Cars [WTA]Toyota MR-S, About the car ~~~Pro come ~~~

TSayu
post May 16 2010, 02:52 AM, updated 16y ago

~Great Seller~Excellent service~
1,298 posts

Hi there,Plan to get a Toyota MR-S and i want to know about this car.

1.Can i know the car part is very Expensive ?
2.The car is alot of problem of the engine and gearbox ?
3.Does the car spend petrol like "minum air "?
4.Does the car part is fast to damage ?
5.Does the car is worth to buy ?
6.How much for the car service each time ? Hear my friend say around ( RM5xx-RM6xx )

Please let me know as soon as can. Because i really don't know it is really worth to buy or not . I like this car look but i hear my friend
say this car got alot of problem.

GARYPKK
post May 16 2010, 02:57 PM

98 posts

A1.
Body Parts are not so expensive compare to other sport car or conti-car.

A2.
Depend on previous owner maintance records

A3.
Nope, F.C around RM0.20~RM0.25

A4.
Depend on previous owner cares

A5.
Depend on u. Is a sporty 2 seater ayway. Price around RM 75k+ ~RM 120k from year 1999~2003.

A6.
RM5xx - RM6xx Expensive for a sport car???

Pros and con

Pros.
*Nice sporty 2 seater car
*well weight balance car as the engine located at mid
*cheap on roadtax as it is 1800cc engine

Con
*No place to put goodies if u go shopping with chicks ..lol

This post has been edited by GARYPKK: May 16 2010, 02:59 PM
xMika
post May 16 2010, 05:48 PM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

MR-S ... I thought MR2 xD
TSayu
post May 16 2010, 06:25 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(GARYPKK @ May 16 2010, 02:57 PM)
A1.
Body Parts are not so expensive compare to other sport car or conti-car.

A2.
Depend on previous owner maintance records

A3.
Nope, F.C around RM0.20~RM0.25

A4.
Depend on previous owner cares

A5.
Depend on u. Is a sporty 2 seater ayway. Price around RM 75k+ ~RM 120k from year 1999~2003.

A6.
RM5xx - RM6xx Expensive for a sport car???
Pros and con

Pros.
*Nice sporty 2 seater car
*well weight balance car as the engine located at mid
*cheap on roadtax as it is 1800cc engine

Con
*No place to put goodies if u go shopping with chicks ..lol
Ok..thanks your reply man ~~~ Like that b4 buy need to check properly ~
Just worry buy a problem car..... sad.gif

This post has been edited by ayu: May 16 2010, 06:37 PM
deeplyheartbroken
post May 16 2010, 06:47 PM

774 posts

If you don't mind manual, get the manual. SMT (something like Proton Savvy's AMT, without clutch but it is not auto)) has a limited lifespan on its pump.

Engine is 1.8 litre 1ZZ-FED, which is very similar to Altis' 1ZZ-FE but with slightly higher power output. The engine is rear mid mounted, so it takes some time before you can familiar with the car since it oversteer easily (on wet corners especially).

Service is not much (I would say not much differ from a Toyota Altis) if nothing breaks down. Most commonly spoilt part for a used MR-S could be the oxygen sensor. Common parts can get from Wing Hin, however accessories like hard top is not selling anymore if I am not wrong.

Many used year 2000-2002 units selling now, but 10 years old car you might have problem with loan (or the bank will charge a high interest for it). Price should be less than RM 100k for 2000-2002 used unit, but also depends on the car's enhancements & accessories. If you have the money, get the 2003 onwards version since it is facelifted. There are at least 2 unregistered units selling right now.

Worth to buy if you don't mind a 2 seater without a boot. Only 'boot' for storage is a compartment behind the seats or the spare tyre area under the front bonnet.

Join us at http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/the-mr2-mrs-club/
JackX
post May 16 2010, 07:20 PM

2,732 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ May 16 2010, 05:48 PM)
MR-S ... I thought MR2 xD
MRS is the sypder... the one in Fast and furious right?

it uses the 1zz engine with 140hp...
TSayu
post May 16 2010, 10:09 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ May 16 2010, 06:47 PM)
If you don't mind manual, get the manual. SMT (something like Proton Savvy's AMT, without clutch but it is not auto)) has a limited lifespan on its pump.

Engine is 1.8 litre 1ZZ-FED, which is very similar to Altis' 1ZZ-FE but with slightly higher power output. The engine is rear mid mounted, so it takes some time before you can familiar with the car since it oversteer easily (on wet corners especially).

Service is not much (I would say not much differ from a Toyota Altis) if nothing breaks down. Most commonly spoilt part for a used MR-S could be the oxygen sensor. Common parts can get from Wing Hin, however accessories like hard top is not selling anymore if I am not wrong.

Many used year 2000-2002 units selling now, but 10 years old car you might have problem with loan (or the bank will charge a high interest for it). Price should be less than RM 100k for 2000-2002 used unit, but also depends on the car's enhancements & accessories. If you have the money, get the 2003 onwards version since it is facelifted. There are at least 2 unregistered units selling right now.

Worth to buy if you don't mind a 2 seater without a boot. Only 'boot' for storage is a compartment behind the seats or the spare tyre area under the front bonnet.

Join us at http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/the-mr2-mrs-club/
Now im asking a used 1 ..02/07 <<Mean cal from year 02 or 07 ? And i would like to buy a auto 1 because my wife don't like a manual . Mean if take a SMT will fast to going to damage ?
What are u recommend me at this time ? Take a year 2003 and manual ?
jeremy0
post May 16 2010, 10:36 PM

This
2,095 posts

Hi, own one till sold last year for about 93k....

1.Can i know the car part is very Expensive ? Parts are not that expensive since the 1zz is a common engine...the engine parts are quite common with the wish/altis so most shops have the oil filter and etc. The only problem that I endure duringthe ownership was the o2 sensor which i changed for about rm500 in ipoh.

No problem on mine...btw, mine was the manual model from mutiara motors....the SMT should be quite reliable unless the owner did some hard mods to the engine such as boosting it which will definitely lessen the lifetime of the SMT

It is very2 economical. Think light body with a powerful engine...even if u are heavy footed, full tank can get u about 400-500kms

What do you mean fast damage?....if u drive it as normal, then the car won't have any problems....the car is a bit low which means u'll have to becareful with high humps.....also, there are ichy handed people poking holes into ur softtop if u simply park at shopping complex and etc.

Go test drive, for a 2 seater car with minimal space, it is definitely more of a weekend driver. Engine wise, it is not that powerful but sufficient to easily hit the 200kmph mark faster than other vehicles. It is a great touge machine too and handles with minimal understeer. It has a very neutral feel to it.

6.How much for the car service each time ? Hear my friend say around ( RM5xx-RM6xx )
As usual, the filter is RM30 and engine oil use fully synthetic about rm200...brake pads u can choose branded like endless or OEM toyota....plugs u can use normal iridium ones....nothing so special about it....only that u have to jack up the car and remove the rubber lining from the rear to change the oil filter...a bit more hassle than FF cars....

Hope this helps...and if u are serious about looking for one, u can ask our old sifu koolspyda.....he is most active in the ZTH forums...

deeplyheartbroken
post May 16 2010, 10:45 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(ayu @ May 16 2010, 10:09 PM)
Now im asking a used 1 ..02/07 <<Mean cal from year 02 or 07 ? And i would like to buy a auto 1 because my wife don't like a manual . Mean if take  a SMT will fast to going to damage ?
What are u recommend me at this time ? Take a year 2003 and manual ?
02/07 means the unit is manufactured in 2002 & registered the car in 2007. This means it is a used unit. You can try your luck to find a 2003 used unit but expect either high price or unavailability.

Remember SMT (Sequential Manual Transmission) is not auto. It is more of a manual without a clutch to floor on.

Most (if not all, currently) unregistered units in Malaysia are SMT. However there are a few manual used unit around. Regarding the SMT failure, it really depends on luck & maintenance of gearbox fluid (also maybe depends on your driving style), since we have a member having trouble as early as 20k+ km mileage while we have another until over 80k mileage also no problem. Manual also has maintenance, just that SMT is usually more expensive to repair if it fails.
TSayu
post May 16 2010, 11:19 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ May 16 2010, 10:36 PM)
Hi, own one till sold last year for about 93k....

1.Can i know the car part is very Expensive ? Parts are not that expensive since the 1zz is a common engine...the engine parts are quite common with the wish/altis so most shops have the oil filter and etc. The only problem that I endure duringthe ownership was the o2 sensor which i changed for about rm500 in ipoh.

