sengasdf
post Mar 16 2014, 10:31 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Mar 11 2014, 03:21 PM)
Dear Sifu,

any engine oil recommend for suzuki swift (2nd gen) mileage approx 26000
, suggestion to increase fuel consumption if possible.
currently FC 9.5/L , 90% road 10% highway, 50% jam 50% smooth
ZC series? I suggest 5w-30 fully syn
Quazacolt
post Mar 16 2014, 11:45 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Mar 16 2014, 06:56 PM)
Well it is up to you to figure if the increased corrosion is worth the better drive. To me at least, baulk rings were cheaper than gear sets so going for GL-6 type spec was a no brainer. But mind you I supervise a team of experienced diesel fitters, mechanics and automotive machinists, so labour is on the cheap side if you buy them a slab of piss tongue.gif

I generally don't want to experiment too much these days and thus go for a "fit for purpose" oil and then assess it from there, but don't let that stop you from experimenting though.

Generally if you engage the clutch while moving, your input shaft will receive no power, thus you can generally figure out if it is an input or output issue. If the input shaft is the issue the first things I'd look at are;

1) Main bearing
2) Thrust bearing
3) Tolerances
4) Wear
5) Lubrication

You can get to most of these when you replace the clutch. The lubrication for spline the input shaft is usually moly grease that is applied during tranny assembly where the clutch meets the spline. Also a bad alignment of the clutch can cause such issues as well.
aye much thanks for the info bro notworthy.gif

in the worst case scenario, would the neither input/output shafts requires full gb replacement? personally id like to stick with what i have but i'm kinda at the mercy of proton so eh.
from what you're saying, the brighter side of things would be the input shaft to go and i can at least get to it by clutch replacement eh? which doesn't seem like a whole gb is required.

if that's the case then there's a ray of hope to my problems laugh.gif
philipanda
post Mar 21 2014, 10:16 PM

66 posts

Brand: Honda
Oil Type : 5w-30
Price : RM85 (4ltr)

Brand: Tesco fully
Oil Type : 5w-40 Full Synthetic
Price : RM90 (4ltr)

Brand: Mobil
Oil Type : 0w-50 Full Synthetic
Price : RM149 (4ltr)
Feedback : performance improved, engine responsive, higher fc due to right foot for speed as engine feel superb smooth

Brand: Total Quartz
Oil Type : 5w-40
Price : RM149 (5ltr)
Feedback : Nice oil, almost on par with Mobil. but not only pass 2k. update later

eager to try shell HX7 and Castrol Semi and Fully drool.gif drool.gif
ACURARSX
post Apr 2 2014, 03:39 PM

Brand: Prince Lubricants
Oil Type : 5w-40
Price : RM229 (4ltr)
jerrymouse
post Apr 12 2014, 03:58 PM

114 posts

Came across this engine oil brand when I sent my car for servicing.

Brand: Penrite
Oil type: EVERYDAY PLUS 10W-40 (Semi Syn.)
Price: RM135 - 5 little

So far I found the review of this Brand is good and even have a comparison with other manufacturer's product (vs Royal Purple).

FB link:
https://www.facebook.com/penriteoilmalaysia...?type=1&theater

So far engine idling sound is quieter and feel smoother while accelerating (previously using MOTUL) , will need to past 1k mileage first to comment further.
Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2014, 12:19 AM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

looks like shell ultra is oem'ing from pennzoil:
http://paultan.org/2014/04/11/new-shell-he...ltra-launched/a

http://www.shell.com/global/products-servi...e/about-us.html
We have a portfolio of world-class brands across a wide range of lubricants applications

Shell has market-leading lubricants brands across a number of applications or categories, including heavy duty motor oils, passenger car motor oils, process oils, other automotive oils, hydraulic fluids, general industrial oils, industrial engine oils and greases.  Each brand has a number of different formulations. Shell’s portfolio of lubricant brands includes Shell Rimula, Shell Helix, Shell Rotella, Shell Advance, Pennzoil, Quaker State, Formula Shell, Shell Gadus, Shell Tellus and Shell Spirax.

Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2014, 12:21 AM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Apr 12 2014, 03:58 PM)
Came across this engine oil brand when I sent my car for servicing.

Brand: Penrite
Oil type: EVERYDAY PLUS 10W-40 (Semi Syn.)
Price: RM135 - 5 little

So far I found the review of this Brand is good and even have a comparison with other manufacturer's product (vs Royal Purple).

FB link:
https://www.facebook.com/penriteoilmalaysia...?type=1&theater

So far engine idling sound is quieter and feel smoother while accelerating (previously using MOTUL) , will need to past 1k mileage first to comment further.
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...anyName=penrite

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...andName=penrite

please post thorough UOA (used oil analysis) or data/spec/technical sheets for your EO especially when they may be misleading being compared against motul/royal purple. those are big claims without any basis btw:
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...anyName%3Dmotul

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...oyal%2520purple
jerrymouse
post Apr 14 2014, 10:28 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 14 2014, 12:21 AM)
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...anyName=penrite

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...andName=penrite

please post thorough UOA (used oil analysis) or data/spec/technical sheets for your EO especially when they may be misleading being compared against motul/royal purple. those are big claims without any basis btw:
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...anyName%3Dmotul

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...oyal%2520purple
Hi Quazacolt,

do you mean if a particular EO brand is not listed under UOA , it could be fake oil? Or perhaps UOA only show EO that is available in US since Penrite is from Aus? I can't find Liqui Moly either from the UOA website link.

Thanks for the reply smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2014, 10:53 AM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Apr 14 2014, 10:28 AM)
Hi Quazacolt,

do you mean if a particular EO brand is not listed under UOA , it could be fake oil? Or perhaps UOA only show EO that is available in US since Penrite is from Aus?  I can't find Liqui Moly either from the UOA website link.

Thanks for the reply smile.gif
didn't mention anything about fake, just that making such claims against established brands that's certified by API (do understand what is UOA and API, i even mentioned the full wordings of UOA doh.gif ) is of bad taste.

Also liqui moly was listed on API prior to 2010/2011 iinm, later on they just don't bother paying the fee to API to get new certifications, in which i have moved on from LM semi synthetics and on to other brands' full synthetics smile.gif

put it this way: API is a certification body that can prove that the engine oil meets certain standards compared to what engine oil makers/sellers claim.
i'd be thrilled if the german/euro http://www.acea.be/ ACEA can publish their certification listing/standards publicly (do correct me if i'm wrong, and provide me links of their listing if possible) so i can actually look into the likes of liqui moly once again smile.gif
jerrymouse
post Apr 14 2014, 12:03 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 14 2014, 10:53 AM)
didn't mention anything about fake, just that making such claims against established brands that's certified by API (do understand what is UOA and API, i even mentioned the full wordings of UOA doh.gif ) is of bad taste.

Also liqui moly was listed on API prior to 2010/2011 iinm, later on they just don't bother paying the fee to API to get new certifications, in which i have moved on from LM semi synthetics and on to other brands' full synthetics smile.gif

put it this way: API is a certification body that can prove that the engine oil meets certain standards compared to what engine oil makers/sellers claim.
i'd be thrilled if the german/euro http://www.acea.be/ ACEA can publish their certification listing/standards publicly (do correct me if i'm wrong, and provide me links of their listing if possible) so i can actually look into the likes of liqui moly once again smile.gif
I am using LM semi syn on my other car at the moment but since you mentioned they didn't acquire new certification from API, would it still be safe to use? The reason I am still using LM rather than other EO (Mobil1, ENEOS, Petronas, Motul) is because I felt my engine rev smoother and engine still feel lively even after clocking 5k mileage. One thing bother me is why there is no authorized LM dealer in malaysia since the product have quite a number of positive feedback from car user. hmm.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2014, 12:46 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Apr 14 2014, 12:03 PM)
I am using LM semi syn on my other car at the moment but since you mentioned they didn't acquire new certification from API, would it still be safe to use? The reason I am still using LM rather than other EO (Mobil1, ENEOS, Petronas, Motul) is because I felt my engine rev smoother and engine still feel lively even after clocking 5k mileage. One thing bother me is why there is no authorized LM dealer in malaysia since the product have quite a number of positive feedback from car user.  hmm.gif
it's probably still safe to use since LM is among the larger european engine oil maker, and they still have european certifications done, which sadly isn't easily accessible to the public sad.gif
it's only on my personal experience that i prefer something that's absolutely trial and proven with solid lab data and certifications, and of course full synthetic base stocks which LM full synthetics didn't seem so special compared to the competition.

