Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

lyyera96
post May 24 2023, 10:39 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ May 24 2023, 03:39 AM)
I have an active UOB and Citibank SG account for more than 10 years.

Citibank SG is sucks on their apps and internet banking

UOB so far doesn’t have any issue. Their VISA debit card both can be use online and oversea store
but I see UOB SG side so many many bank account hacked
lyyera96
post Jun 18 2023, 10:48 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 17 2023, 11:53 PM)
Going to SG in Late July. Will close my Maybank SG account.

I am thinking of opening either OCBC or UOB account as a backup local SG account in case DBS system went down.

Any comments on OCBC vs UOB? (Leaning towards OCBC as there's a branch on NTU's campus. tongue.gif But all 3 local banks have ATM on campus so not much of a problem)

DBS keeps spamming my cousin's SG address mailbox will T-bill notification letter every 2 weeks. I feel sorry for him. sweat.gif

OCBC and UOB don't send physical notification letters, an advantage, opportunity cost is 1k SGD tied-up inside OCBC/UOB account. Just don't know whether to choose OCBC or UOB?

Past users can share experience? Or sifu Ramjade ikanbilis?
Why you want close Maybank SG account?
lyyera96
post Jun 19 2023, 08:27 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 19 2023, 03:46 PM)
SG banks are flushed with so much cash that banks are forced to lend them to MAS.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230619/%e7%8b%...b8%ad%e8%a1%8c/
Today I also saw this news
lyyera96
post Jul 25 2023, 08:30 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 25 2023, 05:58 PM)
The main objective is to have a SG bank account, not SGD15 reward
Got any debit card from OCBC SG??
lyyera96
post Jul 25 2023, 08:33 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 25 2023, 08:31 PM)
Can apply from online banking.
So we just deposit SGD 1k then can open account right?
lyyera96
post Jul 26 2023, 08:07 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 26 2023, 12:43 PM)
There's discrepancy between the T&C and some pages on ocbc website.

Statement Savings Account minimum balance and minimum deposit for non-resident based on T&C is 20k, but the app only requires 1k.

Is the 20k minimum balance imposed only after one year, and waive before that?  Looks like it. If ocbc treat Malaysians as non resident.

But what if ocbc treats Malaysians as residents and therefore only 1k required? I have no idea. Ocbc would know best.

To be safe, just apply for other accounts where the minimum balance is a lot less, and there's no different category for non-residents.

Only IC and Passport is required.

They only give the 2 accounts at first, you are free to apply any other accounts once application approved and u have access to online banking.
So when we apply at the app, we maximum only can apply 2 account includes statement saving account and another one account we choose ourself? Then after 6 month we close the statement saving account right?? thumbsup.gif whistling.gif
lyyera96
post Jul 26 2023, 08:08 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(SzeMeng76 @ Jul 26 2023, 02:40 PM)
I had opened OCBC SG MBB SG CIMB SG as well. Nice!
I also have MBB SG and CIMB SG, I think later I also want open OCBC SG
lyyera96
post Aug 31 2023, 10:03 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Aug 31 2023, 09:22 AM)
i want to open dbs bank but they ask for card and pin? 😒
what you mean

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0269sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled