HTC Desire -Support forum-

myboo_1988
post Jul 5 2010, 03:11 AM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jul 4 2010, 10:18 PM)
You mean SenseUI? I think custom roms doesn't have those. Rooting is double edge sword bro. You lose the SenseUI, but gain full control of the phone. happy.gif

Added on July 4, 2010, 10:21 pm
Very sorry to hear that bro. LAst time with my nokia 5800, I installed an apps that secretly SMS to my secondary phone, the sim card that is different in my phone. So in case the 5800 was stolen, anybody using that phone would send an sms unknowingly to me. That way, I know who is using my phone. I'm not sure if such apps exist in android market, but now that you mention your story, I'm thinking of looking for it.
wah i never know there is such sim like this?where do u get it?

faizdesire
post Jul 15 2010, 11:32 AM

can somebody help me fixing my mms problem???? huhu
iam celcom user and just recently buy htc desire...
cant download and receive mms smoothly as it should....
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
winniechen
post Jul 17 2010, 06:41 PM

95 posts

I asked this on HTC Desire Official Thread but no reply. So, asking it here on this forum, hoping for some answers...

I want to ask how you can use a custom photo as your lock screen wallpaper. I used to be able to do it with my HTC Legend, but can't seem to find it on the Desire.

Some forums I read said that although it's included in brochures, feature list and user manuals, they forgot this feature on the Desire which might be fixed on future updates.

ie. Lock screen wallpaper is different from Home wallpaper.
noprob
post Jul 18 2010, 11:33 PM

1,982 posts

Guys , how to attach a pic contact And how to add contact in fav ? thx
benny888
post Jul 19 2010, 11:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=Reis,Jun 19 2010, 09:14 PM]You were robbed at 3-3:30PM at Masjik Jamek? Was there no one else around? Sorry to hear that man sad.gif I read awhile ago there is a software on Market that you can use to track your phone, we might want to try it.

Btw, just in case anyone faces this problem. Few days ago I noticed my phone could not go to landscape mode properly, it takes a few fling to get into it, and I can never get back to portrait. I thought it was my phone being faulty which upsets me a lot, but after a factory reset everything went fine. After trying to figure out what prompted that I tried calibration again, while holding my phone. Bingo, problem reappeared. Placed it down on a flat surface and did calibration again, and my phone is back to normal.

So, if you're facing problems when tilting the phone, perhaps you can try this. Again Golvin, sorry to hear that sad.gif

[/quote]

It is WaveSecure - is free and worthwhile to install. Once your phone is inserted a new sim card, a password will be requested. If the password is incorrect, the phone will immediately send a message to another number ( which you set earlier ) to inform you another simcard and the number of the phone and its location- is easy to trace then the "new owner"

By the way it is the Number ONE app in the android world - also available for Windows Mobile ( not free )

Added on July 19, 2010, 11:20 am[quote=faizdesire,Jul 15 2010, 11:32 AM]
can somebody help me fixing my mms problem???? huhu
iam celcom user and just recently buy htc desire...
cant download and receive mms smoothly as it should....
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

[/quote

Maybe your settings is wrong. This is for Nexus but is the same for ALL phones:

Celcom APN setting
1) Home -> Menu -> Settings -> Wireless & networks -> Mobile networks -> Access Points Name
2) Menu -> New APN
Enter this
Name : Celcom 3G
APN : celcom3g
MMSC: http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS Proxy : 10.128.1.242
MMS Port : 8080

Added on July 19, 2010, 11:26 am[quote=noprob,Jul 18 2010, 11:33 PM]
Guys , how to attach a pic contact And how to add contact in fav ? thx

[/quote]

People : Go to the contact , select edit contact, Tap the camera image at the top left corner - a popup message " Select Photo".
You must of course put the photos in your card , any folder will do. The Gallery will auto detect all photos

Add favorite : People - add group - select favorites - add contact to group

Added on July 19, 2010, 11:27 am[quote=oc_yee,Jul 5 2010, 01:04 AM]
if i want upgrade my memory to 16gb is it juz copy all the data from old memory card to new memory card then slot in the 16gb ?

[/quote]

YES - just copy over

Added on July 19, 2010, 11:34 am[quote=myboo_1988,Jul 4 2010, 10:03 PM]
wanna ask sifu here..after root desire still getting htc sense?

Added on July 4, 2010, 10:09 pmanyone can enlighten me with Froyo 2.2 htc sense rom?

