Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

orangbulu
post Jan 5 2012, 08:12 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Eugenet @ Jan 5 2012, 05:18 PM)
QQ... I though we (Malaysians) need Bank Negara approval to open an account overseas?

I'm thinking of opening an account in Singapore for stock trading.
No need , just bring IC & passport can d. DBS bank now min requrement is 1k Sing, and they pay 0.05% interest....
orangbulu
post Aug 16 2015, 09:33 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(myr.medinsurance @ Aug 16 2015, 09:22 AM)
The money in Singapore is going to be there for the long-term (unless things go south in Malaysia) so how it appreciate to Ringgit is less important than beating inflation in Singapore. For now, just dollar cost averaging on STI ETF.

They are going to have Singapore Savings Bond soon. This will give fixed deposits in DBS bank a run for their money.
CDP accounts in Singapore is unique to each person. One CDP account can be linked to multiple brokerage accounts (e.g. buy with DBS Vickers and sell with Kim Eng). Once you buy through one brokerage and settle cost, the security is transferred to your CDP account. Your brokerage account has no idea that you still have the stock, so you might be short-selling when you sell any stock.

Since you are not working in SG, they will want cash collateral.

Might be different for others but this is the case for me.

Anybody who has DBS-Vickers account that can sell without collateral, let me know. I buy stock cash upfront.
I personally use Standard chartered's trading service. The commission is 0.20%, and there is no minimum commission charge, which is good if you are buying small quantities. Stan Chart will act as a custodian for your shares, so CDP is not required, and no collateral required.

Downside is (from what i heard), the platform is not very stable, and may have outages sometimes, so this will affect people who trade heavily. Also the interface does not have as much functions as other trading platforms. But if you are just holding STI ETF for the long term, is should be ok for you.

Also it has access to foreign markets as well.

Standard Chartered Online Equities Trading

orangbulu
post Aug 16 2015, 11:51 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(myr.medinsurance @ Aug 16 2015, 11:25 AM)

Looks great especially no custody fees.

Have they charged you any annual fee for account?

If non-resident is allowed to open bank account and trading account, may recommend to dad for diversification.

Were you a non-resident when you opened the account?
No Annual Fee as far as I know. you will have to open a savings account with them (E-Saver) with Min Balance 1K SGD. I was a resident when i opened the account, but i do not think non-resident should have an issue. Maybe you need a higher min balance.
orangbulu
post Aug 16 2015, 02:11 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(myr.medinsurance @ Aug 16 2015, 01:06 PM)
Thank you for the info. Will let my dad know. It will be up to him to follow up on requirement and decide to proceed or not.

He has reached age to withdraw EPF but still keeps most of his money there.

If Zimbabwe levels of hyperinflation hits Malaysia (very, very unlikely), I can still rebound because I am young. It is the oldies that cannot take chances with their nest eggs.

You mentioning standard chartered trading account has jogged my mind back to end of 2013. I did consider Standard Chartered but did not find any examples of people who manage to open Standard Chartered bank account as non-resident in lowyat as opposed to DBS bank. Furthermore, I was a bit nervous about the fact that account is nominee account.

Since I am a small timer, may as well just go with DBS. Was caught out by how CDP is setup.

I remember I took the overnight KTM sleeper train to Singapore. It was RM 80 return for bunk.

You could arrive at early morning by sleeper, open account and take sleeper train back to KL. You don't even need to spend a night in Singapore.
Yea I agree, its better to check with a proper financial advisor before doing anything rash like transferring all your EPF savings to SG. I do not think its a good idea to transfer all your savings to SG if you are worried about Malaysia crashing. If Malaysia crashes, Singapore will be severely impacted as Malaysia is its major trading partner. You are better off putting your money in some other country/ currency

Lucky for me my hometown is in JB, we can just do day trip to SG
orangbulu
post Aug 18 2015, 08:50 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Aug 17 2015, 10:19 PM)
I am interested to open a Singapore Savings Bond.

If I am unable to travel to Singapore , how can I open a CDP account? I have a saving account with POSB.
I think you need to be there in person to open a CDP account.
orangbulu
post Sep 12 2015, 03:54 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 12 2015, 02:38 PM)
Do we need to pay anything in order to open a securities trading account ?

It's applied for all bank in Singapore ?

Not studying or working in Singapore.
No need, but you need initial deposit for the saving acc
orangbulu
post Sep 12 2015, 07:46 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 12 2015, 05:17 PM)
Oh okay 👌, how much likely the initial alike?

It can be any bank right? 

So i just tell them i would like to open cds acc then automatically ill be able to open an saving account?

Will there be any t&c?

I remember my last visit, i was told that initial 5k sgd and monthly deposit 500 sgd for 15 year, if failed to do so will be penalty something, i can't recall...  (UOB bank) for foreigner only.
Depending on bank, initial should be between 1k - 3k SGD.

