Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

!@#$%^
post Dec 1 2019, 10:52 AM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 1 2019, 07:38 AM)
Quoted from an e-mail from AtYourService <atyourservice@cimb.com>, which is the official e-mail address of CIMB Singapore:

Your account will be activated within 1 business day if the minimum initial deposit of S$1,000 is received. Otherwise, the account will be automatically closed within 30 calendar days from your application date of CIMB FastSaver account.
alright cool. thanks
jflee
post Dec 3 2019, 07:59 PM

18 posts

for CIMB and Maybank, do they have dormant period? ie: inactivity in your account for x months will be classify as dormant
roarus
post Dec 3 2019, 11:41 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(jflee @ Dec 3 2019, 07:59 PM)
for CIMB and Maybank, do they have dormant period? ie: inactivity in your account for x months will be classify as dormant
Typically 1 year for bank accounts - but if you're worried then you can do a transfer every month. That way you won't forget your username/password and the account(s) don't go dormant.
asakura_hao P
post Dec 17 2019, 10:03 AM

Probation
27 posts

About opening CIMB FastSaver account, after transfer the initial deposit SGD1000, how long it take for your guys to receive the 6 digit First Time Login code?
MrBlackie33
post Dec 17 2019, 10:35 AM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

QUOTE(asakura_hao @ Dec 17 2019, 10:03 AM)
About opening CIMB FastSaver account, after transfer the initial deposit SGD1000, how long it take for your guys to receive the 6 digit First Time Login code?
2 days for me as they requested missing documents from me, in normal circumstance i believe its 1 day
!@#$%^
post Dec 17 2019, 06:10 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

can i confirm what is the swift code for maybank and cimb singapore respectively?
asakura_hao P
post Dec 17 2019, 07:43 PM

Probation
27 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Dec 17 2019, 06:10 PM)
can i confirm what is the swift code for maybank and cimb singapore respectively?
Just email to their customer service, they will respond very fast. I send email to CIMB SG, evening they already answer me as below. Not like here customer service took few days to weeks to respond.

Please find append below the information required for receiving telegraphic transfers:

1. Name of Bank: CIMB Bank Berhad Singapore
2. Bank Code: 7986
3. Branch Code: 001
4. SWIFT Code: CIBBSGSG
5. Your full account name
6. CIMB Bank Account Number
7. CIMB Bank Address: 50 Raffles Place Singapore Land Tower #09-01 Singapore 048623

Should you require further assistance on this matter, please feel free to call CIMB At-Your-Service (+65) 6333 7777 (open Mondays to Sundays between 9am and 9pm), Or send us an email at ATYOURSERVICE@cimb.com.

Will can try ask Maybank SG
!@#$%^
post Dec 17 2019, 07:51 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(asakura_hao @ Dec 17 2019, 07:43 PM)
Just email to their customer service, they will respond very fast. I send email to CIMB SG, evening they already answer me as below. Not like here customer service took few days to weeks to respond.
Please find append below the information required for receiving telegraphic transfers:

1.  Name of Bank: CIMB Bank Berhad Singapore
2.  Bank Code: 7986
3.  Branch Code: 001
4.  SWIFT Code: CIBBSGSG
5.  Your full account name
6.  CIMB Bank Account Number
7.  CIMB Bank Address: 50 Raffles Place Singapore Land Tower #09-01 Singapore 048623

Should you require further assistance on this matter, please feel free to call CIMB At-Your-Service (+65) 6333 7777 (open Mondays to Sundays between 9am and 9pm), Or send us an email at ATYOURSERVICE@cimb.com.

Will can try ask Maybank SG
thx. found this for maybank

https://info.maybank2u.com.sg/about-us/loca...orporation.aspx

should be under global right?
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 18 2019, 07:16 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 27 2019, 11:14 AM)
Bro,... a quicker way would be to open a CIMB Msia acct and link this acct to fast saver CIMB SG.

You can convert back immediately AND ACCESS YOUR FUNDS IMMEDIATELY BY GOING TO A CIMB MSIA ATM.

