Wii Shopping Channel connection problem, Anyone else having the same problem?

TStoadhall
post May 18 2010, 09:51 AM, updated 16y ago

34 posts

So I've been trying to connect to the Wii Shopping Channel over the weekend and I keep getting error code 209600, which means it timed out. This never happened before. Just wondering if this is happening to you guys as well?

I'm wondering if this is a Streamyx related problem since I'm having problems connecting to PSN on my PS3 from around the same time as well. The guys over in the PS3 forum seem to be blaming Streamyx rather than PSN.

This sucks cos I just got a Classic Controller Pro with Monster Hunter Tri and I really wanna buy Super Mario World to test out my spiffing new controller! vmad.gif
Kyoyagami
post May 18 2010, 09:54 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Mine was ok. Both PSN and WSC.
rko1983
post May 18 2010, 10:44 AM

I cant connect to wii shop channel recently too,the weird thing is that nintendo channel,internet channel are all working fine.
i remember that about 3weeks ago NA wii shop channel is updated,they make the wsc menu can be scrolled.i think this update resulting in more internet speed use so we need faster internet speed now otherwise you cant connect.
Last week,after few times retry,i finally connected to wsc,i quickly grab this oppotunity and download some vc games and the downloading time is working charm as usual.after that i log off from wsc and try connect again to see how,but the result is "error code" again.
So this might prove me right that the error is cause by the new update for the wsc menu.
I would like to ask you guys(high speed internet user) is that time connecting to wsc is longer now?
Do you keep getting error from wsc recently?
thanks.
TStoadhall
post May 18 2010, 11:10 AM

34 posts

When they first updated the WSC, I had no problems with the new scrolling menu. So I wonder if it's really that being the issue. I've got a 4mbps streamyx connection and if that's not fast enough then that's just plain ridiculous. And yeah, my internet and news channels are working fine as well. WiiConnect24 even updates them in the background.

@Kyoyagami: what sort of connection do you have?

This post has been edited by toadhall: May 18 2010, 11:16 AM
ramz
post May 18 2010, 11:26 AM

21,327 posts

i wonder if its a DNS problem (a problem within the Internet provider). somehow your connection doesn't allow you to "see" nintendo's address. I have an oversea network (i know, its a bad example, but hear me out), and i have the same problem from day 1 i purchased my wii. so the solution is i had to go to the PC, do the "ipconfig" thingy and write down all the IP address setup there. then i key this in manually in my wii connection setup, and tada it worked. now, when i bring my wii back to malaysia, i don't need to do all this manual configuration. i just let my wii detect my wifi automatically and thats it. up to today i don't know why my oversea network behaves this way, but since it works i don't investigate further

DNS is a funny thing, and it is IP dependent. for example at one time my celcom broadband cannot access LYN!!!, but my TMnet can. what i did is call celcom, and they did some resetting, then suddenly can!, so as a more permenant solution u call your internet provider and quote the domain name u have trouble with. but the problem is u really dono the domain name of nintendo. is more effective if u can tell them the domain name of the site u have trouble accessing.

This post has been edited by ramz: May 18 2010, 11:33 AM
TStoadhall
post May 18 2010, 11:31 AM

34 posts

So basically you're suggesting changing DNS servers? Hmm... I'll go home and try opendns or google public dns later then. Such a pain. Thanks for the suggestion though!
Kyoyagami
post May 20 2010, 11:20 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

mine is streamyx. I can't really decipher why it has happened. Good luck guys.
TStoadhall
post May 20 2010, 11:25 AM

34 posts

Well, as an update, I've since been able to reconnect to wsc but it keeps disconnecting while I'm browsing. I did manage to buy some wii points though... it just won't let me spend them yet!

Anyways, I'm guessing this is mostly a streamyx problem. I haven't changed the dns yet (too lazy) so I don't know yet if that'll help.
Kyoyagami
post May 20 2010, 11:52 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(toadhall @ May 20 2010, 11:25 AM)
Well, as an update, I've since been able to reconnect to wsc but it keeps disconnecting while I'm browsing. I did manage to buy some wii points though... it just won't let me spend them yet!

Anyways, I'm guessing this is mostly a streamyx problem. I haven't changed the dns yet (too lazy) so I don't know yet if that'll help.
Though this may not be that much a problem to WSC users, but still as a note, be careful when purchasing during unstable internet connection.

Once I bought a song from Rock Band 2, but the internet just DCed on me. It was a bout to approve the purchase, and it didn't. I ended up with a song that i could never ever buy. Sigh...

I still have the points for the song though.
TStoadhall
post May 20 2010, 12:03 PM

34 posts

Yikes! Sorry to hear that!
ramz
post May 20 2010, 12:11 PM

21,327 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ May 20 2010, 11:52 AM)
Though this may not be that much a problem to WSC users, but still as a note, be careful when purchasing during unstable internet connection.