Whether you need CDP depends on the online trading platform. Most banks need CDP but there are some banks such as standard chartered that act as custodians for your shares where you dont need a CDP account.

Personally i would recommend standard chartered as they dont have a minimum commission and charge about .22% commission per trade. Other trading platforms also charge similar commissions with min 25SGD charge.Downside to this is that if you change to other brokers, you cannot transfer your share from custodian to them. You need to transfer from custodian to CDP and link the CDP to your new broker and there will be some charge for the transfer.

You can view the comparison of the brokers below

orangbulu
post Sep 13 2015, 02:23 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 13 2015, 10:39 AM)
Will there penalty us?  if we open cdp account and we don't invest? Probably just credit fund for purchase on9, saving and etc

Standard chartered look fine but only valid to monitor via web, probably that's the reason haha 😂
No Penalty. I opened my CDP account with DBS 5 years ago, never used it to buy shares. Make sure you have some transactions with your savings account every 2-3 years though, or it may be flagged for inactivity.
orangbulu
post Sep 17 2015, 10:29 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 17 2015, 10:11 AM)
Noted with thanks.

Transaction must be done via the counter/atm or via online will do ? to keep it active ?

If base on Malaysia ATM/Debit - will be inactive if you doesn't utilize it although you have made transfer or credit fund into the accounts via online.

Online should be ok
orangbulu
post Sep 17 2015, 01:40 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 17 2015, 12:28 PM)
Good man,... bro,... rclxms.gif

I'm Hansel,.. not really active in this thread,.. just came across it today.

YES, just go with DBS, you can withdraw from almost anywhere when you are in Sgp, lots of ATMs all over the island. IF you have an acct with DBS Vickers, you can use the Cash Upfront facility to buy stocks. Minimum SGD 18 only, percentage I think around 0.18%. Lowest brokerage in Sgp, right ?

Recently, DBS has included Msia into its listing of banks where we can do an online TT to Malaysia, and there will be no fees for this TT. So you can move your money in and out without charges.

I would advise you to open a Maybank Singapore Acct too, then you would be able to convert RM into the SGD and TT to Maybank Singapore with only RM10.

Have you ever considered buying and holding SG REITs ?
Yup DBS is the lowest by% at 0.18%, but there is a minimum charge of SGD 18. Stan chart does not have a minimum and charges 0.20%. Therefore if you use DBS you need at least SGD 9000 per trade to break even (both buying and selling). For me i am a small time trader ~ 2-3k SGD per trade so i went with Stan Chart

This post has been edited by orangbulu: Sep 17 2015, 01:40 PM
orangbulu
post Sep 17 2015, 08:15 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 17 2015, 07:50 PM)
Hey Hansel,

Thanks for the info regards the TT - via Bank - ( bank rate ) isn't that bit expensive ?

Do we need to declare ? if any amount above 10kUSD  or something ? if not mistaken i listed on the BNM ruling. ( In / Out) per day limitation ?

I think any amount above 50k there will be slight check through the account.

If that's the case probably we could just partially credit our fund yet no exceeding 10k USD tongue.gif.
Btw were you guy's work in financial institute ? Hansel / orangbulu ?

You guys seems bit experience in placing share's , mind share me some sweet and candy smile.gif so that i enjoy aswell tongue.gif
I work in FMCG industry, Supply Chain/ operations work. 0 finance experience.

I bought some shares on SGX and did my research on the brokerages, therefore i can share my experience with you. Also I used to work in SG and majority of my money is in SG, which is why i know a bit about Singapore banking in general.

My personal opinion is that Bursa stocks are in general better than SGX. SGX probably only has 30-50 companies worth looking into. Too many penny shares from China. If i were living in Malaysia and want to diversify, I would buy US stocks instead.
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 06:49 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 17 2015, 08:24 PM)
What about S-reits?
Sorry I have not really read too much into reits to give comments. But seems to me that reits dont perform too well in a rising interest environment, as they are generally highly leveraged? Then again... we dont know when US will actually raise rates... they just delayed again.
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 06:58 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 17 2015, 10:39 PM)
I invest into the SGX and into other foreign bourses too. I agree that we have to be careful of the penny stocks listed in the SGX,... should stay away from them.

I am an income investor, not so much of a trader. Do you know what is the biggest advantage of investing into SG dividend stocks compared to investing into dividend stocks in the Bursa, and into US mkts ?
The reason I invest in SGX is that the majority of my wealth is in SG, and I do intend to settle down in SG for the long term.

I guess the advantage of SG stocks vs US stocks, is that dividends and capital gains are tax exempt. For US Stocks you pay 30% tax.

As for SG vs MY exchanges, i think that Singapore stocks derive a majority of their income from SEA/ Asia pacific, as they dont really have a domestic market, whereas for Malaysia, majority of their income is still from domestic markets. Do correct me if I am wrong on this. But like I said above, If i were living in Malaysia, i would have use US stocks to diversify instead of SG.

