Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

hksgmy
post May 9 2020, 10:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Quite interesting. I’m trying to open up a new Maybank Premier Wealth account in Malaysia LOL. So far, the RM has gotten all my details via email - once the MCO is fully lifted on both sides, I probably have to make a trip up to JB.

Good luck to all of us smile.gif
hksgmy
post May 10 2020, 12:10 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(livellorT @ May 10 2020, 11:26 AM)
My mistake, overlook it. The one who get charged is having iSavvy not Fastsaver.
My iSavvy accounts with Maybank Sg requires min $10
hksgmy
post May 10 2020, 04:53 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ May 10 2020, 04:28 PM)
ord 2 weeks since my dbs debit ord approved but still not received yet
Circuit breaker/MCO is slowing mail delivery
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2020, 11:57 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jun 2 2020, 08:39 PM)
Singapore’s Record Deposits Seen Signaling Risk Aversion

Foreign-currency deposits at local banks almost quadrupled from a year earlier to a record S$27 billion in April, Monetary Authority of Singapore figures showed Monday. Deposits from non-residents surged 44% to S$62 billion, also the highest level since 1991 when records began, the data show.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...nd=premium-asia
And interest rates have plunged too... sigh
hksgmy
post Jul 17 2023, 06:22 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

After reading through most of the comments here, I'm now quite keen to open an CIMB SG account (I'm based in Singapore) - and after that, try to open up one in Malaysia.
hksgmy
post Jul 18 2023, 07:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sirius2017 @ Jul 18 2023, 07:19 PM)
CIMB Singapore transfer to own Malaysia CIMB a/c limit is RM 100,000 per day.
MayBank Singapore transfer to Maybank Malaysia a/c limit is SGD 20,000 per day.
Transfer from MY to SG can use WISE.

Yes, thank you so much for the info! It really helps me make an informed decision.
hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 09:23 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 28 2023, 10:15 AM)
I am coming to SG to study... tongue.gif

Once I obtain my student pass, will open OCBC monthly savings account, dollardex (for Fullerton SGD cash fund), and ICBC SG (3-month FD always looks attractive compared to others).
Welcome to Singapore! Will your PhD come with a monthly stipend? You could save a bit of that and stash that away as spare SGD smile.gif
hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 09:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 3 2023, 09:47 AM)
Yea. 2.2k SGD before qualifying exam, 2.7k SGD after that.

Supervisor told me my School may offer additional stipend for teaching assistant duties.

Now I know NTU got free food almost daily! Really saved a lot on meals. rclxm9.gif
Wah! You’ll save a bundle! So happy for you notworthy.gif
hksgmy
post Aug 17 2023, 03:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 17 2023, 12:33 PM)
Student pass approved and issued! It's time to open accounts!

rclxm9.gif
You’re so funny hahaha. Happy account opening bro!
hksgmy
post Apr 12 2024, 02:17 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Apr 3 2024, 12:38 PM)
I have this concern too. Actually we can do a separate will in Malaysia for SG asset?
All out bank accounts are in joint names… makes things a lot easier
hksgmy
post Apr 26 2024, 07:48 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 26 2024, 06:18 PM)
how long did it take to refund back into ur account? i called maybank hotline, the fella ask me to ask my imaginary RM  doh.gif
What happened to your MBB RM? Is he or she always MIA?
hksgmy
post Jun 4 2024, 11:26 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(PseudomonasSA @ May 26 2024, 05:02 AM)
OCBC SG has quietly increased the monthly fee for non-residents to SGD 50 per month and minimum daily balance for waiver to SGD 25k.
These are astronomical numbers.

There is also no option to open the Monthly Savings Account in the apps for non-residents.

Looks like the OCBC SG account is only good for the first 12 months.

We can switch to the OCBC 360 which requires minimum SGD 3k but the bank can easily introduce a new fee of SGD 50 per month for non-residents.
But there’s no charge at the moment for the 360 right? I guess that’s some breathing space for users (at least for now)
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2024, 11:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 5 2024, 11:12 AM)
Can anyone with CIMB SG and MY account help me with this?

Can you withdraw SGD from CIMB SG account using CIMB MY debit card? My accounts are already linked and can see online.

I am going to SG tomorrow. 😅
I don’t have CIMB account but just wanted to wish you a safe trip and enjoy yourself in Singapore!
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2024, 12:50 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 5 2024, 12:35 PM)
Brow, what do you mean by this? WISE will charge 0.60 no matter how many times you use your WISE card for this within the day?

Just checked and can't find my EZLink cards anymore....sigh.
Those you can buy from SMRT station counters or 7-11 stores
hksgmy
post Jun 7 2024, 09:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

PSA:

3.45% interest for Premier Dividend Plus account holders with OCBC, subject to terms and conditions as listed in the flyer.
hksgmy
post Jun 10 2024, 08:48 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 10 2024, 12:30 PM)
that being said, any reason to choose them over ocbc?
Yes, if you have enough for HSBC Premier in Malaysia, you automatically get premier status in Sg - with no need to keep minimum balance in Sg
hksgmy
post Jun 10 2024, 08:53 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 10 2024, 08:51 PM)
hksgmy only RM200k to gain premier status in M'sia 🤯🤯

looks like a viable option for those high roller who want to remit 6 digits ringgit to SG
Yes, one of the lowest requirements. It’s SGD250,000 in Singapore and AUD200,000 in Australia. I was previously domiciled in Singapore, but seeing how Australia needed a lower figure, I moved it over there and domiciled it in Sydney instead.
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 03:45 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jun 11 2024, 01:22 AM)
Lemme open the basic acc first with dbs then i’ll close the sc lol.

$500k doable but abit more wasteful if just leave it restricted, unless, they count shares value into the $500k
I believe they do
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 03:47 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

DBS priority, aka DBS Treasures, requires only SGD350,000 to open and the same amount needs to be maintained. The $350,000 can be in deposit or investments.

DBS private requires $5m.
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 03:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jun 10 2024, 11:51 PM)
Things changed? I opened mine on 2021.

To be frank, their priority service is getting shittier day by day. Make 0 different when i opt out 🥹

Still looking into DBS
I’m also thinking of closing my SCB priority… you are right, shitty service.

0.1611sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 PM