-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V8 -+♦+-, Our Pride N' Joy

loong2020
post May 28 2010, 11:08 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ May 28 2010, 09:41 PM)
Just came back for tyre replacement, replaced all 4 RE001 with PS3..

Burn the fuel, smoke the wheelsss...cook the brakes.  rclxm9.gif  icon_question.gif
wah..hows the tire??..handling? noise?? comment abit biggrin.gif

Added on May 28, 2010, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(d1stant @ May 28 2010, 02:28 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHTBH2P01xM
blink.gif  blink.gif

not mine la..found on youtube biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
dyno or jack up the wheels and pedal...where got so steady shot, the lighting stays the same, and only engine noise...no wind noise also... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: May 28 2010, 11:11 PM
loong2020
post May 29 2010, 11:28 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(swk_sam @ May 29 2010, 10:33 AM)
Hehe.. ps3 superb on wet & dry grip in order to sacrifice comfort.. biggrin.gif Cant get the best of both world... biggrin.gif Just feel sorry to some consumer told by tyre dealer/seller that ps3 is silent tyre biggrin.gif
haha...some even said michelin tires.,when raining/wet the tire still intact on the ground... and some mention, PS3 is the best tires and the softest/silent tyre.. laugh.gif

Added on May 29, 2010, 11:30 am
QUOTE(ralf @ May 29 2010, 10:29 AM)
First impression. It is noisy !

If you would expect new tyre less noise..not really.
wow...noisy??....how does it compare to RE001? ur previous tyre rite?.....

This post has been edited by loong2020: May 29 2010, 11:30 AM
loong2020
post May 29 2010, 11:14 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(darkorama @ May 29 2010, 01:58 PM)
How much is primacy LC for our size?  icon_rolleyes.gif
RM240-270
loong2020
post Jun 2 2010, 09:54 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jun 2 2010, 04:31 PM)
Thanks for the reply.

Do you know how long the brake shoe will last long? when should i change it?
rear brake shoes may last you up to 100k-150k or more,some 10years still using it....depending on how you brake your car.....dont worry too much on this...as for front brake pads, normally it will last 20-50k...depending on the brake pad brands/type...
loong2020
post Jun 3 2010, 10:23 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 3 2010, 09:30 AM)
bro loong change to "french lion" liao...peugeot, ur avatar?  blink.gif
laugh.gif ..no..la.....just a picture... brows.gif .. so hows the PS3 after a long drive weekend?...good??..stable?? brows.gif
loong2020
post Jun 3 2010, 09:45 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 3 2010, 09:37 PM)
envy u guys lor. When i booked mine during y2007, semua gift pun takde.. sad.gif
me too... sad.gif ...only rm100 tint voucher.. doh.gif
loong2020
post Jun 3 2010, 09:59 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 3 2010, 09:37 PM)
I see. thought you switch to French made.. smile.gif

Pilot Sports 3, my humble opinion as below..
Pros:
Good in Wet! Keng~~ notworthy.gif
Steering is light, turn in is precise and accurate..nice!  notworthy.gif
Affordable pricing, for RM250 per piece(195/55/15).
Treadwear 320! Waalao, that means 30-40km should be no problem..

Cons:
Noisy
Outer look damn boring. Sidewall, tread pattern yucks..

Overall:
Highly recommended.
haha...not so fast..la...car only 3years...but fell in love with the french made recently after tried the car.. doh.gif
PS3 pattern almost similar with PP2 where is boring design but when comes to handling/stablity...it wins hands down... laugh.gif

loong2020
post Jun 6 2010, 11:24 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

latest FC for 56400km, 2007model, automatic....full tank=RM60/1.80 can clock around 450km+....