No problem on mine...btw, mine was the manual model from mutiara motors....the SMT should be quite reliable unless the owner did some hard mods to the engine such as boosting it which will definitely lessen the lifetime of the SMT

It is very2 economical. Think light body with a powerful engine...even if u are heavy footed, full tank can get u about 400-500kms

What do you mean fast damage?....if u drive it as normal, then the car won't have any problems....the car is a bit low which means u'll have to becareful with high humps.....also, there are ichy handed people poking holes into ur softtop if u simply park at shopping complex and etc.

Go test drive, for a 2 seater car with minimal space, it is definitely more of a weekend driver. Engine wise, it is not that powerful but sufficient to easily hit the 200kmph mark faster than other vehicles. It is a great touge machine too and handles with minimal understeer. It has a very neutral feel to it.

As usual, the filter is RM30 and engine oil use fully synthetic about rm200...brake pads u can choose branded like endless or OEM toyota....plugs u can use normal iridium ones....nothing so special about it....only that u have to jack up the car and remove the rubber lining from the rear to change the oil filter...a bit more hassle than FF cars....

Hope this helps...and if u are serious about looking for one, u can ask our old sifu koolspyda.....he is most active in the ZTH forums...
Nice, i think don't need to worry much for buying this car since here already got alot of helpful " Sifu " here.
And i will try to get the car on next week. Drive kaw kaw only buy ~~Thanks MR-S owner ~

Added on May 16, 2010, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ May 16 2010, 10:45 PM)
02/07 means the unit is manufactured in 2002 & registered the car in 2007. This means it is a used unit. You can try your luck to find a 2003 used unit but expect either high price or unavailability.

Remember SMT (Sequential Manual Transmission) is not auto. It is more of a manual without a clutch to floor on.

Most (if not all, currently) unregistered units in Malaysia are SMT. However there are a few manual used unit around. Regarding the SMT failure, it really depends on luck & maintenance of gearbox fluid (also maybe depends on your driving style), since we have a member having trouble as early as 20k+ km mileage while we have another until over 80k mileage also no problem. Manual also has maintenance, just that SMT is usually more expensive to repair if it fails.
So last thing i want to know : Manual or Auto ???
I got found 1 that is 02/07 and it come with original part. Here is it :http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+MRS-6071482.htm

Price: RM 98 800 Reg. year: 2002
Mileage: 60 000 - 64 999 Make: Toyota
Model: Others Transmission: Auto
Engine Capacity: 1779 cc
Accessories: CD Player, Airbag driver, Airbag passenger, ABS Brakes, Sport rims, Alarm, Central lock

1. SMT 5 Speeds
2. Hard Top/Soft Top
3. Sport Rims
4. Tip-Top Condition
5. Accident Free
6. 1 Careful Owner

This post has been edited by ayu: May 16 2010, 11:24 PM
deeplyheartbroken
post May 17 2010, 12:31 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(ayu @ May 16 2010, 11:19 PM)
I got found 1 that is 02/07 and it come with original part. Here is it :http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+MRS-6071482.htm

Price:  RM 98 800    Reg. year: 2002   
Mileage: 60 000 - 64 999  Make: Toyota
Model: Others  Transmission: Auto
Accessories: CD Player, Airbag driver, Airbag passenger, ABS Brakes, Sport rims, Alarm, Central lock

1. SMT 5 Speeds
2. Hard Top/Soft Top
3. Sport Rims
4. Tip-Top Condition
5. Accident Free
6. 1 Careful Owner

Mudah.my has no transmission paramater for SMT when advertise, therefore the seller put it as auto.

If your wife can take manual then take the manual but there are not many used manual lying around.

For SMT, you still need to change the gears manually either on the gear knob or on the steering buttons, just that there is no clutch to foot on. This is unlike AMT where the gears changes automatically.
jeremy0
post May 17 2010, 04:02 PM

This
2,095 posts

QUOTE(ayu @ May 16 2010, 11:19 PM)
Nice, i think don't need to worry much  for buying this car since here already got alot of helpful " Sifu " here.
And i will try to get the car on next week. Drive kaw kaw only buy ~~Thanks MR-S owner ~

Added on May 16, 2010, 11:24 pm

Price:  RM 98 800    Reg. year: 2002   
Mileage: 60 000 - 64 999  Make: Toyota
Model: Others  Transmission: Auto

1. SMT 5 Speeds
2. Hard Top/Soft Top
3. Sport Rims
4. Tip-Top Condition
5. Accident Free
6. 1 Careful Owner

The SMT is a semi manual....u still need to change gears urself but there is no clutch footwork required....

The Hard Top for the MRS is a rare item.....a new one will cost RM14k last time and i don't think they make it anymore. Just ask any MRS owners. Some of the MRS do come with the hard top when they bought it last time
TSayu
post May 17 2010, 10:10 PM

1,298 posts

So that mudah.com i listing 1 that is Auto or manual ? That write Transmission: Auto But below that write Auto . I still don't understand ~~~ sad.gif
xxboxx
post May 17 2010, 11:41 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(ayu @ May 17 2010, 10:10 PM)
So that mudah.com i listing 1 that is Auto or manual ?  That write Transmission: Auto But below that write Auto . I still don't understand ~~~ sad.gif
QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ May 17 2010, 12:31 PM)
Mudah.my has no transmission paramater for SMT when advertise, therefore the seller put it as auto.

If your wife can take manual then take the manual but there are not many used manual lying around.

For SMT, you still need to change the gears manually either on the gear knob or on the steering buttons, just that there is no clutch to foot on. This is unlike AMT where the gears changes automatically.
jeremy0
post May 18 2010, 12:16 PM

This
2,095 posts

QUOTE(ayu @ May 17 2010, 10:10 PM)
So that mudah.com i listing 1 that is Auto or manual ?  That write Transmission: Auto But below that write Auto . I still don't understand ~~~ sad.gif
There is no such thing as auto MRS.....its either manual or SMT...thats the only two choices

If he put auto, thats because as someone explained that in mudah, there is no choice for SMT
koolspyda
post May 18 2010, 12:36 PM

222 posts

ayu, what jeremy O & deeplyheartbroken mentioned is correct

SMT = Sequential Manual Transmission

there is a 'pump' that accutates the 'clutch'.

In malaysia, a lot of people dont understand what SMT, AMT, selespeed, SMG.
so the sales men (or mudah) always categorise cars as either Manual OR Auto.
(cerita habis, tak payar long story cause their intention is to sell not educate)

SMT is like an assisted 'auto', not a REAL auto (as most people understand traditionally).

in simpler term..
Press the button, the 'pump' upshifts or downshifts gears. (dont need the traditional left leg to depress clutch pedal). in essense, its like manual except no clutch pedal.

with SMT dont drive it like a AUTO; step accelarator & expect the gear to change by itself, cause it wont.

This post has been edited by koolspyda: May 18 2010, 12:51 PM
jeremy0
post May 18 2010, 04:35 PM

This
2,095 posts

finally the sifu speaks.smile.gif how you doing bro..
koolspyda
post May 18 2010, 07:47 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ May 18 2010, 05:35 PM)
finally the sifu speaks.smile.gif how you doing bro..
blush.gif was frolicking with some hot hot cars last weekend at kota baru brows.gif

ayu, here is a rare MR-S.

http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+MRS+1+8-6103186.htm

its in sarawak. but i'm sure it can be transfered into peninsular malaysia.
the photos aren't very good at that site.
FerrariST
post Jul 3 2010, 04:08 PM

340 posts

Dear All,

I'm looking forward to own one unit as well, just got test drive a amt unit yesterday. i couldn't get use to the amt initally. however it was rather fun with having to engage clutch.

Anywhere is there 6smt mrs available in malaysia?

What are common problem we need to look out for a MRS? As an amt gear box, is there a specific type of gear oil to do regular maintenance?
victor87
post Jul 3 2010, 04:25 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 3 2010, 04:08 PM)
Dear All,

I'm looking forward to own one unit as well, just got test drive a amt unit yesterday. i couldn't get use to the amt initally. however it was rather fun with having to engage clutch.

What are common problem we need to look out for a MRS? As an amt gear box, is there a specific type of gear oil to do regular maintenance?
Yes. Must use only specify SMT gear oil, but not those ATF.

2003+ model comes with 6 speed SMT.

Common problem for the SMT MRS is the pump if didn't take care of it properly.