You guys give me way too much credit... im not a big time investor... just so happen to have a brokerage account in Singapore sweat.gif
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 12:46 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 18 2015, 12:27 PM)
Where do you guys put your idling SGD while awaiting for opportunities to go into the mkt ?
Non-fd method. Open a standard chartered esaver account and ocbc 360 account. Both give "high" interest but the caveat is fresh funds only. Keep transferring between both accounts 1st day of the month. Can yield 1% Haha...

orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 01:24 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 18 2015, 01:02 PM)
1% per month or total of 1% per year? Big difference. 1% per month = 12% year.

Care to give example? So when I have a Singapore account, can do that. Hehe...
Per year la.... per month i wont be in stock market d haha

I say its high because normal saving account in Singapore give .05% PA

This post has been edited by orangbulu: Sep 18 2015, 01:24 PM
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 02:16 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 18 2015, 01:36 PM)
Ok la. Free money just take la.  rclxms.gif Care to show write down the steps on how is it done?

By the way, I know that we are not allowed to open a SA just like that in Singapore. We need to tell them we want to open a CDP account then only we can open one CDP and one saving account. But how to open 2 account (DBS) and SC when we only can have 1 CDP account?
The steps is quite simple, go to both banks and open both accounts. Once its done, every first day of the month you just transfer money from one account to another, so that it "thinks"its fresh funds and you gain the bonus interest. Do keep in mind the minimum account balance to avoid the fall below fee.

Do note confuse trading accounts and CDP. Most Singapore banks are hesitant allow foreigners to just open savings account (i dont know why, probably because they cant earn money off you). To overcome this, you tell them you want to open a trading account. When you do this, they automatically have to open a savings account for you to fund your trading account with money to buy shares.

Some bank trading account needs CDP, which is used to store your shares. Some bank dont need CDP, and they act as a custodian to your shares. Again, CDP is not a factor here. The key is the trading account.
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 02:37 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 18 2015, 02:29 PM)
So you walk into DBS and SC and tell each of them that you want to open a trading account . After that you are all set. Am I right? What about TAC or something like that whenever you want to transfer money. Can they send it to the malaysian no?

In which order? OCBC > SC or SC > OCBC or the order is not important?
Sorry could you let me know what is TAC?

Yes, walk in, tell them you want a trading account you are all set. For standard chartered, they may ask you to fill an assessment form. On the option asking whether you have done 6 trades in the past, say yes (dont worry they dont check whether its true). Its some rule by the SG gov after the financial crash, to prevent financially uneducated people from dumping their money in shares

For both saving accounts there will be online banking, and they will give you a physical token. You can use your Malaysia address and all letters will be sent to you in Malaysia. Transfering money can be done online. In fact in Singapore, interbank transfer is instant and free (i really mean instant, when you click transfer on bank A and you refresh bank B, your money is already updated in bank B). Limited to 50K SGD a day.

Order is not important. But come to think of it... OCBC has a 3000 SGD min balance, Stan chart has a 1000 SGD min balance which may be quite steep for some people.
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 02:48 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 18 2015, 02:43 PM)
TAC is a kind of authorization 6 digit code that the malaysian bank will send to you HP (sms) whenever you want to transfer money out of your account (online) and you need to input the code in the space provided.

So is ok to open 2 trading account? (i.e one person is not restricted to 1 account per name?)
Its ok to open 2 trading accounts, you can even open 100 if you want, and link them to your CDP (For banks who required CDP)

If you register you Malaysian phone number you will also receive the 6 digit code on your phone.
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 03:03 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 18 2015, 02:51 PM)
TAC is the form of second level security adopted by Maybank in Msia. It is a code texted to your registered handphone number when it is needed.

In comparison with Sgp banking security, UOB Privilege Banking, Singapore has an option of whether you want the texted code to your registered handphone number or you wish to carry around the 'dongle' with you at all times.

OCBC has a minimum balance of SGD 3K, wow,... if you don't keep this minimum, how much is the month Service Charge ?

SC's minimum of SGD 1K is normal, similar to DBS's Savings Acct. Maybank Sgp's is still SGD500 only.

Frankly, I wouldn't want SGD3K to be lying around not doing anything.
I think fall below fee is 2 dollars a month. There are some people who managed to open 2 Stan Chart Esaver account... i dont know how they do it. They just transfer between both accounts.
orangbulu
post Sep 18 2015, 03:04 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Sep 18 2015, 02:54 PM)
Anyone using MBB sg account + Kim Eng securities KE Trade Prefunded?

From KE website (http://www.maybank-ke.com.sg/contact-us/faqs/ke-trade/), CDP Sub-account Maintenance Fee is waived.

Other charges seem reasonable.
I dont like the Min SGD 18 dollar charge per trade. If you are doing 9000 SGD per trade, its more worth it, if its lower, Stan chart is cheaper.

0.2065sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:12 PM