Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

markedestiny
post Aug 10 2018, 08:54 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 10 2018, 08:42 PM)
DBS multiplier > posb eEveryday Save
If want to talk about best rates for overseas online shopping,  travelling,  I don't need that multicurrency account now that there's BigPay where I can topup in RM.
Hi Ramjade, you always have great way to save monies. Can we transfer usd to another local bank account which accept usd currency in Malaysia with Bigpay?
markedestiny
post Aug 10 2018, 10:10 PM

764 posts

Thanks for reply. It's a spur of the moment response as i was wondering what the best way to transfer usd to another account in Malaysia. Sorry for Off topic to TS.
markedestiny
post Oct 15 2018, 08:27 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 15 2018, 07:25 PM)
You want to buy/sell the last 100 unit of the day to control the price ? Like UMS now 0.68, you key in 0.80 and buy ? Can that work ?
I m guessing he would issue out multiples of these 100s throughout the trade to influence the price. That's why negotiate for no minimum.
Maybe he can clarify if what I assumed is correct.

markedestiny
post Oct 16 2018, 09:14 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 16 2018, 09:05 AM)
It's not just one-time 100 units,... I'd prepare a successive barrage of pockets of 100 units shares for a period of time, just like what a stabilization manager does.

Anyway, it's just a theory, bro,...  I'd probably give up on this,...
Not worth the trouble, Hansel as small amount can't do much and big multiple amount would raise flag, it's a very thin line you are treading on.
markedestiny
post May 10 2019, 02:09 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(toiletking2006 @ May 10 2019, 11:13 AM)
i got activation and welcome sms. but didnt receive the activation code for cimb clicks.
Do u manage to get the code after calling them?
I tried calling them despite two attempt of resending i couldnt get it as well
I encountered the same issue. It got nothing to do with your telco.

Send them an email and request for the token and the activation code via snail mail soonest.
markedestiny
post May 19 2019, 04:54 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 19 2019, 02:13 PM)
:thumbsup: Tq gents,...

Edited by adding : Ramjade,.. if you used CIMB Clicks Msia to open CIMB SG today, do you still need to TT funds in from one SG bank acct before the acct can be activated ?
You can open CIMB Sg account without opening CIMB My provided you have already got any existing Sg bank account which you can use to fund the initial sgd1k via FAST.

As for myself, I don't have a any existing Sg account when I applied to open CIMB Sg. So no choice, I need to open CIMB my account to fund and validate my Sg account. I only open CIMB my after my Cimb Sg account opening was successful.
markedestiny
post Jul 10 2019, 01:17 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ Jul 10 2019, 10:01 AM)
LHDN warns need to declare overseas bank account.
It's undeclared overseas income. Note the difference ok
markedestiny
post Jul 10 2019, 02:11 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ Jul 10 2019, 01:19 PM)
Lhdn wont care. Hope u wont get their letter.
Already posted on this issue before. I received email from LHDN on this few months back and yes, they know the existence of your foreign bank accounts before you going to them.

When queried on the source of the overseas fund, told them it's my salary, they send me back without taking my details. The target is on undeclared overseas income. I believed this is already on the newspaper, not sure why you are still confused.
markedestiny
post Jul 29 2019, 05:28 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jul 29 2019, 04:30 PM)
hey guys,

after reading the pages i got confused a bit, so can we use instarem to transfer from MY to SGD? or must use cimb clicks MY?

Kamsahamida!
To be more precise, if you are opening CIMB Fastsaver Acc. Sg for the first time AND you do not have any other existing Sg Bank account to fund your CIMB Fastsaver, for verification purpose, you need to transfer fund via CIMB Malaysia, for the first time, that is.

Subsequently you can use Instarem to transfer from Msia to Singapore.
markedestiny
post Aug 6 2019, 11:08 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Kudo2012 @ Aug 6 2019, 10:25 AM)
the first time fund transfer to CIMB SG must use CIMB MY? but i dont have any account with CIMB MY, do we have other option? e.g. use intarem or other MY bank acccount?
Yes, you have to open a local CIMB My to transfer for the first time. It's part of the verification process presumably.

After you have open the local account with CIMB, you need to activate the linkage between your Sg and My account and then you should be able to transfer internally online using its website.

After your Sg account is activated with the transfer of SGD1000, subsequent transfers can be done cheaper over fintech such as instarem.
markedestiny
post Aug 6 2019, 11:20 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(esthercpl @ Jul 30 2019, 04:11 PM)
hi all, may i ask how to trf cimb msia to cimb sg? cimb sg say no need link to do trf, cimb msia say must link only can trf. if no link and do normal trf i keep getting "We've encountered an unexpected error when retrieving your accounts. Please try again later. [CLK00570]".
Under CIMB Clicks > Services > Account & Cards > Link Account.

You can check if the linkage is successful status ; >> Account & Cards > Check Account Linking Status

If still not able to link, check with the Customer Service.
markedestiny
post Jul 13 2021, 10:58 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 13 2021, 10:58 AM)
Not if you know what you are doing. Don't be greedy. Pocket small change (USD10-20/week x4-5) and never underestimate small change. Overtime small change build up. I am still conservative in investing.

Options definitely pay more than dividends and I am not going back to Dividend investing. I always for making money work more efficiently for me.
Wow, it's been sometime since I was last active and now you no longer believed in dividend investing ? Why the sudden change because you are quite set in your ways 😜
markedestiny
post Jul 14 2021, 03:55 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 14 2021, 03:33 PM)
Apologies for late reply,... was busy,...

