16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...

TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 12:03 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(0d1N @ Aug 27 2010, 08:19 PM)
I encounter several problems while formatting the beast
[1] blank screen + restart after installing ATI new driver the 10.7. Sticking to the driver supplied from dells website clears the problem

[2]Turbo Boost Technology cannot be installed, after hours finding a solution, one person quote that its not a progra, its already embedded inside the BIOS.

[3]HDD failure, due to different configuration in the BIOS, i accidently used "load best setting", which made the HDD non SATA 0 capable. Switching the SATA 0 to enable actually finished the job

[4] Login wallpaper, After googling for ages, finally came across to a simple solution, but the solution was resolved several restarts later, which made me in the middle, searching for other solutions

[5] Starcraft 2 no unit problem, after installing all other software and finally patched sc2, i cannot see any one, after googling for some time, solutions was found by disabling crossfire, seems that SC2 got problems with the current 5870 Driver
1 - like i said before, you have to download and install the driver from Dell website since your version is the latest.

2 - TurboBoost is not a program. its automated function that you not able to adjust/control or whatsoever except turning ON or OFF only.

3 - yep, you have to set the HDD configuration to RAID-0 in the bios if this is your first time booting up or when you reformat. if not, the HDD can't be access because of the other possible probabilities of configurations.

4 - i don't face any about that... sweat.gif

5 - Starcraft is well know about its weakly optimized engine to latest hardware, especially ATi HD5870.

QUOTE(0d1N @ Aug 27 2010, 11:14 PM)
I believe they assemble it in the US before shipping to Penang, depends in the specification.
nope. all the assembly process is been done in China. even the same things happened to Dell.uk / Dell.us too.

in fact, almost all things nowadays is made in China. no worry about that.
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 01:28 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(deathbringer @ Aug 28 2010, 01:23 AM)
wow...loads of trouble for a very expensive machine. even my m11x didn't go through much problems.
for me its not a problems. its just new experience dealing with latest technology smile.gif

don't be like 'someone' who was once using ordinary laptop and suddenly brought nearly 5 figures priced Alienware and expect the same setting like his previous ordinary laptop. he'd even blaming and cursing Alienware in Garage Sales too. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Aug 28 2010, 01:29 AM
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 01:31 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(G_Force @ Aug 28 2010, 01:25 AM)
hey guys... i thought m15x is running i5... jz now wen i check the site.. it says i7.. hmm and the price should be 6k + rite.. why sudd become 6k lol... wth =.=
opps... it seems i5 option already got rid out from the list...
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 04:33 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Aug 28 2010, 01:41 AM)
Wah that guy sound like me leh.... sweat.gif
haik but my mini giant not 5 figure leh.. hmm.gif
I wonder hmm.gif
not u la bro. u are very good wan biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 28 2010, 01:48 AM)
What kind of same setting?
i don't exactly know. maybe he never did some tweaking or something, and consider that matter as problematic..

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Aug 28 2010, 10:01 AM)
+1 for u doctor. Most of the people dont know how to handle, and then blame this and blame that. i know who u mention Doctor  tongue.gif
tongue.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 04:36 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 28 2010, 02:40 AM)
Alienware RM400 coupon just expired, better call Dell and nego or contact Mr.Docter or putochip123 tongue.gif
Lee, RM 400 coupon was starting from when to when? i just knew about that yesterday, which is the last day of the redemption... sweat.gif

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Aug 28 2010, 03:58 AM)
just realised the M15x price has dropped again....
yea, maybe they want to stabilize the price since they'd already kick out i5 from the option.

TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 04:41 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Blank86 @ Aug 28 2010, 10:36 AM)
Agree with Mr.Docter when you wanna buy something different from others...then you also need to expect different outcome..thats a risk you need to take when buying super high end stuff
yes. the real thing is - be tolerable and patient. don't just bursting with flame when you'd faced some problems.

not to say about anyone else, me myself also face a problem about my GTX280M SLi when i'd brought my beast. you can refer to my previous topic regarding this matter. but instead of posting with angry, i do prefer resolving that issue with asking more expert people like Astria, Lee & Prasys and thanks God, its actually due to setting in my bios. how the heck i should know about this since my previous laptop is just typical Acer. so its new experience for me, which i can use to help others in this Mothership laugh.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 04:58 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 28 2010, 04:54 PM)
The coupon from 12 Aug - 26 Aug...
lol.. any news about future coupon?
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 08:13 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Aug 28 2010, 07:19 PM)
He dint call dell to resolve it ??? R1 should be having less problems from what i heard . .
1 - those problem might due to buying ready unit of Alienware. ready unit of Alienware shouldn't be brought UNLESS you really trusted the seller that he/she never done anything unusual to the laptop.

2 - its not a problem in the first place, actually. it just simple cleanup and reinstall the drivers, something like that.

meh, let bygone be bygone smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Aug 28 2010, 10:07 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Aug 28 2010, 09:45 PM)
doc, ready unit doesnt mean cannot buy ok? there are many type of ready unit. ^^
aha i know. i sometimes sell ready unit too happy.gif

but like what i stressed before, we much be confident enough to trust the seller smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Aug 28 2010, 10:07 PM
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 1 2010, 06:29 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

wah so active you people smile.gif

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Sep 1 2010, 01:57 AM)
For those who think wanna change from alienware to sager, may need to read this..i take from NBR user that experience with sager notebook...
if that words come from 5150Joker, thats worth to be think deeply because he is a person that know what he is talkin about.

but still, everyone for their own. some people may see Alienware as overrated, and vice versa. just sit back, relax and enjoy your choosen laptop. no war please flex.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 1 2010, 06:39 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 1 2010, 01:26 AM)
M15x is huge enough already lol..M17x.. dont dare to imagine.
Still if I were to regret and get a m17x it's too late, I'm leaving on 25th lol.
if you imagine the physical size based on their screensize (15" compared to 17"), i dare to say that you will shocked when you see M15x and M17x place side by side laugh.gif

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 1 2010, 01:52 AM)
well, for benchmark it migth around 5870. if came into gaming, it oout perform then 5870 ^^, but the battery life is like,  doh.gif  doh.gif
its been reported that once GTX480M stepped into Dx11 engined games, the performance may reach as far as twice from ATi HD5870, top.

no surprise tho since GTX480M is the best tessellation hardware in the world.

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 1 2010, 02:13 AM)
Maybe it's just me being jakun but, I think build quality of M15x are quite impressive. (Sure, it's my 2nd laptop so I wouldn't know, my first was Asus G1s)
touched and tasted both M17x and M15x before, and like Putochip123 said, M15x's quality is BIT downgraded from M17x. maybe due to its material used to make the casing of M15x.

despite that, it still among the best available for 15" laptop out there brows.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 1 2010, 11:37 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Blank86 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:25 AM)
Alienware vs G73JH ? Alienware better?..cause i heard G73JH cooling system is kinda good
full stress of dual GPU max not reaching 65 degree Celsius at all, you couldn't ask for more.
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 4 2010, 03:53 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Weezer92 @ Sep 4 2010, 11:58 AM)
guys...do u remember the dell technician phone number???
1 of u guys pm me the number...i accidently delete it
PM'ed smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 5 2010, 04:56 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Sep 4 2010, 05:03 PM)
PM me also mr docter..my gpu fan start giving annoying sound..
PM'ed.

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 4 2010, 05:12 PM)
Docter..you think your technician can help with this?
if based on paper, i don't think they can do anything about this. but still, there is no harm in trying smile.gif

PM'ed smile.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 5 2010, 05:00 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 4 2010, 11:00 PM)
Hey guys I guess the GTX 4XX series will be hitting Alienware notebooks pretty soon since its being ported to mobile GPU series!  drool.gif
But I wonder how will it hold up against ATi cards?  hmm.gif
the word hold up against is quite subjective for me, because high end system is dual GPU capable.

so you can choose to have single or dual GPU, which make the comparison not quite fair.

