Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad

Jerm_vii
post Jul 2 2010, 04:00 PM

131 posts

Hi everyone,

Forgive me if this has been answered already but I just cannot look through 81 pages in this thread.

Qns: I have a maxis USB broadband, say if I have an iPad (don't own one...yet), can that USB broadband work on it?

Thanks!
Jerm_vii
post Jul 2 2010, 04:18 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 2 2010, 04:16 PM)
nope, cos the USB broadband needs to connect to a USB master (like a PC / Mac) and the iPad is a USB device.
also need to install software smile.gif
damn that's sad..if it was possible it would be amazing...
Jerm_vii
post Jul 2 2010, 06:47 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 2 2010, 06:44 PM)
Get also but no microsim yet and at the moment, data plans are still expensive here. So sad sad.gif
basically the reason why i don't think i will get the 3G version.

Also, all the plans here got a limit, which sucks. I have an existing maxis broadband already so i thought if i got an ipad could i use it for that, anyway....

This post has been edited by Jerm_vii: Jul 2 2010, 06:50 PM
Jerm_vii
post Jul 22 2010, 06:13 PM

131 posts

I saw iPad for sale in Sunway Pyramid, top floor near skating rink, just outside the digital center area. I also have a friend selling iPad and it comes with 1 year Apple care plan.

16 GB - RM 2600
32 GB - RM ???
64 GB - RM 3500
Something like that...

Did most of you 1) buy your iPad locally or 2) bought while overseas or 3) bought overseas and had it shipped here?

My iPad is coming in from US soon. Can't wait. Just wondering what is the best case for iPad you guys can recommend? I prefer a normal case like an iPhone cover rather than a book folder-like case....

Jerm_vii
post Jul 22 2010, 09:22 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 22 2010, 07:06 PM)
The book type will protect the iPad screen , that's main reason why I choose it
yeah true also, but i was thinking more on a line of a pouch to store it while transporting it, then take it out to use in its bare-form with a screen protector of course. After use, keep it back in the handy fitting pouch.

These covers are quite cool. But some of them cost a whooping 150-200 each.

Ten One's Ipad Case

Anti-Germs iPad Case

Added on July 22, 2010, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(dayna @ Jul 22 2010, 08:54 PM)
tried your way (for many times -.-) but still can't...though it showed full bar
arghhhh
i haven't bought mine yet so...haha can't help u..

maybe its the connection setting or something? if ur connection is refused, then it is normally cuz if our settings that doesn't match with the router settings.

This post has been edited by Jerm_vii: Jul 22 2010, 09:31 PM
Jerm_vii
post Jul 22 2010, 10:32 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(Ramli08 @ Jul 22 2010, 10:04 PM)
can we buy ipad through online Apple Singapore n use Malaysia CC
you might wanna try this site

I have looked at it for a long time but haven't tried it.

www.vshub.com

You can buy your iPad, and use a warehouse address they provide to you when u sign up an account. Then you have to bank in 5% of the total credit card bill plus shipping charges to them. You need your invoice to verify you own the item in their warehouse. Then they will ship it to you.

Jerm_vii
post Jul 22 2010, 10:44 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 22 2010, 10:20 PM)
rm 150-200 for a case ?

i got by self a case incipio feather and a zagg shield (maximum)... after tat no $ d .. so

hehehee i got my self a double sided ( red/black )neoprene sleeve that fit well for just rm 13 from TimeSquare KL

and place it into any other bag to carry it around ..(happy.gif)
hmm, should i buy the case and screen protector now, or wait till my ipad arrives?

and btw, what do you normally do on the iPad? What are the free apps that are worth my time, and paid apps that are worth my money?

Added on July 22, 2010, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 22 2010, 10:35 PM)
vshub ? well please search in LYN  1st ..
apparently read alots of complaints about them tho ..

but may be they have changed .. now ..
i didn't use their services...i did some searching not on LYN, apparently had okay reviews. Wouldn't say great like those power sellers in ebay.

This post has been edited by Jerm_vii: Jul 22 2010, 10:49 PM
Jerm_vii
post Jul 22 2010, 11:59 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 22 2010, 11:48 PM)
@Jerm_vii

well i didnt buy the cases and sp before the ipad. because i wast sure that the deal will go well.

but for your case if your sure and if you know what you want go ahead.
it will save you time .. right out of the box u apply the sp and casing and u can use it
without worrying = )

further more some cases need to be ordered and it takes time to arrive.. eg Zagg shield. = )

apps .. well i dont know may be find / start a thread for ppl to post their own top 10 apps.. I would like to know too..
thanks for ur tips! I guess i'll just get a costly SP first...case can wait...

I've already read countless top 10 apps or top 25 apps website. Just asking around for opinions from LYN.
Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 12:30 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 23 2010, 12:05 AM)
i recommend askarperang's matt SP rm 20 only~
its good enough for me.
My Zagg and Incipio sp is still waiting for their turn to be attached to the ipad hahaha

for rm 20 if u dun like it .. can change anytime..
hmm, i'd rather spend a huge amount once than small amount periodically..

i suppose mid v, or OneU or Pyramid sells Zagg shield?
Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 12:33 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 23 2010, 12:32 AM)
nope .. dun see them around i ordered my zagg on the 8th july and received it today..
ordered from the Zagg website?

EDIT: checked out the site~ Looks pretty good. I guess I'll stick with a simple protector first, and order it once my iPad arrives.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jerm_vii: Jul 23 2010, 12:43 AM
Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 01:22 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 23 2010, 12:37 AM)
yeah.. cheaper than anyone selling here in lyn.

i can give u a 30% discount code too if you want one..  that is la ~
yeah! please give me the code~ it would be really handy when i make my purchase~ smile.gif

Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 03:38 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(tomz @ Jul 23 2010, 01:43 PM)
EPICENTRE ORCHAD, SINGAPORE
Good price from EPICENTRE SINGAPORE!!
Anyone plan to singapore this week?
I'm going on monday to purchase my ipad tongue.gif
Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 03:53 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 23 2010, 03:44 PM)
can help purchase ipad case ?
yeah wad case you need? Got picture and point me to the right direction~
Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 05:13 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jul 23 2010, 04:24 PM)
pm sent = )
bro, sorry i didn't get any PM yet~ mind sending again? Cheers

Jerm_vii
post Jul 23 2010, 07:00 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(Varia @ Jul 23 2010, 06:16 PM)
latest news from FM, ipad in singapore is all sold out.
yeah..i just read...looks like i can scrap my trip to Singapore now~
Jerm_vii
post Aug 2 2010, 09:21 PM

131 posts

Hi, nowhere else to post so i post here.

Finally excited to get a confirmation that my iPad will be delivering on the 28th of August.

I am looking forward to doing loads of reading on there. I was just thinking about the huge potential there is on iPad for gamebooks. Anyone read the game books by Joe Dever and the adventures of Lone Wolf?

Imagine that on an iPad.
Jerm_vii
post Aug 3 2010, 02:39 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Aug 2 2010, 11:19 PM)
@jermvii - are u ordering the ipad from apple singapore? When did u order the ipad?
yeah. Buy from Apple Store Singapore. You will need a credit card with the same billing address as the shipping.

The shipping date now extend to a little over 2 weeks. So I have to go to Singapore to collect it.

Shipping for Camera Connectivity kit is more than 3 weeks..awesome..

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:41 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 2 2010, 11:32 PM)
I do. I have the HTML versions of Lone Wolf books, how I wish they could be recompiled into a fully working gamebooks. I do have the physical copies, but I only purchased them up to the Magnakai Adventures only.

Here is the link to the HTML versions of the Lone Wolf gamebooks. These are legal, Internet Editions of the gamebooks, and are to be used for personal use and are not redistributed for personal profits. They have been made available by Project Aon.

Hey thanks for the link!

I was a great fan too..I started with Fire on the Water (2nd book in the series) and my last book was the Deathlord of Ixia.

I played till i know exactly where the number 9 was. Haha!

This post has been edited by Jerm_vii: Aug 3 2010, 02:41 PM
Jerm_vii
post Aug 3 2010, 03:48 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(Varia @ Aug 3 2010, 03:33 PM)
guys, any idea when will apple singapore restock their ipad?? and when is malaysia gonna release it??
I don't know when they will restock. I asked them when I was in Singapore last week, and the sales staff said there is no news. However, based on these few reports:

LG unable to keep up with iPad
iPad Demand off the Charts

The international launch (Singapore & Hong Kong etc) was delayed due to strong US demand. My uncle who was supposed to buy an iPad for me from US also reported that it is totally sold out there and any purchase has to be booked at the local store with a 2 weeks waiting period or purchased online. Plus, iPads in Singapore & Hong Kong are totally sold out. Thus, I personally am skeptical iPad will launch in Malaysia anytime soon.

Your best chance is to purchase online with a friend in Singapore using the Apple Online Store like I did.
Jerm_vii
post Aug 3 2010, 06:39 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Aug 3 2010, 04:46 PM)
actually more than 3 hours d... = (

Added on August 3, 2010, 5:53 pmgot pissed with the back up.. ............... i've did a erase all contents and settings..
very scary ..
my ipad didnt repond at all after twice automatic restart. with a white progress bar under the apple logo ..  completed it twice.

and then .. now stuck with an apple logo thats all .. it wont do anything... i thought it's booting up ... now after an hour .. not good.. still the same...

did the 2 button reset thingie .. did all sorts hoping for the connect to itune thing to come up ... no luck.

iPad dead ?
hell no! not me .. = (

read somewhere in the forums .. now what i did was force shut it down.
then hold the homebutton and connect it to itune... damn now its restoring ..
the white progress bar is progressin...

.. its scary allright~
woah man..hope you get ur baby back to life soon!
Jerm_vii
post Aug 4 2010, 10:08 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(hapeace @ Aug 4 2010, 08:07 AM)
really can't wait mine from SG
reliable or not these delivery date? still have 2 weeks! arghhhh..
haha your's is 2 days better than me..mine delivers on the 19th..

well, what to do. Just get on with my life~ Think about it also the date won't come sooner..

0.0454sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:28 AM