SMT is fun, but a manual ones is even more fun.

I used to be a MRS fans, i read and learn alot from spyderchat.com which introduce by koolspyda (dennis) from ZTH forum.

Love the MRs, especially the MR2 SW20 wink.gif

This post has been edited by victor87: Jul 3 2010, 04:25 PM
deeplyheartbroken
post Jul 3 2010, 04:34 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 3 2010, 04:08 PM)
Dear All,

It is not AMT, it is SMT. AMT can shifts automatically but for SMT you need to shift manually but without the use of clutch pedal.

6 speed SMT is available for unreg 2003 model onwards but the asking price is high. Used unit is available too but most of them are modified either engine wise or exterior wise.

For maintenance, nothing specific because it uses the manual tranny gear oil. The SMT does has a life span on its pump which is costly to replace/repair. However there are owners that regularly maintain the car achieving over 100k km mileage without trouble.
victor87
post Jul 3 2010, 04:42 PM

431 posts

By the way, there's one nice MRS for sale. Oh, a manual ones wink.gif

http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+MRS+1+8M-6390554.htm
FerrariST
post Jul 3 2010, 04:51 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 3 2010, 04:25 PM)
Yes. Must use only specify SMT gear oil, but not those ATF.

2003+ model comes with 6 speed SMT.

Common problem for the SMT MRS is the pump if didn't take care of it properly.

SMT is fun, but a manual ones is even more fun.

I used to be a MRS fans, i read and learn alot from spyderchat.com which introduce by koolspyda (dennis) from ZTH forum.

Love the MRs, especially the MR2 SW20 wink.gif
Haven't really see a 6smt for sale, i wonder how much is it.

Anyway the unit which i test out was 2000/05.

the owner was asking for rm84k, i find it a little to high for year 2000 unit.

however the condition is good

still keep my fingers cross as i really wants a 6smt model.

Added on July 3, 2010, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 3 2010, 04:34 PM)
It is not AMT, it is SMT. AMT can shifts automatically but for SMT you need to shift manually but without the use of clutch pedal.

6 speed SMT is available for unreg 2003 model onwards but the asking price is high. Used unit is available too but most of them are modified either engine wise or exterior wise.

For maintenance, nothing specific because it uses the manual tranny gear oil. The SMT does has a life span on its pump which is costly to replace/repair. However there are owners that regularly maintain the car achieving over 100k km mileage without trouble.
thank you for your input, doesnt that mean MRS with smt transmission use manual gear oil would do? i was really puzzle as to what exact oil is the gear using cause as it neither manual or auto.

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jul 3 2010, 04:53 PM
victor87
post Jul 3 2010, 04:56 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 3 2010, 04:51 PM)
Haven't really see a 6smt for sale, i wonder how much is it.

Anyway the unit which i test out was 2000/05.

the owner was asking for rm84k, i find it a little to high for year 2000 unit.

however the condition is good

still keep my fingers cross as i really wants a 6smt model.

Added on July 3, 2010, 4:53 pm
thank you for your input, doesnt that mean MRS with smt transmission use manual gear oil would do? i was really puzzle as to what exact oil is the gear using cause as it neither manual or auto.
An 2003+ model will cost around 115k ~ 130k..

Not really worth it eh? tongue.gif
deeplyheartbroken
post Jul 3 2010, 05:00 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 3 2010, 04:51 PM)
Yes you heard it right, manual gear oil. Go to JDM car service specialists like GT Auto, Trial & etc will advice you the same. Consider the SMT as manual with actuator.

Added on July 3, 2010, 5:01 pmJoin us in the club at ZTH

This post has been edited by deeplyheartbroken: Jul 3 2010, 05:01 PM
yngwie
post Jul 3 2010, 05:19 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

either gt auto(for service / tuning and modification) in sunway or wing hin in jalan loke yew for standard service / spare parts.
btw, no hard top / soft top for me. i'll choose the more powerful mr2 over the mrs, anytime!

FerrariST
post Jul 3 2010, 05:43 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 3 2010, 04:56 PM)
An 2003+ model will cost around 115k ~ 130k..

Not really worth it eh? tongue.gif
For the price of 115k - 130k, that amount certainly is expensive.

Added on July 3, 2010, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 3 2010, 05:00 PM)
Yes you heard it right, manual gear oil. Go to JDM car service specialists like GT Auto, Trial & etc will advice you the same. Consider the SMT as manual with actuator.

bro,

appreciate for your info, any way is there any input, for regular meet up session of MRS owner club? i would like to pay a visit and get to know more about the car.

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jul 3 2010, 05:47 PM
victor87
post Jul 3 2010, 05:56 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 3 2010, 05:00 PM)

Hey, what's your ZTH nick? tongue.gif

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jul 3 2010, 05:19 PM)
either gt auto(for service / tuning and modification) in sunway or wing hin in jalan loke yew for standard service / spare parts.
btw, no hard top / soft top for me. i'll choose the more powerful mr2 over the mrs, anytime!
Yes.. the MR2 tongue.gif Mostly because of the 3S-GTE ?? kekekeke

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 3 2010, 05:43 PM)
For the price of 115k - 130k, that amount certainly is expensive.

Added on July 3, 2010, 5:47 pm

bro,

appreciate for your info, any way is there any input, for regular meet up session of  MRS owner club? i would like to pay a visit and get to know more about the car.
Yes, but i'll dig the manual ones wink.gif be it 5 or 6 speed.

Drop in a 2zz and a 6sp, ohhh.. with a rotrex supercharger too.... laugh.gif

Check out their MR2 club in ZTH for TT session !

Btw, koool ! how's your spyder already?? Any upgrades??? thumbup.gif
FerrariST
post Jul 3 2010, 07:41 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 3 2010, 05:56 PM)
Hey, what's your ZTH nick? tongue.gif
Yes, but i'll dig the manual ones wink.gif be it 5 or 6 speed.

Drop in a 2zz and a 6sp, ohhh.. with a rotrex supercharger too....  laugh.gif

Check out their MR2 club in ZTH for TT session !

Btw, koool ! how's your spyder already?? Any upgrades???  thumbup.gif
yeah understand the respond for a manual will be much lively. however, for my cases, wife will be using it. so i dont think so would like to have a manual unit.

yngwie
post Jul 3 2010, 07:45 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 3 2010, 05:56 PM)

exactly! would love a 1jz-gte too brows.gif
koolspyda
post Jul 3 2010, 10:42 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jul 3 2010, 06:19 PM)
well, if you have been with any one of our touge drives, your opinion may change cool2.gif

the mr-s or mr2 spyder is a lively machine. The MR-S is built with for a reason. The THRILL of the Drive.

the late nur-meister Hiromu Naruse
All the cars below bears some of his legacy. (note the toyota icons)
Toyota Sports 800
Toyota 7
Toyota 2000GT
1600GT
TA22 RA23, RA25 and RA28
AE86
Z20 Soarer
ST165 Celica
AW11 MR-2
JZA70 Supra
JZA80 Supra
Z30 Soarer
ST185
WRC Celica
IS200/300
ZZW30 MR-S
and the LFA
http://www.7tune.com/hiromu-naruse-cooking...he-nur-meister/

the list of cars speaks volumes , doesn't it?

his nick "nur-meister" is given by germans, he deserves his nick.
well some of us want to hang on with a wonderfull machine, Hiromu Naruse had a big hand on. brows.gif

FerrariST, if your wife is driving it & if its hardly driven on highways (long haul like plus) then the 6th gear is never used. the first 4 gears of the japan spec 5 speed & 6 speed MR-S is the same. Only the Euro spec MR-S has taller gears (euro chaps travel more on highways/autpbhans), which is why mr-s is specified in magazines as 0-100 in 8.7sec. (but they get to go 220kmh ++) unlike US & japan spec.

