326 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Damansara |
Dec 19 2010, 03:39 PM
2,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, MYS |
QUOTE(jAkUn @ Dec 19 2010, 03:32 PM) But need at least 2 to work and may not be economical if more devices are present. Furthermore it takes up a power point unless the passthrough version is purchased and that gonna cost more. |
Dec 19 2010, 11:55 PM
27 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
haha
thx bro , almost forgot bout that thing but is there an issue for 3-phase home ? This post has been edited by hariznasir: Dec 19 2010, 11:58 PM |
Dec 20 2010, 04:13 AM
1,480 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: puchong, selangor |
Dec 25 2010, 04:09 AM
225 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
I saw all of you discussed only about DIR-615, and disable its TR-069 and remote management. Bear in mind, for enhanced security, you need to do something on the primary too, that is the modem (FTTH or VDSL2). If you check on the setting of the modem, TR-069 is enabled. |
Dec 27 2010, 04:13 PM
16 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
bro~ if i use custom modem like belkin, and don switch off the TR-069, will i still have security problems?
Jan 20 2011, 12:21 PM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Thank you so much for this post. Really saved me!
Jan 20 2011, 12:31 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
QUOTE(ckl1998 @ Dec 25 2010, 04:09 AM) Bear in mind, for enhanced security, you need to do something on the primary too, that is the modem (FTTH or VDSL2). actually for my opinion it doesn't matter as those devices are "bridging" devices.. the only ppl who can access them directly is TM...If you check on the setting of the modem, TR-069 is enabled. while for the modem/pppoe dialer.. its the whole internet.. |
Jan 30 2011, 12:19 AM
55 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Guys, my firmware is 7.09. Must I downgrade it to 7.05?
Jan 30 2011, 01:44 AM
182 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
hi rizvanrp,
i will be getting the unifi 5mb package this monday and i wan planning to put everything on the first floor while doing a bridging on the top box on the living room. my question is, can i do a bridging between the default tm router with my tplink W8960N wireless modem router which i am currrently using for my streamyx? or i just get a wireless repeater (WL556E) from aztech to save the hassle? i'm worried that if i intall up there, iptv wont work. if i install it downstairs, the wifi wont work on my pc in my room. and of course, the drilling |
Feb 6 2011, 02:16 PM
842 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
to all the unifi users here,pls advise me is it worth to get the package for my office use?
my office is located at kepong area,shoplot 2nd floor.. cheers |
Feb 12 2011, 04:09 PM
425 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
just my super uber security question. how on earth can you access the router if you dont even know the password that has setup BEFORE logging into the router ?
an outsider can nvr log in unless they know the wpa password. |
Feb 14 2011, 10:48 AM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(dtdw @ Feb 12 2011, 04:09 PM) just my super uber security question. how on earth can you access the router if you dont even know the password that has setup BEFORE logging into the router ? ....someone from outside....via your public/dynamic/wan ip..not from inside..=)an outsider can nvr log in unless they know the wpa password. |
Feb 16 2011, 10:26 AM
425 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
err .. question not answered. just so you know i AM referring to outsider, not insider.
its obvious that insider can mess your network easily. but i have tried even with my own network from an outsider perspective. it is impossible to get pass the first level of security which is the username@unifi > insert password. the password, is set to wpa2 using 8 digit password by the technician. so this whole point of hoo hah with tmnet setting unifi as security flaw, is pointless. if you say its to prevent tmnet from messing with your network, then yes, it makes sense. but adding the last part where you state that normal outsider people can tap into your network is bull. dont even need to say unifi lah. just about any other network can be tapped right so why only unifi made such a hype ? |
Feb 16 2011, 10:56 AM
3,345 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(dtdw @ Feb 16 2011, 10:26 AM) err .. question not answered. just so you know i AM referring to outsider, not insider. the flaw is not going into the wireless network. But using the remote function of the d-link router accessing from internet. Once you have unifi user IP, you can easliy remote their router. Username and password are generic to access the router management.its obvious that insider can mess your network easily. but i have tried even with my own network from an outsider perspective. it is impossible to get pass the first level of security which is the username@unifi > insert password. the password, is set to wpa2 using 8 digit password by the technician. so this whole point of hoo hah with tmnet setting unifi as security flaw, is pointless. if you say its to prevent tmnet from messing with your network, then yes, it makes sense. but adding the last part where you state that normal outsider people can tap into your network is bull. dont even need to say unifi lah. just about any other network can be tapped right so why only unifi made such a hype ? |
Feb 16 2011, 11:01 AM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
OMG......
just my 2 cents worth.. 1. Your router/modem is connected to the internet. rite???? 2. So when it is connected..your router must have a public IP ...and this is not your private/internal IP...this IP can be viewed by anyone..even by web administrator of any site, anywhere, anytime unless you managed to spoof your ip everytime your're online. 3. so now...if you dont disable the remote management thingie in your modem and change the default operator or admin password to a better one...ANYONE CAN JUST INPUT YOUR WAN/PUBLIC IP IN THEIR BROWSER AND ACCESS YOUR BELOVED WHITE/ORANGE MODEM AND MESS WITH IT. sorry for the caps... 4. the password with the "@unifi" is your unifi account password.That login/password is definitely safe. The password I AM REFERING is your router password... 5. well nonetheless, the risk of your unifi being messed up is kinda small....prevention is better than cure..=) |
| Change to: | 0.0262sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:01 AM |