joshuaa85
post Jul 13 2012, 10:37 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Jun 18 2012, 11:18 PM)
yup,as i know,the content of GL5 and GL4 are different

but this petro canada said

http://lubricants.petro-canada.ca/en/products/609.aspx

Is suitable for most oil lubricated universal joints, wheel bearings, planetary gear sets and industrial gear reducers requiring GL-3, GL-4 or GL-5 oils
use GL5 will wear off your GB non metal component. if secification is GL4 beware of this
sulphur phosphorus corrode non ferrous metal.
joshuaa85
post Aug 10 2012, 04:46 PM

829 posts

not really 10W30 must semi syn or mineral
but with 5W and lower, should be semi syn and fullly syn

i can make 10W30 fully syn. how abt market acceptance ?

joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 01:36 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 11 2012, 09:26 AM)
You are engine oil manufacturer?
why ask such question ?
btw i am lubricant industry.

Added on August 23, 2012, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(detomaso @ Aug 22 2012, 07:41 PM)
everyday change engine oil ke?..fuh unless getting 40person+ for bulk buy 200L...dont keep oil in open air for a long time.. thats why manufacturers claim need to change engine oil every 3month even though the car runs 5km after an oil change. wink.gif
just only half right, but the drum should be consumed in one year is the best,
storage also very important where drum have to stack up at wooden pallet and seal the cap as tight as possible

thus 3 month is a joke for me, my kelisa run 5k per year . i changed once a year. so fine with engine
but with condition, drive everyday at short distance.

if the car is rarely drive, i think it should be done every 3 month.

This post has been edited by joshuaa85: Aug 23 2012, 01:42 PM
joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 01:45 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Jul 30 2010, 10:03 PM)
@empire23,

Mind to tell us what car you drive ? Cause seldom ppl use 0W-30 oils unless its a high-performance car biggrin.gif
0W30 is not for high performance car la bro, on NA is most best.
high performance like force induction can't use start with 0W oil.

Added on August 23, 2012, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 23 2012, 01:42 PM)
I ask this question because you say that you can make it... If you are not the manufacturer, how did you make it?
haha. all belong to my boss.. XD.. 10W30 nowdays categorized as semi or mineral .. if sum1 come up 10W30 FS, he's the pioneer.

This post has been edited by joshuaa85: Aug 23 2012, 01:47 PM
joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 02:23 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 23 2012, 02:06 PM)
Since you are Engine Oil Manufacturer, now a days, all the engine oil grade already begin with SM/SN grade, Seldom to find out SL or older grade of oil, how to solve the flat tappet cam design engine? Since this kind of engine need more ZDDP additive in the engine oil to protect the CAM but SM/SN Grade engine is less ZDDP additive base on environment friendly purpose. Or this kind of engine still can use SM/SN grade engine oil, just don't LEV too much or don't make the RPM higher than 5K?
that's my concern too. where by most malaysia vehicle is japanese ( flat teppet ) and EU ( roller instead )

under SM specification, maximum allowed ZDDP is 800 ppm, well to SN grade is reduced to 400 ppm.

nowdays most of japanese car maker still fine with 400 ppm content of ZDDP.

well maybe oil manufacturer added other additive which similiar criteria with ZDDP we might don't know

i don't know why goes for SN instead of SM or SL is more than enough. since malaysia doesn't have any emission regulation standard ( not even fitted with catalytic converter ? then go for SN for wat ? )

maybe i will start selling kind of ZDDP additive in near future.. XD. the kind word you replied to me is a bit of humiliating.
joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 02:45 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 23 2012, 02:39 PM)
Due to market requirement I think. That's why manufacturer need to stick to the market, else people will ask that why your oil so out date and so on... No choice lah... Change to new car then stick to the new grade engine oil lor...
this is also one of marketing strategy in malaysia, or else you can't make any business.
i also can say that our malaysian is not so interesting to get more knowledge about engine oil

new japan car also flat teppet. but there is some other additive to reduce the valvetrain wear. of course ZDDP for flat teppet is essential. but API is more on EU. not for asian. but it's well known globally. sweat.gif

mine still stick on SM. no SN for me.
joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 05:17 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Aug 23 2012, 04:53 PM)
brader, we are talking about malaysia market XD. foreign brand of course got lah ..

ACEA also one of the engine oil standard. but most popular is API.

but if u ask ACEA or ILSAC .. perhaps foreman also don't know ...

Added on August 23, 2012, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 23 2012, 03:03 PM)
May I ask the reason why turbo charged engine can't use 0W oil? Any link I can read up on?

