HTC Desire Official Thread V2, FAQs on First Page

hihihehe
post Jun 13 2010, 06:39 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 13 2010, 07:15 PM)
Does HTC Desire only come in 1 colour in Malaysia? I hear some markets got a Silver version.
like u said,some..which i believe 1 or 2
hihihehe
post Jun 14 2010, 05:00 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(DrJackal @ Jun 14 2010, 06:48 PM)
i did a brief google search, our own apparently does not support full multitouch , only pinchzoom

what i meant about the keyboard is, for example u tap and hold letter 'P' and then tap 'Q' with another finger. A multitouch supported keyboard shall register "PQ" instead of "P" only.

maybe that's why u can't multitouch in guitar solo ?
yup..the multitouch for htc desire and N1 quite limited..
at 1st N1 dun have multitouch but end up google release an update to support multitouch for it...
hihihehe
post Jun 14 2010, 08:41 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(yeeeeko @ Jun 14 2010, 10:22 PM)
noticed that our desire keyboard not as sensitive as iphone keyboard. If use index finger to type no problem, but if use thumb to text, sometimes do not register esp when reaching the a over the far left.
no doubt about that..cant compare with iphone touch screen
hihihehe
post Jun 14 2010, 09:24 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 14 2010, 10:08 PM)
thought Galaxy has higher specs and all but personal preference, don't like the design and the UI....
Design like iPhone wannabe, UI almost the same as vanilla UI just change a bit...
they are so lazy la.... doh.gif
i think galaxy s should be the iphone 4..maybe samsung purposely "copy" from apple and show them what the new iphone should be laugh.gif
not the iphone 4 from apple..lol
hihihehe
post Jun 15 2010, 11:50 AM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 15 2010, 01:35 PM)
I seriously wonder when are we going to get Froyo because there are so many things I want to install but I'm running out of space. It's been a long while since I wish for a larger capacity, HDD also 2TB now! GO FROYO GO!
if the apps u installed nvr updated to allowed move to sd card, u get froyo also quite useless
hihihehe
post Jun 15 2010, 02:30 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Jun 15 2010, 04:18 PM)
Y

Yeah it's a bummer isn't it. I am rather disappointed that google's implementation is as such, cant install into sd. And surprisingly, their updates are rather slow. I wanna support android but the way things are moving along most probably im going back to iphone. I want lots of apps n fun on my phone n android is not delivering.
it need to depends on the developer too..
if developer nvr let their apps to be stored in sd then the only way is to root..
but i believe many large size apps will be updated or allowed to store in sd
hihihehe
post Jun 15 2010, 03:04 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 15 2010, 04:49 PM)
Yea la, 2.2 is already out but not here yet only. When it does, the ability to save to SD is there for us. But each application developer must also make their app compatible with such feature. A lot of them has started developing so, just that we dont have the 2.2 platform only now.
yup..it highly depends on the developer..well, if some developers found out their apps not working properly from sd card then they will not bother to let user store into sd card...

some things like widgets,etc is advised store at internal memory than sd...
hihihehe
post Jun 15 2010, 08:33 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(Xerone @ Jun 15 2010, 10:32 PM)
It just came to my attention that the internal ROM is used to store downloaded apps, not the SD. The ROM is only around 550+ mb. There is something called Apps2SD which frees up the ROM into the SD but there are disadvantages, mainly the app in the SD being slower to load. Looks like we will need to monitor the ROM usage too.
thats why u need a better memory card(at least class 6 and above) if u wan store apps into sd card
hihihehe
post Jun 15 2010, 08:47 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(Xerone @ Jun 15 2010, 10:43 PM)
How to check what class mine is? And also does ROM affect speed or RAM? Or does speed only depend on Snapdragon?
u using the memory card from the package right?if yes then class 2

ROM is a storing place for apps..store ur apss into ROM or internal memory usually faster than memory card..
like iphone...
hihihehe
post Jun 16 2010, 12:49 AM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jun 16 2010, 02:42 AM)
sorry im noob to android system. planning to get this phone. which place give the best offer? can it easily upgraded to 2.2 froyo? hows the battery life? hate charging so frequently. my bb last 3 days in a single charge.
sign with maxis can get best offer
froyo havent release yet
depends on ur usage for battery life..average 2 days for normal usage...

