QUOTE(putochip123 @ Aug 31 2010, 11:11 PM)
That'd of course be much wiser, if I wanted to game lol. I have a quite good desktop now actually..Well, I'm going to oversea to study soon so I want a desktop replacement, a decent one - -
Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...
Sep 1 2010, 01:03 AM
1,870 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Sep 1 2010, 01:12 AM
1,496 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
then u should go for M17x, or Sager
Sep 1 2010, 01:14 AM
7,485 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sager would be a good choice for getting overseas.
But even with GTX 480M, the increase in performance is slight compared to the ATI 5870. |
Sep 1 2010, 01:26 AM
Sep 1 2010, 01:52 AM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 1 2010, 01:14 AM) Sager would be a good choice for getting overseas. well, for benchmark it migth around 5870. if came into gaming, it oout perform then 5870 ^^, but the battery life is like, But even with GTX 480M, the increase in performance is slight compared to the ATI 5870. |
Sep 1 2010, 01:57 AM
1,299 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Puchong Utama |
For those who think wanna change from alienware to sager, may need to read this..i take from NBR user that experience with sager notebook...
QUOTE IMO Clevo/Sager is far too overrated. I owned a Sager 8690 that had the poorest build quality of any gaming notebook I've recently owned. It was even built worse than the Asus G51 I had prior to it. Sager has decent cooling, not much better than Alienware but that's about it. The designs are ugly, the construction is cheap quality plastic (and cheap paint to go along with it), poor warranty service and off the shelf cheap Chinese branded LCDs. It's not even in the same league as Alienware in build/warranty/aesthetics/extras, in fact no notebook maker besides Apple is based on all the experience I've had. But a few things Clevo does right is the cooling and not implementing throttling schemes into their notebooks. from 5150Joker on NBR forum |
Sep 1 2010, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(hackcremo @ Sep 1 2010, 01:57 AM) For those who think wanna change from alienware to sager, may need to read this..i take from NBR user that experience with sager notebook... Alienware M15x doesnt seems to be good quality as well, u cant compare like this bro.Alienware expensive and performance lower than Sager which sager offer the same price with better performance.... |
Sep 1 2010, 02:07 AM
1,299 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Puchong Utama |
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 1 2010, 02:03 AM) Alienware M15x doesnt seems to be good quality as well, u cant compare like this bro. i am not comparing lor..just sharing something for you guys..that's all..every product have pro and cons..so its up to user to decide..that my point of sharing lor..Alienware expensive and performance lower than Sager which sager offer the same price with better performance.... |
Sep 1 2010, 02:13 AM
Maybe it's just me being jakun but, I think build quality of M15x are quite impressive. (Sure, it's my 2nd laptop so I wouldn't know, my first was Asus G1s)
Sep 1 2010, 03:00 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 1 2010, 01:52 AM) well, for benchmark it migth around 5870. if came into gaming, it oout perform then 5870 ^^, but the battery life is like, Actually I meant the gaming performance. Being a 2GB card, the figures show its quite a shame compared to the ATI 5870. Source: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html Added on September 1, 2010, 3:06 am QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 1 2010, 02:13 AM) Maybe it's just me being jakun but, I think build quality of M15x are quite impressive. (Sure, it's my 2nd laptop so I wouldn't know, my first was Asus G1s) Oh and I do agree that the M15x has quite an impressive build quality compared to the previous notebooks that I've owned. Though of course I've only handled an M17x a couple of times and the MacBook Pro. But regarding the Sager notebook, I think its due to it being made mostly of plastic which is of concern.... This post has been edited by julchin_09: Sep 1 2010, 03:06 AM |
Sep 1 2010, 06:29 AM
5,367 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
wah so active you people
QUOTE(hackcremo @ Sep 1 2010, 01:57 AM) For those who think wanna change from alienware to sager, may need to read this..i take from NBR user that experience with sager notebook... if that words come from 5150Joker, thats worth to be think deeply because he is a person that know what he is talkin about.but still, everyone for their own. some people may see Alienware as overrated, and vice versa. just sit back, relax and enjoy your choosen laptop. no war please |
