6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...

julchin_09
post Aug 7 2010, 06:54 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 6 2010, 09:11 PM)
hey bro. it seems quite a while you been MIA. too busy with studying? opposite from you, i am currently enjoying my annual holiday and doing sorta part time job - selling discounted Alienware.

sadly to say, there is no news at all about GTX480M. i kinda sad, but its better for Nvidia to take their time solving the massive heat emitted from that beast. its actually a smart move for me, not too rush flooding high-end gaming laptop's market with GPU that also can be use as heater during winter season. but there is a rumor about GTX460M to be equipped into Asus G53 or somethin. my guess is we probably will have an upgrade for M15x in Q1 2011.

there is a rumor about ATi is developing ATi HD5970 Mobility - where its basically ATi HD5870 but with 256 bit bus memory. sound pretty awesome actually. maybe they will release that once Nvidia start to manufacturing their mighty GTX480M.

and for the CPU, yep. say goodbye to i7-720QM and its brother, where they are already been replaced to i7-740QM etc for FOC. yes, free of charge. there is no increment of price for that. but i wonder why this option is only available for M15x, not M17x too... hmm.gif

anyway, its good to see you here back.

hows your beast? happy after betraying Nvidia? laugh.gif
Hey Doc. I've been vacationing for 2months with another left. So I'm back in my hometown after the WC ended. I've known about the new CPUs for a while now, and I was even thinking of the possibility of upgrading my CPU from the 820QM to a 920/940Xm. The encouragement is credited to the folks at Notebookreview forums who guided me with my ATI GPU Swap. They are hardcore modders I tell ya. So far their systems are M17x with dual 5870s CF 8Gb rams and i7 940XM Purchased externally and fitted DIY. If ATI Doed come up with a 5970 in MXM3 size, I'd gladly repeat the process and replace my 5870 which I could put up for sale. But like you said, we'll have to wait for the news.....
As for betraying NVidia. The GTX 260M is kept well, and thought mine is running on the more powerfull DX11 5870, I've always been a fan of NVidia. I can't help feel that Physx Effects on my 5870 is not as good as it would be on the 260M even though overall graphics is better with DX 11options for tesselations or advanced DOF. Most games is playable on ULTRA settings and 8X or 16x AA which is good for a 15.6 model. I'll come online more often to check for updates and Am pleased to see the usual guys are still active here. Once I get the M11x's for my friends, I'm bound to need you guy's advice on it....
Doc, stick to the M17x till the new one comes out. I suspect 3D Capable screens by then and the top of the line NVidia Fermi's......

QUOTE(taufiqtahir @ Aug 7 2010, 02:51 AM)
my m15x using 820qm..no foc upgrade meh??
hahahha!!

Added on August 7, 2010, 2:52 ambtw guys, is it okay for me to be leaving in the battery in the laptop while plugging in eventho its already full??
will it eventually effect my battery?
Long live the 820QM.... smile.gif Still ok lar. Its on a 8MB Cache and still 1.73-3.06Ghz

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 7 2010, 05:04 PM)
hey guys

im planning to get a m15x around this year end

are there any better deals out there other than dell website?my desired spec is i7 740QM,5850 1gb,500gb hdd,4gb ram + 3 yrs service & complete cover
Its good specs but if you wish to take it further you can get a 5870 from US and replace the 5850 with that one.... But if you're not the type of gamer who wants to run on the highest settings, the 5850 itself is a very powerfull card.
julchin_09
post Aug 8 2010, 07:11 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 8 2010, 09:30 AM)
a friend of mine who have almost the same specs as you (i7-720QM + ATi HD 5870 CrossFire + 8GB RAM + 1TB HDD) just fell his laptop from chair. he put the laptop inside his bag and the bag fell, causing the space between LCD and front cover of laptop peel off. the sadest thing is, he brought 3 years CompleteCover but this damage is under Wear & Tear, where is does not covered by Dell doh.gif
If he argued that it was caused by a fall he might have a chance in getting it changed....

p:s For those looking for how to change M15x GPU, Looks for my step by step instructions on page 1 of this thread...
julchin_09
post Aug 8 2010, 08:59 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Aug 8 2010, 07:59 PM)
i check your step however where can we buy the card?? how much??
The card is selling on ebay which is the easiet to transact and is pretty straight forward. Normally its around USD$350 to 400 on average last I checked in July....

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 8 2010, 08:02 PM)
holy shi-

i feel goosebumps after see the details! shocking.gif
Your thoughts on this i5 proc Doc. Better than the i7 I'm guessing.....is the new 940XM still octa-cores? I read somewhere about a Hexa-core.... Seems that its better than a Octa-core....

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 8 2010, 08:04 PM)
thats what i said to him. well at least we try, better than do nothing about it, eventho the probability is really low to be replaced sad.gif
The thing is that my 12" notebook had 1 dead pixel. I managed to argue with the Dell Services that it still warrants a change.... But the way you seek to push your point thru and means you try is pretty subjective. You can try to talk to higher management. Maybe thats why I'm in the field Law.....
julchin_09
post Aug 9 2010, 01:03 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Aug 8 2010, 09:05 PM)
Respect you tongue.gif 1 dead pixel oso can push for it !~  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah...I didn't know the industrial rules then. It was 3 or 5 pixels at least. So I just went thru, didn't get it, then talked to higher management and they allowed it. My unit was about 3 months old then...

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 8 2010, 09:09 PM)
i manage to change 3 time still got dead pixel.
1st. connecto loose
2nd bright pixel
3rd dead pixel
4th still dead pixel
5th no i give up
I think we all, even me had to go thru a lot of changes in hardware upon receiving our units. Just check Page 1 compiled by Mr.Docter. I had 2 motherboard changes and 2 GPU changes before everything is fine. Not to be left out, 1 GPU Fan change and 2 Copper Heatsink changes....

QUOTE(amunriel @ Aug 9 2010, 12:22 AM)
Dont worry, you are not alone, my FX hardware failed , GC failed which caused shut down problems, motherboard failure causing start up problem, keyboard distorted, called Dell to check, they came with 1 GC, 1 Keyboard and 1 Motherboard.

End up, the technician himself told me that the refurbished motherboard was faulty, and the replacement keyboard has missing keys right out of the replacement box, GC replacement did not have thermal paste and during the replacement process, my FX system was screwed ( only found out after the technician left ), they promised they will return with other new batch of refurbished units and I never get a call anymore since then.

I surrender, big disappointment on their QC for AW  notworthy.gif  rclxub.gif
I think you need to follow up with the calls to get them to respond to your complaint. sweat.gif I have also encountered refurbished unit D.O.A when I opened the box.... I told them straight away by looking at the parts that they were refurbished...... They tried to cover up but in the end put into my system and it failed so they embarassed dy....
julchin_09
post Aug 9 2010, 04:07 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 9 2010, 11:11 AM)
its not about type of processor that i shocked about. its about level of capability to be overclocked. if you see again the link that Lee provided, i5 is overclockable till 3.9Ghz thumbup.gif

i doubt if i7-940XM have any major different from its lil' brother, i7-920XM. the number of cores are still the same, just a bit increment of clock clock where you don't even notice during the real life. it just will appear as increment of your benchmark result only. but for hardcore overclocker, thats sound good enough for them. what a expensive hobby.... sweat.gif

and of course the higher the number of cores, the better it will be - generally. but when we talk about engine or software's optimization, this is the part where the weaknesses will appear. not to blame highly-growth processor R&D, but the adaptation of the game's engine or software engine is slower than development of processor itself. unless you not planning to keep your specs for the next 10 years, i think i7 (or even my Quad) is more then enough to pawn games out there blush.gif
Yeah. But is it just for that particular chip or do the others have that capabilities as well? Just wondering about manually OC'ing the CPU.... anyhone here does that?
julchin_09
post Aug 11 2010, 12:43 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(xfuture @ Aug 10 2010, 11:20 AM)
do M15x supports SLI ?

I'm planning to get a M15x with GTX260M.
M17x is too large for me though, I need to travel always.
If you ask me, the size difference is not too great for the M17x to be way less portable than the M15x. If you can handle the M15x the M17x shouldn't be a problem for you.....With the right bag smile.gif For me, I am using a Full leather FOSSIL sling bag. That itself is a kilo plus. I keep telling myself my M15x weighs like a M17x...
julchin_09
post Aug 12 2010, 01:39 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 11 2010, 11:39 PM)
Please to all user who is on ATI, mind telling me what driver you are currently using?
Catalyst 10.5...