There are about 6-7 mr-s with 6 speed manual. 6 speed SMTs mr-s i'm not sure, maybe about the same or more.

if you are interested on a good cond mr-s, but they are likely above > rm110k. a few are below 90k but you gotta see cond

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 4 2010, 12:23 AM
jeremy0
post Jul 3 2010, 11:38 PM

This
2,095 posts

If you have already purchased a MRS, do come to c. highlands for a touge....you will change your opinion definitely....power is not everything....the car has minimal understeer and good handling is one of its strong points...
koolspyda
post Jul 4 2010, 12:29 AM

222 posts

Done a Kl-cameron-gua musang-Kota baru road trip recently smile.gif

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 4 2010, 12:31 AM
FerrariST
post Jul 4 2010, 01:47 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 3 2010, 10:42 PM)
well, if you have been with any one of our touge drives, your opinion may change  cool2.gif
the mr-s or mr2 spyder is a lively machine. The MR-S is built with for a reason. The THRILL of the Drive.

the late nur-meister Hiromu Naruse
All the cars below bears some of his legacy. (note the toyota icons)
Toyota Sports 800
Toyota 7
Toyota 2000GT
1600GT
TA22 RA23, RA25 and RA28
AE86
Z20 Soarer
ST165 Celica
AW11 MR-2
JZA70 Supra
JZA80 Supra
Z30 Soarer
ST185
WRC Celica
IS200/300
ZZW30 MR-S
and the LFA
http://www.7tune.com/hiromu-naruse-cooking...he-nur-meister/

the list of cars speaks volumes , doesn't it?
his nick "nur-meister" is given by germans, he deserves his nick.
well some of us want to hang on with a wonderfull machine, Hiromu Naruse had a big hand on.  brows.gif
FerrariST, if your wife is driving it & if its hardly driven on highways (long haul like plus) then the 6th gear is never used. the first 4 gears of the japan spec 5 speed & 6 speed MR-S is the same. Only the Euro spec MR-S has taller gears (euro chaps travel more on highways/autpbhans), which is why mr-s is specified in magazines as 0-100 in 8.7sec. (but they get to go 220kmh ++) unlike US & japan spec.

There are about 6-7 mr-s with 6 speed manual. 6 speed SMTs mr-s i'm not sure, maybe about the same or more.

if you are interested on a good cond mr-s, but they are likely above > rm110k. a few are below 90k but you gotta see cond
Dear bro,

Thank you very much your brief explanation, her usage for the car to work is roughly 70% highway 30% town. but i guess is not really easy to source for a 6smt unit. Either way, i will go with 5smt.

Added on July 4, 2010, 1:49 am
QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 3 2010, 11:38 PM)
If you have already purchased a MRS, do come to c. highlands for a touge....you will change your opinion definitely....power is not everything....the car has minimal understeer and good handling is one of its strong points...
Hi Jeremy,

you purchased your MRS already? i search back old threat and saw that you were looking for mrs as well, hope you are already a happy owner by now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jul 4 2010, 01:49 AM
koolspyda
post Jul 5 2010, 12:23 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 4 2010, 02:47 AM)
Dear bro,

Thank you very much your brief explanation, her usage for the car to work is roughly 70% highway 30% town. but i guess is not really easy to source for a 6smt unit. Either way, i will go with 5smt.

Added on July 4, 2010, 1:49 am

Hi Jeremy,

you purchased your MRS already? i search back old threat and saw that you were looking for mrs as well, hope you are already a happy owner by now biggrin.gif
i believe Jeremy O had. he moved on to (cough-cough) something 4dr 'TEC i think drool.gif hahaa

6th gear helps on highway speed such as PLUS/ long haul, even then if you are >160kmh.
rpm is lower with it.

i know of a turbo 6speed SMT MR-S whose owner spends 70% of his time in china, & hardly has the time to drive it. cond is excellent.

victor87
post Jul 5 2010, 12:30 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 5 2010, 12:23 PM)
i believe Jeremy O had. he moved on to (cough-cough) something 4dr 'TEC i think drool.gif hahaa

6th gear helps on highway speed such as PLUS/ long haul, even then if you are >160kmh.
rpm is lower with it.

i know of a turbo 6speed SMT MR-S whose owner spends 70% of his time in china, & hardly has the time to drive it. cond is excellent.
By any chance is it a blue ones?
koolspyda
post Jul 5 2010, 02:47 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 5 2010, 01:30 PM)
By any chance is it a blue ones?
yes, was also featured in 1 local motoring mag.

also, beside those featured at mudah. pm me for look out. I'm keen to introduce & see these lovely rides move on to good new owners who would love & care for such fine missus laugh.gif

FerrariST
post Jul 5 2010, 06:28 PM

340 posts

Bro Koolspyda,

You are very knowledgeable on MRS and related, i was about to confirm on purchase of a MRS 5smt very SOON. Can i request you to tag with me for the 2nd meet up with the owner so that you can help me to inspect the car on my behalf? I do not wish to purchase a problematic car and regret later.

Don't worry lunch is on me icon_rolleyes.gif
jeremy0
post Jul 6 2010, 12:03 AM

This
2,095 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 5 2010, 12:23 PM)

rpm is lower with it.

Moved on to a wagon already now tongue.gif ....need space for the kids and the stuff that comes with it....nice to hear your trip on the touge....how's the part after cameron highlands to gua musang?...i have to go to kb this weekend but most of the time i just use the east-coast highway....
koolspyda
post Jul 6 2010, 11:42 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 5 2010, 07:28 PM)
Bro Koolspyda,
You are very knowledgeable on MRS and related, i was about to confirm on purchase of a MRS 5smt very SOON. Can i request you to tag with me for the 2nd meet up with the owner so that you can help me to inspect the car on my behalf? I do not wish to purchase a problematic car and regret later.

Don't worry lunch is on me  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm based in KL. this weekend we are likely to heading towards a convoy drive to malacca. (sunday day trip 11th july). & probabply hanging out with the mazda RX7 club malaysia @ equatorial Mlca. some of us might adjourn to town for lunch for those prefering Mlca local.

maybe you might be interested to join to catch up with some mr-s owners, i havent tally exacyly how many are turning up (well at least see the different cars stuffs) else, i'm have pm my mobile to you.

sidenote; before sounding overly one sided, have you considered others? new peugeot 207 cabrio, miata mx5, slk, z4. I would have like to include the s2k but its very very difficult to source given almost obssessive fans boys of the car hmm.gif
(elise i would count out given if its daily driven & its quite hard pressed to be driven by a fair lady on her outings blush.gif )

i usually would advise propective owners to have a go on others before narrowing down. my philosophy is simple, know your preferred driving take out "what tickles your drive fancy", budget can be adjusted. Myself, I could not really afford the spyder 10 years ago, tightening up my little excessive expenses, some sacrifice. (i've coverd this extensively in MTM then but i'll probaply migrate the info to my own blog (given the almost impossible nature to read/scroll the new mtm forum)

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 6 2010, 01:03 AM)
Moved on to a wagon already now  tongue.gif ....need space for the kids and the stuff that comes with it....nice to hear your trip on the touge....how's the part after cameron highlands to gua musang?...i have to go to kb this weekend but most of the time i just use the east-coast highway....
after blue valley, halfway towards gua musang, roads are errmm needs fixing. but dont let it take anything away from the lush greenery around.

I have written about my trip to kota baru on my blog > http://koolspyda.blogspot.com/
sorry i havent been deligent in keeping up with the activities to date

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 6 2010, 12:26 PM
jeremy0
post Jul 6 2010, 12:20 PM

This
2,095 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 6 2010, 11:42 AM)
I'm base in KL. I've pm my mobile to you. this weekend we are likely to head towards a convoy drive to malacca. (sunday day trip 11th july). & probabply hanging out with the mazda RX7 club malaysia @ equatorial. some of us might adjourd to town for lunch if those prefer local.

maybe you might be interested to join to catch up with some mr-s (well at least see the different cars stuffs)
else, i'm have pm my mobile to you.

after blue valley, halfway towards gua musang, roads are errmm needs fixing. but dont let it take anything away from the green scenery.

I have written about my trip to kota baru on my blog  > http://koolspyda.blogspot.com/
Thanks for the link and good reads on your blog....if you happen to drop by ipoh again drop me a msg....we could do a touge up sometime for tea
koolspyda
post Jul 6 2010, 12:43 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 6 2010, 01:20 PM)
Thanks for the link and good reads on your blog....if you happen to drop by ipoh again drop me a msg....we could do a touge up sometime for tea
sure do, i can't remember if i've your mobile no. could you pm me. (if its alright with you).

