Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
Afterburner1.0
Feb 13 2024, 09:51 AM
why would normal malaysians open SG bank acc??? unless u stay in JB or u go SG very often lar.... got business dealings etc.... if not for normal folks.... why wanna open a SG bank acc ah??? FD rate also super low......
Afterburner1.0
Feb 14 2024, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Feb 13 2024, 10:11 PM) Cause those that open and park SGD in singapore banks since 2010 laughing liao. 😆 FD rate low? Kindly check again… also got government bonds/t-bills that offers as high as 4.5%+ Also not to mentioned potential currency appreciation, more investment choices, politically stable country, business/investment friendly environment etc. thanks for the tip..... we should have a SG FD rate discussion thread here then..... in SG, if u wanna put in FD, do u need to open a bank acc? which bank is Foreigner/ Malaysian friendly in 2024?
Afterburner1.0
Feb 14 2024, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 14 2024, 09:09 AM) I am one of those people. Lol. Last time it was 3.0 only. Forget sg bank FD. Just open tiger and park your money into their MMF. Tiger MMF basically invest into their FD. Only sg banks which let Malaysian open account without you needing to step foot there is cimb, maybank and ocbc. Rest maybe can be done if you are willing to park SGD250-300k for priority banking purpose. If i am in Singapore physically for a few days..... r we allowed to open bank account n placed fd in SG banks? Just need IC & Passport will do?
Afterburner1.0
Feb 14 2024, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 14 2024, 09:26 AM) Can. Need to beg. Only sg banks that let you open without any working pass is DBS. But need to open DBS Vickers as well. Try it at mbfc. Nowadays no pass, no account unless you are priority customer. Priority customer is need cause officer want to earn money/bonus, bank also want to earn money. WTF? need to beg???!! sigh.....For DBS, still need introducer? For DBS, how much min to placed in account to avoid mthly fees?
Afterburner1.0
Mar 6 2024, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 6 2024, 11:33 AM) FD interest won't stay high. If you have been around long enough you will know before COVID, the rates are only 1.x%p a. What then? Singapore FD rarely on par with Malaysian rates in the olden days. yes ive been around that long enuff...... yeah its pathetic back then 1.xx % only..... but now its almost 3.4% but for 3 mths only.... worth it to open an sg acc just for FD purposes?