucks from him so yes he can be trusted .
Thank you bro.. thumbup.gif

Added on August 14, 2012, 2:23 pmHey which server all of you play?

This post has been edited by Djin: Aug 14 2012, 02:23 PM
Convael
post Aug 22 2012, 07:20 PM

1,109 posts

Big Preview on the upcoming rate , Ground Zero , Tokyo , new Auxiliary Rocket launcher smile.gif on gc

I must say it has been since a long time I hold my breath on a mere game video preview .
Such brilliant and innovative designers from TSW.

Now if they move on to fix the gazillion amount of ultra broken bugs in the game ...

This post has been edited by Convael: Aug 22 2012, 07:22 PM
athlonmax
post Dec 13 2012, 10:50 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Dec 13 2012, 10:41 AM)
Is it as good as Guild Wars 2?
I would say the questing,story,lore is good,lots of fun and hard puzzle solving quest,and also superb voice acting too.
Compare to GW2 i say it's comparable if u like modern day setting.

Now it's buy to play,monthly fee is optional.I might play back this game lol..

This post has been edited by athlonmax: Dec 13 2012, 10:51 AM
Convael
post Dec 13 2012, 04:19 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Dec 13 2012, 10:41 AM)
Is it as good as Guild Wars 2?
w/e the other says , this game is probably the most innovative MMORPG in the recent years.

It does everything different, it has flexibility no other games has . You have to hop onto this game and play through to witness all the amazing creation .

I have played over 200 mmorpg + in my life time and this is probably the best looking , most PC specification demanding ( I had to upgrade my CPU twice to play it at acceptable frame rate ) MMORPG as of today.
If you are already tired of typical Fantasy MMORPG ocean , give it a try .

P.S. speaking as someone who uninstalled GW2 3 hours after the early launch . When I was younger I used to like GW 1 and everything from the game . IMO GW2 is only popular for PVP players and student who can't afford subscription fees.

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 13 2012, 04:37 PM
XEN -v- gK
post Dec 13 2012, 08:00 PM

137 posts

Been playing this since CBT.
What I really like about this game is the lore, quest presentation. It is like watching episode of Supernatural or X-Files.

Some of the quest puzzle are very unique, really have to use your brain and google-fu to solve them. You don't see this in new game now, everything is either auto walk to target or got floating arrow or just next-next-next-ok-complete quest.
ngparksern
post Dec 14 2012, 02:13 AM

52 posts

Anyone able to purchase it through steam ???
athlonmax
post Dec 14 2012, 09:23 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(XEN -v- gK @ Dec 13 2012, 08:00 PM)
Been playing this since CBT.
What I really like about this game is the lore, quest presentation. It is like watching episode of Supernatural or X-Files.

Some of the quest puzzle are very unique, really have to use your brain and google-fu to solve them. You don't see this in new game now, everything is either auto walk to target or got floating arrow or just next-next-next-ok-complete quest.
Yeah the lore and quest is nice,each zone has it's own story.I just arrived in Egypt and found the story a bit boring compared to the previous zones.
retsmot
post Dec 16 2012, 01:59 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

game is now is 15usd on amazon... tempted to buy.

but how's the latency for us in malaysia? 200-300ms or 500-600ms?

here's the link:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007VTVKG6/

This post has been edited by retsmot: Dec 16 2012, 02:01 PM
Convael
post Dec 16 2012, 05:40 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Dec 16 2012, 01:59 PM)
game is now is 15usd on amazon... tempted to buy.

but how's the latency for us in malaysia? 200-300ms or 500-600ms?

here's the link:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007VTVKG6/
mostly at 200-300ms . Shouldn't be any problem at all doing any end game content unless you are one of the problematic one with a lot of disconnection and unstable line
retsmot
post Dec 17 2012, 01:19 AM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

ah ic... but after checking around ... my com seems to be able to run it only on low settings.... sigh. time to save for a new rig.
dagnarus
post Dec 17 2012, 11:44 AM

328 posts

damn i need this game. someone able to buy from amazon?
Convael
post Dec 17 2012, 01:41 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Dec 17 2012, 01:19 AM)
ah ic... but after checking around ... my com seems to be able to run it only on low settings.... sigh. time to save for a new rig.
Thats the thing with this game, its utilizing the new TXAA ( its actually the first TXAA Game in the entire world ) technology in the graphic settings.

