124 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V8 -+♦+-, Our Pride N' Joy

jasontantenghuat
post Jun 24 2010, 07:55 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Jun 24 2010, 08:46 AM)
-Yes. Drop gears is the way to go during emergency braking OR while slowing down at high speeds. Just beware of the speeds u are on and drop gear accordingly without over-revving the engine till over the red line. It ain't good for both engine and gearbox.
I dunno about my Wira, but for the Persona, got once I accidentally shifted down too ganas and went straight to L... and I was going at about 90kmh... I straight panic thought engine blow... but nope... it didn't downshift. So I experimented and just let the car slow down by itself... when it reached the max speed for the L gear, I think about 50-60... then only the shift happened... but can feel the pull back damn kow strong sweat.gif
jasondotcom
post Jun 24 2010, 08:55 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Jun 24 2010, 07:55 PM)
I dunno about my Wira, but for the Persona, got once I accidentally shifted down too ganas and went straight to L... and I was going at about 90kmh... I straight panic thought engine blow... but nope... it didn't downshift. So I experimented and just let the car slow down by itself... when it reached the max speed for the L gear, I think about 50-60... then only the shift happened... but can feel the pull back damn kow strong sweat.gif
wow u fulfilled my long time wondering about if that works! always wanted to try it out but don't dare at all. finally u "tested" it and proven it! hahaha... yes it is the ECU coming to play sensing that the speed ur traveling is over the selected gear's max limit. the ecu sensed it and automatically does not allow that inappropriate gear to engage. -applies to auto only tongue.gif.

nice one! thanks for ur accidental down shifting! hahaha thumbup.gif
bex9432
post Jun 24 2010, 10:26 PM

111 posts

yer la...
i also wonder what will happen if we downshift gear during highspeed for auto
really good knowledge u bring up here... notworthy.gif
loong2020
post Jun 24 2010, 10:55 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

nothing serious if drop to L if driving around 80-90.....i tried on waja before..when its 50 above, the gear wont drop until it slow down...

as for the gear shifting till 6000rpm..
L-usually up to 60km/65km for 7000rpm
2-up to 100km or 115km if rev up to 7000rpm
3-165km or 175km if 7000rpm
D-topspeed...190km @ 5400rpm
MjMax15
post Jun 24 2010, 11:22 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

wah..dint know that auto can override like manual.
gonna practice lah tongue.gif
jasondotcom
post Jun 24 2010, 11:35 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Jun 24 2010, 05:08 PM)
should we use WD-40 to apply on those mirror side rubber seal? or any good lubrication recommendation?
never use wd40 on rubber seals, bushes etc....... google it man.... it aint good for such things (rubbers).

i highly recommend silicone lubes either paste / gel or spray type. it costs more though. for example, wd40 cost around Rm10 whereas silicone ones would cost about RM20 to RM27.
Xefron
post Jun 24 2010, 11:41 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Jun 24 2010, 11:35 PM)
never use wd40 on rubber seals, bushes etc....... google it man.... it aint good for such things (rubbers).

i highly recommend silicone lubes either paste / gel or spray type. it costs more though. for example, wd40 cost around Rm10 whereas silicone ones would cost about RM20 to RM27.
go for silicone spray
jasontantenghuat
post Jun 25 2010, 12:07 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Jun 24 2010, 08:55 PM)
wow u fulfilled my long time wondering about if that works! always wanted to try it out but don't dare at all. finally u "tested" it and proven it! hahaha... yes it is the ECU coming to play sensing that the speed ur traveling is over the selected gear's max limit. the ecu sensed it and automatically does not allow that inappropriate gear to engage. -applies to auto only tongue.gif.

nice one! thanks for ur accidental down shifting! hahaha  thumbup.gif
No prob. Haha Wira on the other hand... Anyone wanna try?
Beogatts
post Jun 25 2010, 10:32 AM

18 posts

perhaps anyone can give me some advice.. is there any of u have changed rear drum brake to brake disc? .. like swap to H-line rear brake disc? any mod needed?
miickies
post Jun 25 2010, 11:57 AM

14 posts

Aih ... DJ Sc center are kinda noobs .. i note them that my left rear side of the car have wind sound when speeding around 100 above .. they can't identified the problem ... at the last .. I'm the one who notice that the rubber seal on the door are like loosen when i compare to the driver's side's door ... dunno there were lazy or really not experience on 'Checking' prob ...