-mixed driving condition (city with jam & highway)
-speed 80-150km, federal,nkve,mex highway
-short traffic jam, waiting at traffic light, slowing down alot humps, rounding for parking in IKEA & 1Utama for parking,
-gear change a few times up 4000rpm but mostly 2000-3000rpm
-air cond on all the time only once in the morning off a while
-Esso RON95 thumbup.gif

seems that the FC gets even better compare to 20000km-30000km++...where that time will get around 330-350km even i drive gently.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Jun 6 2010, 11:25 PM
loong2020
post Jun 7 2010, 07:52 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jun 7 2010, 12:15 AM)
so i see u have a mind conflict of betraying persona and go for Peugeot?  tongue.gif
hmmmm:w whistling.gif
loong2020
post Jun 9 2010, 04:00 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Jun 9 2010, 11:48 AM)
my car very jarang berjalan, i go work with my kancil always, if i dont start for 1day the next day very difficult to start engine.
new car need to jalan2 everyday ka? my kilo just clock at 3.2k.. its been  2month now from i buying the car.

any advice?
go and check...mine even 4-5days never start no problem...maybe alternator not working well? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Jun 9 2010, 04:01 PM
loong2020
post Jun 11 2010, 11:02 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jun 11 2010, 01:48 PM)
older batch non-IAFM model lagi no problem.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif ...mine everything still allright...despite my driving style kind of aggressive...mechanical parts, plastic panels everything still good condition...just change tires,brake pads, engine oil,atf fluid,coolant so far...
loong2020
post Jun 13 2010, 10:50 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jun 13 2010, 07:53 PM)
Wheel alignment. Noted.

Thanks. notworthy.gif
its not wheel alignment..you need to do "on wheel balancing or manual balancing" where 1side of the car will be jack up and balance manually until correct....then it will be fine...smooth and steady..
loong2020
post Jun 19 2010, 07:01 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(beemc @ Jun 19 2010, 01:40 PM)
hey guys... just wanted to ask u guys here do anyone of you here replaced the crankshaft angle sensor? Last Sunday when i'm driving around Subang Parade, my Persona( auto, 1yr+) suddenly die off without any sign.... the engine just cut off.... when i try to start up the engine, the rpm meter shows 8000rpm but it just cant start. so i called my insurance tow service to tow my car to Proton SC Glenmarie. The SA there told me that it's because of this crankshaft angle sensor failure that give out this problem and he said that it's FAMOUS among persona.... this sensor cost around 100+... lucky my car is still under warranty....i changed it for free... but it took me one whole day!
how much mileage is your car ?? IAFM model??
loong2020
post Jun 20 2010, 08:57 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(Bellatrix LeStrange @ Jun 20 2010, 01:32 AM)
bro, i experience the same problem just like u. i was driving down the hill when suddenly the engine died. i called a repairman from the nearest proton (bt caves) and explained the thingy (8000rpm when try to start) and straight away advices me to tow the car. snet it to the Mutiara Damansara Proton since i called proton bt caves they dun hav that sensor. i have to leave it there for a day since a lot of car on Q edi.changed and no charge since under warranty but not really beware~hope it wont happen again~ sweat.gif
wah..whats your mileage when the crank sensor failed?....
loong2020
post Jun 20 2010, 12:28 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(Bellatrix LeStrange @ Jun 20 2010, 10:51 AM)
just below 40k...after that i immediately ask them to service right away~ wink.gif
wow...pray hard so that mine ntg...mine 57k ...so far still ok... sweat.gif
loong2020
post Jun 24 2010, 10:55 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

nothing serious if drop to L if driving around 80-90.....i tried on waja before..when its 50 above, the gear wont drop until it slow down...

as for the gear shifting till 6000rpm..
L-usually up to 60km/65km for 7000rpm
2-up to 100km or 115km if rev up to 7000rpm
3-165km or 175km if 7000rpm
D-topspeed...190km @ 5400rpm
loong2020
post Jun 26 2010, 12:10 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jun 26 2010, 11:54 AM)
is it the auto transmission - D is only till 4th gear? 4th gear can reach 190km/h??? wow if i drive manual on 4 gear can reach 190km/h then i shift to 5th gear can reach 240km/h??? is it possible? cos i read manual that it stated manual 4th gear can reach 120km/h... n forumer here some1 speeding auto at 190km/h meaning using 4th gear.... rpm high o not?

