Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V9, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

brian3455
post May 14 2010, 02:40 PM

68 posts

hi guys, congrats for V9 of this thread smile.gif

noobie1, i've updated the shooting details above, please assist to amend the 1st page accordingly. thanks!

as for the coming shooting, maxh3h3 agreed to have it in Melaka. those who have transport issue, feel free to post it here so that we can arrange for car-pooling. i have another 2 non-forumer friends pending for confirmation. will update again soon.

come on guys, let make it a successful shooting!!
brian3455
post May 19 2010, 10:17 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ May 19 2010, 06:05 PM)
8.30am the sun is high up, very bright and hot already... imo 6:30am has much better light... smile.gif
thanks for reminding. but start shooting at 6.30am means the model and the MUA have to wake-up at 5.00am to change outfit & make-up, which i think both of them dont want to do so, especially we'll have a long day on the day before smile.gif
brian3455
post May 24 2010, 12:10 PM

68 posts

hi guys, pls excuse me for out-of-topic for a while...

we're back from the melaka shooting yesterday with exhousted body, sun-burnt skin, new friends made, new skills leant, memory cards filled-up, and the most importantly - had lots of fun smile.gif

those who turned up are : maxh3h3, brian3455, jenson_hiew, warez & shadowshine.

i'd like to thanks everyone for your contribution :
- maxhehe & gf : you guys are such a couple of good actors, we had no problem directing you to act on whatever pose/expression that we wanted. we always get surprises when you guys came out with your own poses.
- ivy, the makeup artist : thanks for transforming tracey (max's gf) into gorgeous!
- jenson_hiew : thanks for your companion, the drive thru & fro melaka would be boring without you in the car, hehee...
- warez : eventhough you're relatively new to photography, but i was surprised to see that you have planty of ideas during directing the models. good job and hope to have shooting with you again!
- shadowshine : thanks for joining us, and giving us idea on the several shooting locations in melaka.

in summary, we learnt that it's not easy to do CLS especially when the light source is limited. our shooting on saturday night in stadthuys was very challenging even with wide aperture lenses (maxh3h3's 50mm f/1.4) & 2 flashes. shadowshine with his 35mm f1.8 (lit with built-in flash with difuser) turned out to have the most well-exposed pics. anyhow, the rest of us have a few nice shots too because the night scenery there was very nice & romantic. now, we really appreciate joe mcnally's skill/works on how he light up his model with CLS. *salute*

melaka is a great place to have photo shooting, we just had not enough time to cover all the places that we planned - the st xavier church, st john ruined church, the a'farmosa, etc. the shooting lasted till almost 12am midnight on the 1st day because everyone had fun twisting the setting in cameras & the flashes. time flies when we have fun smile.gif

as for the next day, we started shooting at about 9am, since it's a super hot day, we utilised the shades under the historical houses at the jonker walk. at about 11am when we wrap-up the session, we only covered 1/2 the street only, so i believe on a good weather day, we can have a nice full day shooting in jonker walk alone. we noticed a nice river side spot (next to jonker walk) which is nice for shooting too, but we're just had no time for it sad.gif

during the 2nd day shooting, we were lucky to have a historical house owner to invite us to go into his house for shooting. fyi, the houses may look small from the outside, but in fact it's very huge because it's very long (easily 250 ft long). the owner was very kind to show us all his antique furnitures (a few of them cost >RM100k!) maxh3h3 was very lucky to be able to sit on them for shooting too, hehee... we later found out that the house owner is one of the richest man in melaka shocking.gif then another art gallery owner also very kind to borrow us his antique bicycle for shooting, then he proudly showed us all his masterpieces, we also took this opputunity to shoot a few shots inside his artistic workplace.

we'll leave it to maxh3h3 to post up his PPed pic here in lyn, i believe he is now having headache choosing the photos coz he has a thousand over photos (from our cameras) to choose from, haha!

now we have the next shooting plan in mind, and will publish the details when the date & location have been finalised by the models - maxh3h3 & gf (yes, same models again, but totally different style this time). hehee...

stayed tuned for updates!

p/s : noobie1, pls post this info in the 1st page (below the maxh3h3's shooting session details) so that ppl can refer when they plan their shooting in melaka in future. thanks!

here's the group photo before we leave melaka (i know the white balance is out doh.gif ) :
from left : warez, maxh43h3, tracey, ivy, brian3455 & jenson_hiew (shadowshine left earlier, but warez's camera capture another group photo which includes shadowshine)

This post has been edited by brian3455: May 24 2010, 11:16 PM
brian3455
post May 26 2010, 11:05 AM

68 posts

in the case of SD card storage for travelling, my 8gb ultra II managed to store 3100+ Jpeg Fine (medium size) during my 9-day trip 2 weeks ago.

at the begining of the trip, it showed that i can take 1500 jpeg. then along the trip i just shoot, shoot and shoot, and didnt borther about the storage space since i have a backup sd card.

at the end with 3100+ Jpeg (a few RAW, about 10, for nice scenery), i still can take for another 100+. i think the estimation indicated by the camera is not accurate, it's under-estimated.

in conclusion, 8gb+8gb backup is more than enough for a 7-day trip. unless you're a super heavy shooter who shoot more than 1000 shots per day.
brian3455
post May 26 2010, 06:03 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 26 2010, 05:40 PM)
er..tat one..cant say not accurate lah..the manual itself got say mar..if the card can store more than 1k, then although ur card can store 1050,it still show 1k,1040 still show 1k...
but my case is - it said 1.5k, but i ended up shot 3.1k wor...
brian3455
post May 27 2010, 10:23 AM

68 posts

ya, i thought of the same reason too.

if, 8gb = 8192MB
then 8192MB / 1500 pics = 5.5MB size per pic

i think the camera understand that the max size per pic for Jpeg Fine Medium size is 5.5MB. but my case is about 2.5MB per pic. that's why i got more than 1.5k pics.

the camera "under promise over delivery" instead of the other way round. Nikon is very smart!!

brian3455
post May 28 2010, 10:38 AM

68 posts

nice pic maxh3h3!!

i notice that we have many nice shots on the 2nd day.

yes wravez, the rest man man edit... LOL
brian3455
post Jun 24 2010, 02:34 PM

68 posts

ya, the nikon centre is like andrew's home already.

last time when i was there waiting my gf (she's a make-up artist) to do make-up for their model, it's already late at night, but his wife was there watching the workshop/shooting session, his father was taking care of the dog downstair, his mother was serving us drink. whole family is helping out biggrin.gif
brian3455
post Jun 24 2010, 03:51 PM

68 posts

ops, i mean the nikon academy at kota damansara biggrin.gif

0.0800sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:06 PM