well, im not selling that, i have M11x r2 prototype only
Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...
Jul 1 2010, 09:44 PM
1,496 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
well, im not selling that, i have M11x r2 prototype only
Jul 2 2010, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(emino @ Jul 1 2010, 10:14 PM) Too lazy and dint bother with numbers. But as I said, the performance is better in Sims 3 and Oblivion, which before I only had to use mid-settings, especially anti aliasing and it performance is only adequate. But now full ALL settings and its pretty smooth. maybe u didnt really notice, just ur sense tell u is smoother, but fact is nothing big differentThen again, I barely play other games. Portable Sims 3, Oblivion and DS games all year round! If at my house, already have an x-box. |
Jul 2 2010, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(emino @ Jul 2 2010, 06:10 AM) LOL. Its not just my sense trust me. I've been playing those 2 games for a VERY long time to notice stuffs like that. Plus, I still have both games installed on my older M11X (Dell havent take that back yet, they ask me to backup first) and tried both games again and the new one provides better gaming experience. well, as u mention situation above, those are GPU dependent, nothing do with the proccessor...Especially when scrolling Sims 3 open hood, or when playing Oblivion in Open World. Last time my Sims 3 was only mid anti aliasing setting, and its only okay. Now full anti aliasing and its smoother than before. Same goes to my Oblivion. Last time just 2x anti aliasing and most shadow options turned off, its smooth indoors, but pretty laggy on open world. Now 8x anti aliasing and it works great. I think it depends on the games/software you used as well. |
Jul 3 2010, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(emino @ Jul 2 2010, 04:27 PM) Yes. But when you go into open world/hood, the game will try to load tonnes of things and simulate them at once. those will definitely use CPU power. And those will use the same graphical settings, thus amplifying the resource usage. well, dont wan argue with u d Unlike most games that goes from level to level, stages to stages, open world in games have tonnes of AI running simultaneously. And the map are loaded constantly and continuously to simulate the illusion of seamlessness. Other games only loads parts of the scenario/map/stage and will only load the rest when the current stage is finished. And if processor has nothing to do with it, it still doesnt explain why the game is a lot smoother than before, when it was on the old M11X. BTW, I just tested Dragon Age Origins on high setting. Works really well. Last time I uninstall it and only play on PC due to the horrible lag even on mid settings. change proccessor wont improve above 10FPS, the most is 5 only..... maybe ur M11x different from other This post has been edited by putochip123: Jul 3 2010, 01:54 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 10:27 AM
Jul 3 2010, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jul 3 2010, 10:34 AM) This is a benchmark done.. http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...tml#post6420018 even though For Core i7 920XM, turbo boost of is much better in gaming.....However don't know if in game would be the same. Unless the game supports HTT i guess? Turbo boost is nothing to do 1..... FISH Intel |
Jul 3 2010, 11:37 PM
Jul 5 2010, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Jul 5 2010, 12:01 PM) i got little problem too, last night i was testing some bluray movies. it got little jam once in a while .. I assume the bluray drive is lousy one Not blueray drive is lousy, the banwith of the sata(optical drive) on laptop is 1.5Gb/s only..... blueray file is vry big, so will have throttle while playing blueray. Unless u have ssdif u regret. Is still able to return ur laptop within 14days, since I saw u not statisfied with ur super alienware This post has been edited by putochip123: Jul 5 2010, 01:09 PM |
Jul 8 2010, 10:39 AM
Jul 8 2010, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(lksing78 @ Jul 8 2010, 02:20 PM) Have u see ...and M11x before ,the real thing trade in for? what model u wan?if not, do look for them in local store 1st before u buy. the size is not actually 11.6"(only the screen its self) The bezel is very thick and made the laptop almost as same size as other 14 inch in the market And do some research on the net for this product ,you don have to go very far.By start reading LYN Alienware thread ,starting from the launch of M11x ....the glory,the good ,the bad and the worst of it. Verdict Make me want Asus NV82jv more putochip can trade in kah Added on July 8, 2010, 5:00 pm QUOTE(emino @ Jul 8 2010, 04:15 PM) well, i can say is, in terms of thickness and weight, it is 14" laptop.... it is even heavier than inspiron 14/15This post has been edited by putochip123: Jul 8 2010, 05:00 PM |
Jul 9 2010, 01:40 PM
Jul 10 2010, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(nicks @ Jul 10 2010, 12:16 AM) was considering M11X... for autocad might not suitable lor....is ix"UM" is good? i mean for light gaming such as NFS, the rest doing excel, autocad, office, surfing etc? Looking review of UM on the net but still not convince how good it is since u have that budget, y dont u get a M15x? a Core i7 640UM M11x, is nearly 5k already .... |
Jul 10 2010, 10:51 PM
y u guys Alienware so many problem de?
Jul 11 2010, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Jul 10 2010, 11:19 PM) ask Dell lor... deep fried crispy motherboard, lousy BT problem, insanely underpowered when on battery~ well, BT i think should be the driver problem, uninstall, and reinstall again, should be solve the problem......Of course underpower on battery, even Sager also same problem la...... Bro, u are using dedicated card(Sloted in), not those intergrated which stick on board 1 like 4670, 5650, GT335 and ETC.... use GC need extra power to perform better, while u are on battery mode, of course goona low down the power consumption to increase the baettry life ma...... Dont Everything Blame on It,Think 1st, Nothing Is Perfect.... If u on battery mode with full GC performnce, ur 9 cell battery will die on 30minutes, then later u say Alienware 9cell battery sucks, can even stand for 1 hours... Added on July 11, 2010, 11:31 am QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jul 11 2010, 01:44 AM) +1, currently im using that, is owsome, im using Roccat mouse pad, headset and USB hub(Appuri)Added on July 11, 2010, 11:33 am QUOTE(budblely @ Jul 10 2010, 07:56 PM) when are u free? pick it up for me, i fix for uThis post has been edited by putochip123: Jul 11 2010, 11:33 AM |
Jul 11 2010, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Jul 11 2010, 11:34 AM) BT problem still there... uninstall, reinstall... that time my technician oso say this problem very 'mafun' one~ and yes... the GPU is dedicated~ For bluetooth im not really sure, this 1 have to dell answer u already |
Jul 11 2010, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(nicks @ Jul 11 2010, 04:48 PM) when i read all the reviews, i can conclude for first batch, everthing is good, then come out the next batch, got weird problem. haywire thinggy, lol. Well, i can say is, if u like the lighting of Alienware only, not looking for performance, then M11x is ur choice...Asus N82jv (not sure the modem though) seems good also, but M11X with AW FX really attact me. any new M11x-R2 (is R2 is the latest?) user here? looking for definite opinion or a little review for this baby. But if u are looking for performance, M11x is not ur choice, N82JV is ur best choice. For me, the AlienFX is nothing, cause look at it for a time, feel boring d, nothing special also. |
Jul 11 2010, 09:10 PM
Jul 12 2010, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 12 2010, 10:04 AM) it depends...i look at n82JV the notebook selling in malaysia has less battery cell compare to m11x.. dont just see the outlook, N82JV which run cooler than M11x......Well, Asus N82JV have less cell than M11x, bare in mind, M11x battery is stick inside the laptop which u cant take it out. whenh u gaming,or doing something, the laptop went hots and ur battery die faster than N82JV. For battery performance, is vry easy to solve, get extra battery, or purchase higher cell battery from Asus will do. which will cost lower than M11x(Core i7 640UM) and perform better than M11x |
Jul 13 2010, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 13 2010, 01:40 PM) i dint know much about the temp in asus but based on the review this is what they say:- temperature above 60 would harming ur battery as well....http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Asus-N...ok.29437.0.html "The GeForce GT 335M's temperature increases to an acceptable 78°C under load. The Core i7-620M gets a bit warmer with up to 85°C, which certainly isn't an optimal, but nevertheless still completely harmless rate." My m11x with the battery in while gaming has never reach that high temp before.. fps on games benchmark on asus also not convincing..i expect the performance to blow m11x away but it isn;t Well, Asus N82JV doesnt blow M11x, cause most of the gaming are not CPU depend. in certain game like red alert might not so good using ULV proccessor to game on it. what i wan to say is, interms of value + performance, M11x RM4699 with Core i7 640UM, While Asus N82 Rm3999 with Core i5 520M. Asus after service are nice too, what problem they will call back on the same day, and fix for u the other day, and 3rd or 4th day can pick up d. nothing like dell, have to dignose and everything(waste my credit), then only come on next day..... This post has been edited by putochip123: Jul 13 2010, 02:47 PM |
Jul 13 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(emino @ Jul 13 2010, 02:53 PM) My experience with 3 asus netbook: you will not exactly need their after sales service that much since their quality control is a lot better than dell. 3 years with asus, 3 netbooks, only one needs to be send for repairs, and that was due to negligence on my part, ya, u are rightGuys share with u guys something Attached thumbnail(s) |
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:01 AM |