Its likely the most realistic looking mmo around the places right now.

The game is very demanding though . You will need an atleast decent graphic card , strong CPU and a SSD to run this game.

Added on December 17, 2012, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(dagnarus @ Dec 17 2012, 11:44 AM)
damn i need this game. someone able to buy from amazon?
get it from steam .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 17 2012, 01:41 PM
retsmot
post Dec 17 2012, 02:08 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

will need a new rig b4 i try this game. playing on low will not get 'full experience' haha.

shame, i'm itching to play this after seeing that it reminds me of vampire the masquerade : bloodlines. bloody epic game last time.
Convael
post Dec 17 2012, 02:27 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Dec 17 2012, 02:08 PM)
will need a new rig b4 i try this game. playing on low will not get 'full experience' haha.

shame, i'm itching to play this after seeing that it reminds me of vampire the masquerade : bloodlines. bloody epic game last time.
Its a world set in the mysterious chimaeras , mummies ,vampires, zombie with a very Lovecraft-ish storytelling style , never the cheesiness you witness in other online game before.

Shame that the funcom doesn't got much money to advertise the game.

You never need to pay for the subscription anyway , why not just get the game and give it a try first. The delicious graphics are just eyecandy , afterall its what the content and stories offered that keep you bound to the game.

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 17 2012, 02:28 PM
retsmot
post Dec 17 2012, 05:05 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

nah i'm gonna pass on this for now. gonna buy a new rig soon... just to play witcher 2 on high/ultra. biggrin.gif
CyberTroop
post Dec 18 2012, 10:42 PM

743 posts

Just bought this game from this website http://www.g2play.net/store/The-Secret-Wor...l-Download.html

Gonna try the game now. Which server is everyone on.
Convael
post Dec 18 2012, 11:33 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Dec 18 2012, 10:42 PM)
Just bought this game from this website http://www.g2play.net/store/The-Secret-Wor...l-Download.html

Gonna try the game now. Which server is everyone on.
It doesn't matter whichever server you are on , you can play together .
-JusJasMiNe-
post Dec 18 2012, 11:55 PM

384 posts

would definitely buy this tonite =]

XEN -v- gK
post Dec 20 2012, 12:25 PM

137 posts

[quote=Convael,Dec 17 2012, 01:41 PM]
The game is very demanding though . You will need an atleast decent graphic card , strong CPU and a SSD to run this game.

My AMD Phenom x2 and sapphire vapor-x hd 6770 run the game just fine.
Don't need to go SSD, overkill.

Even joined a few war, doesn't feel lag.
But mostly still play solo to see the story.

You can check can your PC run the game or not
http://www.yougamers.com/gameometer/10529/
athlonmax
post Dec 20 2012, 01:05 PM

558 posts

Huldra is the un-official server for Oceanic players though,i have all my toons there.
Convael
post Dec 20 2012, 03:21 PM

1,109 posts

[quote=XEN -v- gK,Dec 20 2012, 12:25 PM]
[quote=Convael,Dec 17 2012, 01:41 PM]

My AMD Phenom x2 and sapphire vapor-x hd 6770 run the game just fine.
Don't need to go SSD, overkill.

Even joined a few war, doesn't feel lag.
But mostly still play solo to see the story.
You can check can your PC run the game or not
http://www.yougamers.com/gameometer/10529/

[/quote]

You obviously haven't done any of the raid or Highend Nightmare dungeons.

That benchmark is fairly useless.
Whether if you can run a game, or if you can run a game smoothly at good setting are 2 different thing.

With those kind of spec , there is no way you are running the game with TXAA and Ultra settings which is a waste since the game has such a gorgeous environment and lightings. I do say you are missing a hell lot out .
If you plan to run only solo content ( like you ) then you don't need a SSD .

But thats not the case for TSW , the high end contents require you to run the game on very good Frame rate perse .
Its so intense to the point 0.5 sec slow ( Run some Nightmare Ankh dungeon ) on dodging something will get you killed or possibly wipe the entire group.
You will be kicked out of group , mocked , taunted , flame and blacklisted if you do that.

P.S. I still have no idea what are you talking about , SSD by argument is one of the best investment on game performance.
And this game is HUGE , around 42 GB installation size . That is the biggest MMORPG Around the globe right now , having a SSD will greatly shorten the loading time. ( from 30 seconds to 3-4 seconds )
Personally even on my newly bought 680 GPU , I notice much less stuttering with Ultra setting on my desktop SSD with max TXAA and 50 ish FPS .
Especially when entering a new area.

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 20 2012, 03:29 PM
XEN -v- gK
post Dec 20 2012, 06:49 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 20 2012, 03:21 PM)
You obviously haven't done any of the raid or Highend Nightmare dungeons.

That benchmark is fairly useless.
Whether if you can run a game, or if you can run a game smoothly at good setting are 2 different thing.
With those kind of spec , there is no way you are running the game with TXAA and Ultra settings which is a waste since the game has such a gorgeous environment and lightings.  I do say you are missing a hell lot out .
If you plan to run only solo content ( like you ) then you don't need a SSD .
But thats not the case for TSW , the high end contents require you to run the game on very good Frame rate perse .
Its so intense to the point 0.5 sec slow ( Run some Nightmare Ankh dungeon ) on  dodging something will get you killed or possibly wipe the entire group.
You will be kicked out of group , mocked , taunted , flame and blacklisted if you do that.

P.S. I still have no idea what are you talking about , SSD by argument is one of the best investment on game performance. 
And this game is HUGE , around 42 GB installation size . That is the biggest MMORPG Around the globe right now , having a SSD will greatly shorten the loading time. ( from 30 seconds to 3-4 seconds )
Personally even on my newly bought 680 GPU , I notice much less stuttering with Ultra setting on my desktop SSD with max TXAA and 50 ish FPS .
Especially when entering a new area.
I can complete solo quest, perform in party dungeons and play some war content.
basically, Im not playing the game hardcore and my PC specs suits my need just fine.
I don't need DX11 to immerse in the game, the developer did their job very well with the lore and atmosphere to draw me in already.

No need for hardware elitism here. wink.gif
Convael
post Dec 21 2012, 07:59 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(XEN -v- gK @ Dec 20 2012, 06:49 PM)
I can complete solo quest, perform in party dungeons and play some war content.
basically, Im not playing the game hardcore and my PC specs suits my need just fine.
I don't need DX11 to immerse in the game, the developer did their job very well with the lore and atmosphere to draw me in already.

No need for hardware elitism here.  wink.gif
There is no elitism , merely stating the fact.

You can play and enjoy a game all the way you want. But from what I can tell here here you are an extremely casual player ( Speaking as someone who has 57 days /played time here and more than 40 items in 10.5/10.4 )
All I did was repeating advices people had given around . And this including developers and spec technician from various BIG mmorpg including WOW & TSW itself saying how SSD is a worthy investment to game performance.

Not to mention the high end content in this game cannot be run in low setting as the shorter viewing distance will cause some problem for new players ( For eg : Polaris NM ' last boss )

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 22 2012, 12:16 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 1 2013, 11:20 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

amazon summer sales discount -67%

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VTVKG6/ref=cm...hildsplaycha-20

usd $9.99

still not available in our region in steam store though
http://store.steampowered.com/app/215280/?cc=my
Convael
post Jul 2 2013, 12:45 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 1 2013, 11:20 AM)
amazon summer sales discount -67%

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VTVKG6/ref=cm...hildsplaycha-20

usd $9.99
still not available in our region in steam store though
http://store.steampowered.com/app/215280/?cc=my
To celebrate their 1 year launching anniversary , the game is going to be "FREE 2 PLAY" for an entire week.

