Unifi WARNING TO ALL UNIFI USERS, Threat warning, read inside

ciohbu
post May 29 2010, 03:39 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ May 29 2010, 03:39 PM)
I think this should be reported to MCMC and MYCERT.
MCMC ? its like reporting BN's MP corruption case to MACC ...lollzz

i think the only way we can do now is to disable the account and remote management.. use firewall to block related traffics.. and also spread this in ur blog or fb if u have..

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 29 2010, 03:41 PM
takkicom
post May 29 2010, 03:47 PM

422 posts

=.= all your pornos kena stole by tm ahahaha
zenquix
post May 29 2010, 03:49 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

toying with idea of turning off tr-069. not keen on its implications at all.
harriss
post May 29 2010, 03:54 PM

382 posts

UNIPHAIL TRULY SCREW this time
mylinear
post May 29 2010, 03:59 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 29 2010, 03:39 PM)
MCMC ? its like reporting BN's MP corruption case to MACC ...lollzz

Didn't say they will take action. But there must be a documented report made in case for future reference.

And MYCERT is supposed to:

Mission
To address the computer security concerns of Malaysian Internet users.
Mokuton
post May 29 2010, 04:02 PM

51 posts

use your own modem/router in the future?
VengenZ
post May 29 2010, 04:24 PM

La la la~
608 posts

I think their monitoring the usage for the cap limit?
YoungMan
post May 29 2010, 04:57 PM

6,793 posts

well... since it's possible, don't use their router. Buy one that is better and use it.
sg999
post May 29 2010, 05:01 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 29 2010, 04:12 PM)
simple answer ? ur network is open to TM..  thumbup.gif and they know if u are downloading po*n
WTF
no PRIVACY liao mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
ciohbu
post May 29 2010, 05:13 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ May 29 2010, 04:57 PM)
well... since it's possible, don't use their router. Buy one that is better and use it.
why always we consumer have to pay the price ? sweat.gif
night_wolf_in
post May 29 2010, 05:18 PM

512 posts

im not sure if i should laugh or cry.

If you think they want to spy on YOU by creating a second management account. Then it is big fail for all you guys, pretending to know how internet works.

Your Modem/router will be connected a layer two switch. or lets say connected to a port. they can use "SPAN" to see all the traffic you are sending and receiving.

But again, doing that to every indivicual will be really tiring. Easier is, run "SPAN" to the uplink, that is connecting the layer two switch to the distribution switch. and bam, they can get all i/o traffic from the whole switch.

WAIT.

They can add high end firewalls at the uplinks to every area (logical or geographical) or just again SPAN the traffic to the firewalls. AND they practically SEE every traffic you sending.

Conclusion is. dont cry a river for a second account your ISP put it. if they did, it is to make your experience better. but if you think you can out smart them. please do.

How i know. I'm a CCNP and working under routing/ switching and security for some enterprise.

Added on May 29, 2010, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(VengenZ @ May 29 2010, 04:24 PM)
I think their monitoring the usage for the cap limit?
No, they use packet shaping devices for that.

This post has been edited by night_wolf_in: May 29 2010, 05:19 PM
ciohbu
post May 29 2010, 06:02 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ May 29 2010, 05:18 PM)
im not sure if i should laugh or cry.

If you think they want to spy on YOU by creating a second management account. Then it is big fail for all you guys, pretending to know how internet works.

Your Modem/router will be connected a layer two switch. or lets say connected to a port. they can use "SPAN" to see all the traffic you are sending and receiving. 

But again, doing that to every indivicual will be really tiring. Easier is, run "SPAN" to the uplink, that is connecting the layer two switch to the distribution switch. and bam, they can get all i/o traffic from the whole switch.

WAIT.

They can add high end firewalls at the uplinks to every area (logical or geographical) or just again SPAN the traffic to the firewalls.  AND they practically SEE every traffic you sending.

Conclusion is. dont cry a river for a second account your ISP put it. if they did, it is to make your experience better. but if you think you can out smart them. please do.

How i know. I'm a CCNP and working under routing/ switching and security for some enterprise.

Added on May 29, 2010, 5:19 pm

No, they use packet shaping devices for that.
well..since u claim that u are CCNP (which is one level on top of CCNA) and working under security huh ? u should know that any unknown account in user's router give security thread to the user ? no matter the account is for good or for bad ... thats the simple and basic theory, imagine ur customer found out that u have a secret account in their main router ? whistling.gif whistling.gif

and more serious is the remote management enabled...

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 29 2010, 06:06 PM
night_wolf_in
post May 29 2010, 06:07 PM

512 posts

ya. it is management. there is no security issues to worry about. the moment you connected to the internet with your own router/modem with only your account, you are screwed by anyone who wants to screw you.

It is remote mangment of the ROUTER/MODEM. so if someone who is very smart, go play with the settings, then internet doesn't work. they dont have to send a guy to fix it. and dont tell me there are no people who screw their own modem then swear at tmnuts.

this great discovery is not worth the rant. If you think you know better than ISP bout network and security. then do what you want to do. Otherwise, i suggest keeping things the way they are.
ciohbu
post May 29 2010, 06:13 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ May 29 2010, 06:07 PM)
ya. it is management. there is no security issues to worry about. the moment you connected to the internet with your own router/modem with only your account, you are screwed by anyone who wants to screw you.

It is remote mangment of the ROUTER/MODEM. so if someone who is very smart, go play with the settings, then internet doesn't work. they dont have to send a guy to fix it. and dont tell me there are no people who screw their own modem then swear at tmnuts.

this great discovery is not worth the rant. If you think you know better than ISP bout network and security. then do what you want to do. Otherwise, i suggest keeping things the way they are.
i think the main topic here is the security thread by having remote management enabled and having a 2ndary admin account which is invisible to the user..

its the same as windows..

now since everyone knows it, they can choose whether to disable it or not.. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 29 2010, 06:18 PM
Neptern
post May 29 2010, 06:20 PM

518 posts

Yea i don't quite like the idea of a secret account which is akin to a secret backdoor in my router...

Even if you say remote management saves the time tm needs to fix the internet,i still don't feel too good about it.
tch9
post May 29 2010, 06:24 PM

17 posts

How you guys found out the login name and password for global admin?
SUSCliffrison
post May 29 2010, 06:24 PM

It's so fluffy I'm gonna die!
819 posts

pro la ts
76radius
post May 29 2010, 06:26 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(tch9 @ May 29 2010, 07:24 PM)
How you guys found out the login name and password for global admin?
One Sifu found it. The same person who helped to fix my router to connect to Unifi.

Salute to Rizvanrp!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
KAHAK
post May 29 2010, 07:25 PM

181 posts

wow it this true mean TM net can remote control your bandwith speed?? because you guy use TM router?
fastreader
post May 29 2010, 07:47 PM

4,554 posts

guess its kinda risky...blame rais for this...information freedom eh..

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:31 AM