I might do a gopeng stay sometime again this year. not to far away from simpang pulai brows.gif
FerrariST
post Jul 6 2010, 02:37 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 6 2010, 11:42 AM)
I'm based in KL.  this weekend we are likely to heading towards a convoy drive to malacca. (sunday day trip 11th july). & probabply hanging out with the mazda RX7 club malaysia @ equatorial Mlca. some of us might adjourn to town for lunch for those prefering Mlca local.

maybe you might be interested to join to catch up with some mr-s owners, i havent tally exacyly how many are turning up (well at least see the different cars stuffs) else, i'm have pm my mobile to you.

sidenote; before sounding overly one sided, have you considered others? new peugeot 207 cabrio, miata mx5, slk, z4. I would have like to include the s2k but its very very difficult to source given almost  obssessive fans boys of the car  hmm.gif 
(elise i would count out given if its daily driven & its quite hard pressed to be driven by a fair lady on her outings  blush.gif )

i usually would advise propective owners to have a go on others before narrowing down. my philosophy is simple, know your preferred driving take out "what tickles your drive fancy", budget can be adjusted. Myself, I could not really afford the spyder 10 years ago, tightening up my little excessive expenses, some sacrifice. (i've coverd this extensively in MTM then but i'll probaply migrate the info to my own blog (given the almost impossible nature to read/scroll the new mtm forum)
after blue valley, halfway towards gua musang, roads are errmm needs fixing. but dont let it take anything away from the lush greenery around.

I have written about my trip to kota baru on my blog  > http://koolspyda.blogspot.com/
Bro koolspyda,

It was nice chatting with you through the phone and get to learn more about the car, appreicate for the kind help and information. Refer to your blog, i actually read it somewhat last week or the week before, no wonder i find your nick so familiar now, your MR-S in the wide body look mean and agressive.

Cheers
mADmAN
post Jul 6 2010, 02:48 PM

10,530 posts

hmm.gif

wats the price of an S2000 now? used one...

and how much is new (if theres still new)

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jul 6 2010, 02:49 PM
victor87
post Jul 6 2010, 03:14 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 6 2010, 02:48 PM)
hmm.gif

wats the price of an S2000 now? used one...

and how much is new (if theres still new)
An used S2000 starts from RM140k onwards.

No more new S2000 in production.

koolspyda
post Jul 6 2010, 03:53 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 6 2010, 04:14 PM)
An used S2000 starts from RM140k onwards.

No more new S2000 in production.
yeah, tough. even if you ask a dealer to bring in a 2006/7 AP2 S2k (2.2L), with all the incurred cost, markups + AP, my guess it will float around >RM220K+

thanks to restriction the s2k grey imports then (siapa lagi), which is why there are too few in the market.

they are also an awesome ride. use parts are fewer, & you need a good network to source it.

*malaysia has a policy also limiting grey imports <5 years. so S2K ended in 2009 in UK (if i'm not mistaken), MR-S ended with a limited edition spec in 2007 (japan).

both toyota & S2k has no intention to go sports cars they way they made. it's hybrid the next time around with Honda pulling first gun with the CR-Z hybrid sports. (they, honda officially announce all future sportiness will be some sort of hybrids)

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 6 2010, 03:59 PM
deeplyheartbroken
post Jul 6 2010, 03:56 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 6 2010, 02:37 PM)
Bro koolspyda,

It was nice chatting with you through the phone and get to learn more about the car, appreicate for the kind help and information. Refer to your blog, i actually read it somewhat last week or the week before, no wonder i find your nick so familiar now, your MR-S in the wide body look mean and agressive.

Cheers
Wish you get your spyder soon. PM me if you need additional info in case koolspyda left out anything.
koolspyda
post Jul 6 2010, 05:40 PM

222 posts

ferrariST can pm deeplyheartbroken also 2 tag along!
FerrariST
post Jul 7 2010, 09:51 AM

340 posts

Haha No problem, the more the merrier!

@deeplyheartbroken: i Pm'ed you my contact details bro, hopefully you can join us all.

Added on July 7, 2010, 2:23 pmCan i know how much do work shop in sunway charge if we were to "borrow" their lift? May need to lift up car and inspect the under carriage later on.

Appreciate if someone can provide me the information

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jul 7 2010, 02:23 PM
victor87
post Jul 7 2010, 02:49 PM

431 posts

http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+mrs+SMT+regulator-5990329.htm

SMT Regulator ! tongue.gif Incase you're one is gone *touchwood*
yngwie
post Jul 7 2010, 03:05 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 7 2010, 02:49 PM)
http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+mrs+SMT+regulator-5990329.htm

SMT Regulator ! tongue.gif Incase you're one is gone *touchwood*
you should check the guy's other thing on sale. mrs 1.8 vvti stock engine which 'never upgrade performance parts, never run fast'.
btw, i believe the other altezza on sale was belong to a guy from penang. nice 1jz-gte.
victor87
post Jul 7 2010, 03:06 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jul 7 2010, 03:05 PM)
you should check the guy's other thing on sale. mrs 1.8 vvti stock engine which 'never upgrade performance parts, never run fast'.
btw, i believe the other altezza on sale was belong to a guy from penang. nice 1jz-gte.
Jason ma... Famous for MRS parts tongue.gif

Never run fast with a sportster, u believe meh?? laugh.gif

That's funny of how people describe this way...

Or maybe their fast is 300km/h mark? LOL
yngwie
post Jul 7 2010, 03:36 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 7 2010, 03:06 PM)
Jason ma... Famous for MRS parts tongue.gif

Never run fast with a sportster, u believe meh??  laugh.gif

That's funny of how people describe this way...

Or maybe their fast is 300km/h mark? LOL
marketing gimmick laugh.gif
btw, wing hin auto does help on toyota / lexus parts.
victor87
post Jul 7 2010, 04:44 PM

431 posts

HAHAHA..

Yup, i know them liao.. I've been a MR2 Club reader lorr... Kinda of a stalker? tongue.gif

Saw Kool's ride on some event before, didn't dare to say hi with him... His face looks so garang sad.gif
yngwie
post Jul 7 2010, 04:58 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

i'd prefer to call it ' doing a homework' instead of stalker brows.gif
on few occasion, you'll see me there as well.
victor87
post Jul 7 2010, 05:06 PM

431 posts

Yes.. Alot thing to learn from those site.

I used to surf spyderchat.com everyday !!
koolspyda
post Jul 7 2010, 05:23 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 7 2010, 05:44 PM)

, didn't dare to say hi with him... His face looks so garang sad.gif
sad.gif

walio
victor87
post Jul 7 2010, 05:28 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 7 2010, 05:23 PM)
sad.gif

walio

Always spotted u with your wife in major event ma.... Wanted to say hi but u stared at me & walk away liao..

It was last year i think, during the Goodyear drift competition.
koolspyda
post Jul 8 2010, 02:05 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jul 7 2010, 06:28 PM)

Always spotted u with your wife in major event ma.... Wanted to say hi but u stared at me & walk away liao..

It was last year i think, during the Goodyear drift competition.
Double waliau sad.gif

Come la, 'intro' when bum-in-person. Don't worry I dun bite smile.gif
;-)
victor87
post Jul 8 2010, 10:30 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 8 2010, 02:05 AM)
Double waliau sad.gif
Come la, 'intro' when bum-in-person. Don't worry I dun bite smile.gif
;-)
Will do, so next time i will call u lah ! Mr. Kool brows.gif
PiggyAikz
post Jul 27 2010, 03:26 PM

193 posts

Might be looking into getting an MRS...

just want to check... where to get the hardtop... or any place to find used ones?
jeremy0
post Jul 27 2010, 04:47 PM

This
2,095 posts

Its quite hard back then to get one.....They used to get it in Singapore.....or else find one with hardtop....
TSayu
post Jul 27 2010, 05:11 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jul 27 2010, 03:26 PM)
Might be looking into getting an MRS...

just want to check... where to get the hardtop... or any place to find used ones?
http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+MRS+HardTop-6508311.htm

As i know i got ask at shop..some shop is giving both of hard / soft top .
PiggyAikz
post Jul 27 2010, 06:34 PM

193 posts

Awesome possum!

BTW, anyone has installed any LSD on their MRS before?

Added on July 27, 2010, 6:38 pmAwesome possum!

BTW, anyone has installed any LSD on their MRS before?

