Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V41!, The Orange Legion
Gouki
May 26 2010, 10:25 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 26 2010, 10:16 AM) NEX series seems nice but changing the simple function such as ISO seems like the hardest thing to do though. Lol. u want controls~ await for the couching tiger hidden dragon a7xx lar~ NEX is for compact user who wants dslr IQ for a change~ i dont mind get one for casual outing or for my gf tho~  Added on May 26, 2010, 10:27 amQUOTE(mastering89 @ May 26 2010, 09:43 AM) zstan : will try again tonite dust dust everywhere » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « congrates on the cobra~ i am tempted to get one too~ This post has been edited by Gouki: May 26 2010, 10:27 AM
Gouki
May 27 2010, 10:08 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 26 2010, 06:21 PM) Gouki : come2 cepat beli Mikeshashimi & zstan & Wonka : tonite try again, still cant figure out correct exposure for small2 thing like danbo in total darkness. Also my room is quite small, the cobra was actually beside the wall. Kul | Mo0 : hey , u went to digital mall check ?? but i am using f42 now~ less bulky~ easy to carry in my small sling bag~ good enough for casual outing with frens~ although f58 is in my list for future strobist~ but on the side note~ my heart set on the 50mm f1.4 1st~ hmmm~
Gouki
May 27 2010, 10:46 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(hazril @ May 27 2010, 10:15 AM) psstt...f58 yo...ppl envy looking at our f58...  i got 1 Q's for u guys....someone in my scooter forum said that close up = macro...is there any define explanation on this term...???thanx...  but but~ i still can live with the f42 for casual outing~ lol~ i am so poison with the 50mm f1.4 ler~
Gouki
May 27 2010, 10:52 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 27 2010, 10:44 AM) here's a good reference : link Gouki : haha the cobra is abit bulky and quite heavy if pair with heavy lenses  even if not including VG. hahaha~ thats why~ f58 later since i have a f42 for the time being~ 50mm 1st~ thx to moo lar~ he make me feel like hauling another lens 1st~ This post has been edited by Gouki: May 27 2010, 10:53 AM
Gouki
May 27 2010, 11:37 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 27 2010, 10:56 AM) Gouki : but what did i do la? Haha! Get the Sigma version straight la. (: what you did? this lar~!  Added on May 27, 2010, 11:38 amQUOTE(hazril @ May 27 2010, 11:11 AM) mastering : thanx for the link bro!  8tvt : u sure ka...???55200 is quite light woo... gouki : tutup mata buy both....  no budget~ so can only buy what i dont have 1st~ This post has been edited by Gouki: May 27 2010, 11:38 AM
Gouki
May 27 2010, 03:48 PM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(shootkk @ May 27 2010, 03:20 PM) F20 can only be wireless commander on A700/A850/A900. On other models it is just a glorified pop-up that can bounce. Meaning you cannot trigger the F20 off camera no matter what cam you're using. eh~ i tot cant be a commander on a700~ only a850 and a900~
Gouki
May 27 2010, 05:10 PM
Live Life Cool
if its not the SSS sound~ then it could be the sal1870 kitlens gone case~
Gouki
May 28 2010, 11:17 AM
Live Life Cool
50mm f1.4 is 450mm MFD while the 50mm f1.8 is 350mm MFD~ decisions~
Gouki
May 29 2010, 11:09 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(albnok @ May 29 2010, 02:29 AM) Gouki: Sony 50mm F1.8 DT SAM has a MFD of 34cm. fansoption: Good to see you're exploring other shots with macro! I like #1 #4 and #5. gizmo_pony: Eh the link wrong lah! eh~ 340mm~ even better~! i still dilemma ler sifu~ the f1.4 is nice for its larger aperture and built quality~ but the f1.8 is a bargain for its price and IQ~ only drawback~ its a DT lens and i dun really fancy SAM~ how?
Gouki
May 29 2010, 11:32 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(hazril @ May 29 2010, 11:24 AM) easy....r u going to fullframe later...???if no,f1.8 is also ok d... hmm~ not really~ i am like waiting for a7xx than FF~ but only turn off on the f1.8 is the plastic built and SAM~
Gouki
May 29 2010, 11:45 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 29 2010, 11:37 AM) alah.. forget the details.. capturing photos is more important.. stop worrying and more shooting!  well, dont wanna regret on the hauling mar~ i cant afford to buy sell buy sell like moo leh~
Gouki
May 30 2010, 03:04 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(ieR @ May 29 2010, 12:34 PM) hkhk: i think u mean those with AutoClutch, well, those lens usually has heavier price tag  i think SAM applies to plastics gears, if SSM, sure must use metal gear... if not, all the gigi patah from the more aggressive SSM... lol the question is, is A7 motor faster then SAM or slower or same? then only we know does the SAM is a good add on or not. thats the thing i wondering too~ SAM or the AF motor on the a700 faster~
Gouki
May 30 2010, 12:32 PM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 30 2010, 11:03 AM) "(Sony produces the excellent sensors in the Nikon D3, D3s and D3x cameras, so why high ISO characteristics are so different when they use the sensor in their own camera is something I can’t understand)"  well, my wild guess lies on the method for the conversion process after the Exmor CMOS sensor capturing the image in the camera itself~ both Nikon and Sony uses the same sensor in D3/a900/a850 and D90/D300/a700~ no doubt bout that but its the main difference in the Noise Reduction implementation on both Sony Bionz and Nikon Expeed engine~ Sony might be still new in dslr line so they cant fully utilise the capability of the Exmor sensor~ one of the very good example how they given the a700 a new frimware V4 update on iso NR improvement~ and how they catching up in iso NR in a550~ and now~ we have promising image sample on the NEX3/NEX5 on clean iso NR at iso 12800~ so its all bout hardware and software utilisation to make things work perfectly~ give Sony Alpha engineers some time~ they are catching up fast in dslr world~
Gouki
May 30 2010, 12:51 PM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 30 2010, 12:47 PM) for fill flash, using pop up flash the maximum sync is 1/160s. usually the camera will set to 1/60s to 1/120s IINM in shutter and aperture priority mode. but you can play with manual mode up to 1/160s. for external flashes there is HSS (high speed sync) mode where it enables the flash to be sync up to 1/4000s. but the camera will limit to 1/160s if used for bouncing light. disable flash = no flash sync = up to 1/4000s as for a700/a850/a900 is up to 1/200s (SSS on) and 1/250s (SSS off).
