Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Hansel
post Jan 9 2017, 10:27 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 9 2017, 10:08 AM)
if u have the means to "control" the spread, it is surely to yr advantage!

but i guess this is only for ultra premium customers in special banks.

as far as brokers like IB are concerned, they dun care how u get/buy the fx, they accept face value what u bank in, no other charge.

when u withdraw, same, in that currency. the rest will depend which bank u stipulate the money goes to.
Yes bro,... thumbsup.gif

Does IB allow banking-in and withdrawal of foreign currency notes, eg the USDs without charging 1% ?
Hansel
post Jan 10 2017, 11:58 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 9 2017, 04:49 PM)
i hv not done much transfers, multi currency with IB.

details like this, best to ask rjb123 in this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549
Tq bro,.. I think no need to ask,... surely can't accept foreign notes,...
Hansel
post Jan 10 2017, 10:25 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 10 2017, 01:24 PM)
Actually according to his way, he fund his IB account using SGD. Then switch over the currency on IB platform to buy ETF from LSE.
I have replied in the other thread, bro,...

What I understood that is being done by rjb123 is different from what you said in the above.
Hansel
post Jan 11 2017, 07:04 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jan 11 2017, 11:21 AM)
quite pissed with this as well, jez found out yesterday bout that % charges. From the read of the page, it looks like just physical deposit/withdrawal at the bank right?
Does it apply for online transaction as well
http://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/deposits/fees.page

Any idea which Spore banks provide free service for $$ dep & withdrawn?
Bro,... for SGD deposits/withdrawals, it is still FREE,... please do NOT be confused,... everywhere in the world, the depositing of the natural currency of that country into the banking system is FREE, generally,... well, I don't know of any ctry that charges for this. Unless,... clients are encouraged to use the ATMs,.. in which case the charges would be minimal,...

The beauty of DBS earlier was : EVEN THE DEPOSITING AND WITHDRAWAL OF FOREIGN CURRENCIES WAS FREE ! When this happens, we can control the spread of currency exchange already,....anyway,... there is no more of this free meal,.. so, no point talking abt this anymore, unless another bank starts to open up too.
Hansel
post Jan 12 2017, 11:41 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 12 2017, 11:02 AM)
I gave them my national competency exam results. They actually never look at it at all.
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 12 2017, 11:16 AM)
No wonder la.. tongue.gif Your earlier statement gave a lot of hopes to people hoping to open an account in Singapore. Just to clarify bro Ramjade is studying in Singapore and thus allowed to open an account there.
Bro Ramjade,... you studied in Sgp,... you should not have prbs at all,..... mad.gif mad.gif Shouldn't even be talking here on opening of bank accounts in Sgp,... just tell then you graduated from there,...
Hansel
post Jan 12 2017, 11:44 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 12 2017, 11:20 AM)
I told them I am just graduated. So not working yet. So no tax no. SO they put my occupation as graduate. But the worker said not working means not working. No need to say graduate or what.  ranting.gif
Hmm.... they are feeling 'bad' that they have no choice but to open accounts for you, because you studied there. hmm.gif hmm.gif

I suspect the Lions are beginning to have prejudice on us wanting to open accts there. They're beginning to detect something, maybe they're in this forum.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jan 12 2017, 11:46 AM
Hansel
post Jan 13 2017, 07:31 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 13 2017, 12:49 AM)
1-2 years ago, one can freely walk into any SG banks and ask for a bank account. No questions asked. Well do update here if you managed to get one and how you managed to open. It will help people who wants to open.
DON'T UPDATE HERE TOO MUCH ! THE DOORS WILL BE CLOSED FASTER ! USE PM ! SOME GOVTS AND AUTHORITIES RE-ACT FAST, UNLIKE OURS !
Hansel
post Jan 13 2017, 09:11 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jan 13 2017, 08:26 AM)
Now I really regret closing mine few years back when I moved back to Malaysia 😂. Likewise in Malaysia , to open new account also need Employee salary slip and some verification for those unemployed  . Banyak macam macam !
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 13 2017, 08:41 AM)
5 years ago, Malaysia bank account does need all these crap.
QUOTE(kyone @ Jan 13 2017, 08:57 AM)
Even a valid work pass doesn't work on them. Die die must company HR's letter
This is news to me,... opening banks accounts in Msia is also difficult ???? shocking.gif
Hansel
post Jan 13 2017, 12:33 PM

9,361 posts

Those who kena tangkap got their money in illicit ways. This is the basis of it !
Hansel
post Jan 13 2017, 12:50 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jan 13 2017, 12:41 PM)
There is definitely a back channel for such things. Just not publicly available to normal citizens.  brows.gif
Bro,... I think these back channels are slowly closing down,...Doors are closing, otherwise, we wouldn't have so many 'sonlap pros' keeping foreign currency cash in their homes and in their kampungs. On a personal level, I too find many of the easier channels previously are no more there, and rules are tighter nowfor funds movement.