Added on August 23, 2012, 3:10 pm

Not necessarily true. I have seen 5 yrs old Isuzu still listing API-CD when the latest is already API-CG at that time. Haven't check the latest Isuzu so not sure of nowadays.

Globally, there are API from USA. ACEA from Euro. JASO from Japan. For Japanese diesel engine, best stick to JASO rating.
in our current lubricant technology, we still unable to produce 0W50 or 0W60 for turbo charged cars.

hence, we call for 5W50 or 10W60 would be the best.

0W50 maybe have already. damn expensive. reason why use 50 or 60 .. of course to withstand high temp as well as high load.

in malaysia . probably CF grade is more than enough due to superb high sulfur content in diesel.
those are higher than CF is just bullshit at all. and waste your money only.
the obsession is higher the grade, is the BEST. WTF

somehow DH-1 is better, if we compare to API CX grade.

This post has been edited by joshuaa85: Aug 23 2012, 06:47 PM
joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 07:11 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 07:03 PM)
A turbo car can definitely use a 0W based oil. I've been running my RB and 4B11T with them. They're fine.

As the journal bearings of turbochargers are very sensitive to higher viscosities using a 0W oil is actually better for them. Most turbo charged cars with smaller oil passages, oil squirters and oiling pins actually don't play nice with anything above a 40 weight.
i am also agreed about that. once for all , stick to the manual is the best.
some engine design like narrow oilway, really need lower visco oil to provide better lubrication and well as good penetration into the tiny parts. cheers
joshuaa85
post Aug 23 2012, 10:19 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 07:33 PM)
If my UOA comes back good I'll move towards the Motul 300V Ester-Core 0W-15 Sprint.

Generally know what you want to achieve with your machine and figure out the best way to do so. If you want to live long, stick with the manual, the engineers who made the car definitely know best.
u drive wat car hah.. turbo can use 0W15 ? i curious about it

Added on August 23, 2012, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 07:37 PM)
Given our temperatures in Malaysia, going to 0W-30 or 0W-40 or anything else is probably a waste. The larger the range of a given lubricant, the more polymer VIIs required to maintain that range, thus an oil change becomes more expensive. Plus going any thicker with a BorgWarner turbo of that size will lead to oil starvation of the turbo.
larger the range of lubricant doesn't mean needs more VII's is required. what i can say is the grade and quality of base oil is main factor for those large range lubricant as well as low viscosity oil.

the more VIIs u put, some drawbacl on engine cleanliness. more VII= sludge deposit formation.

Added on August 23, 2012, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 23 2012, 08:26 PM)
May I ask the reason why? Assuming that 5W40 & 5W50 are Synthetic oils, I would have thought Synthetic oil would be better for the hot turbo bearing. Anything to do with HTHS?
viscosity given is nothing do with HTHS. HTHS is more on specification. problem is ur vehicle is suitable to use this oil ?

Added on August 23, 2012, 10:32 pm
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:23 PM)
I think I already mentioned that the gerotor (PDP) oil pump due to its manufacturing tolerances may prefer a thickness of oil over others. But this generally depends on the design and many other considerations. A cheaper Gerotor with 4 teeth may need a significantly higher start up thickness to prevent premature wear than say a Nismo or Nitto oil pump with 12 teeth machined to 0.001" tolerance. I run a Tomei, so no issues biggrin.gif

Plus during start up there is very little flow of oil into the turbo. At cold cranking temperature even at 0W, oil is far too thick to get into the journals, that's why all journals have an internal reservoir that keeps oil from the last start up in the journal. This holds the turbo enough till the oil is heated up enough to get in.

That's why turbos have a mechanism (either water based cooling or turbo timers) to ensure the oil doesn't "cake" due to heat so that the next start up will be smooth.
out of tempo already ... now goes to oil pump pula

This post has been edited by joshuaa85: Aug 23 2012, 10:32 PM
joshuaa85
post Aug 24 2012, 03:05 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 24 2012, 02:51 PM)
I drive an Evo 10. She'll take most oils as long as they don't exceed the 30 range in a pinch. And even if the turbo dies I've been meaning to get a Garrett GTX3071 with a Ni-Resist anti surge housing.