on my personal experience LM semi synthetic tends to bog down around the 5-6k km mark, (torco tr5 a bit sooner)

as for local dealer, no idea on that. maybe the germans didn't see any fitting candidate to extend their presence over here.
iskazulka
post Apr 16 2014, 04:43 PM

62 posts

tesco oil? davidke20
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 16 2014, 05:09 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

started using Torco SR1 for my JB DET engine a couple of months ago...

dang... this thing makes my RPM dancing like its on LSD! lighter RPMs where i can bust my engine till 8kRPM like nothing....

then came that day where i blew my head gasket... after fixing i went back to SR5 and the feeling is not the same... for now i need to monitor my EO and if everything is ok again i will sure to fill my engine with SR1.
again.... brows.gif

davidke20
post Apr 16 2014, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Apr 16 2014, 04:43 PM)
tesco oil? davidke20
Simply because it's cheap. No extra function. Engine oil is engine oil. 5k up, it has to be out. Nothing much, nothing less icon_idea.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 18 2014, 02:19 AM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Apr 16 2014, 05:09 PM)
started using Torco SR1 for my JB DET engine a couple of months ago...

dang... this thing makes my RPM dancing like its on LSD! lighter RPMs where i can bust my engine till 8kRPM like nothing....

then came that day where i blew my head gasket... after fixing i went back to SR5 and the feeling is not the same... for now i need to monitor my EO and if everything is ok again i will sure to fill my engine with SR1.
again.... brows.gif
hehe no chance try SR1 on the 4B10 yet, since i already can't wait to try Motul's 300v 0w20 drool.gif

btw you meant TR5? SR5 is their racing oil wink.gif

too bad i can't go over rev like i do on the iswara since there's fuel cut cry.gif
anarchy2cruo
post Apr 21 2014, 09:43 PM

679 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 18 2014, 02:19 AM)
hehe no chance try SR1 on the 4B10 yet, since i already can't wait to try Motul's 300v 0w20 drool.gif

btw you meant TR5? SR5 is their racing oil wink.gif

too bad i can't go over rev like i do on the iswara since there's fuel cut cry.gif
i saw ur mod list. what the remap had done? cannot eliminate fuel cut?
Quazacolt
post Apr 21 2014, 11:13 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Apr 21 2014, 09:43 PM)
i saw ur mod list. what the remap had done? cannot eliminate fuel cut?
Technically no because no more mapping tables. Instead of fuel cut, it's more like the engine dunno what to do past the rpm your mapping tables defined
anarchy2cruo
post Apr 22 2014, 09:04 AM

679 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 21 2014, 11:13 PM)
Technically no because no more mapping tables. Instead of fuel cut,  it's more like the engine dunno what to do past the rpm your mapping tables defined
i see..so what are the benefits for the remap. got performance improvement? n where had u done the remap? notworthy.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 22 2014, 05:09 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Apr 22 2014, 09:04 AM)
i see..so what are the benefits for the remap. got performance improvement? n where had u done the remap? notworthy.gif
got 1k more rpm of mapping tables lo, until 7k rpm.

can visit LYN inspira thread lo, only 1 guy doing remapping.
anarchy2cruo
post Apr 22 2014, 05:56 PM

679 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 22 2014, 05:09 PM)
got 1k more rpm of mapping tables lo, until 7k rpm.

can visit LYN inspira thread lo, only 1 guy doing remapping.
thanks..
pmed him n its no hope for my Neo CPS to remap. sad.gif

126 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:26 PM