Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V41!, The Orange Legion

clivengu
post Jun 1 2010, 04:02 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Jun 1 2010, 03:57 PM)
need your opinion.

My friend needs a camera bag. His gears are A550, 70400G, 1680Z, SAL16-105 (or 18250... can remember) and HVL-F58AM...

Which camera bag would be suitable? Im thinking of advising him to get a backpack but no sure which one (ie brand & model).

Appreciate your inputs.
Thats quite a lot of lens. Should get a proper pro bag...like Lowepro Computrek. if he has laptop it can put too.. but is Big like turtle shell.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by clivengu: Jun 1 2010, 04:13 PM
clivengu
post Jun 2 2010, 08:05 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 03:52 PM)
the pic on the left... this is how i found out it was there TT_TT

AIYOOOO, Tats too bad... they should have informed u earlier mah~~! is wasted u not there..But really nice to be able to have own photo exhibited .. Congratulations!! thumbup.gif
clivengu
post Jun 3 2010, 04:14 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM)
mastering, for food, your white balance MUST be correct. easily done with us alphas, coz can custom WB on a white card or tissue at restaurants. then overexpose by 1/3 stop, that should be fine
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 09:42 PM)

From the WB master! Always perfect WB.. Thats the power of practice in Jpeg..learn a few tricks from u... me on other hand always lazy.. do the wb raw editing afterward. By the time i set up my white balance im sure the food is already half eaten by others laugh.gif not only shooting wedding need to be fast.. apply for food photo as well.

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 2 2010, 10:39 PM)
Hi all the sifus here, I know I am not posting in the right post, but as I see the version of this sony is consider as very high, so just wanted to find some answers that I'm in dilemma of.

Here's my story, I just started my foundation in business and IT (about 4days of studying excluding orientation) and I always bump into this thread before, the more I come in and read, the more I's interested in photography  blink.gif  but then as I just paid the fees of my college for my 1st semester, if I quit now it will be wasting my parent's money  sad.gif  but as now I just found my interest in photography and wanted to be a photographer(wedding as it's a happy event and can make money) I'm really confused now that should I pursue a degree of business and IT, or quit and pursue something like diploma in photography or related events.

But before I register my college, I had gained interest already in photography, but as I'm colour blind (not those that can only see black and white ones) I'm scared that I can't make it, but as now if any of u guys were me, would u

1) Quit after semester 1 and get a DSLR, pursue diploma in photography or work part time in related field

or

2) Continue studying and just get a DSLR and wait pro work freelance photographer??

icon_question.gif 

appreciate it very much
THANKS!!

Photography to me these days seems very competitive. You really need to standout from the rest if you wanna make a good living from it. A degree in photography is not really necessary but is always a good foundation to start with... I believe the course is designed to train yourself different from the rest of dslr OWNERs.

Do not get discourage. If you think u want it very much, then just go for it. There is nothing better than work on something you love to do. Of course you will hear a lot of negative feedback... (if u tell ur mum or others u wanna starts selling durian business...what will they say?) Nowadays people tend to go for the "safe path"... study... get good result.. get good job.. work the rest of life... die sweat.gif nothing wrong with that.. some people love that cause is predictable n safe.

Im a science students n get full As for all my science subjects in school... but I firmly apply for art & design course. Many says interior design cannot cari makan... why dont study doctor or medic since my result can get JPA scholarship. Mayb im juz stubborn.. i never once doubt bout my decision... of course im glad my parents support 100%. On other hand, my stubbornness simply wanna prove those people who doubt about me.. that I can do well in what have chosen hoho

The real question will be ... How MUCH you want it. If you think your job going to be hell boring.. u just wanna get a cert, then a daily job... then better pursue your photography dream. If you are uncertain, doubt, not sure... maybe is just your SUDDEN interest in photography.. Then you better don risk it. Take the road more often taken. B Safe. You see many of us here are not full time photographer rolleyes.gif is just our hobbies..you can still play photography even if u din go for the course.

ah this remind me of a poem by Robert Frost hehe

The Road Not Taken

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jun 2 2010, 11:28 PM)
guess i've been away for so long.. wave.gif
july is coming up, so i hope i can have more cosplayers to shoot

my bestest shot so far *vignet edit
a300+ sigma 28F1.8
F58 wireless in HSS mode
Wow this is Beautiful.. I love the colours thumbup.gif

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:38 PM)
I am currently using kitlens (18-55mm)

any fast lens to recommend except prime.

is Tamron 17-50mm good? what is the market price? any cheap deal in lowyat?
Yes is GOOD! Sharp at F2.8. Period. If you like shooting in low light wide open and don like to boost up ur iso... then this lens best for you..Rm 1400 below can get.

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:10 AM)
for a 70 200 f2.8 which one's the best? sigma ? tamron? G SSM?
u ask BEST of course will say G SSM laaa!~~ the price x 2 ,

QUOTE(cjlai @ Jun 3 2010, 12:30 AM)
anyone going this friday?