Added on August 12, 2010, 1:54 am
QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 11 2010, 05:50 PM)
So who played StarCraft 2 with their alienware here?
I'm not too impressed with the performance on Ultra lol.

Btw how to check the ATi driver version?

PS:Weird sc2 doesnt recognize 5850  sweat.gif
My ATI 5870 was not recognised as well. I think it occurs for thr ATI 5800M series... gtx 260m should be able to handle SC2 on ULTRA.... smile.gif

QUOTE(JustinLFJ @ Aug 11 2010, 08:47 PM)
They updating  brows.gif  The minimum of my expectation in M15x is the GTX285M, Sager already has that. (Anti ATI user)
Yeah. I hope they give a proper upgrade. Suddenly GTX 460M.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Aug 12 2010, 01:54 AM
julchin_09
post Aug 12 2010, 03:08 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

@awyongcarl :

im not too impressed with the gtx 480m benchmark if we were to refer here. Check this list from time to time if u havent already.... hope this helps...you can make comparisons between the 5850 and the gtx 260m...

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Aug 12 2010, 03:10 AM
julchin_09
post Aug 12 2010, 02:45 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 12 2010, 12:22 PM)
good guess there. since GTX285M is compatible with i7's mobo, so yes, there are probability for that too. but maybe Nvidia will rebrand that into something newer because GTX200M Series is already quite outdated to be included into the new refresh.
please don't or i will cry cry.gif
QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 12 2010, 12:33 PM)
doc nothing to cry about..sooner or later ours will be outdated..nothing in PC is forever..(mouse maybe )
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 12 2010, 12:35 PM)
yeah. sadly, that really one unarguable fact. sweat.gif
However, Doc's dual NVdia GTX 280M will still be faster than those single cards we see. Might even be on par if not faster than the GTX 480M. So it pays off to fork out a bit more on your unit cos its future proof for much longer. If DX 11 gaming is not your choice, you SLI/CF can still go a long way in playing up to date games.... smile.gif. Of only ALIENWARE offered a more flexible upgrade system. IINM they used to when they were solely made in Florida..... hmm.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 12 2010, 03:07 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 12 2010, 02:54 PM)
Anyone know if the 6 cell batt is same as others laptop's? or it's a specific model? I need to buy a 6 cell batt for mobility..with 9 cell installed i cant put the laptop in my bag = ="
I think to be safe its better to order from DELL. I think the shape is specific for the M15x. Are you putting in into a camera bag/backpack or something together with your camera gears? Just wondering cos I got a Lowepro Fastpack 300 which is supposed to fit a 17" with cam gear but even with my M15x without the 9cell or even a battery at all could not fit. doh.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 12 2010, 03:26 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 12 2010, 03:11 PM)
I searched in Dell Msia, nothing lol but however it's available in Dell US...so what to do = ="
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/product...2-0210#Overview

Yeah I bought a Crumpler Customary Barge for travel usage, it has a camera compartment, 17" laptop compartment and misc lar.
I can only manage to fit the m15x WITHOUT the batt cell in, and even so its very very tight = =" Jesus christ lol.

PS: The bag is freakin huge too >.>
Dude. Can that fit all your gears'? Anyways... I love your kit. But mine is a cheaper version of yours. Hope to upgrade my 70-200 + body soon. OFFTOPIC!... I thought you might need something like a KARACHI OUTPOST or a BRAZZILION Dollar Home. I think those from Crumpler could fit. I have a 7 Mill which is now kept for storage.

As for the Battery Cell, sometimes you need to call SALES about this. They might be able to help since US Site has it. It would suprise me if they didn't have this available for customers.... sweat.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 12 2010, 07:39 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(me076310 @ Aug 12 2010, 06:29 PM)
guys,

i have a problem with my M15X bluray drive. When i first got my lappy the drive worked as advertised smile.gif  BUT since then i rarely played bluray on it ONLY dvds/cds.

yesterday i tried to play Underworld bluray and the drive didn't even detect the damn disc vmad.gif ...Wth is wrong with the drive?...i tried restarting the lappy a couple of times but it didn't work  sad.gif

fyi the bluray disc works just fine on my standalone player and ps3...can someone help me please?
One of our Senior AW Owners here FindingScreemo had issues for the Bluray drive on his M15x as well. But the thing about drives is that we don't always put ori discs inside. I'm not sure about you, but most of the time I put in burnt Discs which May or may not affect the reading/writing laser. But mine is just a DVD-RW. Best is still to call DELL for an exchange.... smile.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 13 2010, 02:30 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 13 2010, 01:55 AM)
U must provide them the CODE either express code or service tag number. It's at the back of the notebook. No need register online, it's automatic, anyway they might ask your details to update their database.

