315 Pages « < 218 219 220 221 222 > » Bottom

Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2022, 03:48 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(xerxesbear_1 @ Nov 12 2022, 03:31 PM)
can malaysia's open bank saving accounts in Singapore? my stocks are all US stocks, so they are not SGX.
Yes, you can use Maybank SG or CIMB SG or both. Here's a complete guide to opening CIMB SG for Malaysians, without needing the need to travel across the border: https://ringgitfreedom.com/banking/opening-...for-malaysians/

For Maybank SG, you can follow the instructions here: https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/iwov-resources...n-Form-mbmy.pdf

CIMB SG is recommended over Maybank SG as:

1. CIMB SG has no minimum balance deposit requirement. Maybank SG has a minimum daily balance requirement of 500 SGD, or else you will be charged with 2 SGD fall-below fees.
2. CIMB SG has good SGD->MYR forex rate for transfers back to MY. Note that the converse is not true. MYR->SGD is best done via Wise/Instarem/Sunway Money/BigPay etc.
3. No inwards remittance TT charges for CIMB SG if you need to send money into your SG bank account via SWIFT, for example.

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 14 2022, 08:34 AM
Mr Gray
post Nov 30 2022, 10:26 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 12 2022, 03:48 PM)
Yes, you can use Maybank SG or CIMB SG or both. Here's a complete guide to opening CIMB SG for Malaysians, without needing the need to travel across the border: https://ringgitfreedom.com/banking/opening-...for-malaysians/

For Maybank SG, you can follow the instructions here: https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/iwov-resources...n-Form-mbmy.pdf

CIMB SG is recommended over Maybank SG as:

1. CIMB SG has no minimum balance deposit requirement. Maybank SG has a minimum daily balance requirement of 500 SGD, or else you will be charged with 2 SGD fall-below fees.
2. CIMB SG has good SGD->MYR forex rate for transfers back to MY. Note that the converse is not true. MYR->SGD is best done via Wise/Instarem/Sunway Money/BigPay etc.
3. No inwards remittance TT charges for CIMB SG if you need to send money into your SG bank account via SWIFT, for example.
If you have CIMB SG savings account, is it possible to easily open CIMB SG FD account?

SGD FD rate at CIMB SG quite tempting, about 4% already
Ramjade
post Nov 30 2022, 10:28 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Nov 30 2022, 10:26 AM)
If you have CIMB SG savings account, is it possible to easily open CIMB SG FD account?

SGD FD rate at CIMB SG quite tempting, about 4% already
Yes can. All online.
Mr Gray
post Nov 30 2022, 11:02 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 30 2022, 10:28 AM)
Yes can. All online.
Thank you!
tradingGo
post Dec 2 2022, 04:24 PM

122 posts

The DBS Multiplier acc has an upkeep fee $5 if the balance falls below 3k SGD right? If your account has zero balance, then they can't deduct?

So when you deposit 3k again, will they charge back $5/month for those months that they didn't get to charge you before?
sunami
post Dec 2 2022, 04:28 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Oct 14 2022, 02:28 PM)
I am going in Singapore only tomorrow morning, considering the Kastam clearing etc, when arriving bank I guess mostly gonna be told the quota has finsihed for the day since it is Saturday tongue.gif anyway will still try my luck
quota for? cant walk in to bank ar?
got max cust allowed per day?
SUSTOS
post Dec 2 2022, 05:22 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ Dec 2 2022, 04:24 PM)
The DBS Multiplier acc has an upkeep fee $5 if the balance falls below 3k SGD right? If your account has zero balance, then they can't deduct?

So when you deposit 3k again, will they charge back $5/month for those months that they didn't get to charge you before?
Tell the bank branch to open online for you from their branch computer. For first time DBS customer, no fall-below fees. So, no worries.

If possible, ask for My Account opening, but most likely they will tell you to open Multiplier account (for non-Sporean and PR). Just go with it, but insist that no fees will be charged (ask them to double check). The counter officer will open account for you via the "online" route.

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/deposits/ba...er#casaDigibank

Other references: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry104713013

QUOTE(sunami @ Dec 2 2022, 04:28 PM)
quota for? cant walk in to bank ar?
got max cust allowed per day?
SG banks have quota for how many customers they can handle per day as there are a few branches across the island but too many people (especially old uncles and aunties) who don't know (or like to) use mobile apps/internet banking will queue. These days with rising interest rates, OTC FDs and application for SG T-bills from CPF accounts (which can only be done via bank branch) means very long queue.

I took this photo a few months back at DBS Woodlands branch when I opened my account there:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry104662684

sunami
post Dec 2 2022, 05:34 PM

1,534 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 2 2022, 06:22 PM)
Tell the bank branch to open online for you from their branch computer. For first time DBS customer, no fall-below fees. So, no worries.

If possible, ask for My Account opening, but most likely they will tell you to open Multiplier account (for non-Sporean and PR). Just go with it, but insist that no fees will be charged (ask them to double check). The counter officer will open account for you via the "online" route. 