[/quote]

The benefits of Froyo ??? read my personal experience here on one of the earlier release FRF72 - you will want to root your phone immediate and upgrade to the unofficial ones available on the net :

http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/06/22/froy...-2-build-frf72/

Added on July 19, 2010, 11:35 am[quote=snakevenom,Jul 4 2010, 10:45 PM]
Guys need advice here just bought ap set desire but startup with T-Mobile branding. Is it advisable to flash it to Asia stock Rom or the generic UK Rom? And wat is the easiest method to create gold card? Thanks.

[/quote]

This is the BEST site to follow if you want to root ; instructions are clear and simple.

http://android.modaco.com/content/htc-desi...o-1-21-support/

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 19 2010, 11:35 AM
snakevenom
post Jul 19 2010, 11:53 AM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

Thanks for the link benny888, just got confused about these part:
"Make your microSD card into a goldcard by following these instructions
Copy the 'update.zip' file to your microSD. Do NOT rename it."

is it saying copy the update.zip file to the goldcard?

noprob
post Jul 19 2010, 12:05 PM

1,982 posts

July 19, 2010, 11:20 am
People : Go to the contact , select edit contact, Tap the camera image at the top left corner - a popup message " Select Photo".
You must of course put the photos in your card , any folder will do. The Gallery will auto detect all photos

Add favorite : People - add group - select favorites - add contact to group

Hmm .. i already try tapping the camera image .. but notting happen , no popup msg came out (and yes my card got photos ready)

under add contact to grp , it only shows contact fr phone and google link ... None fr my SIM (i got 417 contact in SIM , 30 in phone , 200 fr google )
valentinonkk
post Jul 19 2010, 02:00 PM

317 posts

I m planning to get a Desire fr maxis, but stil struggling btw iphone 3gs or Desire.

However, just to check:
a) Is GPS free in Desire? Preinstalled?
b) R there enuf apps for Desire as compare to iphone?
c) Is gaming the weakest link for Desire?

Wat do u guys think the strongest point of Desire over Iphone?
KayK
post Jul 19 2010, 02:16 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(valentinonkk @ Jul 19 2010, 02:00 PM)
I m planning to get a Desire fr maxis, but stil struggling btw iphone 3gs or Desire.

However, just to check:

a) nope, i dont think so...
b) overall apps, apple still has the most, and currently even there are plenty of options for free apps in the market...depending on what you need, i would say currently the free apps on the android is sufficient for me...besides you can root to access paid apps...
c) i have to agree, but then i'm not using my Desire for it's gaming prowess...

instead of asking what the strongest point, what the main reason you are you getting the iphone or desire?
the desire / android strongest point may or may not be a positive for you...
benny888
post Jul 19 2010, 02:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Jul 19 2010, 11:53 AM)
Thanks for the link benny888, just got confused about these part:
"Make your microSD card into a goldcard by following these instructions
Copy the 'update.zip' file to your microSD. Do NOT rename it."

is it saying copy the update.zip file to the goldcard?
Read the instructions again . To create the gold card, he has given you a link which is at : http://android.modaco.com/content/general-...ing-a-goldcard/

After you converted your sim card to a gold card, then only you copy the update.zip to the card - this zip file will unroot the phone

Added on July 19, 2010, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(valentinonkk @ Jul 19 2010, 02:00 PM)

However, just to check:

1. GPS in Desire depend on 3G login to signals - so you will have to pay for the data charges.

2. Official apps at android 75000 , unofficial 100,000. Apple si 225000. Apple in this apps biz since 2007 while Android only 1 year old, I'd say is fantastic progress. Compare to Windows mobile in this 10 years already only 50000 apps. I'd say all common applications that one would need you can find in Android. Frankly I never like apple apps , most of time I find too basic. If you want games, Apple more choices, but I believe Android will catch up. So far for apps quality and details features, Windows is still the best

3. Desire : OPEN source unlike iPhone you are tied in to a closed system and you need iTunes to manage it.

There is no " which one is better" - depend what you want. There is no best phone.
I did answer this question in one of the post here , where I quoted my Nexus is my favorite, follow very closely by htc HD2 and my iPhone 3GS is rated last - cos the features of the Android meet most of my needs better. It does not mean the iphone is no good just its features does not satisfy me

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 19 2010, 02:52 PM
snakevenom
post Jul 19 2010, 08:10 PM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

thanks for the tip benny888 finally rooted my desire woot! now then to choose which Custom Rom to install...hmmm decisions decisions...
valentinonkk
post Jul 19 2010, 09:19 PM

