16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...

TSMr.Docter
post Jun 11 2010, 06:19 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jun 11 2010, 05:27 AM)
Haven't bro. I had an eventfull weekend previously as I travelled to East Coast for a few days then my Modem got struck by lightning. So just got them settled and pics transfered. Managed to get the card and all drivers working so will start working on the pic by pic steps and suggestions but its gonna take a while. I'm probably gonna be busy for the next few days seeing that its already the 11th of June and u know whats going on right?  laugh.gif  But I will get it done....
aha wokay bro. take your time, not like we need it in rush blush.gif

enjoying Dx11 already? wub.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 11 2010, 07:01 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 11 2010, 12:18 PM)
well, actually the 5870 equiped in G73JH-A1/A2/X3 are different from Ati5870 using in M17x/ClevoA.K.A Sager, well, i will post some picture for u guys see
ok. waiting... tongue.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jun 11 2010, 04:44 PM)
wah, can swap our old m11x to i7? wow! im gonna do tat if tat happens !
unless something happened to your M11x like Amino going through, maybe it possible...

but if you just want to trade in, sound impossible for me.

QUOTE(shychenko @ Jun 11 2010, 06:53 PM)
usually how long it will take for me to get my m11x once my order is confirmed...
depend of hardwares availability.

but normally just around 2 weeks smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 11 2010, 07:09 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(razei @ Jun 11 2010, 07:03 PM)
Sorry for the delay of the post. Got busy with assignments and exam coming soon. Here's the result
wow not bad rclxms.gif

but how bout the temperature after been benchmark?

maybe you could post up in here @ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1109389 as the first contribution for ATi HD 5870 CrossFire! laugh.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 11 2010, 07:19 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(razei @ Jun 11 2010, 07:11 PM)
Eh the comp is cool. well dunno about teamperature thing. hahaha just contributing some of the benchmarks for future reviews. Might as well help me post it up. Gotta run for studies. =)
M17x cooling design is surely protect you from heat emitted, so its not shocking if you are not complaining about temp after even 4,5 hours of straight, heavy gaming.

but just wondering the core's temp. you can use software like CPUID HWMonitor to monitor your cores temp.

yep, prioritize important stuff first nod.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 11 2010, 08:16 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

'PROBLEM' OF DELL'S ATi HD 5870

someone (in other forum and here also like Putochip123) said that Dell's HD5870 is not same and less performance than other HD5870 out there.

after some digging, i found out that is due to default undervolted setting that by factory.
- It seems Alienware has actually limited the HD5870M as it's been undervolted.

but thanks God those claims is justified perfectly by 5150Joker from NBR.
Dell Crossfire 5870M works as they should. AMD screwed up and did not include the proper code so that they could use ATi reference drivers. This will be corrected since I contacted Dell and engineering was made aware of it. Currently, the shipping drivers are old and do hamper performance of the 5870m crossfire a bit. However, this will be rectified once AMD corrects their mistake in the next mobile Catalyst release. Currently, in GPU limiting situations I've found the Crossfire 5870s beating Crossfire 4870 anywhere from 10-25% in avg fps and sometimes up to 30% or more in min fps situations.

so for whoever own HD5870 single or CrossFire, do keep update about next Catalyst to maximized your GPU performance! icon_idea.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 11 2010, 08:35 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(natiayS @ Jun 11 2010, 08:26 PM)
I dont use sp on all my notebook. Just cleaned the screen with masterlink lcd cleaner, really2 clen it with this thing. Rm139 .
not using any protector either here.

hye, got link for the product? smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 13 2010, 01:45 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(raven143 @ Jun 12 2010, 09:49 AM)
thx TS...!!! notworthy.gif rclxms.gif ... my name's on the list!!
pleasure bro.

enjoy your stay in our Mothership! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(daimo raff @ Jun 12 2010, 05:54 PM)
mr.Doc... put me on the list ok.. we are red team.. rclxms.gif

Nebula Red Base
Processor  Intel® Coreâ„¢ i7-820QM Processor (1.73GHz,4 Cores/8 Threads,turbo up to 3.06GHz, 8MB Cache)
8GB (2 x 4GB) Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
CrossFireX™ Dual 1GB GDDR5 ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5870
1TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive (500GBx2)(Raid 0)
Slot Load Fixed Blu-ray BD-ROM / DVD + /-RW Combo Drive
added! wub.gif

how much did you brought? kinda keen your specs thumbup.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 13 2010, 01:47 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 12 2010, 09:30 PM)
My conclution. M17x  sliver base is the most beautiful, wat u guys think?
if i willing to buy other Alienware, my next M17x maybe in silver. bored with Nebula Red already. Silver will looks like pure breed of baddass monster yo! rclxms.gif brows.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 13 2010, 07:04 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

@ Julchin_09 : i saw that somewhere on someone siggy too.. hmm.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 14 2010, 06:57 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(chidori @ Jun 14 2010, 08:30 AM)
still no real pictures from the owner of the orion backback yet?

hmm......
you can read the review here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=21&t=1242230

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 14 2010, 01:44 PM)
well, i have to admit that the quality and price is vry reasonable
yeap! even i paid ~500 for mine, i still feel it really worth it flex.gif

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 14 2010, 03:13 PM)
Wel, i will prefer u get a alienware mouse rather than a.razer
thumbup.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 14 2010, 07:03 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Jun 14 2010, 06:58 PM)
Order placed  icon_idea.gif
for Alienware Laptop or Orion Backpack?

either way, congrats! rclxms.gif

------------------

on the other hand, i'd update the front page a bit.

+ question in FAQ section.

