Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

SUSSitiNorhaliza1970
post May 23 2024, 10:19 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(chopper~ @ May 30 2010, 09:31 PM)
hi all, im a malaysian, not studyin nor working in sg, can i open a bank account in singapore??
Couple years ago if you have MBB at MY you can open without any issues but now think they changed already..

Medufsaid
post May 23 2024, 10:40 AM

3,491 posts

SitiNorhaliza1970 you are replying to a 14 year old message

if you want to open MBB sg acct, can do https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/personal/cr...casa/index.page

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jul 18 2025, 04:30 PM
Medufsaid
post May 25 2024, 08:31 PM

3,491 posts

TOS how did you close your MBB sg acct? were you able to withdraw out all $$ and let it autoclose after 30 days?
SUSTOS
post May 25 2024, 09:55 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 25 2024, 08:31 PM)
TOS how did you close your MBB sg acct? were you able to withdraw out all $$ and let it autoclose after 30 days?
I leave a long trail of posts behind in this forum. tongue.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry107792515
PseudomonasSA
post May 26 2024, 05:02 AM

426 posts

OCBC SG has quietly increased the monthly fee for non-residents to SGD 50 per month and minimum daily balance for waiver to SGD 25k.
These are astronomical numbers.

There is also no option to open the Monthly Savings Account in the apps for non-residents.

Looks like the OCBC SG account is only good for the first 12 months.

We can switch to the OCBC 360 which requires minimum SGD 3k but the bank can easily introduce a new fee of SGD 50 per month for non-residents.

This post has been edited by PseudomonasSA: May 26 2024, 05:03 AM
!@#$%^
post May 26 2024, 06:32 AM

Safe Trader
17,502 posts

QUOTE(PseudomonasSA @ May 26 2024, 05:02 AM)
OCBC SG has quietly increased the monthly fee for non-residents to SGD 50 per month and minimum daily balance for waiver to SGD 25k.

There is also no option to open the Monthly Savings Account in the apps for non-residents.

We can switch to the OCBC 360 which requires minimum SGD 3k but the bank can easily introduce a new fee of SGD 50 per month for non-residents.
try via website instead of app
Medufsaid
post May 26 2024, 08:21 AM

3,491 posts

--edited--

OCBC SG no longer applicable to malaysians. removing this post

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 24 2025, 10:42 AM
john123x
post May 26 2024, 01:26 PM

3,019 posts

how about the existing Monthly Savings Account?
Medufsaid
post May 26 2024, 01:41 PM

3,491 posts

john123x digressing a bit. does MBB sg allow you to empty out to another bank acct? S$0 balance in MBB
coolguy99
post May 27 2024, 06:29 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 26 2024, 01:41 PM)
john123x digressing a bit. does MBB sg allow you to empty out to another bank acct? S$0 balance in MBB
There is a monthly fee of SGD2 if your min balance falls below SGD500.
Medufsaid
post May 27 2024, 07:31 AM

3,491 posts

coolguy99 yes i know. i'm researching on how to auto-close the account. i read in hardwarezone that you have to leave S$10 behind in your account. and let it autodeduct for 5 months. need an MBB sg user to verify that.

currently OCBC and CIMB sg allows you to empty out the acct, and start the autoclose timer
ck8811
post May 27 2024, 02:29 PM

50 posts

Hi, newbie here, anyone here dca into sp500 index? Which etf did you buy? And how much transaction cost you incurred? I have seen people recommend CSPX, but my dca amount is very low, and the minimum cost of usd 1.70 seems quite expensive over long term.
Medufsaid
post May 27 2024, 03:02 PM

3,491 posts

ck8811 wrong topic. but to answer your question, you can buy USA etfs. then each year, you sell all and buy into CSPX.

if u find the right topic to ask this question, i can show you how i calculated
tropik
post Jun 2 2024, 02:42 PM

502 posts

Anyone here with Maybank SG account who didnt activate the debit card?

Any issue with that?

I'm getting 2nd SMS reminder to activate it.

Thought of not activating it at all since not using the card and to avoid fraud like TOS experienced.
Ramjade
post Jun 2 2024, 04:16 PM

24,355 posts

QUOTE(tropik @ Jun 2 2024, 02:42 PM)
Anyone here with Maybank SG account who didnt activate the debit card?

Any issue with that?

I'm getting 2nd SMS reminder to activate it.

Thought of not activating it at all since not using the card and to avoid fraud like TOS experienced.
Any card regardless where you are can kena the scam. You activate the card only if you want to use it. If you are like me with no usage for it, no need bother activating.
hksgmy
post Jun 4 2024, 11:26 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

But there’s no charge at the moment for the 360 right? I guess that’s some breathing space for users (at least for now)
SUSSitiNorhaliza1970
post Jun 5 2024, 09:18 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 23 2024, 10:40 AM)
SitiNorhaliza1970 you are replying to a 14 year old message

if you want to open MBB sg acct, can do
Oh sorry did not see the date
CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 5 2024, 11:12 AM

3,862 posts

Can anyone with CIMB SG and MY account help me with this?

Can you withdraw SGD from CIMB SG account using CIMB MY debit card? My accounts are already linked and can see online.

I am going to SG tomorrow. 😅
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2024, 11:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 5 2024, 11:12 AM)
Can anyone with CIMB SG and MY account help me with this?

Can you withdraw SGD from CIMB SG account using CIMB MY debit card? My accounts are already linked and can see online.

I am going to SG tomorrow. 😅
I don’t have CIMB account but just wanted to wish you a safe trip and enjoy yourself in Singapore!
Medufsaid
post Jun 5 2024, 11:22 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 5 2024, 11:12 AM)
open OCBC 360 or MBB sg bank account. you'll get debit card

you can also transfer SGD to your Wise account. withdraw from sg ATM using Wise Debit card

315 Pages « < 286 287 288 289 290 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:01 PM