HTC Desire Official Thread V2, FAQs on First Page

awiekupo
post Jun 3 2010, 09:06 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Jun 3 2010, 09:04 PM)
For 99.9% clarity, u should go for clear type instead of matte type...
darn.. should have follow my instinct.. last minute change to matte type.. ok bro.. i try order clear type this time.. thx again.. wink.gif
awiekupo
post Jun 3 2010, 09:36 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Jun 3 2010, 09:13 PM)
maybe can order from me this time..lol tongue.gif
ugpm bro.. got promotion ka? lai lai can share with rest of desire members here..
awiekupo
post Jun 3 2010, 11:25 PM

1,481 posts

linkz.. i think u should order both just to be safe.. u sure wont like the pixelated one.. huhuh..

Added on June 3, 2010, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(Merang @ Jun 3 2010, 11:11 PM)
Just tried it. Works as expected for me. Also updated today.
how did u guys do the update?
this might be noob question but can all desire user from maxis update it too?

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Jun 3 2010, 11:26 PM
awiekupo
post Jun 4 2010, 12:03 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(linkz @ Jun 3 2010, 11:37 PM)
hmm... wonder if it looks nice on Mirror SP? but i dun wan to wipe the oil on the screen everytime i touch/use it... hmm.gif

the new rom is only available to europe, so those hu bought AP units comes frm euro, so oni they can get the update i think... jus let them be the guine pigs and try it out first... keke brows.gif
mirror arr? might as well just order every type and test it out.. hehehe..

oh ok.. thx.. i just wait for it then.. hehehe.. at first i tot its for everyone .. ekeke..
awiekupo
post Jun 4 2010, 12:19 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:06 AM)
so far havn't tried movies but did tried animes, those 720p quality.. converting to Desire's resolution and mp4 format..
playback is awesome and the quality is top-notch.. no problems in sound delay.. smile.gif
agree.. tested converting to mp4 using Videora convertor if not mistaken and it works well..

I also downloaded+installed doubletwist but not really sure how it works.. can doubletwist really convert file to mp4 format?

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Jun 4 2010, 12:21 AM
awiekupo
post Jun 4 2010, 09:03 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 4 2010, 01:07 AM)
r u 100% positive there is no out of sync issue? wow.. ive tried so many but failed on getting a perfect sync play on my desire.. i even tried so many videos players..

ur using Videora is it? could u share your setup please... thanks in advance smile.gif
err.. i dun think i mention the word 100% positive.. perhaps my definition of works well is just a matter of good picture and acceptable sound.. your definition of 'works well' could be much much higher than me.. biggrin.gif

yup.. just using Videora iPod convertor.. i think i just select 'iPhone' icon during start up and drag the bar for Video & Sound to 'Good' or 'Best' level.. afetr that just next next next all d way.. (tested over Bleach anime video.. tongue.gif)..

Added on June 4, 2010, 9:03 am
QUOTE(VentureLKW @ Jun 4 2010, 07:55 AM)
Thanks for the Rom Link sharing.  rclxm9.gif
Think it should work with malaysia set?? rclxms.gif
you can be the first to try.. hehehe.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Jun 4 2010, 09:03 AM
awiekupo
post Jun 4 2010, 12:16 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(linkz @ Jun 4 2010, 11:14 AM)
nope.. u'll hv to install something call speech to text first i think... ... but i cant seem to find it anywhere now...
It's called Text-To-Speech (TTS)...
awiekupo
post Jun 4 2010, 01:37 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:49 PM)
Was using the Maps function that comes default with the Desire. Noticed that there is no voice navigation function, can someone confirm this?  sad.gif And it seems like when using the direction function, I need to refresh the map manually only then it reflects my updated current location.

Any good GPS navigation apps u guys recommend t
hat can be use on Desire with Android 2.1?? Papago and Igo perhaps?  hmm.gif
Tested igo ady on my desire but the screen appear too small on d screen..

Have yet to try papago but if not mistaken papago dun hv english one.. chinesr language only.. (do correct me if i'm wrong here)
awiekupo
post Jun 5 2010, 06:47 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 5 2010, 09:26 AM)
My findings on the v1.21.405.2 update...

The battery indeed improved a lot!
I had my wifi on and went to sleep. next morning, the battery didn't even drop much..
In the JuicePlotter app, in the graph, the line just went straight, slowly going down....
from midnight 2am to 11am, percentage drop like 1-2% only, of course in standby mode..
when i just got the phone, it drop 20% over the night, and then 5% the minimum, now 1-2%.. rclxm9.gif
thumbup.gif
this is good news
that's a very huge improvement..

i just wondering, is it quite troublesome to do the update? or is it just a matter of downloading & installing apps as what we normally do?
awiekupo
post Jun 5 2010, 07:02 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 5 2010, 06:52 PM)
Nope, easy as peas...
just download and press install.. done..
the phone does it for you
o.ok.. thx again bro..

another thing.. i always tend to overcharge my battery.. like put on charger before sleep.. would this harm the phone? I heard that it is not good to overcharge the phone.. also, how long do u spend to charge the desire battery?.. let say from 20% back to 100%..
awiekupo
post Jun 5 2010, 07:26 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 5 2010, 07:12 PM)
yea, some said overcharging the phone is not good too.. It's like over eating..
from 20%-100% usually takes around an hour to fully charge...
o.ok.. tx again.. i think mine is taking much longer than that (more than an hour).. will run some test to double confirm again..
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 12:55 AM

1,481 posts

agree with qwen.. dats y i bought earlier.. hehehe.. plus, got car charger summore.. ahaks..

n thx all for sharing yr battery charging experience...

awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 02:06 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(hahaboy @ Jun 6 2010, 01:56 AM)
ops... only the booth got free in car charger ? maxis centre also got free in car charger?
nope.. only at promo booth in klcc & limited to first 200 buyers.. no other place...
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 10:44 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 6 2010, 10:17 AM)
me myself have swapped and copied ralevant files such as the preloaded tunes and images into the new card.. btw.. does anyone know how to force an instant backup so that it could be loaded back after reset? in the options, it states there automatically but i dunno when did it ever make a backup.. is there an option to force a backup instantly.. cuz i factory reset and found out the backup folder are empty (just contains null data, not my backup..).. no wonder the backup folder is so small in size..

and if we backup, does it backup also calendar? it is very important for me.. and what 3rd party apps is the best for backup and does it backup the calendar too?
i thought after hard reset the system will prompt u whether u want to load backup from yr memory card?

Added on June 6, 2010, 10:45 am
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 6 2010, 10:11 AM)
to check 3G usage, get an app called 3G watchdog
For mobile and wi-fi network usage , get an app called data counter with the blue earth icon
it's SOFTWARE update, and yes it's official.. only for UK now, SEA soon..
OTA = Over The Air(correct me if i'm wrong)
your phone will let you know or you can manually check at the about phone section in settings
I highly recommend using Call Meter Ng...

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Jun 6 2010, 10:45 AM
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 11:59 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 6 2010, 11:53 AM)
a lil disappointed actually that u can only installed so lil amount of games..
yeah.. n dats y everyone is sooo looking fwd for froyo.. so they can install everything that they wanted.. hahaha..
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 12:45 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 6 2010, 12:36 PM)
hmmm.. if getting lag then try reboot lo.. last time use too much TK then start to get lag...
reboot u mean turn off the phone and turn it on again, rite?
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 01:38 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 6 2010, 01:26 PM)
finally................. update is available!!!!!!

which update bro?
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 06:00 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(koolzuru @ Jun 6 2010, 05:48 PM)
can you trust the sites that offer unlock code for desire?
like this one rclxub.gif

any of you had tried this?
i thought our maxis unit is already unlocked?

btw, here's some article to share... http://androidandme.com/2010/06/news/andro...o-download-now/

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Jun 6 2010, 06:01 PM
awiekupo
post Jun 6 2010, 08:12 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Jun 6 2010, 08:01 PM)
it is in the star variety newspaper at the movie part...  biggrin.gif
if in the star then can try search in their online edition and scan it from there...
awiekupo
post Jun 7 2010, 12:04 AM

1,481 posts

Tested Juice Defender and UltimateJuice today and so far it's working great! Highly recommended for desire fans out there who wanted to get an extra juice from their battery power...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0474sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:39 PM