Sep 1 2010, 06:39 AM
5,367 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 1 2010, 01:26 AM) M15x is huge enough already lol..M17x.. dont dare to imagine. if you imagine the physical size based on their screensize (15" compared to 17"), i dare to say that you will shocked when you see M15x and M17x place side by side Still if I were to regret and get a m17x it's too late, I'm leaving on 25th lol. QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 1 2010, 01:52 AM) well, for benchmark it migth around 5870. if came into gaming, it oout perform then 5870 ^^, but the battery life is like, its been reported that once GTX480M stepped into Dx11 engined games, the performance may reach as far as twice from ATi HD5870, top.no surprise tho since GTX480M is the best tessellation hardware in the world. QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 1 2010, 02:13 AM) Maybe it's just me being jakun but, I think build quality of M15x are quite impressive. (Sure, it's my 2nd laptop so I wouldn't know, my first was Asus G1s) touched and tasted both M17x and M15x before, and like Putochip123 said, M15x's quality is BIT downgraded from M17x. maybe due to its material used to make the casing of M15x.despite that, it still among the best available for 15" laptop out there |
Sep 1 2010, 09:53 AM
375 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Penang & Cheras Status: Dominating! |
Sep 1 2010, 09:56 AM
6,109 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Mike India Romeo India |
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 1 2010, 03:00 AM) Actually I meant the gaming performance. Being a 2GB card, the figures show its quite a shame compared to the ATI 5870. Because graphics memory depends on the resolution used? hmm..Source: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html Added on September 1, 2010, 3:06 am Oh and I do agree that the M15x has quite an impressive build quality compared to the previous notebooks that I've owned. Though of course I've only handled an M17x a couple of times and the MacBook Pro. But regarding the Sager notebook, I think its due to it being made mostly of plastic which is of concern.... |
Sep 1 2010, 10:19 AM
3,304 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Chicago(Port25) |
Sep 1 2010, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Noodles @ Sep 1 2010, 09:53 AM) Anyone facing this issue before? update ur net.framework to 4.0 will solve the issueAfter my bios update seems like i totally cannot go through the "Alien Touch" section. Added on September 1, 2010, 10:35 am QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Sep 1 2010, 01:26 AM) M15x is huge enough already lol..M17x.. dont dare to imagine. Still if I were to regret and get a m17x it's too late, I'm leaving on 25th lol. ![]() Uploaded with ImageShack.us ![]() Uploaded with ImageShack.us This post has been edited by putochip123: Sep 1 2010, 10:36 AM |
Sep 1 2010, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 1 2010, 09:56 AM) Well that could factor in but being a site that compares like for like they would have even the playing field in terms of settings. Also both are DX11 cards hence I feel that more should be squeezed out of that 2GB GTX 480M. We're comparing the scores of a 2GB Card with that of a 1GB one... |
Sep 1 2010, 11:04 AM
6,109 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Mike India Romeo India |
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 1 2010, 10:29 AM) update ur net.framework to 4.0 will solve the issue The M15x and M17x seems to be about the same size.. Just that M17x is much heavier. Added on September 1, 2010, 10:35 am » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 1 2010, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:04 AM) Yea. It looks almost the same size, but only in real life can you see the big difference. And the M15x's screen has a wider border compared to the M17x giving the illusion that its supposed to be big when its not.... There's more space in there for other stuff if it was more efficiently placed and utilized.... But that could be reserved for cooling purposes.... |
Sep 1 2010, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:13 AM) Yea. It looks almost the same size, but only in real life can you see the big difference. And the M15x's screen has a wider border compared to the M17x giving the illusion that its supposed to be big when its not.... There's more space in there for other stuff if it was more efficiently placed and utilized.... But that could be reserved for cooling purposes.... i have to admit that, Alienware have the best cooling system ever, compare to most of the brand |
| Change to: | 0.0313sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:07 PM |