This post has been edited by PiggyAikz: Jul 27 2010, 06:38 PM
koolspyda
post Jul 28 2010, 02:25 PM

222 posts

well, getting hard top isnt too difficult now when the resource is there.

there are couple of enthusiast spyders who are keeping the fun as always. I'm rather happy there is a small network of commited owners. of course there are fringes owners who have no inking about the midship nor have no remorse & would trade for a larger heavier (cough-cough) wagon tongue.gif

toyota may have discountinued selling the Hard top but they still support in parts (for the hard top amongst others)

there are couple of us who have moved to higher hp engines but it doesnt mean 1zz is gutless (contary to many who test drove, & might be rather clueless on what-to-do)

a simple couple of mods, for a sub 145whp 1zz, 975kg spyder, you can imagine what glorious fun! whistling.gif

LSD? some kind of trippie drug?? brows.gif

Added on July 28, 2010, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 6 2010, 01:20 PM)
whoops, did an inpromtu drive up (day trip) to camerons previous 2 weekend ago (simpang pulai-blue valley).

a lotus SC, a cayman S & a widebodied Spyder. will do a write up on the excursion!!
sorry jeremy, it was last minute from the lotus chap (didnt drop a calller to you).

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 28 2010, 02:32 PM
jeremy0
post Jul 28 2010, 04:06 PM

This
2,095 posts

Ouch bro...tongue.gif ...I swear that when my mid life crisis kicks in, its gonna be another spyder or the s2k....just u wait then

No probs on the drive by, I'm not sure where I was then....been up and down Malaysia like hell this whole mth with a cranky kid and a pregnant wife, no point disturbing you young handsome bachelors with your project runway gfs notworthy.gif whistling.gif

koolspyda
post Jul 28 2010, 05:12 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 28 2010, 05:06 PM)

Ouch bro...tongue.gif ...I swear that when my mid life crisis kicks in, its gonna be another spyder or the s2k....just u wait then

No probs on the drive by, I'm not sure where I was then....been up and down Malaysia like hell this whole mth with a cranky kid and a pregnant wife, no point disturbing you young handsome bachelors with your project runway gfs  notworthy.gif  whistling.gif
you know, we have some good photos, not glorious as we were too engaged with our drives tongue.gif
A little rain did made things spicier!! smile.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 28 2010, 05:15 PM
PiggyAikz
post Jul 28 2010, 06:02 PM

193 posts

LSD as in a limited slip diff...

anywhere to find used hardtops...?

what would be a fair price to pay for a fairly stock 00 manual model and 01 manual model?
koolspyda
post Jul 28 2010, 06:43 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jul 28 2010, 07:02 PM)
LSD as in a limited slip diff...

anywhere to find used hardtops...?

what would be a fair price to pay for a fairly stock 00 manual model and 01 manual model?
ahh, young padawan.

was just messing on the LSD, you need to be aware of what "LSD" also means brows.gif
LSD (Lysergic Acid Diethylamide)

dont worry on hard tops now, lets just say so as long as there is demand, the supply will be there. tongue.gif

prices are indicated on local for sale sites, its willing buyer, willing seller. unfortunately its not aplenty of MR-Spyders that could throw an avalance price down.

whats 'fair price', is what your heart desires blush.gif

a lot of people say certain cars in malaysia are a little overpriced & yet are plonking in to buy, they must be nuts laugh.gif

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 28 2010, 06:44 PM
jeremy0
post Jul 28 2010, 07:47 PM

This
2,095 posts

theres a six speeder on mudah.....looks quite nice and owned by a teacher....

dear koolspyda, it would be great honour if you put up some spicy pictures soon...looking forward to it and would treat u to a lipsmacking strawberry shake in c.highlands anytime
koolspyda
post Jul 28 2010, 08:23 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 28 2010, 08:47 PM)
theres a six speeder on mudah.....looks quite nice and owned by a teacher....

dear koolspyda, it would be great honour if you put up some spicy pictures soon...looking forward to it and would treat u to a lipsmacking strawberry shake in c.highlands anytime
yup, the white 6speeder, pretty rare manual around. not that one cannot swap a 6 speeder for the earlier models.

jem, may wanna make another trip up before the year's end. got a little smitten too on ipoh's food!!!
PiggyAikz
post Jul 29 2010, 02:57 PM

193 posts

Hemh... been reading a little here and there... and some forums say people drop in celica gearboxes which comes equiped wit LSD. can this be done? FF car into a MR?

and...how much does a 2zz cost smile.gif
koolspyda
post Jul 29 2010, 04:17 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jul 29 2010, 03:57 PM)
Hemh... been reading a little here and there... and some forums say people drop in celica gearboxes which comes equiped wit LSD. can this be done? FF car into a MR?

and...how much does a 2zz cost smile.gif
whoa, hang on dude, notch yet crawl wanna run already cool2.gif

source for reliable info > spyderchat.com / mr2spyder.net. Remember in foreign sites you dont always get 'tongkat' info's. one needs to use "search" button & exhausted your queries before help is granted.

& no, LSD is not standard in all 2zz GB. its was an "optional" addition upon purchasing from showroom.

i dont know where you got your info from locally but if you choose to do a local 'goggle' search, you will probably find tht it points back to 1 source whistling.gif

have you exhausted all your choices of car options ; MX5, mini cooper, celica, RX8, S15, DC5 before deciding the holy grail of midship? laugh.gif I highly recommend to broaden the scope cause once smitten be a well sorted midship icons, others seemed.. tongue.gif

if you ever have a chance to read these
http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/kools...=Mags2read3.jpg
http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/kools...ags2read1_1.jpg
http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/kools...s2read1vsE2.jpg

and even Perfromace Car (issue 02 Feb 2009/Mid-Engined Icons) you will have a fair idea what you are getting into. Some car forum site(s) can be bias, or overly favoritism but get an idea from foreign motoring editors, well at least a bigger picture is seen.

owning a MR2 Spyder in malaysia is a small network of enthusiast, we are usually not your typical cocky, brash chumps (& we have some fair ladies enthusiast too)

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 29 2010, 04:58 PM
FerrariST
post Jul 29 2010, 04:33 PM

340 posts

Ahhhh geezzz I'm still in the mid of waiting for the loan to be approve, i can't wait any longer to drive the syder.
jeremy0
post Jul 29 2010, 04:54 PM

This
2,095 posts

Piggyaikz, I'm curious to why u need a LSD......u going to do a turbo-spyder project? biggrin.gif
koolspyda
post Jul 29 2010, 05:41 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 29 2010, 05:33 PM)
Ahhhh geezzz I'm still in the mid of waiting for the loan to be approve, i can't wait any longer to drive the syder.
nice to have met you & the spyder u r getting. just keep regular service & a pointer to check SMT fluids.
its was nice to see some beefier braces with it. not all or many spyders came with some added mod parts. rclxms.gif
PiggyAikz
post Jul 29 2010, 05:43 PM

193 posts

Haha no turbo smile.gif i am just looking for something with good handling and great fun on weekends esp ulu yam smile.gif

LSD... hehe was just wondering. I used to have a 1.5 way LSD on my old car smile.gif not MR...FR smile.gif
koolspyda
post Jul 29 2010, 05:44 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 29 2010, 05:54 PM)
Piggyaikz, I'm curious to why u need a LSD......u going to do a turbo-spyder project? biggrin.gif
if he is really into turbo he might as well get a built turbo MR-S, saves him time & effort.
its quite well done & hardly driven (owner shuttles mal-china & too little time to drive).

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jul 29 2010, 06:43 PM)
Haha no turbo smile.gif i am just looking for something with good handling and great fun on weekends esp ulu yam smile.gif

LSD... hehe was just wondering. I used to have a 1.5 way LSD on my old car smile.gif not MR...FR smile.gif
ahh touge kaki. yes we have couple of enthusiast who have been poisoned.