317 posts

1. GPS in Desire depend on 3G login to signals - so you will have to pay for the data charges.

2. Official apps at android 75000 , unofficial 100,000. Apple si 225000. Apple in this apps biz since 2007 while Android only 1 year old, I'd say is fantastic progress. Compare to Windows mobile in this 10 years already only 50000 apps. I'd say all common applications that one would need you can find in Android. Frankly I never like apple apps , most of time I find too basic. If you want games, Apple more choices, but I believe Android will catch up. So far for apps quality and details features, Windows is still the best

3. Desire : OPEN source unlike iPhone you are tied in to a closed system and you need iTunes to manage it.

There is no " which one is better" - depend what you want. There is no best phone.
I did answer this question in one of the post here , where I quoted my Nexus is my favorite, follow very closely by htc HD2 and my iPhone 3GS is rated last - cos the features of the Android meet most of my needs better. It does not mean the iphone is no good just its features does not satisfy me

[/quote]

Thanks for ur informative comments. thumbup.gif
pcboy
post Jul 19 2010, 09:19 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 19 2010, 06:41 AM)
Read the instructions again . To create the gold card, he has given you a link which is at : http://android.modaco.com/content/general-...ing-a-goldcard/

After you converted your sim card to a gold card, then only you copy the update.zip to the card - this zip file will unroot the phone

There is no " which one is better"  - depend what you want. There is no best phone.
IMHO, regarding item (1) above, GPS in Desire doesn't require data charge unless you're using Google Maps (GM), and GM actually uses data to download maps, not to lock the GPS satellite.. I'm currently using CoPilot on my Desire and I can turn to Airplane Mode (network off) while navigating using the GPS function. This is the best part I like about Desire, unlike iPhone, where you need network coverage to use the installed TomTom
desadude
post Jul 20 2010, 11:02 AM

18 posts

Hi guys. New desire owner here. I can't seem to play avi or mkv video files on it. Do i have to download a media player app for that? Tks.
akachester
post Jul 20 2010, 11:43 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(desadude @ Jul 20 2010, 11:02 AM)
Hi guys. New desire owner here. I can't seem to play avi or mkv video files on it. Do i have to download a media player app for that? Tks.
RockPlayer smile.gif Find it in the market.
benny888
post Jul 20 2010, 03:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Jul 19 2010, 09:19 PM)
IMHO, regarding item (1) above, GPS in Desire doesn't require data charge unless you're using Google Maps (GM), and GM actually uses data to download maps, not to lock the GPS satellite.. I'm currently using CoPilot on my Desire and I can turn to Airplane Mode (network off) while navigating using the GPS function. This is the best part I like about Desire, unlike iPhone, where you need network coverage to use the installed TomTom
Correct - I am referring to Google Maps
LovesReborn
post Jul 20 2010, 03:37 PM

1,739 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Jul 19 2010, 09:19 PM)
how's copilot on desire? is it good?

PS: which version are you using? 8?
and erm, how's the route in malaysia etc? it'd be great if you write a short review on that. smile.gif

This post has been edited by LovesReborn: Jul 20 2010, 03:38 PM
akachester
post Jul 20 2010, 04:01 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Jul 20 2010, 03:37 PM)
how's copilot on desire? is it good?

PS: which version are you using? 8?
and erm, how's the route in malaysia etc? it'd be great if you write a short review on that. smile.gif
Yea, love to know about the Co-Pilot as well. How good is it? Currently on Ndrive, but coming from Garmin, its slightly hard to adapt tongue.gif
desadude
post Jul 20 2010, 05:27 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 20 2010, 11:43 AM)
RockPlayer smile.gif  Find it in the market.
Thanks bro, will check it out.

Added on July 20, 2010, 5:46 pmI have an issue with synching my contacts from my outlook to the desire. Some of the names are not complete in the contact list on the phone. It all looks fine on outlook. I notice that things like brackets and certain text just disappear. Anyone out there have the same problem?

This post has been edited by desadude: Jul 20 2010, 05:46 PM
sotplugDESIGNER
post Nov 12 2010, 09:19 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 20 2010, 04:01 PM)
Yea, love to know about the Co-Pilot as well. How good is it? Currently on Ndrive, but coming from Garmin, its slightly hard to adapt tongue.gif
hey bro it seems like the NDrive just allowed 7days trial, may i know any solution for that or any other free navigator apps without using network data? sad.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0237sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:35 PM