-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V8 -+♦+-, Our Pride N' Joy

jasondotcom
post Jul 3 2010, 08:58 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 3 2010, 01:44 AM)
Help, i notice my 1year n 8month old persona with 20k milleage is noisier than my friend myvi 3year+50k mileage.
I just change to Primacy LC tyre and my friend with XM1 even more quieter. I though persona sound isolation is better than myvi?

When go over rough surface tar road, i could hear the sound like drum hitting sound. Is it bcoz my absorber already kong? but i'm just 20k mileage n less than 2year.
If i go to ask SC check about this noise, they said dun have odd sound bcoz its not hv specific noise come from chair/door/dashboard, but an overwell humming sound and drum hitting sound. Its very big difference compare to my car when its new for first 3months.
Now when i'm driving need to turn up the vol more louder a lot.
That's weird. For me, its the other way around. MyVi is very bad in NVH compared to Persona. Persona is heavily padded everywhere except that they still need to improve on the firewall and wheel house padding. My Persona got noisy because of the lousy Silverstone Kruiser stock tires.

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:48 AM)
anybody has installed coil spring buffer?? silicone type...
dun install these. it will just wear out ur current coil springs much much faster due to forcing other active coils to work far much harder. no thanks. if u want stiffer ride etc... do it the right way. change springs or absorbers.
jasondotcom
post Jul 3 2010, 10:37 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jul 3 2010, 10:02 AM)
Agree, the spring buffer is only for economic reason.
The main reason is after installed, i used on new Ciyt but the spring damping rate has changed and it affect handling ! sweat.gif

If you want to lower your ride, just replace whole set of coil spring..
Or get a set of adjustable coil overs
jasondotcom
post Jul 3 2010, 08:07 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jul 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
Agree, but reputable brand of adjustable coil over is not cheap wor.. hehe

Added on July 3, 2010, 1:11 pmMy front left tyre outer edge worn out so fast, fresh tyre with less than 3k km on the road.. cry.gif heartpaint leh. sweat.gif  vmad.gif

I check shock ashober, no leakage wor..maybe ball joint problem, dunno ler.  wink.gif

Anyone having this problem, front left tyre wear our so fast..!
I guess its normal especially for stock suspension as the car will lean when the car do cornering. For lowered cars with naturally stiffer suspension, the car leans less and thus, have flatter tire wear across the tire. my previous car was lowered... the tire wear is even across the thread compared to my persona right now. Mine also front tire at the outer corner wears faster.

This post has been edited by jasondotcom: Jul 3 2010, 08:09 PM
jasondotcom
post Jul 3 2010, 08:31 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

[quote=beemc,Jul 3 2010, 08:14 PM]
[quote=Bellatrix LeStrange,Jun 20 2010, 01:32 AM]
bro, i experience the same problem just like u. i was driving down the hill when suddenly the engine died. i called a repairman from the nearest proton (bt caves) and explained the thingy (8000rpm when try to start) and straight away advices me to tow the car. snet it to the Mutiara Damansara Proton since i called proton bt caves they dun hav that sensor. i have to leave it there for a day since a lot of car on Q edi.changed and no charge since under warranty but not really beware~hope it wont happen again~ sweat.gif

wow... i tot i'm the only unlucky guy that got this problem... did you ask the SA is this a common problem for Persona? because when i call i.care and told them my car model is persona... the guy straight away ask me the 8000rpm thingy....

[/quote]

that sounds worrying. so what mileage does Persona usually developed this sensor problems? so the replacement sensors are improved sensors?
jasondotcom
post Jul 4 2010, 10:56 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Jul 4 2010, 10:28 PM)
I've given up explaining to SC guys about the orifice valve here in Swak. They will usually stare me back and ask, 'apa itu?'
This is a problem affecting ALL Personas. Why don't Proton issue a service bulletin or something to all SCs? I know Perodua does issue service bulletins to their mechs if there are issues arising.
Go to Platinum Proton SC at Jalan Tun Jugah there. I went there, they solved it. They know what the f*** is a orifice valve.
jasondotcom
post Jul 5 2010, 10:03 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:48 AM)
Yes bro, drive about 2 weeks. so far encounter 2 problem which the front driver side got metal knocking sound when doing turning on rough surface and the front passenger under the drawer got "breathing" sound (something like ppl taking oxigen in ward) when air con on periodically, abt 40 seconds happen once i think.