Added on August 13, 2010, 1:56 am

Dude just call DELL, their blu-ray sucks man. 1st Blu-ray canot detect 2nd Blu-ray canot slot in 3rd Now it's FINE.

Added on August 13, 2010, 1:59 am

m11x is like normal 13" notebook out there, compare with a 10" net-book it's way bigger.  m15x i think 2 a4 biggrin.gif, it's bigger than normal 17" notebook out there. m17x is slightly bigger then m15", full size keyboard.

m11x 2kg++
m15x 5kg+
m17x 7kg+-
Correction...

The M15x is 4Kg+ and the M17x is slightly heavier at 5.5kg... smile.gif

I agree that they have been having issues with their BLU RAY Drives shakehead.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 18 2010, 04:28 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Aug 18 2010, 11:01 AM)

M11X made it into True Blood. hehe
flex.gif thumbup.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 19 2010, 01:15 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Aug 19 2010, 07:57 AM)
hi everyone i am a new m15 owner and i am having a slight problem with it
i notice once i use the mouse on the mouse pad i notice it lags i mean the pointer jutters anyone experience this kind of problem?
Yes. The mouse on the touchpad is a bit jerky. Most users experience that too... I use my external Alienware mouse 100% of the time. Maybe even at times disable the touchpad as it gets in the way of my gaming.

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 19 2010, 10:47 AM)
use zalman cooler.. i turn my m11x 24 hours..non stop..
I have yet to purchase one of these legendary Zalman coolers. People swear by them. Its sure gotta work,... NC2000.
julchin_09
post Aug 19 2010, 04:32 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 19 2010, 03:41 PM)
Just wondering if NC2000 can be found in LYP or not..going this weekend lol.
Yup. Its available in quite a few stores the last time I went a month ago. Its up to you to find the best prices icon_idea.gif
julchin_09
post Aug 20 2010, 01:57 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I Think Zalman NC2000 should be able to fit M17x right?
julchin_09
post Aug 26 2010, 01:45 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Just realised Od1n's rig is the highest spec'ed we have here. Haven't seen anyone using the newer 940XM i7 yet before him.
julchin_09
post Aug 26 2010, 02:13 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(0d1N @ Aug 26 2010, 08:17 AM)
940XM is kinda active, even by idle its suddenly shoots ups to 68-70c if there is something working at the background.
The fan goes crazy for a few mins.
Didnt have time to test it yet, alot of works coming in. Typical raya timing, everything's in a rush  sweat.gif
They would send you a text if your rig has arrived in M'sia, and if you need to do any changes they also include a number for you to call. I think they let you change both location of delivery and time/date.
After upgrading my GPU, the next thing I wanted to upgrade was the cpu to a 940xm. But then I was adviced to wait till the new M17 comes out and get that instead of investing more and more on my M15x.... My 820QM will have to suffice for now....no problems so far...

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Aug 26 2010, 08:58 AM)
hmm I am planning to get a 17x-R2 with i7-840QM, will it have heat issue too?
I think you'll never have to worry about heat issue when using the M17x.

QUOTE(viper88 @ Aug 26 2010, 09:31 AM)
My M11X R2.  icon_idea.gif Just got it last week.
[attachmentid=1747963]

Specs
I7, 8GB ram, 500GB HD, 1GB Nvidia GT335, 3yrs complete cover.
Things that i dislike.. Del button need to press well to function, glossy screen alot reflection.. makes my eyes tired fast..  rolleyes.gif
Reviews on gaming Pls. Need to get 2 for my friends.....awaiting real world gaming stats.

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Aug 26 2010, 02:02 PM)
nice cooler u have there 0d1N's user..
I wish to get 1 too but not not available at Malaysia.. sob
and too expensive
Whats special about this cooler that warrants the high price. A Zalman cost half of that which is why I'm asking
julchin_09
post Aug 26 2010, 02:52 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

The won't be a R3, But they would be coming out with a new model I mean.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0448sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:51 PM