KK/titi gong, bentong/karak, batang kali, etc cool2.gif

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jul 29 2010, 05:49 PM
PiggyAikz
post Jul 29 2010, 11:15 PM

193 posts

Was hoping the MRS would be easier to maintain and driving top down sounds refreshing smile.gif and to daily drive... smile.gif
koolspyda
post Jul 30 2010, 07:17 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jul 30 2010, 12:15 AM)
Was hoping the MRS would be easier to maintain and driving top down sounds refreshing smile.gif and to daily drive... smile.gif
i got to break a terrible news to you, if you cant keep your hands in the pocket, there is always something you will tinker.

its called 'modditis', a-life long disease, difficult to cure, treating it always means having to splurge more . i know of some people who thinks they solved their addiction, they buy bigger & more expensive super/sport/cars. ironic isnt it? laugh.gif
PiggyAikz
post Jul 30 2010, 11:55 AM

193 posts

Haha yes... i understand the JDM madness and tuning madness smile.gif it gets addictive... but was hoping to get a MRS to daily drive and lock my hands in the pocket smile.gif
jeremy0
post Jul 30 2010, 04:30 PM

This
2,095 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 30 2010, 07:17 AM)
i got to break a terrible news to you, if you cant keep your hands in the pocket, there is always something you will tinker.

its called 'modditis', a-life long disease, difficult to cure, treating it always means having to splurge more . i know of some people who thinks they solved their addiction,  they buy bigger & more expensive super/sport/cars. ironic isnt it?  laugh.gif
No the solution is to buy a wagon/SUV/MPV. Works better if u have a spare car which can go to the touge also. tongue.gif
koolspyda
post Aug 2 2010, 12:51 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Jul 30 2010, 05:30 PM)
No the solution is to buy a wagon/SUV/MPV. Works better if u have a spare car which can go to the touge also.  tongue.gif
yeah, one of the guys has both the *MR-S & the new Type R.

saturday he took the Tyre R for a drive, on sunday he had a wonderful touge session with 5 other MR-S.
enjoying cars as they are wink.gif

*he did say he originally planned the MR-S as a 'sek foong' ride only but his couldnt resist dipping into modditis laugh.gif
icewolf3
post Aug 3 2010, 09:43 PM

46 posts

hi guys, m new here... i love mrs since god knows when... now still can't afford one yet... but soon. plan to sell off my 2008 honda city or trade in for a MRS... was checking MRS from mudah.com.my... love the white, blue n green ones...
hopefully i can get one soon.
TSayu
post Aug 19 2010, 08:35 AM

1,298 posts

~BUMP ~
yeehau86
post Aug 19 2010, 10:09 AM

128 posts

From Mudah

Toyota MRS Hard Top

This post has been edited by yeehau86: Aug 19 2010, 10:11 AM
chong237
post Aug 19 2010, 11:34 AM

30 posts

IMHO. If you are those craving for HP and Torque, go for other cars. But if you just want to look good and cruise around, it does the job perfectly. But have to let the 6 potter pass on the motorway.

Just my 2 cents. No offence. Cheers.
koolspyda
post Aug 19 2010, 02:09 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(chong237 @ Aug 19 2010, 12:34 PM)
IMHO. If you are those craving for HP and Torque, go for other cars. But if you just want to look good and cruise around, it does the job perfectly. But have to let the 6 potter pass on the motorway.

Just my 2 cents. No offence. Cheers.
wink.gif

quite true 237, after you (let you pass) tongue.gif
FerrariST
post Oct 6 2010, 11:57 AM

340 posts

Dear All,

Hope everyone are doing well with the work or study.

No recent update from Lowyat MRS thread, no?

Anyway im please to inform everyone i had finally collect my car already.
rotijon25
post Sep 7 2015, 07:13 PM

170 posts

Sorry for getting this thread up again, but how any advice on the market price on this car?

Carlist etc seem to be quoting 50k.

Anyone here with it looking to sell? =D
dstl1128
post Sep 8 2015, 12:37 PM

4,464 posts

Beware of engine overheat issue.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Sep 8 2015, 12:38 PM
amdxp
post Sep 8 2015, 03:36 PM

239 posts

Beware of the AMT issue, better go for manual !
Intrigue
post Sep 8 2015, 10:17 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(ayu @ May 16 2010, 02:52 AM)
Hi there,Plan to get a Toyota MR-S and i want to know about this car.

1.Can i know the car part is very Expensive ?

Please let me know as soon as can. Because i really don't know it is really worth to buy or not . I like this car look but i hear my friend
say this car got alot of problem.

If 500-600 shocked u.. i believe this car is not suitable for you. Even normal car using good oil and etc also cost around 500
deeplyheartbroken
post Sep 9 2015, 12:17 PM

774 posts

The only problem for prospective owners to worry is the SMT gearbox & sourcing of body parts (in case of accident). Getting the manual will make you less headache but it is also much harder to find. The engine is 1ZZ-FED, pretty much the same as the old Altis 1.8L engine; therefore maintenance wise should not be big worry.
koolspyda
post Sep 10 2015, 08:39 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Sep 7 2015, 08:13 PM)
Sorry for getting this thread up again, but how any advice on the market price on this car?

Carlist etc seem to be quoting 50k.

Anyone here with it looking to sell? =D
Many mr-s in Malaysia are from 2000-2001/2 model. A few are face-lifted 2003 model.

yes, carlist or mudah have some examples for sale. For strange reasons several new owners have cropped up of late, and a couple of ex owners too thought of returning to buy back the mrs.

Happy hunting
deeplyheartbroken
post Sep 10 2015, 10:41 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Sep 10 2015, 08:39 AM)
Many mr-s in Malaysia are from 2000-2001/2 model. A few are face-lifted 2003 model.

yes, carlist or mudah have some examples for sale. For strange reasons several new owners have cropped up of late, and a couple of ex owners too thought of returning to buy back the mrs.

Happy hunting
I am one of them but looking for the facelifted 6 speeder manual
rotijon25
post Sep 10 2015, 11:35 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Sep 10 2015, 11:41 AM)
http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2376336/20...d-like-new.html

This one?

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Sep 9 2015, 01:17 PM)
The only problem for prospective owners to worry is the SMT gearbox & sourcing of body parts (in case of accident). Getting the manual will make you less headache but it is also much harder to find. The engine is 1ZZ-FED, pretty much the same as the old Altis 1.8L engine; therefore maintenance wise should not be big worry.
Any reason why the manual parts will be hard to find?

http://becauserc.my/site/dennis-non-hairdresser-spec-mr-s/

I was super motivated by this one, so will it be easier/harder to get parts if i were to get a halfcut celica and transplant the engine and gearbox in?

For me, its currently a toss up between, the MRS or RX8 and maybe the Inspira. The MRS is one that i really like, at least once the bodykit(RM16k) is on and seems to be the cheapest to maintain and very fuel efficient. The RX8, bodykit everything ready for 60K, no worries about parts, maintenance and fuel is higher though.

This post has been edited by rotijon25: Sep 10 2015, 11:39 PM
deeplyheartbroken
post Sep 11 2015, 09:19 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Sep 10 2015, 11:35 PM)

This one?

I was super motivated by this one, so will it be easier/harder to get parts if i were to get a halfcut celica and transplant the engine and gearbox in?

For me, its currently a toss up between, the MRS or RX8 and maybe the Inspira. The MRS is one that i really like, at least once the bodykit(RM16k) is on and seems to be the cheapest to maintain and very fuel efficient. The RX8, bodykit everything ready for 60K, no worries about parts, maintenance and fuel is higher though.
The one you found in carlist is not a manual, it is SMT though. And I am looking for a unit without too much mods on the engine too.

And for the 2ZZ-GE conversion question, guessed you got to ask for more information from koolspyda.

amad108
post Sep 11 2015, 09:26 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

MRS is one of my choice either Honda S2K, both car is different layout but its definitely a car's car.. While S2K ranging from rm80-100k, MRS seem a cheaper option..
Hoping to own soon but not sure when..
koolspyda
post Sep 11 2015, 04:45 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Sep 11 2015, 12:35 AM)

This one?

honestly both have their fans.

We had a long time MR2 (SW20) friend who didn't move on to MR-S (ZZW30) but to the RX8. I can understand why.
One have to go back to the history of the SW20 an those owners who are smitten by it. It a long story best told when we were have TT sessions sometimes smile.gif

if I'm not mistaken the MRS would be the older of the trio you listed, in terms of years in malaysia. most are 2000-2002
a couple are 2003 onwards/ a high majority after 2003 are SMT. (because most buyers are rather likely to buy auto or auto like in urban areas, well at least the used cars sellers feel comfortable selling.

couple of us swapped to 2zz & 6 speed gb. once a while they do find its way as salvage clip.

I might suggest you get a change to read up some auto mags reviews. at least to help understand the kind of ownership you see yourself.

rotijon you have read the write up of my ride. i admit it may not be everyones type of cars hence i would advice to do a carefully research. The carlist link on the mrs is smt and it's also very few to have the VM180 kit. (It's NOT a 2008 mrs btw) Perhaps they changed the color? Back then the only vm180 kit mrs I know in Malaysia were white & silver. The white was sold to a lady n she turned it into rose gold (hahah) pinklah. Yes both were smt. I never met the JB owner who had the silver one.

I was smitten when i drove a mid engine (AW11). that time my only other opportunity to drive a "seemingly nice fast car" was a VW golf turbo (cabriolet) & a volvo (turbo). that was way back in 1989.

years after i managed to drive other platforms & ever tried out super/hyper cars. I can't afford super cars, well maybe if i saved all my money from then, maybe i can indulge in a old porsche. (old) but i probably will find it hard to maintain.