Plan to go SC later at Taman Midah to just install orifice valve, not sure they will entertain me or not?!
i think i know what u meant by the "breathing oxigen tank" thing. yea i also wondered about that. its been almost a year owning the car. still wondering wtf is that. tried putting silicone lubes on the belt to quieten it... but then its not the belt that was making the noise. it comes on every now and then....not all the time.

just mentioned that the steering got noise when u drive over certain road conditions like how u tell us in here. then mentioned that ur friends installed this thing original from SC and see what is their response.
jasondotcom
post Jul 5 2010, 11:39 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Jul 5 2010, 10:33 AM)
The SC located at Taman Midah is named Sin Siang Hin (same with Maybank), is it? I heard some of the forumer said this SC having bad reputation. Is that true?

I plan to go there later this afternoon and ask them install the Orifice Valve, not sure they understand this problem and will install for me or not?!
Sorry bro... im not from KL. smile.gif
jasondotcom
post Jul 5 2010, 01:38 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

Btw, is there any good active interesting persona clubs? I mean the WWW.
jasondotcom
post Jul 5 2010, 03:57 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(madara001 @ Jul 5 2010, 01:41 PM)
You might want to try this club. http://thepersonaclub.com/forum/

Well establish club. I also new there.
that site kinda sucks ler. need to pay to view many of those threads.
QUOTE(madara001 @ Jul 5 2010, 02:04 PM)
Never heard or read that it had been hacked. But still, i can see ppl post there. Other than that site, u may try www.protonclub.com/forum.
but that one all in malay language. hard to understand especially most of them inside post in totally BROKEN sotong BM.

jasondotcom
post Jul 5 2010, 07:15 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

i'd say...... extractors! and a good set of silent type better flowing rear mufflers.

extractors really free up a lot of powahhh!
jasondotcom
post Jul 6 2010, 02:41 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Jul 6 2010, 11:54 AM)
will send back to taman midah sc to check what is the eeeee sound is. Besides, the orifice valve didnt help, the metal knocking sound still there...
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jul 6 2010, 12:22 PM)
you're right, the orifice valve not really help in resolving the metal knocking sound at the front, it just help to reduce the knocking sounds only...
thts why i said before..... it does not solve 100%..... for me it solve 99% only. tongue.gif

i have problem with outside air coming in though. damn it. if behind a smelly truck or any similar situation.....can smell la.......knn. had it permanently sealed done at workshop whereby they dismantle the blower unit and sealed the top..... but somehow its back..... guess i need to have it fix again.
jasondotcom
post Jul 6 2010, 09:32 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Jul 6 2010, 08:29 PM)
so the latest batch of Persona elegance has this problems ?

1. ECU ?
2. the metal knocking sound ? the valve thingy
and ?

any latest owner kind to rectified ?
the 32bit ecu has been very2 problematic with the new Persona since day one. complain of the problem seems to be lesser now but still exists..... i am very2 happy that i didn't get the 32bit ecu....... wth...... hahahahah....... sorry no offends ya! tongue.gif
jasondotcom
post Jul 6 2010, 09:41 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

I think i can safely say......... 32bit ecu used by Persona SUCKS TO THE MAX!!!!!!!!!! So what got more functions and features. It's still a normal sedan NA engine. Nothing so high tech also. Old tech engine. Use back la 16bit ecu doooh. hahaha...

no offence ah.

