Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
kkm
Jun 6 2010, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(king_kenny @ Jun 6 2010, 09:08 PM) i wont buy the PVR,, i think its ripped off.. i just download whatever thing i think worth keep it It's not just about recording stuff to keep. My multi-viewer family sometimes wants to watch shows which are on at the same time (e.g.Football and Rugby). Only solution is PVR which allows us to watch one and record the other to watch later. Or even to watch 1 recording and record 2 channels...
kkm
Jun 7 2010, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(minimize @ Jun 7 2010, 09:58 PM) So this means byond box don't have capability to support 3D right? I think he means that there is a shortage of 3D broadcast stuff, even if the Byond electronics could support 3D.
kkm
Jun 8 2010, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jun 8 2010, 11:57 AM) if I recall correctly, the CSR said 1. there is no contract for PVR (with or without HD channels) 2. there is no contract byond + recording function 3. that upon activating the recording function the one year contract is cancelled. can someone verify this? That's also exactly what my CS told me... But I was asking about the Byond PVR, I suppose they feel if I have paid rm300 up front, makes no sense to cancel the contract, since the PVR belongs to Astro.
kkm
Jun 13 2010, 10:32 PM
Just had my PVR installed today. Anything I should watch out for?
kkm
Jun 13 2010, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 13 2010, 10:39 PM) may I know where you live? Installer also work on Sunday??  DJ.
kkm
Jun 14 2010, 03:05 PM
1. aceedburn ( applied on 2/6, installed on 11/6 ) 2. kkm (applied on 5/6, installed on 13/6)
kkm
Jun 15 2010, 12:16 AM
My PVR is at software version 1.0.0.001 dated May 21 2010.
kkm
Jun 18 2010, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 17 2010, 08:41 PM) FX HD maintains the original aspect ratio,. I am not sure why you guys are fuzzing about. When you were using CRT TV (4:3) and when ads of 16:9 were broadcasted in 4:3 , there were black bars and now you guys rant. Common , I prefer them to maintain the original aspect ratio Honestly if the show has HD variant of it , it will be broadcasted in HD. This is how shows are done in US , for instance Fox HD. Some news programmes are in 4:3 , with black bars on the side. If you look at some of the HD American sports programming like Nascar and ice hockey, sometimes the broadcaster adds a decorative side panel because the original feed is pillarbox. So it's not always Astro's fault.
kkm
Jun 19 2010, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 19 2010, 11:02 AM) Good morning! Came across this thread when I'm browsing across the board in this forum. Just a few quickie questions. Would appreciate if anyone can enlighten me with a few inquiries of mine. When my Astro B.yond arrives and replacing the current Astro basic unit, how do I play around with the audio? The current unit is using the RCA connector (yellow-white-red cable). For video I'm plugging it in my LCD TV Samsung (LA40B550) with the yellow connector. While for audio, the white and red connectors are plugged into my external speakers. (I don't like the audio coming out from the TV. That's why I use external speakers) From my understanding, the Astro B.yond uses HDMI cable to connection just like my PS3 system and XBox 360. For these consoles, I've been using HDMI cables for video and white and red connectors for audio, which is connected to the external speakers. My concern is, can I have the same configuration for Astro B.yond? Meaning to say: I would like to use HDMI cable for video and separating the audio by using white and red connectors? Appreciate anyone who is willing to share. Thank you in advance. Regards, Joey Quick answer - yes! Your TV will have sound from the HDMI, but you can mute that, and just listen to your speakers.
kkm
Jun 22 2010, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(tolorati @ Jun 22 2010, 01:49 PM) no where did it mention it will transmit in HD, or even the connections that are available, am i missing some info bro? sorry ya  iinm, this is the usual composite video/stereo audio wireless transmitter. It will not give you HD as it will be connectd to the yellow/red/white terminals at the back of your decoder. In fact, it may slightly deteriorate your AV quality. Also, this stuff usually operates on 2.4GHz, so could face interference from your wifi or other 2.4G equipment in your house. Unless your locations are very close by...
kkm
Jun 23 2010, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(minimize @ Jun 22 2010, 11:27 PM) Yes available on ebay. But not sure available on malaysia market. Some forumners here already try to search at jalan pasar but still no luck. Some picture below  Very misleading leh, what we need is coaxial in optical out. Your picture is optical in, coaxial out!
kkm
Jul 9 2010, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(minimize @ Jul 9 2010, 01:04 PM) Seems Astro is a one step ahead from Starhub in 3D broadcast.  Not really. Here.