Everything off the store will also receive a 30% discount .
For more info : here

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 2 2013, 12:48 PM
retsmot
post Jul 3 2013, 01:39 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

interested to try this free to play week to see how it runs on my pc. but where on earth can i find the client to dl? the website has no links.
Convael
post Jul 3 2013, 10:02 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Jul 3 2013, 01:39 PM)
interested to try this free to play week to see how it runs on my pc. but where on earth can i find the client to dl? the website has no links.
Game download was only available upon purchase before this , but since it is " F2P" now you can download from this url

here
retsmot
post Jul 4 2013, 01:17 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

thanks dood!
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 6 2013, 06:11 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

wtf, wanna buy the game online but keep saying

"Information
There was an error submitting your data.
Please check your input and try to correct any invalid fields."

zzzz
Convael
post Jul 8 2013, 09:10 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Vengeance_Mad @ Jul 6 2013, 06:11 PM)
wtf, wanna buy the game online but keep saying

"Information
There was an error submitting your data.
Please check your input and try to correct any invalid fields."

zzzz
Where did you try to purchase the game ?

They had a free week of access , so maybe theres when a swarm of ppl went out to buy the game and flooded the servers.
Try buying it again , but I remember several days ago steam had a great Sale on TSW for under 10usd ( 9.99 )
monkeyjumbo
post Jul 15 2013, 09:36 PM

85 posts

Hello TSW sifus, just got my game last week from the amazon sale and im loving every second of it. One question though, is it possible to max out the ability wheel? I'm playing a pistol and blood magic guy and i kinda got spanked sometimes lol. Thinking of making a new character but since i feel like i messed up the abilities but skill points i have yet to spend them. Any advice for the noob?
Convael
post Jul 18 2013, 09:12 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(monkeyjumbo @ Jul 15 2013, 09:36 PM)
Hello TSW sifus, just got my game last week from the amazon sale and im loving every second of it. One question though, is it possible to max out the ability wheel? I'm playing a pistol and blood magic guy and i kinda got spanked sometimes lol. Thinking of making a new character but since i feel like i messed up the abilities but skill points i have yet to spend them. Any advice for the noob?
You will eventually maxed out the entire wheel , therefore there is no need for you to respec .

If you regret investing in certain ability tree and want to go for a new tree , do more quests and get more Ability points .
I had maxed out my entire wheel last year and was given a very sweet special psychic costume ( which is still available in game I believe )

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 18 2013, 09:16 PM
monkeyjumbo
post Jul 21 2013, 02:32 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jul 18 2013, 09:12 PM)
You will eventually maxed out the entire wheel , therefore there is no need for you to respec .

If you regret investing in certain ability tree and want to go for a new tree , do more quests and get more Ability points .
I had maxed out my entire wheel last year and was given a very sweet special psychic costume  ( which is still available in game I believe )
yeah i've read it over in the help in game. thanks. ohh dangg nice. bought the issue 7 as well as i've 1200 free funcom coins (dunno where it came from) will try it soon
allsick
post Jul 21 2013, 05:21 PM

116 posts

Anyone selling their accounts? pst
monkeyjumbo
post Jul 22 2013, 12:58 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 21 2013, 05:21 PM)
Anyone selling their accounts? pst
you should have bought yours during the amazon sale a few weeks back. damn cheap lol RM30 sweat.gif
allsick
post Jul 22 2013, 02:13 AM

116 posts

Yeah.. missed it =(
monkeyjumbo
post Aug 23 2013, 09:14 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ Jul 22 2013, 02:13 AM)
Yeah.. missed it =(
bro, they're selling it for $11 now. and that's sing dollars over at origin
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 29 2013, 12:28 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

anyone still playing this game?

i just bought a copy from steam for usd 14.99

what servers everyone is it?

http://forums.thesecretworld.com/showthread.php?t=35541
aaaah single server, dimensions.

i think i will go with huldra dimension. the oceanic dimension.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Sep 29 2013, 12:44 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 2 2013, 12:11 AM

12,573 posts

Oh my, totally missed the sales because I was inactive for many months now sad.gif

Deimos Tel`Arin can gimme buddy key or not tongue.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 2 2013, 08:53 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 2 2013, 12:11 AM)
Oh my, totally missed the sales because I was inactive for many months now sad.gif

o what is buddy key?
-kytz-
post Oct 2 2013, 10:58 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 2 2013, 12:11 AM)

Supposed to be a 3 day trial key
Jigoku
post Oct 5 2013, 07:11 AM

289 posts

When got sales someone post here leh cry.gif i miss the sales so long ago doh.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 13 2013, 10:24 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Oct 5 2013, 07:11 AM)
When got sales someone post here leh cry.gif  i miss the sales so long ago doh.gif
I missed it too hehe.

Anyone got buddy key? Really appreciate it smile.gif
Convael
post Nov 22 2013, 01:53 AM

1,109 posts

MMORPG is giving away free trial keys for the game for those who is interested . Those who finished 30 missions in the trial period will receive another 2 bonus trial day .
here

HuorEarfalas
post Nov 30 2013, 01:06 AM

382 posts

anyone knows how to get free trial?
retsmot
post Jan 18 2014, 07:15 AM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

game on sale right now on amazon for 10 bucks. with the usd5 promotional credit... i snapped it up for 5 bucks. what a steal. smile.gif

-kytz-
post Jan 20 2014, 05:32 AM

12,573 posts

I'm in Arcadia. Do add me as I'm new here. Nickname : Petrificious smile.gif
retsmot
post Jan 21 2014, 10:00 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

i just picked the 1st server.... btw this game is super laggy with alot of lag spikes for malaysian isp.

unifi vip5. lucky only usd5 wasted. otherwise its a pretty great concept and game, love the atmosphere. i also applied leatrix patch... no use... 300 ms can spike up to 3k ms suddenly...

This post has been edited by retsmot: Jan 21 2014, 10:12 PM
Convael
post Jan 22 2014, 12:39 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Jan 21 2014, 10:00 PM)
i just picked the 1st server.... btw this game is super laggy with alot of lag spikes for malaysian isp.

unifi vip5. lucky only usd5 wasted. otherwise its a pretty great concept and game, love the atmosphere. i also applied leatrix patch... no use... 300 ms can spike up to 3k ms suddenly...
The game itself is actually cross-server .

If you mean the Daemon server , which is the first server on the selection list , getting 200ms-300ms seems to be fine .

I did not had any issues on Daemon server ( or any server ) and I am on Streamyx 4mb .

It is because UNIFI tend to have different routing path than streamyx .
I have heard a lot of UNIFI players complain about connecting to European game server , not just on this game .
I bet the fault lies in the UNIFI itself .
retsmot
post Jan 24 2014, 09:38 AM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jan 22 2014, 12:39 AM)
The game itself is actually cross-server .

If you mean the Daemon server , which is the first server on the selection list , getting 200ms-300ms seems to be fine .

I did not had any issues on Daemon server  ( or any server ) and I am on Streamyx 4mb .

It is because UNIFI tend to have different routing path than streamyx .
I have heard a lot of UNIFI players complain about connecting to European game server , not just on this game .
I bet the fault lies in the UNIFI itself .
Yeah I changed ip .... Found a more stable one.

slepth
post Feb 14 2014, 03:49 PM

188 posts

Got my self a buddy key and played this game.

First impression: Wow! This game really puts the RPG in MMORPG.

Voice over for all quest npc. Interconnecting quest. The writings are actually good and fun to read. Lots of lore.

Kinda rare for MMO this days to get that kind of quality.

Somewhat reminds me of Witcher.

Hmm, any more sales? or can I get a copy of this game in Malaysia?

EDIT: Wohoo! Just bought the game from G2Play for RM66.10 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by slepth: Feb 14 2014, 10:29 PM
HuorEarfalas
post Mar 26 2014, 12:47 AM

382 posts

I think I'm in the Arcadia server... cant remember... too lazy to open client and check..

Anyway, give a shout to Adylia... i'm pretty much end geared so can help with anything except anything that is nightmare mode
SUSsniperz
post Nov 8 2014, 08:11 PM

2,464 posts

2014 got replies? OK...

