Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Anyone know about EMS?, Express Mail System

Pekoe
post May 26 2010, 01:48 PM, updated 16y ago

Let's say a friend from Japan is going to mail me something using EMS, do I need to pay tax in order to claim the thing?

Kindly tell me your experience.

Thank you.
qwer312
post May 26 2010, 04:28 PM

165 posts

depend on your luck...if not lucky and malaysia customs hold your thing, then you need to go to customs to claim your thing and maybe need to pay tax. Or your can convince them not to charge tax on you. For EMS, better write the declare value of your thing to be lower than RM500, lesser chance for your thing to be hold and taxed.
SUSnordingh
post May 26 2010, 04:48 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(qwer312 @ May 26 2010, 04:28 PM)
depend on your luck...if not lucky and malaysia customs hold your thing, then you need to go to customs to claim your thing and maybe need to pay tax. Or your can convince them not to charge tax on you. For EMS, better write the declare value of your thing to be lower than RM500, lesser chance for your thing to be hold and taxed.
I order free item from internet, even free postage some more, still kena tahan and need to go to KLIA. Need to pay the form some more.

So whatever value is, they don't care.

EDIT: for EMS, it will be through Poslaju. So just wait for call slip if kena tahan.

This post has been edited by nordingh: May 26 2010, 04:49 PM
qwer312
post May 26 2010, 05:04 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ May 26 2010, 04:48 PM)
I order free item from internet, even free postage some more, still kena tahan and need to go to KLIA. Need to pay the form some more.

So whatever value is, they don't care.

EDIT: for EMS, it will be through Poslaju. So just wait for call slip if kena tahan.
just check your item declare value on the package, it wont be zero value because the customs will not believe it. Even for EMS declare value lower than RM500, it still possible to be hold by customs, but just lower chance than those which declare higher than RM500. And for more info, some shop will not declare lower than actual value for you based on their rule, so ask properly before decide to buy.
AskarPerang
post May 26 2010, 11:43 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(Pekoe @ May 26 2010, 01:48 PM)
Let's say a friend from Japan is going to mail me something using EMS, do I need to pay tax in order to claim the thing?

Kindly tell me your experience.

Thank you.
What items are you buying?

Not everything is taxable.
Items + EMS shipping must be below RM500 to avoid tax if the items are taxable.

Normally got tracking number so use that to check at pos laju center the status of your parcel. smile.gif
Pekoe
post May 27 2010, 02:09 PM

thanks for the comments. so, it's all depending on luck.

Added on May 27, 2010, 2:20 pmby the way, it's just cosmetics for own usage.

This post has been edited by Pekoe: May 27 2010, 02:20 PM

0.0167sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:23 PM