The 1MDB event sealed the hole tighter,... NR moved fast, he's smart, becos after him,... that govt agency is allowed to go after the rest of the big 'songlap professionals',... he slipped through first with a big haul. This is what I heard too from my private banking circle in Sgp !

Now 'catching 5th individual' !
Hansel
post Jan 15 2017, 11:23 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 15 2017, 11:32 AM)
Same for me as well. Thanks to ShinG3e's advice, I now have a Maybank Singapore iSavvy Saving Account. Recently, the debit card and security token were sent to my home, and I have activated the access to Maybank Singapore online banking website.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jan 15 2017, 02:20 PM)
you're welcome. good stuff need to share.  biggrin.gif
brows.gif
Congrats on opening,... thumbsup.gif

What do you guys intend to do with your SG bank accts now ?
Hansel
post Jan 23 2017, 06:06 PM

9,361 posts

Guys,.. if got 'tricks',.. better to use PM. When Sgp authorities keep seeing 'tricks' here and there,.. soon, they will set the criteria very high for opening and for maintaining an SG Acct..
Hansel
post Jan 23 2017, 06:11 PM

9,361 posts

Hmm,... guys, forummers,... if you care abt others,.. pls practise what that is ethically and legally correct. Stay away from certain discussions.
Hansel
post Jan 23 2017, 10:54 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 23 2017, 06:51 PM)
It's perfectly legal by cimb sg. Go read their fees pdf file.
Amount to maintain: no min amount
Fall below fees: nil

It's stated in their document in black and white. Even with maybank, just transfer the SGD500 to and fro from their account and back within the same day to "make it active"

DBS/ocbc/scb have cheap account you know which requires just SGD0/1000 to maintain.

One just need to read their fees.
Perhaps so, but continuing to repeat this demonstrates the acct-holder's character, and his intentions,...being not to open the acct for transactions, butto open one just waiting to see if a usage would come along later on. In the meantime, while waiting, the acct holder can just use these legal techniques to circumvent the productive objectives of opening an acct...

As an experienced acct-holder in Sgp, I would advise not to reiterate on these 'legal' techniques too much, if you care abt others. That's all there is to it.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jan 23 2017, 10:57 PM
Hansel
post Jan 29 2017, 11:35 AM

9,361 posts

I look at it this way : if level of service is good, but cannot make money,.. then still goes back to no good. If level of service is mediocre, but can still make money, then still okay.

I have the second quality,... I am able to make money with their gearing, though level of service is mediocre.
Hansel
post Jan 29 2017, 10:29 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 29 2017, 06:26 PM)
I based my calculations on this and the rate they displayed have been accurate (double check with bank's TT rate)
http://www.exchangerate.my/

My transport cost is <RM200 (but very close). For this discussion, make it RM200. If your transport cost is higher, then you need to count again and see if it's worth it to TT or go down. For me, because my transport cost is RM200, it's cheaper for me to down. This is based on the calculations that Maybank charges 3.16/3.17 exchange rate vs money changer at 3.12 (which is true if you go to Midvalley money changers)
QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 29 2017, 10:05 PM)
With a rm200 transport cost I assume u r not from Johor. Don't u have to factor in food n lodging as well, even if u take your time cost as Zero.
Bros,... perhaps no need to count so much, so detailed... just make sure that you buy the correct dividend-paying counters, and when you received your first and second round divvy payouts, you would have covered all these costs,...
Hansel
post Jan 31 2017, 11:19 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 31 2017, 09:25 AM)
1 month is the entire duration, starting from the date you send your application form, to the date you receive all of the items by post in your house.

In my opinion, the actual time needed to open a Maybank iSavvy saving account is around 3 working days, if Maybank Singapore receives the full set of your form and supporting documents by post.

Most of the waiting time is due to inefficiency of our postal system in Malaysia, resulting in the delay of sending the items to our home.

Between SingPost and Pos Malaysia, which one is more efficient? I strongly believe that SingPost would have quickly sent the items from Maybank Singapore, to Malaysia. Once the custody of the items has been transferred from SingPost to Pos Malaysia, you would know what happens next.  sweat.gif

It is a great deal and very convenient for us to open a Maybank saving account in Singapore, with the help of Maybank Malaysia. We do not need employment visa or student visa to apply, as long as we already have a Maybank Malaysia saving account. smile.gif
Good things come to those with patience. For sure, if we are high net worth individuals with insane amount of money, we can get things done faster.

But, I am just an average Joe. So, I do not mind waiting that long, as long as the end result is what I desire.