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/deposits/ba...er#casaDigibank

Other references: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry104713013
SG banks have quota for how many customers they can handle per day as there are a few branches across the island but too many people (especially old uncles and aunties) who don't know (or like to) use mobile apps/internet banking will queue. These days with rising interest rates, OTC FDs and application for SG T-bills from CPF accounts (which can only be done via bank branch) means very long queue.

I took this photo a few months back at DBS Woodlands branch when I opened my account there:

wow...i thought of dropping by cimb bank to settle some issue at the end of the month...
zzzzzz
SUSTOS
post Dec 2 2022, 05:46 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Dec 2 2022, 05:34 PM)
wow...i thought of dropping by cimb bank to settle some issue at the end of the month...
zzzzzz
CIMB bank should be better since they don't have that much customer like the 3 local banks. Most CIMB SG account functions are online too (like FD deposits). So, not much matters require physical visit to branch (thus less need to queue).

This post has been edited by TOS: Dec 2 2022, 06:19 PM
sunami
post Dec 2 2022, 05:53 PM

1,534 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 2 2022, 06:46 PM)
CIMB bank should be better since they don't have that much customer like the 3 local banks.
ok then...thanks for the info wink.gif
tradingGo
post Dec 2 2022, 11:07 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 2 2022, 05:22 PM)

if the branch in MBFC is full, then what should I do? What is my second option?

This post has been edited by tradingGo: Dec 2 2022, 11:19 PM
SUSTOS
post Dec 2 2022, 11:19 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ Dec 2 2022, 11:07 PM)
if the branch in MBS is full, then what should I do? What is my second option?
Try to return the next day, queue early. Or else, you can try other branches. https://www.dbs.com.sg/index/locator.page?filter=DBS

If still cannot by then, you can try other banks like OCBC and UOB. Your main aim should be the 3 local SG banks, mainly to prepare for possible CDP account opening in the future if possible. But UOB and OCBC saving accounts will have minimum balance requirements of some 500 SGD or more, unlike DBS's case.
Ramjade
post Dec 3 2022, 12:03 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ Dec 2 2022, 11:07 PM)
if the branch in MBFC is full, then what should I do? What is my second option?
You got no option if you are a Malaysia without any working or studying pass. TOS option is only for those with working or studying pass.
Go there early. My time I reach there was like 10am already 7 years ago.

Only option left is CIMB fastsaver.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 3 2022, 12:04 AM
kabal82
post Dec 5 2022, 02:17 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

anyone having problem login to CIMB SG apps or website? When i login, it'll request for OTP, but I never receive it eventhough i resend again & again... previously, didn't encounter this issues before... start to have this issue last week till now...
QuekZai
post Dec 12 2022, 03:12 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Dec 5 2022, 02:17 PM)
anyone having problem login to CIMB SG apps or website? When i login, it'll request for OTP, but I never receive it eventhough i resend again & again... previously, didn't encounter this issues before... start to have this issue last week till now...
Me too! I have called CIMB SG for help. After a few days, CIMB MY had called me saying that they have tried to reset my connection and ask me to try again but still not working yet. Now still waiting for them to come back to me.
Mr Gray
post Dec 12 2022, 05:56 PM

924 posts

[url=https://pictr.com/image/ErCSJf]user posted image[/url

Anybody tried this USD FD on cimb Sg? 5.1% for 12 month tenure. So tempting.

Would it possible to transfer USD direct via Wise to cimb fd?
Ramjade
post Dec 12 2022, 07:17 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Dec 12 2022, 05:56 PM)

But not sure if you are required to make a USD current account. If yes, not worth it. I do t believe you can just do using wise. Usually they will want you to minus from existing SGD or USD held with them.
Toku
post Dec 12 2022, 10:38 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Dec 12 2022, 05:56 PM)

As discussed in foreign FD thread, Alliance Xchange FD account is better compared to CIMB SG FCY FD account.

3 mth already 5.1%.

The Alliance TT is RM25++ compared to CIMB SG exorbitant TT fee.

Hence, in terms of interest rates and fees both better than CIMB SG. The only downside maybe Alliance's FCY FD is under BNM vs CIMB FCY FD's under MAS.
gooroojee
post Dec 15 2022, 03:32 PM

LowYee
2,191 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Dec 12 2022, 10:38 PM)
As discussed in foreign FD thread, Alliance Xchange FD account is better compared to CIMB SG FCY FD account.

3 mth already 5.1%.

The Alliance TT is RM25++ compared to CIMB SG exorbitant TT fee.

Hence, in terms of interest rates and fees both better than CIMB SG. The only downside maybe Alliance's FCY FD is under BNM vs CIMB FCY FD's under MAS.
Would you happen to know what the exchange rate spread is to change currencies to and from USD for the Alliance FCY FD account?

PS: I will share the Alliance Bank Malaysia TT screenshot for your reference in a bit...
donhay
post Dec 21 2022, 03:31 PM

722 posts

What's the best way (and rates) to transfer MYR to SGD? with

1) cimb clicks my to cimb sg
2) transferWise

315 Pages « < 218 219 220 221 222 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:23 AM