Given 2 kinds of oils of the same group most of the time the VIIs will determine the final viscosity index. As for me I'll just stick to 300V and Royal Purple I've always bought. Pricey at 500 ringgit per oil change but I'm fine with it.
all the oil manufacturer always VIIs usage as low as possible.. ur kinda rich .. rclxms.gif
joshuaa85
post Aug 24 2012, 03:33 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 24 2012, 03:28 PM)
Malaysian car owner generally very rich. They want the top spec cars with air conditioning, GPS and coffee making machine built in. They will buy expensive Fully Synthetic oil even though we do not have Arctic nor Sahara desert type of ambient temperature for their Protons etc.
thus nowdays FS become a trend. not so rely on ambient temp. 300V or Royal Purple that's far beyond malaysian budget. can go higher mileage since nowdays ppl getting more busier
joshuaa85
post Aug 24 2012, 03:38 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 24 2012, 03:36 PM)
People buying BMW etc I can understand because they are rich. But poor owner who can only afford Kancil?
not say so, if poor man only can afford kancil. then why kancil seem lesser and lesser nowdays XD nod.gif

This post has been edited by joshuaa85: Aug 24 2012, 03:39 PM
joshuaa85
post Aug 24 2012, 03:54 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 24 2012, 03:47 PM)
I think Kancil seem lesser and lesser now days is also because of the maintenance problem, parts spoil need to repair, replace, they even have money to repair but no time to wait, they prefer to buy new cars and do installment again on the new car.... some people also think that, since car will spoil one day, why service so much for it, buy a new one lah.... Only those people who love their car will only do well maintain for their car..

so at here, I think only those people who loves their car will leave some comment and discuss here... non you?
kancil also very old already. some1 also very nice condition. nowday all myvi d . laugh.gif
joshuaa85
post Aug 24 2012, 04:12 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Aug 24 2012, 04:10 PM)
10w30 and 10w40 both semi; which best suit 2 years old car? is there any significant cause if i choose the wrong oil?
what car hah ? initially use which grade of oil ?
joshuaa85
post Aug 27 2012, 01:16 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 26 2012, 09:51 PM)
For some car, it is not about whether it can be used or not but rather, it MUST be used if you want best performance. Like I say, use what the manual says. Isuzu manual transmission is a good example.
do. isuzu use engine oil as gear oil. but i am curious. should be no problem since gear oil enviroment is much friendly to the lubricant.

i also wan try this. ususally 80W90 is consider as thick oil. if compare to engine oil. can be try . no harm

Added on August 27, 2012, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Aug 27 2012, 12:45 PM)
honda city, i think honda's semi is 5w30 if not mistaken..
oh well , 5W30 or lower would be better. 10W40 is abit thick for HCT. go for 5W30

Added on August 27, 2012, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Aug 27 2012, 12:37 PM)
The higher %sulphated ash is better or lower?
Guys, can u plz help to clarify on this.

lower is the best, but is more on diesel engine oil.
gasoline is not much related if you're driving a car.

This post has been edited by joshuaa85: Aug 27 2012, 01:21 PM
joshuaa85
post Aug 28 2012, 06:21 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(thermox686 @ Aug 28 2012, 04:05 PM)
Agree with u

based on my experience,

Most famous lubricant oil company are very strict with the used on base oil. even from same group of base oil, there are a large gap in term of quality of the finished product. That why some big company, sell the product at higher price to cover the cost of raw material (not talking about marketing, selling brand n etc).

just my 2 cent.. wink.gif
if we talking about base oil.. there can be ranging from 50SN to 500 SN or even bright stock.
joshuaa85
post Aug 30 2012, 08:37 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 29 2012, 08:38 PM)
Just a silly question.
Since we Malaysian drivers do not need to look at the winter viscosity, why don't we just use monograde EO ?
i am curious 10W40 will cause flat teppet sound ....
i suspecting about u are getting fake oil / snake oil ! shakehead.gif
normally low visco oil like 5W20 or 0W20 does give this sounds. but never on 40 weight oil
which ride you are ?
joshuaa85
post Aug 30 2012, 08:54 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 30 2012, 08:46 PM)
I get the ticking sound all the time in my car. No harm done so far. Was noisy when I was running 40 weight, still noisy when I run 30 weight and same with 20.

Best to get a UOA done to see if there is unusual cam follower wear, that's all.
basically will not harm ur engine , if EO is ok.
normally the sound appear if using lighter oil
the sound also very subjective, some people felt just nothing . but some people felt their engine likely to failed.
joshuaa85
post Aug 31 2012, 08:52 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 30 2012, 09:59 PM)
Very unlikely gua... I bought it from LM dealer leh...
My ride is Corolla 1.3L (M), 1986.
Still the stock engine.
normally the sound just during warm up only ?.. does feel lost power or somehow ? if yes, please change ur engine oil and re-monitor again . dealer also can sell crappy oil , maybe dead stock , means more than 2 or 3 years
joshuaa85
post Aug 31 2012, 07:07 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 31 2012, 03:30 PM)
Yup, only a few minutes after engine started.
No power loss compared to previous EO.
oh well, previously also using LM 10W40 ?
or 1st time use ? if yes, pls change to regular oil that you're using

0.0495sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:43 PM