315 Pages « < 295 296 297 298 299 > » Bottom

Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Gabriel03
post Nov 18 2024, 11:36 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 18 2024, 11:12 PM)
Gabriel03 i have BSA-i. walk-in to open basic acct without telling them my plans. previously i dare not open CIMB MY acct bcos of horror stories about debit card fraud

btw, since i'm here. just to state that i can no longer wholeheartedly recommend moneymatch. do compare with sunwaymoney as they have the upperhand lately when it comes to converting your ringgit
i didn't disclose my plans and didn't have CIMB SG account at the time of application at CIMB MY.

Nowadays, opening bank account is not simple and they tend to ask about your employment. I said that I work in SG. That's all.

She guessed my intention and used it as an excuse when I conforted her when my account was called Ecosave-i instead Basic Savings Account without Annual Fee. Even if I don't disclose my employment, I suspect that they will find another excuse.

Anyway, what's done is done. I'll wait for CIMB MY's official response before submiting a complaint to BNM.

At least, the others are aware and will be more alert when dealing with CIMB staffs.

This post has been edited by Gabriel03: Nov 18 2024, 11:54 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2024, 11:52 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 18 2024, 11:12 PM)
Gabriel03 i have BSA-i. walk-in to open basic acct without telling them my plans. previously i dare not open CIMB MY acct bcos of horror stories about debit card fraud

btw, since i'm here. just to state that i can no longer wholeheartedly recommend moneymatch. do compare with sunwaymoney as they have the upperhand lately when it comes to converting your ringgit
Same here. Sunway money have good rates now Vs moneymatch.
Gabriel03
post Nov 18 2024, 11:53 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 18 2024, 11:52 PM)
Same here. Sunway money have good rates now Vs moneymatch.
but from SGD to MYR, CIMB is still best, right?
Medufsaid
post Nov 19 2024, 12:21 AM

3,491 posts

i walked into CIMB MY branch and opened acct with MyKad and RM20 for deposit. the bank teller didn't probe and ask if i'm working / ask for payslip etc. i guess if they ask just tell them you are unemployed. see if they reject your RM20 or not

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Nov 19 2024, 12:24 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 19 2024, 12:25 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Nov 18 2024, 11:53 PM)
For now yes. But I saw someone manage to get better rates with wallex. Haven't investigate as no plan to bring money back to Malaysia.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 19 2024, 12:21 AM)
i walked into CIMB MY branch and opened acct with MyKad and RM20 for deposit. the bank teller didn't probe and ask if i'm working / ask for payslip etc
Lucky you. Cimb, public bank at my place all want letter of employment.
Medufsaid
post Nov 19 2024, 12:37 AM

3,491 posts

not too worried abt cimb sgd->myr as it beats midvalley rates. It's the MYR->sgd where no online remitters will be on par with midvalley
Ramjade
post Nov 19 2024, 12:57 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 19 2024, 12:37 AM)
not too worried abt cimb sgd->myr as it beats midvalley rates. It's the MYR->sgd where no online remitters will be on par with midvalley
Good to know that Sunway money and moneymatch can't beat midvalley. Maybe rhb can?
coolguy99
post Nov 19 2024, 05:08 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Nov 18 2024, 11:53 PM)
CIMB still the best rate for me.
gedebe
post Nov 21 2024, 02:53 AM

1,648 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 19 2024, 12:21 AM)
i walked into CIMB MY branch and opened acct with MyKad and RM20 for deposit. the bank teller didn't probe and ask if i'm working / ask for payslip etc. i guess if they ask just tell them you are unemployed. see if they reject your RM20 or not
I just tried this afternoon, nope you can't open without employment, where is the fantastic branch that you manage to open?
gedebe
post Nov 21 2024, 02:54 AM

1,648 posts

Sifu, if we already have Cimb MY and we want to open a SG Cimb, we no need to show them our employment right?
Ramjade
post Nov 21 2024, 07:41 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 02:54 AM)
Sifu, if we already have Cimb MY and we want to open a SG Cimb, we no need to show them our employment right?
They can ask for proof of money. Definitely Malaysian income tax number will be asked.
gedebe
post Nov 21 2024, 08:19 AM

1,648 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 02:53 AM)
I just tried this afternoon, nope you can't open without employment, where is the fantastic branch that you manage to open?
in fact they asked me to get account statement from any existing bank and utility bill as supporting doc
Ramjade
post Nov 21 2024, 08:37 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 08:19 AM)
in fact they asked me to get account statement from any existing bank and utility bill as supporting doc
Of course. They want proof of your address. Bank statements they want is verification of account. Normal la.
Medufsaid
post Nov 21 2024, 08:49 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 02:53 AM)
Menara UAB - CIMB branch. i don't go there anymore so i can't ask on behalf of you if can still open without statements.

i only had Mykad + ringgit with me. if i needed the documents, confirm i surely need to make two trip last year. but i only did 1 trip. but it's a long trip, maybe 1 hour to wait for my turn, fill in details, then wait some more for final call. u know how malaysia works. free & easy

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Nov 21 2024, 08:52 AM
Medufsaid
post Nov 21 2024, 09:04 AM

3,491 posts

Ramjade, if you login to CIMB My, is this section blank? how about the rest of you with cimb my acct?

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Nov 21 2024, 09:05 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 21 2024, 09:44 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 21 2024, 08:19 AM)
Supposedly it's requirement by Bnm to produce employment proof to prevent money laundering. I kena with public bank also.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 21 2024, 09:45 AM
gedebe
post Nov 23 2024, 08:58 PM

1,648 posts

while opening a cimb SG account, it asks for Singpass which in turn ask for SG NRIC and address, how does m'sian overcome this?

This post has been edited by gedebe: Nov 23 2024, 09:02 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Singpass___Register_for_Singpass.pdf ( 111k ) Number of downloads: 5
Medufsaid
post Nov 23 2024, 09:06 PM

3,491 posts

gedebe https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/forms-a.../fastsaver.html

btw, please open MBB sg https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/personal/cr...casa/index.page or OCBC sg first (via mobile app), before opening CIMB sg

if not, CIMB sg will want you to send S$1k from CIMB my to validate, which is very expensive. with MBB/OCBC sg, you can send using DuitNow Overseas Transfer. after opening MBB/OCBC sg, u can then do local S$1k transfer from MBB/OCBC to CIMB sg for validation

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jul 18 2025, 04:32 PM
gedebe
post Nov 23 2024, 09:13 PM

1,648 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 23 2024, 09:06 PM)
gedebe https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/forms-a.../fastsaver.html

btw, please open MBB sg https://apply.maybank.com.sg/regionalcasa/A...Opening/arrihla or OCBC sg first (via mobile app), before opening CIMB sg

if not, CIMB sg will want you to send S$1k from CIMB my to validate, which is very expensive. with MBB/OCBC sg, you can send using DuitNow Overseas Transfer. after opening MBB/OCBC sg, u can then do local S$1k transfer from MBB/OCBC to CIMB sg for validation
but still the question here is singpass asked for SG Nric and address, see my previous attachement

This post has been edited by gedebe: Nov 23 2024, 09:13 PM
Medufsaid
post Nov 23 2024, 09:25 PM

3,491 posts

gedebe please read and follow what i wrote

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Nov 23 2024, 09:30 PM

315 Pages « < 295 296 297 298 299 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled