6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

BMW modded with Toyota engine

travis_ckf
post May 17 2010, 03:16 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Toyota's old school engine always worked charm. Since getting used parts or half cut engines from BMW may cost a bomb or rare, sourcing an engine from toyota is a good idea.

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: May 17 2010, 03:17 PM
mADmAN
post May 17 2010, 03:21 PM

10,530 posts

haiyah...old story la....theres even been stories of jaguars and other exotics transplanting SR20s, RB20s etc etc..

basically coz of...

good power, better FC, easier to find parts, cheap maintenance and the most important reason of all....cheap road tax
junl00ng
post May 17 2010, 03:56 PM

803 posts

It brings old car new life smile.gif
CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 04:43 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

wow!! that e39 wit the 1jz looks so neat!! it looks as though bmw n toyota did a collaboration n produced a special edition e39 wit a 1jz engine..
TSsafetylance
post May 17 2010, 04:55 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 17 2010, 04:43 PM)
wow!! that e39 wit the 1jz looks so neat!! it looks as though bmw n toyota did a collaboration n produced a special edition e39 wit a 1jz engine..
This is E36 with twin turbo....

shinjite
post May 17 2010, 05:05 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(junl00ng @ May 17 2010, 03:56 PM)
It brings old car new life  smile.gif
Nice 2JZ mod!!
CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 05:10 PM

3,806 posts

oh yeah, its a 2jz.. didnt realize the '3000' writin on the engine cover..
maelzx
post May 17 2010, 05:14 PM

isha.my
860 posts

i also almost going to upgrade my e28 last time to 1jz ... got racun by my mech.

not enough money .. but i must say e28 with 1jz is good enough already. powerrrrr!
imperialrealcs
post May 17 2010, 05:38 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

how about the electronics? all working?
CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 05:42 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 17 2010, 05:38 PM)
how about the electronics? all working?
thats y this type of moddin is suitable 4 older bimmers, where theres not that much electronics.. becoz obviously, it'll stop workin.. ive seen an e34 modded wit a 1jz, even the fuel consumption readin gauge under the rev counter doesnt work anymore..
chong237
post May 17 2010, 05:49 PM

30 posts

Not much issues on the eletronic part. only one of the dials and few warning symbols, and the semi-auto system will not work. For example the fuel pressure gauge that u use to see how much fuel you are using per 100 km on the BMW E36 will not move. Overall, is perfect. But have to bare with top speed of 160+km/h without chipping the ecu.
detomaso
post May 17 2010, 05:49 PM

1,896 posts

wait until u see old merc or bimmer with TOYOTA 1UZ engine... hahaha
the_catacombs
post May 17 2010, 06:01 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

chong237
post May 17 2010, 06:06 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ May 17 2010, 05:49 PM)
wait until u see old merc or bimmer with TOYOTA 1UZ engine... hahaha
In standard form, the JZ has more HP then the 1U. thumbup.gif

Added on May 17, 2010, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 17 2010, 06:01 PM)
Still prefer the JZ over the RB. The RB looks very weird. Unless is the RB26. drool.gif

This post has been edited by chong237: May 17 2010, 06:08 PM
imperialrealcs
post May 17 2010, 07:54 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(chong237 @ May 17 2010, 05:49 PM)
Not much issues on the eletronic part. only one of the dials and few warning symbols, and the semi-auto system will not work. For example the fuel pressure gauge that u use to see how much fuel you are using per 100 km on the BMW E36 will not move. Overall, is perfect. But have to bare with top speed of 160+km/h without chipping the ecu.
that is not called perfect edi lor doh.gif
anyway, top speed for jdm model was restricted to 180km/h

This post has been edited by imperialrealcs: May 17 2010, 07:54 PM
faizpsp89
post May 17 2010, 08:02 PM

///M
1,169 posts

QUOTE(maelzx @ May 17 2010, 05:14 PM)
i also almost going to upgrade my e28 last time to 1jz ... got racun by my mech.

not enough money .. but i must say e28 with 1jz is good enough already. powerrrrr!
how much?
xxboxx
post May 18 2010, 12:14 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

haha, old bimmer mods still ok what, the car looks nice.
i once saw a old volvo box type which normally only unker will willing to drive, but modded with toyota 2.5 turbo (dunno what engine)
phas3r
post May 18 2010, 12:23 AM

1,206 posts

yes, they are many older bmw's transplanted with toyota and nissan engines, i think it's the rb20 being one of them.
reason for it? smaller displacement(cc)=cheaper road tax, easier maintenance, but yet more powerful.

i don't like it. no more bmw feel!
some merc w140 and w126 also converted to these jap engines

This post has been edited by phas3r: May 18 2010, 12:25 AM
b48753
post May 18 2010, 05:22 AM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

My contractor last time doing this kinda mod. He put in 1JZ into E34, and mated it with ORIGINAL gearbox. And look at the reliability so far last time (not sure now coz already lost contact) no problem.Not sure how his mechanic 'kawin' the gb with the 1JZ, but so far that the cool BMW mod I've ever see on my own eyes. (the other one is at Japan, an E36 with Honda F30C).

This post has been edited by b48753: May 18 2010, 05:24 AM
chong237
post May 18 2010, 09:04 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 17 2010, 07:54 PM)
that is not called perfect edi lor doh.gif
anyway, top speed for jdm model was restricted to 180km/h
Consider perfect lo. rclxms.gif . about the fuel consumption gauge, who cares. To hell with fuel economy, doesn't matter already when you have 2.5 litre twin-turbo 6 potter with 280 HP underneath you right foot. thumbup.gif Add in a RSM to free the speed limiter. Then it will happilly take you to 250 km/h. rclxm9.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0239sec    1.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:13 PM