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 5 2010, 01:41 AM)
They've added some lower spec GTX 4xx  to the list. I think the 460M above should get into the ALIENWARE system..... since ASUS is getting GTX 460M into theirs.
i wonder where is the heck is GTX480M for M17x. but usually Alienware always smart in delivering sweet surprise for their fans laugh.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 5 2010, 06:54 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 5 2010, 05:07 PM)
Haha... I feel you bro! I feel you. I'm waiting to jump back into the NVidia Bandwagon again.... but I'm Alienware Biased and I'm kinda rooting only for them... When will the Alienites get their GTX 480M????  sad.gif
even if GTX480M already reached Alienware, i highly doubt you will able to fix that into your M15x. preparing for upgrade perhaps, bro Julchin? brows.gif

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 5 2010, 05:40 PM)
lol if Nvidia GTX460M in M11x sure powerful tongue.gif
since we already reached Q4 of 2010, 'IF' games will be popular again, i guess tongue.gif

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 5 2010, 05:51 PM)
The only issue now is Power Supply and Heating. Anyone here has tried using a M17x Power Brick with their M15x ? How to order one? Puto, Doc?
nope, i did never tried it before. is it safe? logically, it the power supplied by M17x will somehow overload the limit that was set for M15x mobo. i am afraid that will fried M15x mobo or somethin.... sweat.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 5 2010, 07:23 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 5 2010, 06:33 PM)
Guess I have to wait till SLI/Crossfire cards are M15x "equipable"  grumble.gif
What actually makes those dual GPUs hard to be equipped in a M15x? The size maybe?  rclxub.gif
I'm just too lazy to actually Google all this! Leave it to the experts here!
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 5 2010, 06:53 PM)
Size and heat combined. With an additional card we need more copper pipes as well as an additional fan. Thats why the structure of a 15.6" is limited to be able to house all these unless they've solved a way to reduce the size of the cards and fan. I doubt the M15x will be SLI/CF as it would be a feature reserved solely for its flagship model the M17x. What they should do however is allow the M15x to at least carry a single highend card like the M17x running on a single card for the GPU. If there was a GTX 280M SLI for the M17x, I felt there should have been an options for a SINGLE GTX 280M for the M15x back when I bought my monster in Dec last year....
like what had been well explained by Julchin, there are few reasons why M15x will not be equipped with SLi / CF technology.

1 - so far there is none 15" that successfully SLi / CF configured due to its size. (note that size will affect the heat management)

2 - SLi / CF is exclusively dedicated to M17x to preserve the special factor of M17x.

3 - for Julchin, GTX280M cannot be pair with M15x because M15x using i-Series CPU (& mobo) and it not compatible with GTX280M.

4 - eventho GTX285M is basically overclocked version of GTX280M, there is some modification in their architecture's aspect so that GTX280M (basically) can be pair with i-Series CPU (& mobo)
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 9 2010, 11:37 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

it seems this thread is ready for v6. i am currently busy with Hari Raya, so can't really online this week.

anyone that think he is capable be in charge, please, feel free to create v6. good luck, my Alinates mate! :awsm: laugh.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 11 2010, 08:47 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 11 2010, 02:01 AM)
Selamat Hari Raya Doc.
thanks bro blush.gif

and Selamat Hari Raya for all Alienware owner too. btw i will leave Malaysia by the next Sunday. in the meantime, we do need pros like you to help others ya notworthy.gif
TSMr.Docter
post Sep 12 2010, 06:18 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 12 2010, 04:44 PM)
There is no stealth mode.
There is only a "make my laptop useless please" button.
i lol-ed! laugh.gif

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0478sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:22 AM