You are entitled to your own opinion, and we respect that. smile.gif
Frankly,... I would also think that one-month is a bit long, but we have no choice now if we really wanted an account in Singapore. What do you plan to do with your Maybank Savings Account in Singapore ?

Like I kept saying earlier : hurry-up before they close the doors. Now the doors are being closed, but if we have patience, as in your goodself here, we can still open,... till the day BNM stops Maybank Msia from doing this. So,... I say this now : hurry-up before Maybank Msia stops doing this.

One more thing : if one intends to sue that Savings Account to invest, even if one has loads of money, one can still open JUST A CUSTODIAN ACCOUNT WITH AN RM TO SERVICE HIM/HER. NOT A CDP ACCOUNT.

Everything need to pass through that RM, with high minimum charges.

Please try to open a DBS Savings Account.
Hansel
post Jan 31 2017, 11:24 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jan 31 2017, 09:09 AM)
so, they bully you because you are not able to go to SG and you do not have work permit/student pass? If this is the case, better they reject your application at the first place, rather for you to wait and wait for so long.

Is this the way they treasure their customer? I certainly do not think so!
QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jan 31 2017, 10:31 AM)
wow, didnt now got people so patient. for me 1 month is very very long. opening an account should be within 1 working day. sending documents now can be by courier, which is next working day or e-mail which is instant.
Frankly,... I'm beginning to feel like you do too,... frankly, if we don't have a good reason to open a bank account in Singapore, we should not struggle to do so. Look out to other countries already,... Singapore has 'moved too high-up',...
Hansel
post Jan 31 2017, 05:39 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 31 2017, 12:54 PM)
I didn't call Maybank Shah Alam. I emailed Maybank SG. Maybank SG check with Battery Road then check with Maybank Shah Alam. I am perfectly fine with emails (saving cost here)
That's not bad service. For reasons:
1) You don't need to go down to Singaore at all
2) You can bypass SG govt requirement of working pass to open account
Is SG govt rule la. Anybody asking to open account must produce working pass/student pass unless you are a priority customer. doh.gif They also need to protect themselves what (their reputation as SEA financial hub) after you know what happen in SG involving xxdb.

With so much tightening, I am willing to wait 1 month for my account (even though I already have an account)
They don't use courier. They use normal post. For me the fastest was one of my account. Account approve. Within 1 week receive all the stuff needed. For maybank, I am sure, they need to investigate your background with Maybank MY. So one week for letter to arrive is perfectly fine for international airmail. Also, Singapore banks love their mail. Sort of security feature. Send you 1 letter containing username, 1 letter containing your password, 1 letter with your security device etc. It's their protocol. They won't send you those details via email.

If send everything in one letter, if one letter is compromise, all the login account details are compromised. Same thing with email. Email is the easiest to be compromise.
Just submit the TIN only. Is not like one have any thing to hide. Why use custodian account? Just use Maybank KE trading account.

Not everyone got RM10k to park in SG not earning money (DBS saving account)
That's right - why use Custodian Account ? Buttttt,... even if you have lots of funds, you will MOST PROBABLY not be able to open a direct brokerage account with a CDP Number,.. except in some 'unique' situations,... sure you can talk now, that's because you've managed to open,...

By the way,... what is KE trading account - CDP or Custodian ??

Who asked you to park RM10K into DBS Savings Acct ? Just park whatever sufficient for servicing the Fall Below Fee while you build up your assets. When your assets are sufficiently large, then you start to fulfill the minimum amt requirement.

I've said the above many times.
Hansel
post Jan 31 2017, 06:05 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 31 2017, 05:45 PM)
AFAIK, only DBS V let you have direct CDP account. Even for pre funded. According to the one who service me, DBS V will always open CDP account for the applicants. All foreigners who apply will get prefunded account. Only SGreans can get other type of account. It's against SG govt laws to give foreigners access to margin/leverage trading. Not sure if one can asked for it or not.

Maybank KE prefunded Custodian. If is not prefunded, its CDP.

That's what I am trying to ask you lots of time, no reply. Thanks finally got an answer.  laugh.gif  notworthy.gif
Looks like there is a lot of conflicting infos out there. Let's look at DBSV first :-

1) DBSV does not have custodian arrangements, hence, it is always CDP-based account.
2) I've been offered many times at very attractive loan rates for Margin Accounts, though I am not a Sporean by nationality.

Secondly, many other banks/brokerages do open CDP-based Accounts for a foreigner, not only DBSV. UOB-KayHian is one of them. There are lots of others,....

Maybank KE - many will go after the low brokerage arrangement. Such low brokerage charge transactions allow one to own shares via custodian-ship. If one wishes to own shares DIRECTLY, ie with a CDP Number, then the brokerage will be higher.

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:41 AM