Let's put everything into perspective and paint a whole picture.
In Special Voluntary Disclosure Program (SVDP, introduced by LGE in 2019 budget) context, the Deputy FM is not wrong lah. It's just that he concentrated on the overseas part, whereas SVDP is targeting all undeclared and under-declared income, whether local or overseas. The deputy FM should also include the local income in his reply. That is the confusing part.
If you read the overall idea of SVDP, then there is no more confusion. This big 4 accountant is better in explaining what LGE wants
https://www.ey.com/Publication/vwLUAssets/e...ure-program.pdfSo, despite what the deputy FM's confusing and out of context statement, we are right lah
In essence, if a person did not declare, or under-declare his income (be it local or overseas), he is given a good opportunity to make good at minimal penalty before 30/6/2019
If you have declared all your income (local and overseas), then there is nothing else to declare.
For overseas income, it means those that are taxable in malaysia. Like some freelancer/ebay/taobao traders working in malaysia full time through internet, but get paid into their overseas account. These people should be taxed by LHDN. But because previously LHDN don't know the overseas bank balances, they can escape tax. Now LHDN can access their overseas bank account, they cannot escape anymore.
Another example, you as a lawyer get a S$1m advisory job from a USA company. Your firm researched, prepared and spent 1000 man hours in Malaysia. After the report is done, you send your final advice to your client in USA. But you ask your client to pay your S$1m legal fee into your DBS Singapore account. Previously LHDN has no access to your banking info and you may be able to escape. But now cannot liao......these are the income the deputy FM is talking about....
Whereas income like share market capital gain/dividend, income already being taxed by the foreign tax authorities and all other income not subjected to tax by LHDN, there is no need to specifically declare to them. Just like our share market capital gain/dividend/interest income derive in malaysia, we also never specifically declare to them until they ask us. Same principle applies....
good to see that, hope this is all correct.
How about SG property rental income? I have pay my share of income tax to SG govt. But haven't declare it to LHDN here.