Just want to ask is there any The Secret World retail box on sale again? I think they can take this time to make the MMO back to business like Guild Wars 2.
Jigoku
post Nov 9 2014, 08:34 AM

289 posts

Every single time got promotion and i miss it cry.gif
SUSsniperz
post Nov 9 2014, 09:45 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Nov 9 2014, 08:34 AM)
Every single time got promotion and i miss it  cry.gif
Still got people sell the game? rclxub.gif

It looks good since the last time I saw the gameplay.
ray148
post Nov 9 2014, 09:52 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Nov 9 2014, 08:34 AM)
Every single time got promotion and i miss it  cry.gif
Just wait for steam sale. Should be soon.

Btw...Issue 9 is really good.
The story all coming together nicely.
memphiz_zero88
post Nov 9 2014, 09:53 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Nov 9 2014, 09:52 AM)
Just wait for steam sale. Should be soon.

Btw...Issue 9 is really good.
The story all coming together nicely.
problem is, Steam version is not available for us. except Massive Edition which can only be added to cart if open in browser. rclxub.gif

Amazon and Origin still selling it, so can wait for the discount to kick in on those stores.

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Nov 9 2014, 09:53 AM
ray148
post Nov 9 2014, 10:20 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Nov 9 2014, 09:53 AM)
problem is, Steam version is not available for us. except Massive Edition which can only be added to cart if open in browser. rclxub.gif
Just buy from traders. MMO on steam doesn't have activation restriction.
Jigoku
post Nov 9 2014, 11:02 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Nov 9 2014, 10:20 AM)
Just buy from traders. MMO on steam doesn't have activation restriction.
link to traders plox notworthy.gif
ray148
post Nov 9 2014, 11:13 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Nov 9 2014, 11:02 AM)
link to traders plox notworthy.gif
http://www.steamtrades.com/forum/search/secret%20world
Jigoku
post Dec 1 2014, 09:05 PM

289 posts

Which server for Oceanic or SEA guild?
SUSsniperz
post Dec 1 2014, 09:28 PM

2,464 posts

Had busted my wallet for Steam. Gonna save for this! As I have Guild Wars 2 and etc, this game is worth it... Will hold on for another 75% if possible.

Must BUY!!! I recommend.
Jigoku
post Dec 1 2014, 09:52 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Nov 9 2014, 11:13 AM)
Just got mysefl the steam massive edition.

Which server to join to start my journey brows.gif
ray148
post Dec 1 2014, 10:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Dec 1 2014, 09:52 PM)
Just got mysefl the steam massive edition.

Which server to join to start my journey  brows.gif
Doesn't matter. The game features a unified server.
Jigoku
post Dec 1 2014, 10:49 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Dec 1 2014, 10:45 PM)
Doesn't matter. The game features a unified server.
Any erm specific faction to join any reason?

Templar? Dragon? Illuminati? whistling.gif
ray148
post Dec 1 2014, 10:53 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Dec 1 2014, 10:49 PM)
Any erm specific faction to join any reason?

Templar? Dragon? Illuminati? whistling.gif
It just differs in how they reply when you submit a mission reports.
Any factions is fine. You'll group up with anyone anyway when doing dungeons.

Templar - self-righteous as hell.
Dragon - crazy, weird and serious.
Illuminati - sarcasms overload.

This post has been edited by ray148: Dec 1 2014, 10:54 PM
SUSsniperz
post Dec 1 2014, 10:58 PM

2,464 posts

SEA Region or MY unlikely to buy from Steam.

Can buy from Origin also!
ray148
post Dec 1 2014, 11:00 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Dec 1 2014, 10:58 PM)
SEA Region or MY unlikely to buy from Steam.

Can buy from Origin also!
You can buy the Massive Edition on steam actually. Here: http://store.steampowered.com/sub/33573/
Cheaper than the base game price in US too.
SUSsniperz
post Dec 1 2014, 11:44 PM

2,464 posts

How come it seems so undetailed?

TQ!!!

http://store.steampowered.com/sub/33573/

For future purchase. I will consider. Origin is cheap too.

