HTC Wildfire, Info and unrevoked root on 1st page

madman.com
post Jul 13 2010, 02:15 PM

351 posts

Well, did some research on the web just now and here are some findings:-

Pros:
1. Price is CHEAP !! (yup, this is one hell of an attraction to people out there)
2. Can be upgraded to Froyo (i think its already confirm)
3. The overall phone size is more "user friendly" (well, some say this depends on individual)
4. Larger ROM (not so sure bout this)

Cons:
1. Lousy screen resolution. (well, some say this also depends on individual)
2. Slower processor, 528MHz only.
3. Poor speaker/sound quality.
4. MIGHT not support certain android app due to the low resolution. (this one not so sure)
5. Camera quality not so good, although its 5MP (this one not sure)

So anyone can verify or anything to add to the list ? tongue.gif
madman.com
post Jul 16 2010, 08:17 AM

351 posts

Hmm.....i saw some review on internet about the poor camera on wildfire.

It says the pic quality isn't that bad, it just bcoz we snap it and view it under the TFT low resolution screen. That's why we think the pic sucks.

If u transfer the pic and view it using pc, the quality is just like normal 5Mp pic.

Can anyone confirm this?

This post has been edited by madman.com: Jul 16 2010, 08:18 AM
madman.com
post Jul 20 2010, 10:43 PM

351 posts

having problem when connecting my wildfire to pc using usb cable, it cannot detect the device. Anyone can help?
madman.com
post Jul 20 2010, 11:47 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(gwsa @ Jul 20 2010, 11:42 PM)
kanasai: hahaha..dun really like the red colour..
madman; urs ap or ori ?? whom u get from ??
bought it during htc roadshow at midvalley last friday. why?
madman.com
post Jul 21 2010, 05:02 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(peggymun @ Jul 21 2010, 09:03 AM)
hey perhaps u can try

menu button > notifications > disk drive > done smile.gif
actually i've done that, it prompt out and ask to install the device. But the problem is
my pc can't find the driver, is say need to install ADB driver. Where to get it??
madman.com
post Jul 21 2010, 05:31 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(peggymun @ Jul 21 2010, 05:27 PM)
have you install the driver? the driver folder is inside the 2GB memory card. At first i was looking every where for the driver but when i checked, the driver folder is installed in the 2GB (inbox) there.. u can try and see smile.gif
Holy s**t !!!! really???!! Bcoz i nvr use that 2gb sd card, coz when i bought my phone that time
i got a free 4gb sd card from PDAexpert. From day 1 i nvr use the 2gb card... doh.gif doh.gif
But it canot detect my device in the first place, how are my going yo access into the sd card to extract the driver??

This post has been edited by madman.com: Jul 21 2010, 05:33 PM
madman.com
post Jul 21 2010, 09:11 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Jul 21 2010, 08:44 PM)
HTC has made the official announce regarding this phone can be upgraded to Android 2.2 (FROYO)? Btw, how to transfer my old contact from my Nokia 5800 XpressMusic to HTC Wildfire?
by using bluetooth
madman.com
post Jul 22 2010, 10:39 AM

351 posts

[quote=peggymun,Jul 22 2010, 09:47 AM]
the memory card come with a card reader.. perhaps u can install thru ur pc first before connect the usb to your phone smile.gif smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2010, 9:50 am

done that yesterday, not working. I even reinstall the latest HTC sync, then when plugged in my device nothing happen.

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

mayb my wildfire cacat adi.....
madman.com
post Jul 23 2010, 09:15 PM

351 posts

1. phone with battery installed
2. 3-pin plug
3. power adapter with usb port
4. usb cable
5. sd card with adapter
6. stereo headset
7. manual
madman.com
post Jul 23 2010, 09:41 PM

351 posts

go ebay and buy, got plenty
madman.com
post Jul 26 2010, 09:01 AM

351 posts

can go to htc website and log into "where to buy" section. I think all those outlet they are selling original set, 2 year warranty under sis. I bought mine at PDA expert which is the authorize dealer as well.
madman.com
post Jul 27 2010, 10:34 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(Auwen @ Jul 26 2010, 09:17 PM)
erm....wildfire is using android 2.1....rite???if next time come out new version android...2.2....can i update??? erm....if buy original...mean we can go HTC download to update??? or certain phone model just can update android 2.2????
I had watch a few reviews and videos....found wildfire is quite nice....but ..i oso found sometimes it would lag....is it???
i think the diff between ori and ap set here is just the warranty itself. Original SIS set got 2 years warranty and as for ap set is 1 year from the shop that sell to u.

Either u buy the ori or ap set, the phone is still the same. If u plan to root it later on, i think better get the ap set.

This post has been edited by madman.com: Jul 27 2010, 10:35 AM
madman.com
post Jul 28 2010, 07:36 PM

351 posts

'
QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 28 2010, 05:27 PM)
Anyone facing this problem?
Alarm won't trigger.. I wonder why..
If u install advance task killer, put alarm clock into the ignore list. If not, ur alarm wont work.
madman.com
post Aug 14 2010, 10:37 PM

351 posts

just finish install papago x5 on my wildfire. well, gotta say the display is really shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

and just found out smthing, u gotta turn on the GPS satellites to enable voice navigation.

well, other than the poor display, its still a good app. At least u no need to use wifi/3g for navigation.
madman.com
post Aug 15 2010, 08:30 PM

351 posts

just found out another problem, even though has set the phone to vibrate when receiving sms, but its not working.

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
madman.com
post Aug 19 2010, 10:01 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Aug 19 2010, 08:23 PM)
Uncheck Haptic Feedback doesn't off the vibrate, when I type, the phone still vibrate.  hmm.gif
setting > language & keyboard>touch input>text input>vibrate when typing
madman.com
post Aug 25 2010, 03:04 PM

351 posts

for those who just get our phone, type *#*#3424#*#* to check on your phone for defects.
madman.com
post Sep 24 2010, 11:19 PM

351 posts

anyone know how to set the weather widget, where it can shows the weather of my location? Meaning when im in KL it will show KL's weather, when i drive to PJ it will show PJ's.
madman.com
post Sep 25 2010, 07:55 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Sep 25 2010, 05:49 AM)
Bro o thought that is come with the HTC clock widget??? add widget > clock (htc) > choose the 3rd option but u need to sync it lo... I had been using it since the 1st day... That's y I never use any other launcher coz i get those I wanted already...
Guys need help... my wildfire gives my signal problem, the signal will lost suddenly and gain back after a while... Any one has the problem? Am using it within pj n USJ....
No, its the weather widget not clock. Before this it can shows the weather of the location where i am (KL or PJ). But somehow dont know what happen now canot alreaady.

0.0242sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:43 PM