Once I bought a song from Rock Band 2, but the internet just DCed on me. It was a bout to approve the purchase, and it didn't. I ended up with a song that i could never ever buy. Sigh...

i remember this one u told me. have u tried going to harmonix customer support to tell them that (either u call - skype now very cheap, or email). its a bug in their software. their internal workflow should be purchase -> confirm purcase -> tag as purchased. but instead its purchase -> tag as purchased -> confirm purchased.

Added on May 20, 2010, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ May 20 2010, 11:52 AM)

yeah, its not only nintendo, even ps3 i have connection problems. well just chill i guess.

This post has been edited by ramz: May 20 2010, 12:13 PM
Kyoyagami
post May 20 2010, 12:13 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

nah haven't. Haven't even touched the wii much except for going the completion route with New Super Mario Bros Wii (Gf obsessed. haha).

But later issue for me. I can complaint it later.
albalang
post May 20 2010, 04:17 PM

i hav the same problem.. is this really becoz of streamyx connection? i already change my wireless router to channel 1 as what stated in Nintendo Support site but still no luck.. icon_question.gif
Kyoyagami
post May 20 2010, 04:21 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I just checked someone posted Streamyx ada prob until 23rd only it will be ok again, due to faulty submarine cable.
albalang
post May 20 2010, 04:24 PM

aiyoo.. faulty submarine cable.. rclxub.gif

until 23rd eh... hhhmmm.. sabar je lah..
TStoadhall
post May 20 2010, 04:26 PM

34 posts

That stupid submarine cable always got problem lah. Haih
Kyoyagami
post May 20 2010, 04:32 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Yesh. Sadly, yesh.

But dun just limit to Channel 1. Try disabling ur security, or changing it (Say WEP to WPA, vice versa) and see what works. Other channels may be possible too. U just need to try.
TStoadhall
post May 20 2010, 04:45 PM

34 posts

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll give it a go when I get a chance. I doubt it'll do anything much though because it was connecting perfectly well before.

In any case, when I do get a chance to get near my Wii, I'll probably be more likely to play the single-player portion of MH3. I think that would be better than to stress myself out over the sorry state of internet.
Kyoyagami
post May 20 2010, 04:51 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I remembered my router (Linksys) had problems connecting to the wii. after changing the security, it was ok. So, go ahead. Anything should go well.
albalang
post May 21 2010, 07:40 AM

i read a blog about this error code, it seems that the problems come up after people update to v4.2

something not rite with the nintendo latest update.. don't know true or not..
TStoadhall
post May 21 2010, 08:14 AM

34 posts

Yeah, but update 4.2 isn't exactly a new update... it's weird the problem would only appear now if it was related to that.
albalang
post May 21 2010, 08:20 AM

maybe a lot of people just recently update their wii.. hahahha
TStoadhall
post May 21 2010, 08:29 AM

34 posts

haha... yeah to play MH3 online perhaps!
Kyoyagami
post May 21 2010, 09:42 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Haha. Maybe. But updates normally are to deter piracy. and 4.2 has been (Soemwhat) successful in preventing it. Hoping for 4.3 now.
ramz
post May 21 2010, 11:23 AM

21,327 posts

u need 4.2 to access wiishop. but of course ada belakang mari. to access wii shop u need only certain system files. so what modders do is just update those files only lor. and yes 4.2 also wipes of all foriegn mods. but again main belakang. they will just mod it again after updating to 4.2, and the saga continues.......

This post has been edited by ramz: May 21 2010, 11:26 AM
TStoadhall
post Jun 9 2010, 02:31 PM

34 posts

Most people will probably not care but to those who do...

HOORAY! I can access the Wii Shopping Channel again ever since Monday night. Bought myself Super Mario World (so I can properly enjoy my new Classic Controller Pro) and Super Metroid (to gear myself up for Other M).

And I didn't have to change any of my wifi settings, thank the Gaming Gods!

(Oh btw I blame Streamyx for this. I've noticed my Youtube sessions, torrenting sessions and PSN connection have noticeably improved at about the same time.)

This post has been edited by toadhall: Jun 9 2010, 02:34 PM
Kyoyagami
post Jun 9 2010, 04:33 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Ah, so its a case of streamyx in the end eh? Thank God. haha.
TStoadhall
post Jun 9 2010, 04:41 PM

34 posts

Yeah... I almost–ALMOST–changed the wifi settings like you suggested, but decided to check whether it was working again... and lo and behold it was. PHEW. I hate messing with the router settings.
gaeryn
post Jun 10 2010, 10:05 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 9 2010, 04:33 PM)
Ah, so its a case of streamyx in the end eh? Thank God. haha.
Always streamyx is the main cause of the problem. I'm using Maxis/Digi Broadband... no problems with Wii shopping channel.

0.0181sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:01 AM