This post has been edited by sniperz: Dec 1 2014, 11:45 PM
SUSsniperz
post Dec 2 2014, 12:12 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Dec 1 2014, 11:00 PM)
You can buy the Massive Edition on steam actually. Here: http://store.steampowered.com/sub/33573/
Cheaper than the base game price in US too.
Pricing error. Check back... It's more than RM75+++

Better go for Origin. Same game, same server in my opinion.

Bought at there... BF4 and all good stuffs there.
yiporan
post Dec 2 2014, 12:18 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Dec 2 2014, 12:12 PM)
Pricing error. Check back... It's more than RM75+++

Better go for Origin. Same game, same server in my opinion.

Bought at there... BF4 and all good stuffs there.
not price error , deal end . wait steam tonight maybe got encore sale
SUSsniperz
post Dec 2 2014, 12:28 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(yiporan @ Dec 2 2014, 12:18 PM)
not price error , deal end . wait steam tonight maybe got encore sale
Doesn't matter haha. I got it already.

Dirt cheap! RM24.38 for a full game. That's considered cool.
-kytz-
post Dec 2 2014, 04:12 PM

12,573 posts

I bought mine from Amazon, so there's no steam/uplay/origin DRM. Wonder if I could see any of you guys there? Lol
ray148
post Dec 2 2014, 05:37 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 2 2014, 04:12 PM)
I bought mine from Amazon, so there's no steam/uplay/origin DRM. Wonder if I could see any of you guys there? Lol
Wut...of course you can. DRM has nothing to do with the game server, they just add more methods of payment - like using steam wallet for steam version.

Also the game uses unified server, no need to worry on which server to join.
Jigoku
post Dec 2 2014, 07:56 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 2 2014, 04:12 PM)
Anyone want to play 2gtr? just started lvl1 here lol hmm.gif
SUSsniperz
post Dec 2 2014, 07:57 PM

2,464 posts

When I start, I will drop my IGN. ATM playing WOW!
supfinal
post Dec 4 2014, 11:39 AM

72 posts

Come join The Secret World steam group
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/TSWMY
Jigoku
post Dec 4 2014, 11:33 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(supfinal @ Dec 4 2014, 11:39 AM)
Join already would like to play with people around what time you guys play? whistling.gif

After today patch i just kept on get stuck at loading screen adn wont pass cry.gif

This post has been edited by Jigoku: Dec 4 2014, 11:59 PM
ray148
post Dec 5 2014, 02:43 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(supfinal @ Dec 4 2014, 11:39 AM)
Can't open any steam link at all right now. Goddamn it tmnut!!!! vmad.gif

Btw...they just released Issue 10 preview.

supfinal
post Dec 5 2014, 05:40 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Dec 5 2014, 02:43 AM)
Can't open any steam link at all right now. Goddamn it tmnut!!!! vmad.gif

Btw...they just released Issue 10 preview.

is it me or the internet seems slow since yesterday...
Lordz`
post Dec 5 2014, 07:49 PM

295 posts

Is this game still active? Wanna try but sales ended..
ray148
post Dec 5 2014, 08:46 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(supfinal @ Dec 5 2014, 05:40 PM)
is it me or the internet seems slow since yesterday...
Yeah...my internet is really slow as well. I can't even open steam store in browser for some reason.

QUOTE(Lordz` @ Dec 5 2014, 07:49 PM)
Is this game still active? Wanna try but sales ended..
Sizable community and niche. Though there are more players during in-game events or new content launch.
Steam winter sale should be coming in the next 1-2 weeks.

This post has been edited by ray148: Dec 5 2014, 08:46 PM
ChocChristy
post Jun 6 2015, 04:57 PM

307 posts

Suddenly feel like playing TSW again. Reinstalling the game. But ughh.. if wanna buy the new issues, it's expensive with EURO.
TSwangpr
post Jun 6 2015, 08:48 PM

758 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Jun 6 2015, 04:57 PM)
Suddenly feel like playing TSW again. Reinstalling the game. But ughh.. if wanna buy the new issues, it's expensive with EURO.
Please wait for TOS : Tree Of Savior... Guess it more interesting... Hehe..

0.1424sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:31 PM