QUOTE(aquila_te @ Jun 16 2010, 02:43 AM)
I was looking thru the manual and I was wondering whether our phone can support microSDHC? I am not sure whether it was discussed in earlier posts?
not sure but i think micro sd and sdhc diff right?
hihihehe
post Jun 16 2010, 01:01 AM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jun 16 2010, 02:59 AM)
so users cannot update to froyo themselves? like iphone can download & update your mobile device. sorry really...really..really anroid noob here.
froyo havent release yet..
if released, u will get notification of it and download over the air
hihihehe
post Jun 16 2010, 08:04 PM

13,786 posts

google will having a conference with launching of motorola droid x. many ppl expect froyo will be release by that time i guess
hihihehe
post Jun 18 2010, 11:16 AM

13,786 posts

btw,even though the android 2.2 has been released, the maxis set still need to wait too.the froyo mayb release to Europe version of htc desire then only others
hihihehe
post Jun 18 2010, 11:49 AM

13,786 posts

just forget about 23rd june or change it to motorola droid x announcement tongue.gif

1 of the user that email htc
Dear Brendan,

Hi Brendan, Thank you for contacting HTC. We appreciate your support for our products. I apologize for all the rumors that are coming out of the internet. There is no truth about the June 23, 2010 release of the FROYO. We are actually considering an upgrade for some models of our phones, including the Desire, to FROYO, but we are still analyzing the impact this will have on the user experience. We will announce a full list of phones and dates once we are closer to launching the upgrades. Currently, we are working closely with Google and our other partners to ensure we have the earliest access to everything we need to provide a complete and solid Sense experience on FROYO. For future updates, please visit our website at http://www.htc.com/au. Please feel free to contact us again if you have any future questions. You may give us a call at 1300 482 482. Our business hours are from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm SYDNEY Time, from Mondays to Saturdays and closed on Public Holidays. Thank you and have a great day!

To send a reply to this message or let me know I have successfully answered your question log in to our ContactUs site using your email address and your ticket number 10AUCW25ENA000198.

Sincerely,

Cielo

HTC

hihihehe
post Jun 19 2010, 10:45 AM

13,786 posts

N1 from South Korea consider as pre-release of Froyo..although not finalised yet but still that version is consider stable de...
Droid 2 can easily comes with froyo because it using vanilla android UI.basically it just same with N1 that no need put motoblur,htc sense,whatever UI on top of vanilla UI..

i would say froyo will not coming so soon to htc desire..just my 2 cents and guessing.don take it seriously

Added on June 19, 2010, 10:47 am
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 19 2010, 07:05 AM)
really a? where got ppl say?
if u use it like mad(kasar).
everything also can be broke if u nvr take care of it..
but even z3r0's htc dream with that nipple also nvr fall out..

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Jun 19 2010, 10:47 AM
hihihehe
post Jun 19 2010, 12:20 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jun 19 2010, 01:21 PM)
why are the replies from HTC email posted in here alll different2 answer eh? i tot it would at least have almost the same answer altho different region
coz each region has a different sets.
htc deisre consist of europe set, asia set,australia set,etc
my guess will be europe set will at least get the earliest update,then australia or asia need to wait...
hihihehe
post Jun 19 2010, 07:08 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(johnsontys @ Jun 19 2010, 08:14 PM)
Hi guys,

I have  some questions which need your help greatly

1. Is there any way we could lock the desire to just use 3G ("G") or Edge ("E") and not 3.5G ("H"). I was reliably informed that having the phone to constantly switch between these network drained the battery a lot

2. How do you change the album art - I notice that some of the album art of certain songs are incorrect and I can't find a way to change the picture

3. Do you normally charge your phone when it has gone down to a certain level or it does not matter? Is it advisable to constantly charge your phone?

4. What is the most efficient way to copy the old micro-SD card to the new-micro SD card? Is it copy all to a temp folder in the PC and then re-transfer it to the new micro-SD? If that is the case, will it copy all the hidden files as well?

Thanks guys
1. of coz cannot..if u r in 3g area then u get 3g or 3.5g.else u get E..or u just turn off 3g and use 2g for all the time..and i don think it will drain ur battery a lot...jsut a normal changing which every mobile phone also experience it

hihihehe
post Jun 19 2010, 08:06 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 19 2010, 09:43 PM)
i think u can off 3g mode and just use the 2g line all the time.. the phone wont search for 3g line.. u can switch it on when u wanna use 3g line.. right?
yup u can..thats what i meant if u wan use 2g for all the time..
why don just let it be.if u at 3g area then u get 3g..else return back to 2g
hihihehe
post Jun 19 2010, 08:21 PM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 19 2010, 10:11 PM)
well.. the question was to conserve battery.. so to do this, u can stick to 2G and prevent the phone from constantly searching for a 3G line..
hmm..i don c any heavy consumption for the battery if u switch to 3g. but maybe the reason behind is when u sync the data at background(facestream,feeds,weather,etc) consume more?
just my 2 cents

i am using my iphone with 3g on always and compare with 2g,the battery life still the same..
so i bet other phones also the same except u using 4G like htc evo...

just my 2cents
hihihehe
post Jun 19 2010, 08:44 PM

13,786 posts

mayb..so i just answer him for what i think

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0405sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled