126 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

DcoE
post Aug 9 2012, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Aug 9 2012, 02:18 PM)
10w40, liqui moly or torco
both brand so hard to find in ipoh is not mistaken.

Now i'm using STOP OIL 10w-40 semi and plan change to other brand for next service.

This post has been edited by DcoE: Aug 9 2012, 03:23 PM
wunpeng
post Aug 9 2012, 03:53 PM

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 9 2012, 10:53 AM)
most 10/30 oils are mineral based ke ? ya meh ?
Actually a lot of 10W30 was in SEMI based. You can use it if you are not rev up so high RPM for your car. Especially not more than 4.5K RPM.
ultramaman
post Aug 9 2012, 04:02 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 9 2012, 03:53 PM)
Actually a lot of 10W30 was in SEMI based. You can use it if you are not rev up so high RPM for your car. Especially not more than 4.5K RPM.
? y cannot ?
ThunderGod_Cid
post Aug 9 2012, 04:39 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 02:39 PM)
I don't know which Proton or what year's Proton you are referring to. But I have seen a couple of Proton in present day showroom using 10W30 for ambient temperature up to 40 deg C.
COE themselves. Word from my BLM customers' mouth

Added on August 9, 2012, 4:41 pm
do you any idea that my semi synthetic oils can outperform and OUTLAST most fully synthetic oils in the market?

This post has been edited by ThunderGod_Cid: Aug 9 2012, 04:41 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 9 2012, 04:43 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Aug 9 2012, 04:39 PM)
COE themselves. Word from my BLM customers' mouth
Many of those people know nothing and never read the car manual either. So instead, I pick up the car manual and the manual said to use 10W30. Personally, I would rather trust the car manual than those people.

g3n0c1d3
post Aug 9 2012, 05:15 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

are u sure? i may not know much about the ingredients inside some engine oil but telling that u can only rev not more than 4.5k RPM sounded like plain bull to me.

chemistry
post Aug 9 2012, 05:47 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 10:59 AM)
That is a great mystery as to why we can't use 5W30 but that's what is written in the manual. I would like to know the answer also and until I do, I just stick to what the manual said because I am not a rocket scientist.
Who can write to Proton and ask for an explanation ? rclxms.gif
Later got reply from Proton , says "just follow the manual, don't ask why" laugh.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Aug 9 2012, 06:41 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 04:43 PM)
Many of those people know nothing and never read the car manual either. So instead, I pick up the car manual and the manual said to use 10W30. Personally, I would rather trust the car manual than those people.
they are very 'simple' people
pumpman
post Aug 9 2012, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 05:43 PM)

This is one of the very strange things that I personally have no clue until recently.. My friends driving exora bold , in the manual stated 10w-30, but went to Proton SC , they use 10w-40..

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 9 2012, 07:52 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Aug 9 2012, 07:44 PM)
This is one of the very strange things that I personally have no clue until recently.. My friends driving exora bold , in the manual stated 10w-30, but went to Proton SC , they use 10w-40..
The manaul did say you can, beside 10W30, to use 10W40 thought 10W40 is not the best choice. But you can't use 5W30 rclxub.gif
wunpeng
post Aug 9 2012, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 9 2012, 04:02 PM)
? y cannot ?
For a sincere question, you want your car last longer or just a few years? Actually if your car got engine oil, no matter you change it or not, your car still can move, just the life of the car engine can last longer or short. If you like to REV, choose higher Viscosity engine oil is help to protect your engine, lower viscosity is for economic use because it is thin and light, your engine can run very easier compare to higher viscosity engine oil.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 9 2012, 09:24 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 9 2012, 09:05 PM)
For a sincere question, you want your car last longer or just a few years? Actually if your car got engine oil, no matter you change it or not, your car still can move, just the life of the car engine can last longer or short. If you like to REV, choose higher Viscosity engine oil is help to protect your engine, lower viscosity is for economic use because it is thin and light, your engine can run very easier compare to higher viscosity engine oil.
I have done 1/2 million km with Mineral. Anyone can do that without needing to be a rocket scientist or excessively paranoid over simple thing like engine oil. All need to do is stick strictly to the car manual.
Quazacolt
post Aug 9 2012, 11:38 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

viscosity != engine protection. i think we've made that clear lol
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 10 2012, 03:52 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hmmm.... Been running semi-syn so far and have took my car to at least 10 genting attacks in the past year full rev all the way. No problems even with the piston rings eventhough its an 11-year old engine :hmm;
ultramaman
post Aug 10 2012, 08:25 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 07:52 PM)
The manaul did say you can, beside 10W30, to use 10W40 thought 10W40 is not the best choice. But you can't use 5W30  rclxub.gif
I argued this with two sc, they said , cannot be 10/30 all campro based engines ,they pour 10/40. When i showed them d book, they kept quiet. So, i didnt go back to them....
I finally found one authorized center, that, the moment thry saw my car, they said...this cfe engine, and cps , must use 10/30. If not long run problem. Dah dua kali service dah, pakai 10/30, 10k oci. Car runs well, though starting 12th, might need to slow down....cant risk the summons by d new system already...

Added on August 10, 2012, 8:31 amFor my old gen2 running vanilla campro, the rec oil is 20/50,
For cps and cfe iss 10/30
Not sure for iafm, but my moms blm, i pour 10/40,liqui moly.

This post has been edited by ultramaman: Aug 10 2012, 08:31 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 10 2012, 08:32 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 10 2012, 08:25 AM)
I argued this with two sc, they said , cannot be 10/30 all campro based engines ,they pour 10/40. When i showed them d book, they kept quiet. So, i didnt go back to them....
I finally found one authorized center, that, the moment thry saw my car, they said...this cfe engine, and cps , must use 10/30. If not long run problem. Dah dua kali service dah, pakai 10/30, 10k oci. Car runs well, though starting 12th, might need to slow down....cant risk the summons by d new system already...
haha. We in same boat. I know I am not a rocket scientist nor a automotive engineers so instead just follow what the manual said. But there are many others who are either ignorant or think they are Einstein so use other oils instead.

BTW, did that mechanic said what sort of long run problem?

g3n0c1d3
post Aug 10 2012, 08:34 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

waaa.. exora bold that good ah?
ultramaman
post Aug 10 2012, 08:45 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 10 2012, 08:32 AM)
haha. We in same boat. I know I am not a rocket scientist nor a automotive engineers so instead just follow what the manual said. But there are many others who are either ignorant or think they are Einstein so use other oils instead.

BTW, did that mechanic said what sort of long run problem?
They did not lah pulak..

Exora bold is dat good. I've no oil leaks, no issues, on d highway, running at 140, d car doesnt feel like its at speed. U only realize ur speeding when u start flashing others to get out of d way
ThunderGod_Cid
post Aug 10 2012, 11:36 AM

158 posts

Do you know that a Supra's recommended engine oil is xw-30?
wunpeng
post Aug 10 2012, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Aug 10 2012, 11:36 AM)
Do you know that a Supra's recommended engine oil is xw-30?
I don't know about that... Sorry about that... Since if you found the oil suitable for the car, you can go ahead with it... Since Oil is just phamacy for the car, anywhere still need to follow what the foreman(Doctor) Said...

Go back to the point again, every oil content if really same as the bottle written, everything is fine...

126 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:01 PM