6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V9, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

General_Nic
post May 14 2010, 02:44 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

adui, since its at Melaka, i have to bail out of this photoshoot then sad.gif
mine is not transport issue, but parents issue tongue.gif
General_Nic
post May 15 2010, 09:22 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(02286 @ May 15 2010, 08:51 PM)
wanna ask... d90 kit lens --> 18-105 got AF and it is compatible with D5000 onot? i mean the AF...
QUOTE(fabianz03 @ May 15 2010, 09:21 PM)
How about D3k ? Can it use on it ?
u guys never read 1st page technical infos, do u? sweat.gif
General_Nic
post May 16 2010, 01:05 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(02286 @ May 15 2010, 09:44 PM)
got read.. somemore go dpreview.. wanna find the 18-105 lens review.. but cant find >.<
u findingg review? but u asked whether 18-105 can AF on D5000, but that is related to technical, ntg to do with review rite? sweat.gif

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ May 15 2010, 11:11 PM)
the DCIM sucks big time, not going there tomorrow. lighting dam poor and the stage is too freaking small.
pinjam the 'flashes' frm other photogs la
burst spam pics, sure got few shots same timing with ppl's flash 1 tongue.gif
General_Nic
post May 16 2010, 04:24 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 16 2010, 08:09 AM)
Agreed!
Haha, I saw one guy with D3 (not sure which variant) not using flash on his cam so I decided to turn off my flash since I'm getting 1/200s already. Wah the amount of useable pics in that period is horrible due to flashes from all over :S.
This time has a lot of light sources (flashes  laugh.gif ) and the LED spotlight sucks big time, all bulbs turned on also not white one. Chey!
issit quite an old guy? saw him using D3s with 70-200 VR drool.gif

here's some of my pic, not reli perfect, but i feel its ok considering its a 55-200 lens thumbup.gif
most of my stage shots r jz spamming blindly over my head without live view
using viewfinder cant reli get clean pics without sumthg blocking sweat.gif

General_Nic
post May 16 2010, 09:24 PM

3,508 posts

err, i tot u bought 2nd hand?
quoted frm Camera Acc Users' Price List thread

QUOTE(02286 @ May 10 2010, 08:33 PM)
Date Bought : 10 May 2010
Item(s) Bought and Price :  D5000 ( kitlens fullset with one extra battery and 3 years warranty) = RM 2200.00
Shop Name / Location: from kajang ppl
Details / Comments : 2nd hand, with SC <700 .. good condition,  just March 2010 device (2nd hand) ... quite worth...warranty is from fotokem one...
General_Nic
post May 16 2010, 09:32 PM

3,508 posts

maybe he kena cheated say still under 700 shutter count.... sweat.gif
General_Nic
post May 16 2010, 09:50 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(2286 @ May 16 2010, 09:40 PM)
nono.. when we go cod... it show DSC_07xx ... and he told me he din reset it be4... so i trusted him lo..=.=""
now duno either he been cheated or he cheated me la... sighs...
btw the device is working fine... somemore 3 years warranty.. if during tis 3 years.. it really defect be4 100k ... then only i can argue rite?

Added on May 16, 2010, 9:43 pmbtw, the nef file how to open ah? ... i use Capture NX 2.0.0 open then get the following msg : canot load bla bla...
but for .jpeg file ok wow... smile.gif ... ard updated...
buy 2nd hand stuffs shudn take risks, u shud check it yourself
when i accompany my fren buy 2nd hand D70, we brought laptop so can check shutter count on d spot, lol tongue.gif

btw guys, wats d difference between CaptureNX n ViewNX?
ViewNX is jz a pic viewer rite? but got some PP options too
issit CaptureNX got more options?

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 16 2010, 09:52 PM
General_Nic
post May 17 2010, 08:04 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(mcmicheal @ May 17 2010, 09:52 AM)

I'm a D3000 new user.
I would like to ask, what RAW file editor r u all using?
I'm trying to get 1 to edit my RAW file...