Gouki
May 31 2010, 02:40 AM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ May 30 2010, 08:50 PM) is the D3 sensor sony designed and fab or nikon designed but fabricated by Sony ? hmmmm~ i think i did clarify a bit on few pages back~ QUOTE(Gouki @ May 30 2010, 12:32 PM) well, my wild guess lies on the method for the conversion process after the Exmor CMOS sensor capturing the image in the camera itself~ both Nikon and Sony uses the same sensor in D3/a900/a850 and D90/D300/a700~ no doubt bout that but its the main difference in the Noise Reduction implementation on both Sony Bionz and Nikon Expeed engine~ Sony might be still new in dslr line so they cant fully utilise the capability of the Exmor sensor~ one of the very good example how they given the a700 a new frimware V4 update on iso NR improvement~ and how they catching up in iso NR in a550~ and now~ we have promising image sample on the NEX3/NEX5 on clean iso NR at iso 12800~ so its all bout hardware and software utilisation to make things work perfectly~ give Sony Alpha engineers some time~ they are catching up fast in dslr world~  This post has been edited by Gouki: May 31 2010, 02:42 AM
Gouki
May 31 2010, 03:33 PM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(zstan @ May 31 2010, 09:11 AM) so noise reduction can be improved by using upgrading the firmware and not redesigning the whole sensor itself?  of coz~ it depends a lot on the hardware design limitation itself~ firmware is there to improve the efficiency and utilise the potential of the hardware~ that is why the a700 stop at firmware V4 and sony move on to newer body design like the a550 and so on~
Gouki
May 31 2010, 11:08 PM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(clivengu @ May 31 2010, 08:02 PM) Wow. good explaination.. but my head still spinning... trying to make sense of the the figures. cause i was using A700 as a comparison.. so now i hv to think like this ... A700----> fullframe----> final image in 4/3 olympus... Take example 50mm Lens on A700 (i wan this Angle of view in end photos), in A900 i will need a 50mmx 1.5 = 75mm lens to produce that kind of angle. And for Olympus system to have a photo of angle like 50mm on A700 = 75mm/2 = 37.5mm Olympus lens on olympus body. Sorry im making it more complicated.....i hope this round im right... To Summarize... what ever focal length shown in the olympus website,when use with olympus system, will be exactly the same angle of view of a Non-olympus lens on any fullframe body. http://asia.olympus-imaging.com/products/dslr/lenses/ * ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 50mm F2.0 Macro on E-3, will have same ANGLE OF VIEW with a Sony 50mmF1.4 on A900? (CORRECT or WRONG?) make it simple~ on a900 + 50mm = 50mm on a700 + 50mm (50mm multiply with 1.5x crop factor) = 75mm so if on E-3 + 50mm (50mm multiply with 2.0X crop factor) = 100mm This post has been edited by Gouki: May 31 2010, 11:12 PM
Gouki
May 31 2010, 11:45 PM
Live Life Cool
guys~ ieR is in KL now~ he will be going back to east msia on wed night~ he ask if u guys interested to have a TT with him tomoro at KLCC~  Added on May 31, 2010, 11:46 pmQUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 31 2010, 11:40 PM) Bottom line is. What ever you see on a lens (24mm / 50mm / 100mm etc) remains whatever it is when used on a FF camera. And when used on APSC camera the focal length is multiplied by 1.5 and multiply by 2 for micro 4/3 sensor~ This post has been edited by Gouki: May 31 2010, 11:46 PM
Gouki
Jun 1 2010, 12:04 AM
Live Life Cool
no one interested to have a TT with bro ieR at klcc? if yes, mind anyone to do a headcount and organise with ieR? i have his number~ best if u guys call him n organise one~ coz i got sorethroat and lost my voice so hard to speak on the phone~
Gouki
Jun 1 2010, 01:55 PM
Live Life Cool
QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 1 2010, 01:49 PM) anybody going meet ier? is it tonight or tomorrow night? no one say anything~ so i not sure~