+ link to buy reasonable price of unofficial Alienware T-shirt (i personally brought that and quite satisfied with it icon_idea.gif )

will update more later since quite busy to back to Malaysia smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Jun 14 2010, 07:06 PM
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 15 2010, 11:34 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hairuLeZ @ Jun 14 2010, 11:05 PM)
no idea bro. perhaps like what mr.Docter and joker mentioned, wait for the updated driver that will unleash the true performance for this card brows.gif
wish to help you more, but unfortunately i am not using ATi Mobility before, so can't comment much.

but for a start - try to update your GPU driver and benchmark with it. make sure you using CPUID HWMonitor too to check the temp.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jun 15 2010, 11:26 AM)
owh... tweak the performance means overclocking it?
tweak = play with the setting smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 15 2010, 11:40 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 15 2010, 11:36 AM)
ATi driver gives u more disappointment than surprise...

and Catalyst 10.5 seems to screw up the idle clock... for me at least... now running on 10.4...
the 10.5 will screw your performance or stability?

or worst - both? hmm.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 15 2010, 11:44 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 15 2010, 11:42 AM)
well, the default clock for my HD4650 is core/RAM 220/300 and 550/667 for idle and load respectively...

at 10.5, the clock is stuck at 450/500 no matter what i am doing... be it watching HD TV, playing games, Folding, or doing nothing...
looks like hairuLeZ need to check his version of driver.

mann, why can't ATi is as good as Nvidia in term of driver support? they almost perfect in every aspect already cry.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 15 2010, 12:02 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 15 2010, 11:49 AM)
well, driver has always been the weakness of ATi cards since the days of Radeon 9000 (that's like almost 10yrs ago)... it has gotten better since Radeon HD2000, but is still not as good as NV...

the most classic recent example is Dirt 2... the game is heavily optimized for Radeon HD5000 series... but HD5870 (desktop) still gets pwn-ed pretty badly by GTX 480... it's expected that HD5870 would perform worse, but heck, the margin is juz too big...

but at least, ATi saves some graces with low power consumption and low cost... nod.gif
eh i thought GTX480 is dual GPU while 5870 is single GPU. so its not fair to compare both of them.

and DiRT2 is one of the poorly optimized game. just look the release date and the date they release driver patch to support SLi. gosh shakehead.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 15 2010, 12:11 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 15 2010, 12:02 PM)
nah, GTX 480 is single GPU, and the best part is, it's a result of product binning... some of the SP has been disabled due to poor manufacturing of 40nm chips...

the patch is mainly cuz Dirt 2 was sponsored by AMD in order to show off DX11 when HD5000 was launched... it's super duper heavily optimized for HD5000...
ohh my fact is kinda mistaken there. thanks for the info.

yeah. its purposely bragging with Dx11 since Nvidia still not reaching Dx11 that time. the driver support was pretty biased, i would say. sleep.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 15 2010, 01:04 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

err me and Astria discussing about desktop variant.. sweat.gif

kinda off topic for a bit, sorry!
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 17 2010, 01:31 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(acidkill @ Jun 15 2010, 08:31 PM)
I have a question here...
How many partitions do u guys make and how big is ur partitions drive each?
Wanna know coz i try to shrink my drive C: and only can shrink almost 300gb to make other partitions and left around 300gb at C: cant shrink anymore.
Not sure im doing it correct or not so wanna know how u guys do it.
Thxxxxx
1TB total. not making any partition since i configured my HDD into Raid-0 biggrin.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 17 2010, 01:35 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Jun 15 2010, 09:17 PM)
hi guys i wonder why my windows index drop ?
graphic : desktop performance for windows aero 4.0 only ..wtf..how do i improve it ? thx bro
WEI is not really accurate, don't relay on that too much.

and it is easily hackable too, in case it will boast your 'confident' brows.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(Alucard @ Jun 15 2010, 10:41 PM)
placed an order for m11x on Sunday, haven't gotten any confirmation yet sad.gif how long do they take to confirm your order guys?
sunday is holiday rite? so it will be done processed by now.. smile.gif

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 16 2010, 02:48 AM)
cause over high for the frame rate maybe above(60fps), so ur screen started to flick.... on the V-Sync will helps u a lot....
yes, only use V-Sync when your FPS more than 60FPS. it will calibrate and set the FPS caps to 60 only.

above 60FPS will lead to shuttering and visual tearing.
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 17 2010, 01:42 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Jun 16 2010, 10:55 AM)
i encounter some weird sound from my laptop as well ..anyone encounter this problem before ? is not a fans sound, but my friend told me it might be a hard disk sound , sound , gik,gik..,gik..,gik..... its sounded like HDD reading sound , is that normal ? i not sure what is that sound but the previous laptop dont have this kind of sound before, seem like dell QC got some problem @@
if that sound really came from your HDD, thats mean your HDD is dying.

better run some test to see its condition and meanwhile, email to Dell Support about your problem.

QUOTE(hairuLeZ @ Jun 16 2010, 02:17 PM)
i'm thinking to upgrade to 920xm instead of 940xm. Performance is not that obvious so 920xm should be a perfect choice in terms of price no? hmm.gif
920XM is the only i7 mobility CPU that successfully reach 'sufficient' level for me, personally.

lesser than that is afraid to bottleneck in certain games and more that that is simply overkill, unless you just aiming to benchmark your system.

QUOTE(emino @ Jun 16 2010, 05:08 PM)
Just finalized my deal with Dell.

My new M11X with Core i7 will arrive within 2 weeks time. A week after that someone will come to pick up my old M11X. They give me 1 week for backups.

Really thankful to the support officer who helped me till the end of the process. thumbup.gif
seems like all the shit you went through is finally paid off thumbup.gif wub.gif

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:12 AM