sohailili
post Aug 29 2020, 08:37 PM

527 posts

it took me 5 working days to get it activated and ready to use

Monday
1. apply online.
2. receive SMS from CIMB SG. SMS contains password to access the PDF attached in email.
3. receive email from CIMB SG. PDF contains details and instruction of account opening. You can see your account number as well, but it is not activated.
4. Gg to CIMBclicks MY, request to link CIMB SG acc.
5. TT some money to CIMB SG acc.

Tuesday
6. link approved. can actually view the balance of ur CIMB SG acc in ur CIMBclicks MY at this point.
7. bank called. provide document proof. in my case, TT slip as well as the screenshot of my bank acc from which i TT-ed.

Wednesday
8. bank emailed asking to do transfer from CIMB MY. It can be any amount. paid RM3.09 for 1SGD transfer. (I totally forgot about this part, hence extra 1 waiting day)

Thursday
9. bank email, informing that they have sent application for processing. still waiting..

Friday
10. received email and sms on successful application and account is activated. SMS contain first time login password for you to sign up CIMBclicks SG.
11. Sign up done. follow instruction to setup digital token as well.
12. request to link to CIMB MY acc. (this is currently pending)

note: emails/calls/replies from CIMB SG came around 6pm based on my experience.
sohailili
post Sep 2 2020, 01:13 PM

527 posts

Finally got my CIMB MY linked to my CIMB Clicks SG. 3 days for approval as stated on their website.
sohailili
post Sep 30 2022, 09:15 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Sep 29 2022, 11:07 AM)
Recently my cimb SG account suspended what should I do?
Call them. (the waiting time is terrible just FYI. Est total call hrs was about 3hrs till my case was resolved)

I was suspended recently and manage to get my account reinstated back. Did not tell me specifically what I did to get suspended but there was 2 possible reason;

1. I used VPN
2. their recent refreshed mobile app was horrendous and I was having difficulties to setup new sign in + digital token and got a few failed attempts

While I was on the phone with them, they transferred me to fraud detection department sth sth.

good luck
sohailili
post Sep 30 2022, 02:55 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 30 2022, 10:44 AM)
Did they inform you when your account was suspended? Or you just logged in as usual and noticed you couldn't do this and that etc?
no inform at all. Jus unable to login the day after i gave up on setting up the cimb app. when they transfer me to the fraud dept, they asked if i used vpn and did i made several failed logins. that is all.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 30 2022, 12:31 PM)
you need to be careful as your account is under monitoring liao.
don think i will be worried for now. i only send money MY <-> SG, ibkr n some robo advisor. its jus that 1 time sohai CIMB app + forgotten to off my VPN. anyway, thanks for the heads up
sohailili
post Oct 6 2022, 07:06 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Oct 4 2022, 01:54 AM)
Speaking of this, my office laptop has zscaler installed which automatically VPN me to Singapore. Will this cause the same account deactivation as per mentioned here which is VPN
I'm just saying that likely they suspended me due to the 2 above reasons mentioned. As they did not specifically inform me what I did to warrant the suspension, I can only assume as it happened (the suspension) right after I did both. Sorry if my earlier statement was confusing.
sohailili
post Oct 27 2022, 12:16 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(dlttdltt @ Oct 21 2022, 09:37 PM)
3 weeks to open a Cimb Sg account. 3/10 - 21/10

No calls. Verification thru email only.
Can I ask? Do they still allow you to transfer SGD1 from CIMB MY to CIMB SG and remaining balance of SGD999 from fintech?

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 26 2022, 01:45 PM)
Hi guys, is it possible to open standard chartered account for singapore without working in singapore? Im working in brunei, and here nearest foreign bank is standard chartered, and seems like if bnd to sgd transfer no need any exchange and charges for within SCB.
For SCB transfer from BND to SGD for free, you need to be member for Priority Banking. How to be eligible?

To enjoy the exclusive Priority Banking membership and all the benefits and privileges that come with it, simply maintain a minimum of B$100,000 in deposits and investments (referred to as Assets Under Management “AUM”) or take up B$400,000 in housing loans with us; or maintain a monthly credit of more than B$10,000 in your Payroll Account with us.

Customers who earn a gross salary/ income of minimum B$10,000 per month and credit their salary to us may receive complimentary Priority Banking membership for 12 months. In order to remain as a PB member the customer must then reach the minimum AUM threshold of B$100,000 at the end of the 12 months. In the event the customer does not reach the minimum AUM in the time stipulated, they will be transferred back to their original client segment with notification to them.

https://www.sc.com/bn/priority/

i believe you are earning /k standard celery since you are looking at SCB thumbsup.gif
sohailili
post Aug 16 2023, 11:52 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Aug 15 2023, 12:57 PM)
Hate to break it to you, dude. Moomoo isn't allowing Malaysians to open an account with them, explicitly mentioned in the app
Even Webull also can sign up if you know how to.
sohailili
post Aug 21 2023, 09:34 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 20 2023, 04:40 PM)
Thanks, but I don't think Moomoo SG allows non Singpass'd Malaysians to open an account anymore. This is likely intentional since the launching of Moomoo MY.

However, opening a Moomoo US account is still possible.
Just to share my experience here so that others don't need to jump through the hoops (TLDR - Moomoo SG is now locked behind Singpass. Moomoo US is still open.):

The Moomoo SG site doesn't outright state that non Singpass'd Malaysians are not allowed, but per my experience, new users are blocked from opening an SG trading account.

1. A week ago, I created a user account and opened a trading account through the US site (Check the URL to know for sure whether it is SG/US/MY). Details including photo of IC submitted. Account verified and successfully opened on the same day.

2. Logged into the App (Note that there is only one universal Mobile App for Moomoo on the Playstore) the trading account view was enabled upon account verification, but no cash plus option. I managed to find the Fullterton SGD Fund and added it to my watchlist, but there was no option to subscribe to it.

3. Checked to the support to confirm that I had opened a US account. I then proceeded to close/deleted both user and trading account so that I could reuse my email/phone number for account creation on the SG site (took a few days)

4. Went to the SG site and created a user account there using email only (in an attempt to bypass any potential phone number region lock). On the site there are three options to open an SG trading account. If I remember correctly, they are Singaporean/PR, Foreigner with Work pass, and Other. I selected 'Other'.

Here's where the blocking came into effect. Although the site didn't explicitly say that I was non allowed to open an SG account, selecting 'Other' opens a popup prompting me to use App to open a trading account. This is in contrast to submitting the form through the Web like how it was for the US account.

And I've tried the other two options as well, same prompt. The only way to open a trading account on the SG site is through Singpass. All manual options will prompt to use the App.

5. I login with my new user account into App using email. The first thing I notice is a win RM10 promotion box to the side and that Bursa stocks exist in my watchlist. This is on a fresh account, no phone number. In other words, they have defaulted my login to the MY app screen, probably based on IP.

6. In App UI, there was no button to open a trading account. I eventually got confirmation from the support team that Malaysians are not allowed to open an SG trading account.

For point 5, maybe it could work with a VPN, but I'm not going to try it.
----

Going to try Tiger Brokers next.
I helped someone to open an account on last Friday. Got it approved within an hour. Even received a courtesy call from MooMoo rep. Yes. U need VPN to SG to it. Else you will be seeing MooMoo MY registration.

Malaysian with no SG PR. Application started from web and move to app to complete registration.

This post has been edited by sohailili: Aug 21 2023, 09:35 AM

0.0274sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:25 PM