Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

dxjb
post Jul 26 2010, 03:55 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Jul 26 2010, 11:31 AM)
Indeed smile.gif

I actually subscribe to the club's media package on their website (http://www.seagulls.co.uk/page/player/Home/) which gives me access to highlights, interviews, build-up videos etc + live commentary from the BBC. The comm. is actually available free in the UK (i.e. via radio) on the local BBC radio station BBC Southern Counties, but isn't streamed on the BBC iPlayer for some reason. Keep in mind, lots of football league clubs have their commentary available worldwide on the BBC iPlayer for free.

Most league clubs use an identical template for their websites (run by one media company I believe), which means they all have identical media packages like the one I linked above (just with club-specific content). Unfortunately, the 'larger' clubs (e.g. Leeds + most premiership clubs) have their own website formats which may or may not have media packages. If they do, they are likely run entirely by the club themselves so may be priced differently and may not have commentary.

In case you're wondering, I think I pay 35 or 40 quid a year for access, so its not too bad.

Having a quick look at the Newcastle website, it looks like they do not use the same template, but commentary is available on their media page: http://www.nufc.co.uk/page/nufcTVHome/0,,10278,00.html

I'd love it if Astro showed the league 1, 2, and conference play-off matches too in addition to the championship ones. I know they do show them in Vietnam. In fact, they show a lot of championship matches in Vietnam!
i once lived in the UK back in the 90's..at that time Sky Sports was pricey and since I was renting a home there, I did not want to get into conflict with the owners..and so i listened to the BBC' local radio coverage and it was fun..i listened all the time even though if it was the little team fighting it out..but for some reason like u said we dont have access to them on BBCiPlayer which is a real shame to be honest..

I too hope Astro could cover more games from the football league and hope that can change some of the Malaysians mindset that English football is not only about the EPL but take a look at the lower league games..playing on a dark winter afternoon, floodlights on, terrible pitch..but brilliant to my liking..hihi
kfthoo
post Jul 26 2010, 04:26 PM

410 posts

just cancelled sport package and add-in movie package yesterday night....the process took about 90mins, i can view hbo hd and the supersport hd with the espn hd were taken out at the same time.... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by kfthoo: Jul 26 2010, 04:27 PM
smileguy
post Jul 26 2010, 05:28 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(kfthoo @ Jul 26 2010, 04:26 PM)
just cancelled sport package and add-in movie package  yesterday night....the process took about 90mins, i can view hbo hd and the supersport hd with the espn hd were taken out at the same time....  cool2.gif
My sports HD channels took some time to go brows.gif For RM20 HD fee they shld give at least one Sports HD channel as a complmentary for all HD subscribers like Sports Arena which is free in the family pack !

Based on yesterdays news Assto has 60% subscribers to Sports pack at RM66.95, ( HD sports wld be 88.95)thats MONEY, so to cripple them , the choice rremains in our hands, we have the ppower actually to ensure Sports is Free like in Indonesia or at least much more cheaper, with a bit of sacrifice we can movve it !!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Jul 26 2010, 05:37 PM
koled_anie
post Jul 26 2010, 09:22 PM

84 posts

All Astro Sifus,

i got 1 concern here. my current SD astro now is family package with 2 mini and sport. end up i paid around around rm75 for this package. let say i upgrade to beyond need to top up another RM20, what HD channel actually i get? saw lot of channel now offering in HD. Am i need to pay additional fees to get all the HD channel? icon_question.gif

thanks!! thumbup.gif
THEALB10N
post Jul 26 2010, 09:32 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jul 26 2010, 03:55 PM)
i once lived in the UK back in the 90's..at that time Sky Sports was pricey and since I was renting a home there, I did not want to get into conflict with the owners..and so i listened to the BBC' local radio coverage and it was fun..i listened all the time even though if it was the little team fighting it out..but for some reason like u said we dont have access to them on BBCiPlayer which is a real shame to be honest..

I too hope Astro could cover more games from the football league and hope that can change some of the Malaysians mindset that English football is not only about the EPL but take a look at the lower league games..playing on a dark winter afternoon, floodlights on, terrible pitch..but brilliant to my liking..hihi
Memories of the Albion playing away on freezing January nights in the rain/snow up somewhere dodgy like Tranmere pop into mind. Keep in mind that this was back when we were in division 3, and more more often than not losing by half time! God, what was I thinking following the club round the country!

Now I go back to the UK once a season to catch the last couple matches of the campaign, as well as catch up with family etc. Can't say I really miss the winter fixtures!
--------
Back on-topic:

Obviously all lower tier matches aren't shown live in the UK, parhaps one or two from each division per weekend, so astro can't show them all on top of their god knows how many premiership matches. It would, however, be great if at least one lower tier match was shown live per weekend, just to give Malaysians a taste of a different style of football.

