iPhone Case,BatteryPack,Screen Protector Thread v3, Recommendation, Discussion etc

Jason
post Oct 1 2010, 04:47 PM

6,355 posts

SGP Ultra Oleophobic not very popular with owners here, how come ar? Its crystal clear, oil resistant and less drag on the screen..

which SP is preferred?
I've never tried other SP before and decided to use the Ultra Oleophobic after reading the reviews on http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=964196
Jason
post Oct 1 2010, 06:35 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(LeChuCk @ Oct 1 2010, 06:19 PM)
not true..i am using it and i find it good to use..recommended thumbup.gif
yeah i am using it too, i feel its smooth for finger (less drag).. and it is crystal clear..my friends didn't even know got SP on it. rclxm9.gif
Jason
post Oct 1 2010, 09:39 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(mr11 @ Oct 1 2010, 06:42 PM)
intrested in this vapor case...
anyone got their pre-order ? wish to tumpang
omg that is pure sex.. clean and sleek just like the iphone 4 itself..
Jason
post Oct 11 2010, 01:18 AM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Oct 10 2010, 10:07 PM)
Dont be in a dilemma, just choose between these two either SGP or PowerSupport,  both are similar quality and you cant go wrong with either one SP

Casing well there are many...Im using SwitchEasy Nude Black, but im having an eye on Mophie Juice Pack, can get it for RM 275 online with shipping to Malaysia
agreed. although I am biased (lol), PowerSupport does make very very good screen protectors. the only reason why I lean towards SGP is the oleophobic coating. these 2 SP is definitely way better than those RM15 SP in the market. you won't go wrong with either one.
Jason
post Oct 11 2010, 02:42 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(Joey87 @ Oct 11 2010, 04:54 AM)
Power Support Anti-Glare HD is awesome, matte finish, anti-finger print and anti-glare with minimal loss in quality of the retina display. One thing i don't like is that it still attracts oil smudges...and...my face is oily T.T (on a side note..i found a tiny little dust at the edge of my front screen protector, no idea how it get in, and i can't get it out...hopefully it doesn't scratch the glass XD)
a matte SP will mar the retina display to a certain extend. i personally feel its a little waste of the beautiful iphone 4 display. as for oil smudges, you could try the SGP Oleophobic SP.. its oil resistant, so oil can easily wipe off and won't smear, plus point is that its crystal clear and doesn't degrade the optical quality of the retina display thumbup.gif .
Jason
post Oct 12 2010, 12:07 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 11 2010, 06:24 PM)
From the reviews here, seems like SGP and power support both are highly recommended for screen protector for I phone 4

The following is available in our market. (Correct me if i am wrong)

Power Support - Crystal Film
Power Support - Anti-Glare Film
SGP - Ultra crystal (Clear)
SGP - Ultra fine (Anti finger print)
SGP - Ultra oleophobic

Among these 5 options, which is best in term of picture quality after applied them?
All of them are about the same price, right?
The Anti-Glare and Anti-Finger print film is worst in terms of picture/optical quality.
I find the Oleophobic and the Crystal Clear on par, no reason not to get the Oleophobic.

Both Power Support and SGP SP are the top of the line. I've used both, and the reason why I lean towards SGP is only for the Oleophobic coating.

QUOTE(iSaaCiMaCiPC @ Oct 11 2010, 06:32 PM)
I used Power Support Anti-Glare but i couldn't stand missing out on the awesome retina display, comparing my other iPhone that had the Crystal Clear Film on.

Now i am using Crystal Clear from Power Support for both, haven't tried SGP's screen protectors so i cannot really comment on it.

But i would recommend Power Support Crystal Clear, very satisfied.
I agree, you will be satisfied with Power Support Crystal Clear, just do your iPhone 4 a favor and don't get the matte one.

QUOTE(nvidia134 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:12 PM)
How the Powersupport Crystal Clear PS? Fingerprint magnet? Scratch resistant?
Fingerprint magnet depends, it will be visible if you compare to matte SP. scratch resistant is depending on how you use it..if it comes in contact with diamond.. any SP will also GG.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 11 2010, 10:43 PM)
im using PS antiglare (front) n crystal (back). AG is better in preventing fingerprints. i prefer AG because of the smoother texture, feels nicer to swipe. crystal got a bit of friction to it.

no comments on scratch resistance. so far i dun have any scratches
try the SGP oleophobic, the coating makes the surface a little slick. its very apparent to me because i have it on my samsung galaxy s for swyping.

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 12 2010, 10:59 AM)
How is the performance for oil removal? So far any scratches?
Anybody can comment on these?

Seems like power support is cheaper huh. Almost half cheaper than SGP
not half lah, SGP costs RM11 more only for the oleophobic coating. again, scratch is dependent on your usage.. Power Support and SGP have very good durability.. the cheap RM15.. put in my girlfriends bag with her cosmetics (plastic containers) also scratch.. no such issue with Power Support and SGP.

if you don't want the Oleophobic coating, I think Power Support is a great choice thumbup.gif
Jason
post Oct 13 2010, 05:04 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Oct 13 2010, 12:50 PM)
had d iph4 since 2 mths ago, had been tru iluv clear case whc cuts ur ear wen ans call, switcheasy nude whc cuts ur face wen ans call, a slidercase whc keeps fallg apart & keeps d ph real hot ... finally had settled 4 a fake incase  perforated case at rm18 & had none of d above prbs anymore  mad.gif
one thing about perforated case which i dislike is that it traps dust.. when you remove it can see the dust lubang2 on the phone.

