4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Aircon to recommend ?

TSxvestigex
post May 17 2010, 09:55 PM, updated 16y ago

32 posts

anyone have any idea which air con to recommend to me as off i have Panasonic intelligent inverter and Sharp in my mind right now..
however couldnt make up my mind.
bingozero
post May 17 2010, 10:00 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

York air-cond is fast cooling.
ProX
post May 17 2010, 10:05 PM

316 posts

Agree with bingo, go for York. I have replaced my Panasonic with York.
static
post May 17 2010, 10:11 PM

782 posts

Stayed in 3 apartments, all 3 using YORK.

First apartment, first aircond no gas, second aircond kaput. Landlord fixed.

Second apartment, awesome. no problem at all.

Third apartment, move in only not cold. Apparently no gas/leakage. So far, it's alright. But seems like this one takes a while to cool down though, but room smaller than the rest. Weird.

TSxvestigex
post May 17 2010, 10:25 PM

32 posts

York air cond good in long lasting ?

how bout energy saving ?
spikey2506
post May 17 2010, 10:31 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

I'm searching for an aircon too actually. How about LG? Ok ar? Samsung also quite cheap. Looking for a 1.5HP unit.
maiself
post May 17 2010, 10:33 PM

Pro Surfer
1,346 posts

im using Mitsubishi SRK10 - RM1.3k
ray6369
post May 17 2010, 10:34 PM

453 posts

DAIKIN!
AjkR06
post May 17 2010, 10:37 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

I'm using Sharp aircond. That one that came with plasmacluster thingy... So far, so good. and just using it for my small room.
art6969
post May 18 2010, 12:13 AM

1,520 posts

york too noise

go for mitsubishi
TSxvestigex
post May 18 2010, 12:22 AM

32 posts

Sharp the one with plasma cutter ion thingy ?
the promoter keep promoting that 1 to me ..
so i wondering is it good or just for the purpose of sales.
willkso
post May 18 2010, 12:26 AM

993 posts

Aircon got direct relation to Home Entertaintment thread? rclxub.gif
Wingz33
post May 18 2010, 12:27 AM

157 posts

mitsubishi !!! recommended
paskal
post May 18 2010, 06:10 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

just installed 4.
got friends using various brands and asked around for opinions, including advices from aircond specialized shop (shop dealing mainly in aircond and shops dealing just aircond).

went with panasonic and york.
york is fast cooling can't deny that. but the build quality is lower than what i would prefer.
and the noise is just the same as my panasonic.

panasonic build quality is *far* better than york.
but takes quite some time to cool down the room. probably 20%-30% more time.
cooling performance (temperature wise) both are the same once the room are cooled.

also heard good things about mitsubishi heavy duty. and on paper the efficiency (EER/Energy Efficiency Ratio) is higher than most aircond, on the same level as inverter models (EER over 12). could translate to better power consumption.
and on paper the mitsu air throw could reach 12m (while york specs 6m).

installed york standard model, york ionizer model, york bio model and panasonic standard model. didn't go with inverter because i'll be moving at the end of this year. cost of moving inverter units are 100%-120% more than standard models.
bingozero
post May 18 2010, 08:27 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(xvestigex @ May 17 2010, 10:25 PM)
York air cond good in long lasting ?

how bout energy saving ?
York air-cond got Inverter Y Series, so it is energy saving.
But my house is using toshiba air-cond, few years already no problem.
AjkR06
post May 18 2010, 08:33 AM

that's me
1,561 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 18 2010, 06:10 AM)
just installed 4.
got friends using various brands and asked around for opinions, including advices from aircond specialized shop (shop dealing mainly in aircond and shops dealing just aircond).

went with panasonic and york.
york is fast cooling can't deny that. but the build quality is lower than what i would prefer.
and the noise is just the same as my panasonic.

panasonic build quality is *far* better than york.
but takes quite some time to cool down the room. probably 20%-30% more time.
cooling performance (temperature wise) both are the same once the room are cooled.