Thanks  notworthy.gif
use Nikon CaptureNX not bad oso

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ May 17 2010, 10:58 AM)
Previously I also headache with options like yours, either a zoom or a prime. But for prime I advise u better dont take the one without AF-S. U will b frustrating manual focusing when u wanna shoot some shot within seconds (unless u r very pro la  tongue.gif ), get the 35mm instead with AF-s.  In the end I've chosen the 55-200, coz travelling I will need that to cover details of ancient structure or watsoever la... 35 and 50mm drops within your kit lens coverage, it's just the aperture for low light n bokeh shot. My flash will solve the low light problem meanwhile  biggrin.gif

Added on May 17, 2010, 11:01 am

I've forgotten which pic I took using TTL mode eh... some with manual mode also >.<

Added on May 17, 2010, 11:21 am

I think this is underexposed, n I juz realize I using A mode oso >.< Pls advise yea...

other than slower shutter speed n higher ISO, another way is to use large aperture lenses tongue.gif

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 17 2010, 12:45 PM)
Went to DCIM,
Finally get to see zell in person,
dunno who is general nic or the rest of the active lyn member

This model very co-operative towards me because she gave me her email so that i could send her the pics
Everyone were looking at me, chibai so fast can get the girl liao tongue.gif

Meet Shenny

too bad cant meet u, i left b4 u met Zell n Illegaldragon sad.gif

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 17 2010, 03:56 PM)
50mm is good of course but i cant get into the range lar, all full and cannot move forward already
No flash gun also no problem, since all the lightning effect from all the flashgun around kaw kaw non stop
Pity those model keep on kena shoot from all the photog, go back stage sure blur blur rclxub.gif
50mm is nice, but if too far away frm stage, quite hard to get nice framing, especially with ppl's head n flashes blocking sweat.gif
we were late for the catwalk show so cant get nice spot infront of stage
so i switched to my fren's 55-200 instead

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ May 17 2010, 04:15 PM)
How you paste the EXIF here? I'm using Opanda EXIF 2.3
jz type wat the Exif shows here la
unless u printscrn n post here tongue.gif
General_Nic
post May 18 2010, 12:53 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(02286 @ May 18 2010, 12:34 AM)
just realized d5000 got a "filter" option... that can do star filter, soft filter..
i like the star filter although quite fake~...haha..
so.. not goin to purchase star filter 1st... tongue.gif
anyone using extreme SDHC 16GB class 10 ?
if u got the money then go ahead n splurge
but its no difference than class 6 on D5000(lame slow 4fps sweat.gif )
so its up to u to spend more on sumthg u dun utilize or sumthg cheaper

QUOTE(mcmicheal @ May 18 2010, 12:40 AM)
Thanks for your reply on my question earlier.

Guys... do u all use high speed SDHC cards?
Does it gives significant impact when you're capturing the picture?

Oh ya... im planning to get a lens hood.
Found that the HB-45 is compatible for my 18-55mm lens.
But it clip to the focus ring area. Does it slow down the focusing ? Or will it
damange the focus motor since there's a little weight down it.
y do u wan to buy the hood? can tell me reason?
dun tell me is to make d lens look cooler doh.gif
sory if i sounded harsh, but its quite true u dun reli nid hood on kitlens, or Nikon will provide it together
but i wont stop u frm buying la, it does help a bit when shooting outdoor under strong sunlight
jz advising maybe u shud save to get other stuffs
General_Nic
post May 18 2010, 04:15 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(mcmicheal @ May 18 2010, 10:59 AM)
Hi all,
I do shoot under the direct sun light. Found that the sun really kacau.
But the HB-45's hood juz extend few cm. Not much, i do think its useless.

But how about the high speed SDHC? Does it make any difference.
not say the hood totally useless, but i rather spend d cash on better stuffs, i thk d hood is overpriced

high speed card makes difference when shooting in continuous n video recording only
class 6 more than enuf for D3000 n D5000
if Sandisk their Ultra class 4 is good too

QUOTE(02286 @ May 18 2010, 12:13 PM)
i seem like saw ur wife's pic in chinese CARI D5000 forum?  is  it true?
pls spoiler pics or dun quote them sweat.gif

QUOTE(2286 @ May 18 2010, 02:23 PM)
when?
c 1st page for info n details
n spoiler pics or dun quote them
General_Nic
post May 20 2010, 12:09 AM