Must be invited? or can we just go there without invitation? I just wanna visit the place.
clivengu
post Jun 4 2010, 04:48 PM

1,850 posts

Anyone going for NEx Launching later on 9.30pm?
clivengu
post Jun 6 2010, 05:24 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 5 2010, 10:16 PM)
ianho: I've never had a battery grip. I was already killing my back with a heavy laptop bag from work! I was going light with the Minolta 24-105mm F3.5-4.5(D) and F58 (and a Samyang 85mm F1.4 inside.)

nimrod323: Exactly - though Sony does use other brands as well e.g. Panasonic for the flashes and I can't remember who makes their LED TVs.

cjlai, thanks for the lens pr0n! Didn't notice the lens hood on the 18-200mm.
Albert, how is the performance of the Samyang 85mm F1.4 compare to the Sony CZ one? smile.gif
clivengu
post Jun 6 2010, 05:35 PM

1,850 posts

I wan buy Tokina 1116 F2.8 tomorrow as my birthday present~! icon_rolleyes.gif any other place i can get other than uncle chin price? was hoping can get around 2400-2350 price range.

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Jun 6 2010, 04:45 PM)
Sigh, my Zeiss died when I was in Genting. I was trying to do a mini skodeng but then noticed I can't focus more than 2meters. I cant go to infinity anymore. ):
aiyo.. died...sorry to hear that.. hope it can be resurrected easily....
clivengu
post Jun 8 2010, 07:30 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Jun 8 2010, 06:06 PM)
guys,can u recommend fonts to be used on wedding photos...thanx... smile.gif
I usually just use very basic non distracting font. Century Gothic is my favourite... try Increase the distance between each Alphabets.

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 8 2010, 07:08 PM)
Picture Spam (just some random shots):

-i noticed at frames like this the barrel distortion was quite bad, did some cropping and tweaking.

I like that kind of shot... architectural approach.. but like u say there will be distortion issue. but it can easily adjust using filter lens distortion in photoshop... just pray that the barrel distortion is not a weird uneven one..some lens have...then it will be difficult to adjust even in photoshop. rclxub.gif

Btw. I bought my birthday present yesterday hohoho! icon_rolleyes.gif Is finally time for me to learn how to shoot with UWA! I also bought the PL polarizer...eventhough it creates slight vignette (actually is totally black) at 11mm...have to increase to 12-13mm for it to disappear..

Any tips on how to use the PL polarizer when shooting landscape? is very tricky filter..but is amazing to see how the filter actually decrease the reflection.. what confusing is.. i have no idea when the filter turns..how it affect my images.. cause there is not gradient visible on the filter itself.
clivengu
post Jun 8 2010, 07:47 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 8 2010, 07:32 PM)
you're gonna make Mo0 green with jealousy!
MOOOOOO. hahhaha.. he asked me after i back from europe trip... sell the lens to him...lol whistling.gif

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 8 2010, 07:34 PM)
Clive: i tried something different (for me la tongue.gif) by using lines. and fuiyo on the 1116 f2.8 .... how much did it cost? u bought from alphanatics?
I like to play with lines too...anything parallel.. straight lines.. bought the lens from Uncle Chin... i spent more than I expected... Rm2700 with the PL filter and all kind of credit card charges.. the lens itself is only rm 2450.. cry.gif

clivengu
post Jun 8 2010, 10:52 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Jun 8 2010, 07:56 PM)
clivengu : You're like the official 1st owner of the Tokina 11-16 f2.8 on Sony Mount. As far as I know la. XD So how is it? Must TT soon!
Uncle Chin said he sold over 20units already... but I din see anyone own it in lowyat thread. Im still trying to get use to the UWA.. but I test.. if focus properly.. the F2.8 is sharp... Can use well for shooting Potrait n Food at night with extreme perspective.. which is nice. laugh.gif The lens is rm 2450 no discount..uncle chin price pretty standard...some more charging extra 2% for Creditcard.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:11 PM)
clive: sample pics please haha, major haul man
Shoot some very random shot.. Nothing impressive.. wait till i can find smthing worth posting. tongue.gif

QUOTE(fansoption @ Jun 8 2010, 08:17 PM)
Last Saturday my tripod rosak, then go shop awhile at studio zaloon saw it this velbon tripod then i bought it. Can do macro shot this tripod. But i still no very know how to use this tripod

[attachmentid=1617140]
[attachmentid=1617142]
[attachmentid=1617143]
Oh nice.. Very suitable for u hahaha..for macro!
clivengu
post Jun 9 2010, 02:04 AM

1,850 posts

Here are some test shot before I purchase my Tokina 11 16 F2.8 rclxms.gif

Bought a 77mm Hoya Polarizing filter... at 11mm it has black edges problem.. but it will be gone when zoom in at 12mm to 13mm... still try to figure out the right way to use this filter... It also block lights for few stops... is amazing though how it prevent reflection.. visible even when looking into the viewfinder...