also heard good things about mitsubishi heavy duty. and on paper the efficiency (EER/Energy Efficiency Ratio) is higher than most aircond, on the same level as inverter models (EER over 12). could translate to better power consumption.
and on paper the mitsu air throw could reach 12m (while york specs 6m).

installed york standard model, york ionizer model, york bio model and panasonic standard model. didn't go with inverter because i'll be moving at the end of this year. cost of moving inverter units are 100%-120% more than standard models.
How about MISTRAL one rolleyes.gif
azbro
post May 18 2010, 08:46 AM

4,403 posts

Dun go for the Samsung one....freaking noisy outside...if fussy neighbor sure complain one

Daikin Inverter so far for me OK..

But I ask shop top sales is Sharp with those plasmacluster ION quite good sales.

My moms house all use sharp.
paskal
post May 18 2010, 09:07 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 18 2010, 08:33 AM)
How about MISTRAL one  rolleyes.gif
mistral looks like a cheap china no brand aircond.
so does MEC. and some other no brand aircond.

and no offence, but so does samsung ones. york and acson looks better built than any of those.

QUOTE(azbro @ May 18 2010, 08:46 AM)
Dun go for the Samsung one....freaking noisy outside...if fussy neighbor sure complain one
But I ask shop top sales is Sharp with those plasmacluster ION quite good sales.
My moms house all use sharp.
daikin inverter are quite popular and oftenly recomended overseas.
the aircond shop that i've surveyed around have good things to say about panasonic. and most of the shops that i went to agrees that york has the fastest cooling albeit a bit noisy.

my panasonic is in my bedroom. and it doesn't have sleep mode (increases the temperature over time). all my york have it.
my wife wakes up at night and turn the aircond off because it's too cold. i wake up because it's too hot because the aircond is off. doh.gif
azbro
post May 18 2010, 09:24 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 18 2010, 09:07 AM)

my wife wakes up at night and turn the aircond off because it's too cold. i wake up because it's too hot because the aircond is off. doh.gif
no...you wake up due to something else waking up drool.gif
DarkNite
post May 18 2010, 09:36 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ May 18 2010, 12:26 AM)
Aircon got direct relation to Home Entertaintment thread?  rclxub.gif

Of course, like most cinema these days are air-con, so the home entertainment room also needs air-con.

Inverter or not inverter? hmm.gif
My colleagues sat down with our regular air-con contractor to hammer the inverter debate when this inverter thing 1st came to the market.
1. Based on TNB rates a couple years ago, there wasn't much savings for 1HP as the installation cost is about RM150 more vs the normal. It need larger copper pipes and electrical cables to the compressor.

2. Inverter air con will save electricity when it is set between 26 - 28C. Otherwise it is the same as the non-inverter other aircon. In addition you will need to have a ceiling or wall fan running to ensure constant and better circulation of hot and cold air.
So less than 1.5HP will only justified itself, if installation cost comes down to be the same as ones without inverter and TNB tariff increase up dramatically.

All brands these days have almost the same quality control and they use the same parts from almost same manufacturer, only casing have different labels and design sad.gif

My 2sen observations are:-
Panasonic - Quiet but sensitive especially when environment are oily & dusty. Nevertheless, however Ulu the place in Malaysia, also have service center and agents! laugh.gif , Which is an important consideration in its maintenance.

York - Cheaper, robust but noisy after 5 to 6 years. Most offices and restaurants use York.

Others I don't have experience using them...but I understand Daikin are also popular in Sinkapo. hmm.gif

Others,
Need to consider the height as well. A room with these dimension 10' width X 20' length X 12' height, needs a 1.5hp.
If smaller hp then the compressor will be working very hard and non-stop aka using more electric and wear out faster.

Any of your walls/windows facing the sun? Beside getting sun-out curtains for windows, you can planting trees or small leafy bamboo to shade the expose walls.
Are your ceiling well insulated? You may consider have it insulated with rock-wool. Initial cost maybe high but if this property is your own, long run it definitely pays by itself.

QUOTE(azbro @ May 18 2010, 08:46 AM)

Nice to hear that, btw what's the HP?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:13 PM