Personian , did you all tried the air cond blowing only bottom direction on the car ? does you all heard any sound from the passenger blower ?
Pejal5284
post Jun 25 2010, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Jun 23 2010, 10:14 AM)
Went to JPJ Permaisuri early morning around 7.45am. Got the form, filled it in, there are 6 ppl in front of my queue. My turn, unforturely my primary number is out, secondary number is available, bought it with RM210. Went to bank issue a banker cheque, will be submit all the document to SA later, my elegance H-line Chiffon Green... coming out soon... smile.gif
Congrats Jacky...finally you got ur 'Wife' after waiting for quite some time...welcome to the club icon_rolleyes.gif
TSJonSpark
post Jun 25 2010, 11:32 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Left rear tyre punctured again, only 1 month after changing new tyres.
moc.
post Jun 26 2010, 09:00 AM

Hi all,

i'm new here but already persona iafm for a year. just want to join the club after so long following this forum as a silent reader..

mr jonspark, add me in MT Blueberry MLine (IAFM)

tq

p/s : sorry to hear about ur punctured tire..
d3x
post Jun 26 2010, 09:31 AM

The atheist with the GoogleBrain™ Plugin.
1,540 posts

Hi guys, I just got my red HL a few days ago. Everything is okay so far. biggrin.gif

Only one thing I don't like is the accelerator latency. There's just too much lag when I step on the gas and when the engine kicks in. Is this normal? Can I send it to the SC and tell them to reduce the latency?

btw I'm comparing this to a 20-year-old Volvo I used to drive. That one had extremely low lag. smile.gif
muslayer
post Jun 26 2010, 09:40 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(d3x @ Jun 26 2010, 09:31 AM)
Hi guys, I just got my red HL a few days ago. Everything is okay so far. biggrin.gif

Only one thing I don't like is the accelerator latency. There's just too much lag when I step on the gas and when the engine kicks in. Is this normal? Can I send it to the SC and tell them to reduce the latency?

btw I'm comparing this to a 20-year-old Volvo I used to drive. That one had extremely low lag. smile.gif
it is because is driven by wire , old cars driven by cable
jackyap84
post Jun 26 2010, 11:15 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(Pejal5284 @ Jun 25 2010, 08:49 PM)
Congrats Jacky...finally you got ur 'Wife' after waiting for quite some time...welcome to the club  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hvnt get the car yet, may b next week. All the time I active in this club... tongue.gif
subrok007
post Jun 26 2010, 11:54 AM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

is it the auto transmission - D is only till 4th gear? 4th gear can reach 190km/h??? wow if i drive manual on 4 gear can reach 190km/h then i shift to 5th gear can reach 240km/h??? is it possible? cos i read manual that it stated manual 4th gear can reach 120km/h... n forumer here some1 speeding auto at 190km/h meaning using 4th gear.... rpm high o not?

can explain?
loong2020
post Jun 26 2010, 12:10 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jun 26 2010, 11:54 AM)
is it the auto transmission - D is only till 4th gear? 4th gear can reach 190km/h??? wow if i drive manual on 4 gear can reach 190km/h then i shift to 5th gear can reach 240km/h??? is it possible? cos i read manual that it stated manual 4th gear can reach 120km/h... n forumer here some1 speeding auto at 190km/h meaning using 4th gear.... rpm high o not?

can explain?
yes..its true, i done that with auto 190km @ 5400rpm on "D" mode....
the main key is gear ratio..auto and manual gear ratio different....

assume

auto 3rd gear-175km @ 7000rpm
manual 3rd gear- 140km @ 7000rpm(if not wrong)...

auto and manual gearbox are not same....its not like the more gear available, can go higher speed...

even the honda city idsi with 7speed mode can go 170km++ only....it all depend on the gear ratio and engine power....

This post has been edited by loong2020: Jun 26 2010, 12:11 PM
TSJonSpark
post Jun 26 2010, 12:15 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(moc. @ Jun 26 2010, 09:00 AM)
Hi all,

i'm new here but already persona iafm for a year. just want to join the club after so long following this forum as a silent reader..

mr jonspark, add me in MT Blueberry MLine (IAFM)

tq

p/s : sorry to hear about ur punctured tire..
Added. nod.gif

Guys, plz PM me instead of asking me to add your name HERE, I might missed you out cuz I dont go through every page every post.
subrok007
post Jun 26 2010, 12:35 PM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jun 26 2010, 12:10 PM)
yes..its true, i done that with auto 190km @ 5400rpm on "D" mode....
the main key is gear ratio..auto and manual gear ratio different....

assume

auto 3rd gear-175km @ 7000rpm
manual 3rd gear- 140km @ 7000rpm(if not wrong)...
auto and manual gearbox are not same....its not like the more gear available,  can go higher speed...

even the honda city idsi with 7speed mode can go 170km++ only....it all depend on the gear ratio and engine power....
ic...... so who's here pernah try manual maximum speed can go? i saw the meter reading max is 240km/h....

may be 5th gear can reach about 200km/h.... ohmy.gif

124 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:41 AM