Immediately test out during my birthday yamcha session with friends at Laundry The Curve tongue.gif All shot with F2.8 ... although people usually don use F2.8 for UWA lens.. but it sure comes handy... when u need it! love this lens..

Try to do a BIGHEAD closeup shot

When putting portrait subject in the middle of frame.. the distortion is well controlled..

Shooting food photo with UWA is dangerous because I might dip my lens inside the Food when getting too close!!

Now I have 11-16 F2.8, 17-50F2.8 what i am lacking now is a 70-200F2.8 G! ..Although all non fullframe lense... doh.gif thats why have to stick to apsc for a while.

I have a question.. when using UWA lens what focusing mode better to use, lets say for Landscape or interior? Spot? Point? or Wide? Cause when I test using Wide focusing.. the photo is usually mess up.. the camera tends to Focus on the nearer objects (even if the object is towards the very corner of the frame), instead of the middle ground..resulting in an almost useless out of focus photos.. rclxub.gif

clivengu
post Jun 9 2010, 02:34 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 9 2010, 02:09 AM)
clivengu: Congratulations! Dude, CPLs don't work with ultra-wide angle lenses. The polarized effect only covers a 90 degree angle, and you will discover why when you take it outdoors.
I have not really take to bright outdoor to shoot yet.. 90 degrees... that is 1/4 of a frame only!! so it will looks weird too...auu damn.. Uncle chin din advice me on this.. i thought only the black edges is the potential problem for UWA & it can b solved by zoom in a bit.
clivengu
post Jun 9 2010, 08:34 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Jun 9 2010, 02:27 PM)
I using now is the cheaper 75-300mm lens, but i want go 70-300 F2.8 so expansive, i saw this 70-300 G lens just 2999 but aperture is not F2.8 normal this kind of tele lens should go for F2.8 or ???
Din know there is a 70300 F2.8 lens.. sweat.gif 70 300G is my targeted lens... for normal usage.. i will choose the 70300 over the 70200F2.8 because of the weight... I usually do candid shot and Random shots.. so the 70200G r too standout.. usually are for specific purposes

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Jun 9 2010, 07:49 PM)
heizad : It's really a bargain if you dont mind on outward appearance. What's important is inside, isn't it? Lenses are same like girls lo. No point getting a lens that is so pretty on the outside but everything inside is cheap. Sorry just got into a bad breakup.
But sometime is undeniable the outside appearance can affect our decision... example CZ85mm F1.4 is SUPER NICE when mount on either A700/A900 .. but of course is SUPERB inside too.. Anyway im a bit Kepo.. Ur relationship is like hectic graph.. up down up down.. don worry.. it will UP again.. like stock market icon_rolleyes.gif
clivengu
post Jun 13 2010, 10:55 PM

1,850 posts

Any Alpha camera can get with rm 2000? My friend at first wanna get LX3 then after her family question him "why don u get the BIG one"

now he not certain already... so he ask me rm 2000 can get dslr or not..?new one
clivengu
post Jun 13 2010, 10:58 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 13 2010, 10:56 PM)
a230
a330
a350 (second hand)
a550 (body only second hand)
a200
a100
i think A100-200 only can find second hand already... leaving A230 only... how much is d market price now?
clivengu
post Jun 13 2010, 11:49 PM

1,850 posts

Like to ask a question about post processing in photoshop...

When u shoot raw with alpha camera... ARW file... does anyone of you actually convert all the ARW. file to DNG file before processing? or just edit using the ARW file?

I see some tutorial tat encourage user to convert all raw file to DNG to ensure that the file format is support "forever" ... but my concern is not about ARW will be obsolete in future.. my concern is more on... Quality of the images.. in ARW vs DNG...will there be any difference?

I think i usually delete my ARW file after i saved them to Jpeg.. only important event/job i backup my arw in dvd.
clivengu
post Jun 14 2010, 03:30 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Jun 14 2010, 02:28 AM)
some wedding pic teaser....not that good in PP,just sesedap tangan PP...do C&C... smile.gif

Look a bit.. too warm and too sharp~! mayb can soften the skin defect a bit... the bride will be happy bout it too.
clivengu
post Jun 15 2010, 07:25 PM

1,850 posts

Why the A700 Tag got Zeiss... but I dont own any zeiss lens.. paiseh... leh.
haha.. was taking a break from work and update my signature since the previous A700 Tag link wasnt working anymore..
clivengu
post Jun 16 2010, 05:44 AM

1,850 posts

WOW.. what happened.. is there a new 70200G F2.8 coming out? Suddenly Alphanatics wts first page is filled with x3 of this White lens on WTS!!!

70300G too... wow....wow.. i can only Wow..but cant do anything bout it....

0.0581sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:53 PM