QUOTE(iv'N @ Oct 13 2010, 03:21 PM)
ahh.. ok.. didn't realise that!

anyway just saw this on twitter:

http://plixi.com/p/50221008

Someone drop phone without casing, less than 1 meter.. pretty disastrous!
ouch. very disastrous indeed. somehow i *feel* silicone/rubber case give a sense of safety compared to hard cases. that being said some hardcases have a rubber/silicone lining inside. i won't be surprised if the hardcase cracks/breaks on impact, very much depends on how high is the fall as well as the angle.

then again, other than protection we want to differentiate our iphone too right.
Jason
post Oct 15 2010, 04:48 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 15 2010, 01:14 AM)
it does. for me, not a big deal, it's still a joy to look at. but i understand some people cant stand it. i pick slight amount of rainbow effect over oily screen any day
is it a matte finish or clear finish? i haven't seen the PS anti-glare in person and would love to learn more about it. most anti-glare/anti-fingerprint in the market are matte finish. but if its matte, it shouldn't have rainbow effect.

you can try the sgp oleophobic SP. oil resistant and no rainbow-ing.
Jason
post Oct 17 2010, 01:25 AM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Oct 15 2010, 10:56 PM)
Will oleophobic SP improve the smoothness of the screen? compare to no SP used....
yes it does. less drag. but you cannot compare to matte! those are the smoothest. but personally i wouldn't sacrifice the optical clarity of the retina display with matte..but its a personal decision.. some people can live with it and they are happy. if i have a nice screen, i want to enjoy it to the fullest, but thats just me smile.gif
Jason
post Oct 18 2010, 11:59 AM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Oct 17 2010, 06:36 PM)
generally all SPs affect the oleophopic coating would be affected. Otherwise there is no issues with the retina display if u choose to use clear SPs.
yeap.. original iphone 4 screen already has oleophobic coating. and its not -all- SP. there's one exception..the SGP Oleophobic, whereby you still have an oleophobic coating on the SP.

anyway..some pictures to share for the SGP Oleophobic.. one who doesn't know won't be able to tell there's an SP on it visually. of course if you run your fingers on the home button you'll feel its there. the SP is really invisible and doesn't deterioriate the retina display

Jason
post Oct 22 2010, 10:47 AM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(almari2010 @ Oct 22 2010, 10:45 AM)
99% killed? how come i got full bar with my vapor?
maybe try somewhere with poor signal strength?
Jason
post Nov 4 2010, 09:45 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Nov 4 2010, 05:58 PM)
one question guys. do we actually need the SP? if not mistaken our glass screen are scratch resistant right?
its scratch resistance.. not scratch proof... simple example. iphone 4 screen CAN be scratched. depends on your usage environment and pattern
Jason
post Nov 10 2010, 10:56 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Nov 9 2010, 12:58 AM)
I was previously using an SGP anti fingerprint one. I have to say I wasn't entirely happy about how it affected the retina display. Just changed to an SGP Ultra Clear one and I'm glad I did. Some people might think I'm just being anal about the display quality but oh well, just my opinion  smile.gif
you could consider the SGP oleophobic..it is crystal clear like the SGP Ultra Clear, but comes with an oil-resistant coating. you can ask Vor, he just changed from SGP Ultra Clear to SGP Oleophobic 30 minutes ago when I met him thumbup.gif no sacrifice in the retina display, and easier to remove oil and prints..rather than smearing it around.
Jason
post Nov 11 2010, 12:00 AM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(S4a @ Nov 10 2010, 11:53 PM)
You won't go wrong with SGP Oleophobic. It's the BEST!!!
indeed, you won't go wrong with it. oil resistant advantage while keeping the high quality retina display intact.
my friend cried when he put his iphone 4 with matte SP next to iphone 3gs with no SP.. makes iphone 4 retina display more blur than 3GS from arms length. buy latest technology but using it worst than last year's technology. sweat.gif that being said iphone 4 is still brighter..but blur..
Jason
post Nov 11 2010, 10:21 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Nov 11 2010, 08:50 PM)
Glass is breakable:
http://www.gsmarena.com/iphone_4_is_the_mo...e-news-2065.php

That's why I have invested on the Otterbox Defender case.
i have personally seen 2 iphone 4 with broken glass in person smile.gif
SP alone won't help that much with broken glass. you need a proper case.. otterbox defender is overkill tho, you can go to war with that rclxms.gif
Jason
post Nov 11 2010, 10:31 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(fuiyo @ Nov 11 2010, 10:23 PM)
And how is it compared to Power Support's Crystal Clear?
having seen it in person, both are crystal clear. visual quality i would give both 10/10. Power Support SP is very good. if i didn't want the oleophobic coating i will definitely choose Power Support crystal clear. cause its cheaper smile.gif you will not go wrong with Power Support. only reason I opt for SGP is for the oleophobic coating.

to be very honest, i wouldn't go for Power Support's Anti Glare or SGP's Anti Fingerprint over their crystal clear counterparts.. its not worth degrading the beautiful retina display (my personal opinion.) that being said, both PS & SGP's matte SPs are way better than the rest of the competition. in most cases people can live with a matte SP..but the moment they place their iphone 4 with matte SP next to a naked iphone 4..they will see that it is indeed blurred. defeats the purpose of the retina and the high resolution.. IMHO.

0.0258sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:04 PM