Added on July 6, 2010, 9:42 pm
QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Jul 6 2010, 09:35 PM)
besides , the ECU problem , any other major problem ?
hope mine coming doesn't has this problem  ohmy.gif
MOST common MAJOR problem with Elegance is the 32bit ecu. The rest of the problems we all old version Persona have one.... sama2 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jasondotcom: Jul 6 2010, 09:42 PM
jasondotcom
post Jul 7 2010, 08:41 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Jul 7 2010, 12:04 AM)
Have been reading  this thread for some time & I realized how lucky I am for getting a trouble free Persona M-Line Auto (just wonder how many are like me).  My 9mths. (13K Km.) old have been serving me very well on my daily trips between Kepong Baru & USJ 1 & my only qualms are not of my car's but the bad traffic,uneven roads & psycho drivers I come across.  Just for everyone's to share with, the only excruciatingly abnormal sound emanating from my car was from the rear foldable seat lock striker which I solved with a DIY tape job myself.  As for the air-con. hissing sound, initially there was the sound but its gone for good after a while.  Maybe the system needs running-in.  That's why, I tell you guys, please do not panic or jump the gun (is that how they say it?)

For my power windows, so far so good. NO ABNORMAL SOUND.  I make it a habit to wipe clean the windows every 2 days & run them all daily.  I reckon it's worst if you don't run them.  And I suppose Proton or anyone else will not tell you to lubricate the areas of the widow glasses that slides against the rubber on the window frames. I have been lubricating my window glasses without fail every two week or so just for precaution.  I use he silicon based spray lube. I advise newbies to lubricate their windows because the rubber glass run in new cars have not contracted (due to sun's heat) & is grabing very tightly on the glass thus straining the motor & regulator mechanisms. After a couple of months expose to the elements, the glass will be looser but you still have to lubricate them.

I got my car in Sept. 2009, and I don't see any valve beneath the power steering fluid reservoir/container.  And my car miraculously does not have that so-called "klonk" sound at the front suspension.  I just wonder why so many of you guy's car have this problem. Maybe the problem was solved by the time I got my car.  What else?  Quick wearing Front Brake Pads dirtying rims.  Small problem. Will change them soon with Korean made Delphi which I have already bought.  Rear Drum Brake sound?  Came & gone.  By the way, I always use my  own lubes for my periodic services except the oil filter & the SC here in Kepong has no problem with that because the lube I use happens to be a Proton vendor also, Delphi 10w 40 Semi Syn. I always buy all the service items long before I actually go to the SC.  That way, I don't feel that I am spending so much on the car at one go.  Any I get those stuff at wholesale. I am in the automotive parts business.  So if you guys wish to know  Persona part prices, you know where to turn to.  I am quite busy but I can help out whenever I can.

Overall,  I honestly feel that I made a good buy & should I encounter any future problems there is still the warranty & if that expires, I feel the Persona parts are very affordable compared to imports. 

P.S.  Please don't bash Proton because you are unlucky.  Bash yourself for being poor.  Poor in making the decision to buy a Proton. I am poor also but hopefully not unlucky.  Cheers!
I like the way you write! thumbup.gif
Yea mine is the Sept. 09 model as well. B-Line. My problems were:-
1. Two discolored sun visors - replaced
2. Distorted rear speaker plastic covers - replaced
3. IAFM failure at around 4k KM - replaced
4. Steering klunking noise since day one and solved it sometime around 10k KM i think. 99% solved. - replaced
5. Warped front disc brake rotors at about 6/7k KM i think - replaced
6. Replaced the front disc brake pad to Trestor after rotor replacement and very happy with the performance ever since.