can explain?
yes..its true, i done that with auto 190km @ 5400rpm on "D" mode....
the main key is gear ratio..auto and manual gear ratio different....

assume

auto 3rd gear-175km @ 7000rpm
manual 3rd gear- 140km @ 7000rpm(if not wrong)...

auto and manual gearbox are not same....its not like the more gear available, can go higher speed...

even the honda city idsi with 7speed mode can go 170km++ only....it all depend on the gear ratio and engine power....

This post has been edited by loong2020: Jun 26 2010, 12:11 PM
loong2020
post Jun 27 2010, 10:22 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(jasonlcy @ Jun 26 2010, 11:23 PM)
Anyways, some questions from a newbie auto-transmission user:
1. Noticing that it lacks power when going uphill (Genting road). Kancil oso potong me like nobody's business. What gear should I use when going up inclines like these?

2. I hate the latency between pedal and engine response. Since it's the fault of the drive-by-wire system, is there any way to improve this?
1. when i go up..usually 2-3 people on board... i make sure the rpm is around 3000rpm above..and the car will move without any sluggish feel...
put 3rd, when just begin climbing....then 2nd when pass by the second police booth all the way to the temple where there is alot of steep curvy corners, i drop to L and press all the way till 6000rpm, L-2-L...if you want go up faster..other wise stick to 3rd/2nd will do.... brows.gif ....

2.live with it...or another thing is you can try, before starting the car, press the accelerator fully then turn the key into "ON" position and leave it until you hear a click sound from throttle body..then turn off and release pedal...

Added on June 27, 2010, 10:42 am
QUOTE(vson @ Jun 26 2010, 05:48 PM)
nope... he is very LC and can't tahan what he says about our car.
he said proton MO HOU YEH... he ask had advise me not to buy Proton and should follow his advise to buy vios...
say proton is like milo tin and no use at all...
i really like this persona elegance model and geram on what he said. well, you might say that it is a childish act. but if elegance win, then it will shut his mouth for good and slap his own face for all the bad commend he said on our car.

if persona really wins, then everyone (including me) will roll our eyes and leave a big hole in between our mouth and say: "wow, proton cars specially the persona really is a car that performs"....
hahahaha.... laugh.gif laugh.gif ....your friend really joker.....he lack of attention is it??..LMAO....but should respect his decision..maybe people's dream car is vios..ler??.. laugh.gif

btw vson, relax..la...just chill and let what others want to say about us....important is you happy with it and dont need to show show..la.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Jun 27 2010, 10:42 AM
loong2020
post Jul 7 2010, 03:25 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Jul 7 2010, 08:41 AM)
I like the way you write!  thumbup.gif
Yea mine is the Sept. 09 model as well. B-Line. My problems were:-
1. Two discolored sun visors - replaced
2. Distorted rear speaker plastic covers - replaced
3. IAFM failure at around 4k KM - replaced
4. Steering klunking noise since day one and solved it sometime around 10k KM i think. 99% solved. - replaced
5. Warped front disc brake rotors at about 6/7k KM i think - replaced
6. Replaced the front disc brake pad to Trestor after rotor replacement and very happy with the performance ever since.

Mileage now is touching 17.5k KM... so far no problems.
mine 2007 november model, m-line, mileage around 58500km
1.steering klunking noise when cornering
2.vibration @ 100km..which is i think common on the earlier batches of persona

other than that, every part still stock..and only skimmed once brake rotors @ 20k++
loong2020
post Jul 28 2010, 11:19 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Jul 28 2010, 10:37 PM)
If half city half highway driving, with average driving speeds, can get about 450.
same here... 400-450..with speed 100-140km...automatic

0.0448sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:36 AM