Rates are good too,... NO need to develop headache over porting over to Instarem first.
Can I open CIMB Fast Saver if I am not PR/Working there? Can it be done online too? or Need to visit the branch? Thanks
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2019, 07:39 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 18 2019, 07:16 AM)
Can I open CIMB Fast Saver if I am not PR/Working there? Can it be done online too? or Need to visit the branch? Thanks
Have you read this thread?
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 18 2019, 07:59 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 18 2019, 07:39 AM)
Have you read this thread?
No, that's why I ask for spoon feed. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
coolguy99
post Dec 18 2019, 09:09 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 18 2019, 07:59 AM)
No, that's why I ask for spoon feed.  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Nice at least you are direct. You can search using the cimb key word and you can find most of the answers there.
Hansel
post Dec 18 2019, 06:13 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 18 2019, 07:16 AM)
No, that's why I ask for spoon feed.  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Dec 18 2019, 09:09 AM)
Nice at least you are direct. You can search using the cimb key word and you can find most of the answers there.

Yes bro,... you can. Just follow the steps in the CIMB SG website. If you have a CIMB Msia account, you can use this acct to transfer in the SGD1000 to activate your acct...

After you bank-in the SGD1k, you need to wait one day for the acct to be activated.

Sometimes, CIMB SG may ask you to send them again some identification documents because they may have 'lost ' the earlier documents you emailed to them. Just follow their requests.

No issue, bro,...
jack2
post Dec 18 2019, 07:03 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

i like the direct way you answered this. Thumb up biggrin.gif
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 18 2019, 10:17 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 18 2019, 06:13 PM)

Yes bro,... you can. Just follow the steps in the CIMB SG website. If you have a CIMB Msia account, you can use this acct to transfer in the SGD1000 to activate your acct...

After you bank-in the SGD1k, you need to wait one day for the acct to be activated.

Sometimes, CIMB SG may ask you to send them again some identification documents because they may have 'lost ' the earlier documents you emailed to them. Just follow their requests.

No issue, bro,...
Thanks alot bro. Appreciate your feedback. Will give a try later.
asakura_hao P
post Dec 19 2019, 12:35 PM

Probation
27 posts

How long for Transferwise transfer money from SG to MYR?

First time use Transferwise, send money at Tuesday 17th 4PM until today 19th still haven't receive it.
Hansel
post Dec 19 2019, 01:26 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 18 2019, 10:17 PM)
Thanks alot bro. Appreciate your feedback. Will give a try later.
Bro,... thumbsup.gif
aspartame
post Dec 19 2019, 01:31 PM

3,165 posts

By the way, guys, do you all fill up the forms emailed by Singapore banks and then scan and email them back for tax purposes? Macam tedious
Hansel
post Dec 19 2019, 01:40 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Dec 19 2019, 01:31 PM)
By the way, guys, do you all fill up the forms emailed by Singapore banks and then scan and email them back for tax purposes? Macam tedious
Hi bro,...

For myself, I will just fill-up one standard W8-BEN Form, scan it into my notebook, and store it nicely among my Documents. Whichever FI that asks for this, I will just email them if I am allowed it. But if they wanted originally signed copies, I will print out and send to them.

Since I am Tax Resident of Malaysia and this WILL NOT change, my form will not be dynamic, so,... no issue.

For multi-country residents, they have to be more careful in case the tax authorities of their second or third countries started querying and asking for Tax Residency Statuses.

This is especially so for those who have properties in second and third countries.
asakura_hao P
post Dec 19 2019, 03:09 PM

Probation
27 posts

QUOTE(asakura_hao @ Dec 19 2019, 12:35 PM)
How long for Transferwise transfer money from SG to MYR?

First time use Transferwise, send money at Tuesday 17th 4PM until today 19th still haven't receive it.
I just found out direct transfer from CIMB SG to CIMB MY is much cheaper than using Transferwise and is on the spot while I still waiting the transferwise for 3 days still havn't see my money bank in.

After linking FastSaver acc to my MY account get approved, Malaysian CIMB transfer rate is like this

SGD 330.70 >> MYR1009.30 (Rate 3.052 + Free of charge + On the spot)

While Transferwise is

SGD330.70 >> MYR999.97 (Rate 3.05549 + SGD3.43 Fees)

Direct transfer between CIMB much cheaper, RM10 gone! cry.gif cry.gif

315 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:04 AM