Mileage now is touching 17.5k KM... so far no problems.

jasondotcom
post Jul 7 2010, 11:27 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Jul 7 2010, 06:01 PM)
came back from Proton service center located at Serdang. Finally they manage to identify the "EeeeEeeeEeee" sound some where around the dashboard meter, to be exactly, under the driver leg there. Actually this problem cause by the ICM Relay which tie with Power Control Unit under the driver leg, right side. According to the SC, this will not effect the car performance and just the annoying sound there. Besides, this is well known problem as same as the knocking sound when doing turning on rough surface, their sound still got 15 units ICM Relay for owner to be claimed which in the quece list. Luckily this not the ECU problem, otherwise, i think it more worst!
Bro it would be nice to snap few photos of it like a general view of roughly where it is and a closer view to share with us all here. Even me a car enthusiasts is not sure what ur referring to and where or how it looks like. If u dun mind, pls post photos of it! smile.gif Thanks man.

btw, im not sure if i have those kinda sound u mention. So its the relay making the noise or it is rubbing against something or what? blink.gif
jasondotcom
post Jul 8 2010, 10:27 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jul 8 2010, 08:49 AM)
Guys I got a few noise problem here:

Everytime go through bumps, can hear squeaking sound from the absorber, what can be done to solve this?

and what brake pads are you guys using? Feel like changing mine as well after skim the disc brakes. hmm.gif
depending on what causes the squeek. if its from the poly stoppers at the top of the shock absorbers... then what you can do is.... buy a can of silicone spray and NOT the usual oil based sprays or grease like WD40. Jack up ur car and find that white / yellow colored stopper at the top of the shock absorber and spray a bit say 1 second squirt of the silicone spray like indicated in the photo below:-

Note: The photo is reffering to the rear suspension to my car fitted with low spring and the dust boot being pulled down to reveal the stopper. But the front stoppers are visible directly. Method of doing is the same.
jasondotcom
post Jul 8 2010, 04:11 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 8 2010, 04:08 PM)
Anyone use 4-2-1 extractor on their persona..? Is it recommended to do? Will it effect engine power?

Sifus pls comment.. notworthy.gif
I'd slap you if i am there..... Of course much better!!!!! laugh.gif JK tongue.gif

Have yet to try it on my Persona though cuz waiting for my friend to sell it to me. But i have really good experience from aftermarket headers / extractors on my previous car. Result was more power compared to stock.
jasondotcom
post Jul 9 2010, 09:41 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 8 2010, 04:32 PM)
I will avoid before you hit me... tongue.gif ...still will consume more fuel rite..?

Added on July 8, 2010, 4:33 pm
thanks bro.. rclxms.gif
will or will not consume more fuel is highly dependent on our right foot. tongue.gif but its worth it.

QUOTE(summer9uy @ Jul 8 2010, 04:58 PM)
Yeah, 4-2-1 extractor improves torque..I'm using the hotbits one.
Go for it. Satisfaction assured.
I have one question for you. You just installed the headers right? Full system or just the headers? If its just the headers, now does ur stock muffler makes funny noises like tin can noises or somethin? Because some cars does that once replaced to aftermarket headers. Just wonderin if it is with Persona.

jasondotcom
post Jul 9 2010, 01:57 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

PersonaTM,
Referring to your photo above... you installed bullet to replace the catalytic converter? Or you use the straight pipe??? Please clarify cuz i dun get it.

Btw, i think you should have just replace it to aftermarket header instead of modding it this way..... IMHO. smile.gif
jasondotcom
post Jul 11 2010, 10:19 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Jul 11 2010, 08:53 PM)
thank you...  normally.. how much amount is good to be insured for b-line after 1 year.. 40k .. 41k?

2nd thing, how to do it?

just go to any insurance agent or shud i go to bank whom i have contract for hire purchase?

dreaming using myEG and fazura knock my door sending the roadtax...  laugh.gif
sorry for inconvenience-  im a noob here~
1. Check market value via motor trader. from either their website OR the magazine.
2. renew ur car insurance at insurance company according to market value. no need to insure it high high. end of the day anything happen, they only pay u according to market value ONLY. no need through stupid insurance agents. hate them.
3. Go get your original green card from ur bank and go renew ur roadtax at post office OR jpj whichever you prefer. OR pay around RM5 or RM10 at the bank to ask them renew for you. but usually i prefer to do it on my own.
4. return ur original green card to ur bank.......obviously!
5. take off ur expired roadtax sticker and stick in the new one!

thumbup.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0684sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:18 AM