3,508 posts

for Nikon non-AF motor bodies users who want/love/like to use 85mm lens
an alternative frm Sigma, looks promising
Sigma 85mm f/1.4 HSM

price is sweat.gif
but may not be the final pricing, coz not officially out yet

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 20 2010, 12:14 AM
General_Nic
post May 20 2010, 02:45 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ May 20 2010, 02:01 PM)
y not samyang 85mm f/1.4? although its gonna be manual focus.
if opt for manual focus i rather get Nikkor 85mm lor, either f/1.4 or f/1.8 oso better
i prefer pay more for AF lens, or no choice manual focus at least get a better optics lens
General_Nic
post May 21 2010, 12:38 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ May 20 2010, 11:55 PM)
I want the built in motor and commander flash function of D90 only, should I or should I not?? Max, Nic, Celciuz... advise pls
its not bad to upgrade to D90 frm D5000, question is whether worth or nt
my opinion is not worth if jz for d AF motor
the hassle to get body AF motor jz to use 50 1.8 lens is so not worth
u oso not sure u'll like to always use 50mm, rite?
if its a 2nd hand D90 its much less worth to upgrade
but its up to u to thk its worth or not
no harm in upgrade to D90 if u reli wan/nid it

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 21 2010, 12:25 AM)
^hmm...about the lens..what the purpose u used it for??
maybe want to try prime lens bokelicious taste? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 21 2010, 12:48 AM
General_Nic
post May 21 2010, 12:46 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 21 2010, 12:41 AM)
^but is just prime lens bokeh,well,he did suggest 35mm 1.8...
i guess he's deciding either D90+50 1.8 or 35 1.8 cos either oso similar priced
if he sell n get D90 top up rm300 + rm400 for 50 1.8 = rm700
get 35 1.8 = rm800

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ May 21 2010, 12:41 AM)
y not just learn how to manual focus? i believe that would be best.....and save cost alot tongue.gif

Added on May 21, 2010, 12:42 am

50mm af f/1.4g would be good but image not as sharp as 50mm ai-s f/1.4
problm is most/majority/many non-DSLR users frens will laugh at u for having "noob" lens that cant AF laugh.gif
not that it reli matters actually, but dun u jz hate it when they laugh without knowing? tongue.gif
where's that thread talking abt ppl dunno capabilities of DSLR d? haha

btw, Nikon sharpest 50mm is the 50mm AiS f/1.2 brows.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 21 2010, 12:47 AM
General_Nic
post May 21 2010, 01:16 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ May 21 2010, 12:53 AM)
hahaha...i noe the limitation at times where the things is moving but once u get use to it, no problem at all except abit oof if really too fast.
is it? they can laugh as much as they like as long i capture wat i like and wan. else how did the old timers mf all the time? af started back in nikon f3 where u need to buy an af motor to attach to it.

btw, im trying to bid the 50mm f/1.2 off ebay.
u tell them that they'll tell u now AF era, MF is noob doh.gif
wateva, i dun mind MF, jz if newer AF lenses r better n can afford it, better get AF lenses

after u got your 50 1.2 lets TT, i want molest brows.gif

QUOTE(ongdandy @ May 21 2010, 12:53 AM)

HDR from d3000. 
testing only
overcooked

QUOTE(ongdandy @ May 21 2010, 12:56 AM)
50mm f1.8mm D = RM400++
50mm f1.4mm D = RM900++
50mm f1.4mm G = RM 1.5k to 1.6k++
50 f/1.4D i tot at least 1k?
n 50 f/1.4G dropped price? last i heard/seen cheapest is 1.7k

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ May 21 2010, 01:06 AM)
Haha... Nic that's wat is in my mind now!! my D5k SC is 5k now.... lol if I top up around 200+ I will get a used 1 month old D90 with 1.5k SC complete box set. Worth upgrading???  tongue.gif
if u thk is worth then upgrade lor
IMO u oredi made up your mind laugh.gif

