HTC Desire Official Thread V2, FAQs on First Page
pluginbaby
Jun 3 2010, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 3 2010, 05:07 PM) No wor, I dont own Iphone as well. The reason why I said Iphone OS is better is because its easier to nagivate around the menu etc. Afterall, its a phone ma. Android feel a bit like PC, that if you got the time to play with it and it can be accomodating. The main weakness of Iphone OS is Flash and Android is gonna have Flash support. Nothing is perfect. Just own preference. The screen is really nice though. Not to mention its thinner than I imagine. I wonder how hard it is to slot into your pocket like some forumer claim to be. iphones are into easy peasy UI and having that mac stereotype into it.. android is intergrating mobile experience, advanced intergration (widgets) and intergration of google services... i go for android cuz i prefer customization and having my own touch to the device.. dont we all prefer that? i do think iphone users too hopes that their UI can be customized greatly and having widgets on it.. but we they decide all that.. its Steve Job's who is going to decide.. This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jun 3 2010, 05:13 PM
andrekua
Jun 3 2010, 05:15 PM
Yeah, one of the reason that attract me to Android is to see how OPENSOURCE would change phone computing forever. Android is still in infancy stage but already demolish WinMo. Its already proven flexible compared to Symbian or Iphone OS.
Now just need it to mature and spread its wings.
r47z
Jun 3 2010, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 3 2010, 05:07 PM) No wor, I dont own Iphone as well. The reason why I said Iphone OS is better is because its easier to nagivate around the menu etc. Afterall, its a phone ma. Android feel a bit like PC, that if you got the time to play with it and it can be accomodating. The main weakness of Iphone OS is Flash and Android is gonna have Flash support. Nothing is perfect. Just own preference. The screen is really nice though. Not to mention its thinner than I imagine. I wonder how hard it is to slot into your pocket like some forumer claim to be. no doubt iphone OS is good or better, besides the lack of multitasking (no pun intended). But the lack of control over the OS makes the it seems weaker. "If we did not act, we faced a draconian future. Where one man, one company, one carrier was the future"
linkz
Jun 3 2010, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 3 2010, 05:12 PM) iphones are into easy peasy UI and having that mac stereotype into it.. android is intergrating mobile experience, advanced intergration (widgets) and intergration of google services... i go for android cuz i prefer customization and having my own touch to the device.. dont we all prefer that? i do think iphone users too hopes that their UI can be customized greatly and having widgets on it.. but we they decide all that.. its Steve Job's who is going to decide.. Agreed!!
aquila_te
Jun 3 2010, 05:23 PM
Hi, just joined the Desire team.
jslut
Jun 3 2010, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 3 2010, 02:02 PM) hmm.. your options is totally different... when i go into keyboard settings i have options like keyboard types keyboard language text input tutorial user dictionary... that's all.. actually what's your question? lol Added on June 3, 2010, 2:04 pmI don't think it'll leave any files in the phone memory but some apps that use the SD card sometimes leave some folders of the app but you can just delete it... not a biggie... don't worry about cleaning up, it's not a PC.. lol.. it should be fine hmm, maybe coz mine Desire is asian n urs is uk??\ well i just found out an app called Extended Control where u can control the phone settings in just an app. i'm trying to find an alternative since i can't access paid version of the market
z3r0717
Jun 3 2010, 05:48 PM
even though mine is uk but the difference won't be so much... maybe just language packs, 1 or 2 apps, etc... no biggie
linkz
Jun 3 2010, 05:52 PM

yep... all i wan now is to get my hands on ur uk kb.... how a?
skittlesz07
Jun 3 2010, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 3 2010, 05:55 PM) For those using Handcent SMS, when a new SMS comes in, you will receive 2 notifications at the top, yes? How to disable the original SMS application and use Handcent SMS from here onwards? how was it using Handcent SMS...is it ok??? coz im planning to dl it tonight
z3r0717
Jun 3 2010, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(linkz @ Jun 3 2010, 05:52 PM) yep... all i wan now is to get my hands on ur uk kb.... how a? erm... what is it you want from the uk kb? only extra the compact qwerty which i find it not really useful QUOTE(skittlesz07 @ Jun 3 2010, 05:59 PM) how was it using Handcent SMS...is it ok??? coz im planning to dl it tonight  dude, try it yourself then you'll know lo.. app is free, don't like then uninstall loh....
maliqu3
Jun 3 2010, 06:11 PM

is it true if the package only includea 2gb if we buy from maxis? Isnt it supposed to be 4gb?
skittlesz07
Jun 3 2010, 06:14 PM

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 3 2010, 07:05 PM) erm... what is it you want from the uk kb? only extra the compact qwerty which i find it not really useful dude, try it yourself then you'll know lo.. app is free, don't like then uninstall loh.... thanx m8.....will do try it tonight.....but one more question....we uninstalled it at marketplace itself right???
reiki_longtime
Jun 3 2010, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(skittlesz07 @ Jun 3 2010, 06:14 PM) thanx m8.....will do try it tonight.....but one more question....we uninstalled it at marketplace itself right???  Yeah its possible to do it from the market. Just go to the app page (not tab) & you can see the uninstall button.
edmundlah
Jun 3 2010, 06:24 PM

Guys.. Sorry, need to ask if I want to take the Maxis plan what else do I need to pay beside the rm1499 for the Desire? Any upfront deposit or advance payment? Many thanks!
irenic
Jun 3 2010, 06:27 PM
just rm1499..
skittlesz07
Jun 3 2010, 06:38 PM

QUOTE(reiki_longtime @ Jun 3 2010, 07:22 PM) Yeah its possible to do it from the market. Just go to the app page (not tab) & you can see the uninstall button. allright will try....thanx a lot guys
z3r0717
Jun 3 2010, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Jun 3 2010, 06:11 PM) is it true if the package only includea 2gb if we buy from maxis? Isnt it supposed to be 4gb? yes........ Though it should include 4GB but it seems telcos that bring in only include 2GB because Telstra in Aus also provide 2GB only.. To me, 2GB or 4GB , no difference.. in the end, you'll go and buy at least 8GB and above because you won't have enough space if it's 2/4GB
edmundlah
Jun 3 2010, 07:39 PM

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 3 2010, 06:27 PM) just rm1499..  Thanks for the info!
kokifung
Jun 3 2010, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 3 2010, 06:27 PM) just rm1499..  hi there, i also wanna ask something.. how maxis charge? value package then internet service wat else? = RM 50+ RM (??? mb price) and wat else? how they count?
keithkeat
Jun 3 2010, 08:28 PM

hi all, i wonder how i can take out all the fb phone contact..... i think my phone contact is mix with the fb phone contact(that i don;t know where it come from)