I always laugh when people complain about how rough the premiership is. They honestly have no idea what the lower divisions are like;)

This post has been edited by THEALB10N: Jul 26 2010, 09:38 PM
minimize
post Jul 26 2010, 09:45 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Jul 26 2010, 09:22 PM)
All Astro Sifus,

i got 1 concern here. my current SD astro now is family package with 2 mini and sport. end up i paid around around rm75 for this package. let say i upgrade to beyond need to top up another RM20, what HD channel actually i get? saw lot of channel now offering in HD. Am i need to pay additional fees to get all the HD channel?  icon_question.gif

thanks!!  thumbup.gif
HD channel that you will get is related from what package you are subscribing.
From the package that you mention above, you will get
1- AXN HD
2- FX HD
3- Supersport HD
4- ESPN HD

What 2 mini package your are subscribe?
koled_anie
post Jul 26 2010, 10:30 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jul 26 2010, 09:45 PM)
HD channel that you will get is related from what package you are subscribing.
From the package that you mention above, you will get
1- AXN HD
2- FX HD
3- Supersport HD
4- ESPN HD

What 2 mini package your are subscribe?
variety & learning....what HD channel will i get from this 2 mini packages?
dannychen
post Jul 26 2010, 10:41 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Jul 26 2010, 10:30 PM)
variety & learning....what HD channel will i get from this 2 mini packages?
History HD, Nat Geo HD, Fox HD, AXN HD.
koled_anie
post Jul 26 2010, 11:04 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jul 26 2010, 10:41 PM)
History HD, Nat Geo HD, Fox HD, AXN HD.
looks nice...History HD, Nat Geo HD, Fox HD, AXN HD, Supersport HD, ESPN HD rclxms.gif

thumbup.gif
Qash-M
post Jul 27 2010, 12:03 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Looks like Zhi Zun HD (Stereo on setting) is "muted". sweat.gif
asairp
post Jul 27 2010, 12:15 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jul 27 2010, 12:03 AM)
Looks like Zhi Zun HD (Stereo on setting) is "muted". sweat.gif
Me 2 icon_question.gif
Have to turn on my HT for xtra power consumptions. mad.gif

minimize
post Jul 27 2010, 12:32 AM

1,543 posts

After I make a report to CS yesterday (sunday) regarding pixelation problem, they will send technician guy to my house.
But today I notice that pixelation problem is gone. Dunno what I should tell to the technician when he come. doh.gif

dxjb
post Jul 27 2010, 01:18 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jul 27 2010, 12:32 AM)
After I make a report to CS yesterday (sunday) regarding pixelation problem, they will send technician guy to my house.
But today I notice that pixelation problem is gone. Dunno what I should tell to the technician when he come.  doh.gif
just tell them the same excuse..and tell them to take a look at ur dish alignment..i think thats the problem hmm.gif
Qash-M
post Jul 27 2010, 01:34 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jul 27 2010, 01:18 AM)
just tell them the same excuse..and tell them to take a look at ur dish alignment..i think thats the problem hmm.gif
I could use that too. rclxms.gif
aerobowl
post Jul 27 2010, 09:45 AM

556 posts

Zhi Zun HD is came in which package?
astro new website now no chinese and the new layout very hard to tell what my current packages are..
l_berd
post Jul 27 2010, 10:07 AM

Fake Moderator
1,042 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Jul 27 2010, 09:45 AM)
astro new website now no chinese and the new layout very hard to tell what my current packages are..
dynasty package
GenerationKill
post Jul 27 2010, 10:24 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Jul 27 2010, 09:45 AM)
You can find the information on packages here Astro Packages Info. Click on "High Definition Services" and you will see Zhi Zun HD under Dynasty.Cheers.
asiatrader98
post Jul 27 2010, 11:15 AM

1,485 posts

Dear all,

previously I always record the badminton matches to the DVDsby using the dvd recorder
now my DVD recorder can not function after a few years, & noticed that Astro has this Astro B.yond PVR with recording function
but I wonder can I tranfer the files recorded with Astro B.yond PVR to external HD in order to save them into DVDs? rclxub.gif Thanks for ur input rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Jul 27 2010, 11:16 AM
l_berd
post Jul 27 2010, 11:26 AM

Fake Moderator
1,042 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Jul 27 2010, 11:15 AM)
Dear all,

previously I always record the badminton matches to the DVDsby using the dvd recorder
now my DVD recorder can not function after a few years, & noticed that Astro has this Astro B.yond PVR with recording function
but I wonder can I tranfer the files recorded with Astro B.yond PVR to external HD in order to save them into DVDs? rclxub.gif Thanks for ur input rclxms.gif
no you cant.. but if you are nerd i'm sure there's workaround available to crack the security feature that locked the files. so far nobody tried to crack it la..
epul
post Jul 27 2010, 02:22 PM

397 posts

actually can transfer the file from byond pvr recorder to computer
but need a few steps to convert the video

144 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:45 AM