You put it so easily in the above,... Upon seeing your reply now, I'll just say this very simple thing : What if you bought Lemonade and AMD and the price dived deep down and put you in the red, you'd be having unrealised capital loss. You can't sell because you'd be experiencing real loss then, and you'd continue holding,... causing you opportunity loss in other counters.

One of these days, there could come a time when there is no options offered on Lemonade and AMD,... causing you not being able to earn anymore premiums.

Conceptually,... the above line is something like the DLC game,... for many ctrs, though you are very good in the movement of such ctrs, you can't earn from DLCs because there are just no DLCs offered for such ctrs. Yeah,... we can say,... such ctrs have no liqiduidity, etc,... but the fact remains that nobody offers DLCs for such ctrs, so we can't play and profit from these ctrs.
He used to regard risks highly, not sure what changed for him? Easy monies ? 😛

What's DLC btw ?

markedestiny
post Jul 26 2023, 10:21 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 26 2023, 08:10 AM)
Read my post again. Statement Savings Account has minimum balance of 20k and I intend to close this.

Other OCBC SG account like 360 etc has much lower minimum balance of 500, 1k, 3k.

I intend to keep my OCBC 360 Account.
I read from its website that for Statement Savings Account, the min is Sgd1k, not 20k, min fee is sgd2 if below.

There is no min below fee for Global Savings Account tho, but you don't get interest if fall below min deposit sums for foreign currencies you keep there.

Btw can we choose which accounts to apply or the two accounts above are the only ones eligible for Msian applying online?

Edited for clarity and to add:

What are the verifying docs you submitted besides your ID IC/passport?

This post has been edited by markedestiny: Jul 26 2023, 10:39 AM
markedestiny
post Jul 26 2023, 02:37 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 26 2023, 12:43 PM)
There's discrepancy between the T&C and some pages on ocbc website.

Statement Savings Account minimum balance and minimum deposit for non-resident based on T&C is 20k, but the app only requires 1k.

Is the 20k minimum balance imposed only after one year, and waive before that?  Looks like it. If ocbc treat Malaysians as non resident.

But what if ocbc treats Malaysians as residents and therefore only 1k required? I have no idea. Ocbc would know best.

To be safe, just apply for other accounts where the minimum balance is a lot less, and there's no different category for non-residents.

Only IC and Passport is required.

They only give the 2 accounts at first, you are free to apply any other accounts once application approved and u have access to online banking.
The links below are quite clear on the requirements.

See this link for the Statement Savings Account:
https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/depos...savings-account

See below for Global Savings Account:
https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/depos...nt?qualtric=faq

Why do you think there is discrepancies in the above vs T&C on the mobile application? The bank explicitly told you so in your application? For eg, need to maintain SGD20K after one year? rclxub.gif

Whether if OCBC have made the waivers to waive off the requirements for valid Employment/Student Pass (for foreigners) and also waive off submission of the following Additional document:

Include any one of the following documents that shows your residential address

Phone bill
Half-yearly CPF statement
Any bank statement

Btw your intention of closing the accounts and then apply for others are subjected to the bank's T&C, they can refuse as per their terms.

markedestiny
post Jul 26 2023, 02:46 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(SzeMeng76 @ Jul 26 2023, 02:40 PM)
I had opened OCBC SG MBB SG CIMB SG as well. Nice!
Can share the process for OCBC and also mind answering some queries on my previous post? Thanks
markedestiny
post Jul 26 2023, 04:16 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 26 2023, 03:40 PM)
Fees & Charges document here https://www.ocbc.com/iwov-resources/sg/ocbc...icing-guide.pdf

It clearly stated SGD20k initial deposit. No mention of waiver of this SGD20k deposit.

And it stated SGD20k minimum balance, this is waived for the first year.

But after signing up via the app, the app only ask to deposit SGD1k. Understand where I'm coming from?

Appreciate your response, this is much clearer. Thanks.
markedestiny
post Jul 1 2024, 09:51 PM

764 posts

Hi anyone had any issue transferring fund above SGD1K to another SG bank which requires security device? Previously able to transact by using SMS OTP. Not sure when they enforce the use of security device which I didn't receive when I first opened account
markedestiny
post Jul 1 2024, 11:05 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jul 1 2024, 09:54 PM)
markedestiny nowadays your phone is the security device. banks around the world slowly limiting usage of SMS otp already
I thought so too but was puzzled when I were asked to key in the security device id when I was trying to transfer using the app.
markedestiny
post Jul 1 2024, 11:21 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 1 2024, 11:11 PM)
May I ask which bank is that?

CIMB SG uses its own app as a security token. Maybank SG gave a physical token to me last time, though they still accept SMS OTP back then. I closed my Maybank SG account last year so the token was discarded. Not sure of the latest developments with Maybank SG's authentication format.

DBS and OCBC SG also use the in-app authentication method to approve transactions. No physical tokens are issued anymore.
It's CIMB SG. I can't proceed to transfer when I unable to provide the security device id no which is longer than 6digit

Is this security device refer to its app digital token?

Edit to add; I have both SG Clicks app and the new MY Octo app which can view both SG & MY accounts. But usually use the SG Clicks app for transfers between SG banks.

This post has been edited by markedestiny: Jul 1 2024, 11:28 PM

0.1683sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:51 PM