It depends on what you or one is after. I like to drive. I like how the mR (mid engine offers), FR is similar but weight distribution is different.

I think there is a youtube about MR vs FR (by tiff needle & a rally champ) and how each have their own pros & cons.

For now used parts (panels/doors) are reasonably stocked smongst the known source.

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Sep 10 2015, 11:41 AM)
I only know of 3-4 manual 6speed mrs (not swapped or post added on) in Malaysia. Rest I reckon are smt

Changing mrs 5 speed to mrs 6 speed gearbox isn't difficult. Straight install. Converting to 2zz needs a bit of know how but also not exhaustly difficult (unless those fella/shop don't know, in which happened a couple of cases)

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Sep 11 2015, 05:55 PM
rotijon25
post Sep 11 2015, 11:11 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Sep 11 2015, 05:45 PM)
honestly both have their fans.

We had a long time MR2 (SW20) friend who didn't move on to MR-S (ZZW30) but to the RX8. I can understand why.
One have to go back to the history of the SW20 an those owners who are smitten by it. It a long story best told when we were have TT sessions sometimes smile.gif

if I'm not mistaken the MRS would be the older of the trio you listed, in terms of years in malaysia. most are 2000-2002
a couple are 2003 onwards/ a high majority after 2003 are SMT. (because most buyers are rather likely to buy auto or auto like in urban areas, well at least the used cars sellers feel comfortable selling.

couple of us swapped to 2zz & 6 speed gb. once a while they do find its way as salvage clip.

I might suggest you get a change to read up some auto mags reviews. at least to help understand the kind of ownership you see yourself.

rotijon you have read the write up of my ride. i admit it may not be everyones type of cars hence i would advice to do a carefully research. The carlist link on the mrs is smt and it's also very few to have the VM180 kit. (It's NOT a 2008 mrs btw) Perhaps they changed the color? Back then the only vm180 kit mrs I know in Malaysia were white & silver. The white was sold to a lady n she turned it into rose gold (hahah) pinklah. Yes both were smt. I never met the JB owner who had the silver one.

I was smitten when i drove a mid engine (AW11). that time my only other opportunity to drive a "seemingly nice fast car" was a VW golf turbo (cabriolet) & a volvo (turbo). that was way back in 1989.

years after i managed to drive other platforms & ever tried out super/hyper cars. I can't afford super cars, well maybe if i saved all my money from then, maybe i can indulge in a old porsche. (old) but i probably will find it hard to maintain.

It depends on what you or one is after. I like to drive. I like how the mR (mid engine offers), FR is similar but weight distribution is different.

I think there is a youtube about MR vs FR (by tiff needle & a rally champ) and how each have their own pros & cons.

For now used parts (panels/doors) are reasonably stocked smongst the known source.
I only know of 3-4 manual 6speed mrs (not swapped or post added on) in Malaysia. Rest I reckon are smt

Changing mrs 5 speed to mrs 6 speed gearbox isn't difficult. Straight install. Converting to 2zz needs a bit of know how but also not exhaustly difficult (unless those fella/shop don't know, in which happened a couple of cases)
Ah, so you're the legendary owner of that ride.

Tbh, i've been reading up quite a bit about both and im more keen on the MRS compared to the RX8 as im not a fast driver, don't really need the additional space and would prefer a lower maintenance. In addition, i drove a MR once and i really liked the agility it offers. The other would be a S2000, but an old AP1 would set me back 130k much less an AP2(if i can find any), and not even including modding cost.

Do you mind sharing with me(via pm if its more comfortable to you) the workshop you usually use as well as the one that can do the engine transplant. In addition, may i know how much the transplant cost when you did it?

The only thing stopping me now is cost, i can get a very nice (with a nice bodykit) and well maintained RX8 for RM55-60k, but an MRS with the reckless and transplant seems to cost quite a bit more.

I doubt id get the one with the VM180 kit, as ill be getting the reckless if i were to get it. I've seen most of the kits for the MRS, and i must say, the reckless still looks the best. The detail and the way they accentuate all the best parts of the MRS.

This post has been edited by rotijon25: Sep 11 2015, 11:11 PM
koolspyda
post Sep 11 2015, 11:39 PM

222 posts

I'm also one of the trio admins for the Facebook (see sig) 😎

The Widebody kit wasn't quite in my plans earlier. The (midship) drive is still the allure. Sure it rated a measly 140hp (1zz) on the books. But if you can source the write up from designer of the mr-s. He wanted the mk3 to return back to the roots of pure unadulterated driving fun (of the aw11/first gen)

Well some might then retort and say "fun" is when you can thrash n beating/being faster/hold bragging rights/first off the lights/finish first/the boost (FI) moment.

There are many ways to extract "fun", but it's been researched 'nobody' really drives on the limit 24/7, probably only 10% of everyone's ownership that he/she sets it ablaze on tracks. there are circumstances that every driver will go thru daily. He wants to emphasis closer to the 80%~90%. Spirited drives falls into occasions within the 80~90%.

The wheels itself (for the Widebody) is one of the 100 units produced by Rays engineering. Specially made to coincide the 100pcs of APR Monocraft GT300 kit. I was lucky to purchase it off the japan auction.

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Sep 13 2015, 04:27 PM
rotijon25
post Sep 13 2015, 01:28 AM

170 posts

http://www.mudah.my/2000+2004+Toyota+MRS+1...op-39727706.htm

http://www.mudah.my/2000+Toyota+MRS+1+8+Ha...B+-39470891.htm

To anyone who is still looking this thread, these are the auto ones right?
koolspyda
post Sep 13 2015, 06:00 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Sep 13 2015, 02:28 AM)
SMT (sequential manual transmission)

they aren't auto but "assisted", basically SMT are without clutch pedal.

SMT doesn't have "D" mode (drive), whereas auto does. leave it in D mode, it AUTO changes gears, as you drive higher speed. SMT needs driver input to upshift/downshifts

usually these used car places list them as B (both) because most people/potential buyers don't know the meaning of SMT

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Sep 13 2015, 06:01 AM
rotijon25
post Sep 13 2015, 03:59 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Sep 13 2015, 07:00 AM)
SMT (sequential manual transmission)
they aren't auto but "assisted", basically SMT are without clutch pedal.

SMT doesn't have "D" mode (drive), whereas auto does. leave it in D mode, it AUTO changes gears, as you drive higher speed. SMT needs driver input to upshift/downshifts
usually these used car places list them as B (both) because most people/potential buyers don't know the meaning of SMT
Ah ok, that makes sense.

Im guessing this is the one they say is much harder to maintain and find parts for? In addition to significantly more work needed to complete the transplant?

koolspyda
post Sep 13 2015, 04:22 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Sep 13 2015, 04:59 PM)
Ah ok, that makes sense.

Im guessing this is the one they say is much harder to maintain and find parts for? In addition to significantly more work needed to complete the transplant?
If your end goal is 2zz. Then of course a manual mrs would be lesser of a hassle.

Cause from smt to manual to 2zz is 3 steps as oppose to from manual to 2zz

But...

There are those who are fine with just add a bolt on turbo for 1zz, even for smt.

It really depends the path one wants to embark on. Transplant opens another potential "wallet burning" wink.gif (car mods, as car guys sometimes complain it's never enough) wink.gif

But I (probably) see myself as more on the extreamer scale (enthusiast), there are those who are quite happy with just 1zz mr-S.

Do not make a mistake, to always need to "emulate" others or listen to friends, you need "more" p O W e R.

Remember to satisfy your 'need' as an driver (first). The organic appeal of the car platform. It's true some are (really) just addicted to power or turbo boosting, everything else is secondary or further down the line of appeal that evoke you as a driver.

I've done, partaked in local autocrossed, gymkhana, official hill drive events, occasional track, etc. All these probably led to my rides evolution to what it is. Widebody is and was not in my mind in the early years. Happiness in driving, any opportunity to go for hills drives (Touge) was.

rotijon25 the photo I shared on Malaysian mr2/mr-S FB page; motorblog on the silver mr-s. They lifted of from the auction sites and I'm not sure the destination of that said car, also grey imports are barred from taking used cars up to certain year manufacture of each particular make (if I'm not mistaken)

after the gap, and some years, then allowed as back in as chassic ap

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Sep 13 2015, 04:35 PM

0.0480sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:58 PM