General_Nic
post May 23 2010, 04:14 AM

3,508 posts

u sure u checked D90 latest price? coz D90 is actually quite cheap now, abt rm3.3k
but if reli u cant afford d rm3.3k then no choice la, haha

for your info, D5000 is using same sensor as D90, so D5000 image quality is closlely similar to D90
which means way better than D3000
D5000 only lack of the body AF motor, top LCD, n built in wireless flash commander in D90
as for AF, D3000 n D5000 shud be similar if u meant the kitlens, as the AF speed is based on the lens AF motor speed
not related to body
n for battery life, i dunno how much lifespan u want, but any DSLR battery life is way much longer lasting than any compact cam, it shudn be a problm
my D5000 can take up to 600-800 pics depending on u use flash or not

so D5000 is the choice all d way, plus u've tried D90 i bet that D3000 wont be up to your expectations
(not say that D3000 lousy, sory D3000 users tongue.gif )
u can afford D5000, go for it, around rm2.5k
if cant then cheaper D3000 is your choice
but sure plenty ppl will advise u go for D90, do it if u can wrestle out that extra cash

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 23 2010, 04:15 AM
General_Nic
post May 23 2010, 11:51 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ May 23 2010, 08:19 AM)
oh D90 got built-in wireless flash commander? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif D80 got ar?  brows.gif
D80 oso got nod.gif

QUOTE(ongdandy @ May 23 2010, 11:16 AM)
wtf? you think your camera so good is it..if i got enough budget i fucuk your camera back.
QUOTE(ongdandy @ May 23 2010, 11:37 AM)
don't always recommend the d90 to the newbies.. if they dunno how to use, why recommend them the d90 for?

as mrjaxx says "don't ever advise me to buy D90.."
oh u doh.gif sweat.gif
wat im trying to say is if he's expecting D3000 performance close to D90 he'll be greatly disappointed
thats y i said sory if i sounded harsh, jz comparing, not saying D3000 is crap
if ppl tried n played with FX bodies then expect APS-C bodies to give similar performance is totally impossible wat sweat.gif

n i lost count how many ppl got D90 as their 1st DSLR rolleyes.gif
D90 is oso very beginner frenly la, only more features to use
unless u r talking abt D300/D300s then maybe not suitable for beginner la

General_Nic
post May 24 2010, 10:03 PM

3,508 posts

many reasons that may made it blur
most likely is your big aperture
other reasons include tripod not stable enuf, shake cause during pressing shutter button, shake caused by mirror lifting up, VR left ON
General_Nic
post May 25 2010, 04:26 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ May 24 2010, 11:41 PM)
no money to buy. im eye-ing for the 24mm f/1.4 but the price rm6k =.="
love this lens too, not a uwa, but IMO a very very nice walkabout street photography lens

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ May 25 2010, 09:44 AM)
true2..but d90+116+sb900 is oso damn light with im using for fashion show :: d300+mb10+70-200VR+sb900  rclxm9.gif
come back home can feel develope some little muscle after 3-4 hours of shooting..
bro, rmbr d weight of 200 f2? brows.gif

QUOTE(oyama @ May 25 2010, 09:48 AM)
btw..regarding lens.. can we use DX lense on FX body? thus the picture quality poor or not? future plan might want to own a full frame body.. thus buying non-DX lense will be advantage i think..isnt so?
Nikon users r lucky, FX bodies still can use DX lenses, Canon cannot...
u'll lose on resolution when using FX bodies in DX mode
but for some lenses using DX lenses in FX mode create very nice lomo tunnel effect
seen b4 pics taken with 35mm f/1.8G on D3 body thumbup.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 25 2010, 10:01 AM)
Aiya bro, I deleted it on the way back to Melaka. Cause the flare is really horrible sad.gif.
sumtimes flares can give nice ray of light effect, but not all d time la

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 25 2010, 10:20 AM)
You probably need to either HDR, or shoot 2 pics, and mask out the nicely exposed clouds. The dynamic range is just too high for DSLR's sensor to handle.
Nikon's ADL helps a bit in improving d dynamic range
quite effective IMO except when d contrast between bright n dark areas r too high la

QUOTE(oyama @ May 25 2010, 11:04 AM)
see..so for a beach view with blue sky on a sunny day can use GND? if the day is not bright enough then CPL would be gud then?

sweat.gif need to practice more..  but getting some ideas regarding this matter..thanks!~  rclxms.gif

need to refer back DCIM few months ago i think they mentioned about filter..  hmm.gif
if dun have d necessary hardwares, HDR is your last resort, can try ADL oso

QUOTE(Vampyr3 @ May 25 2010, 11:38 AM)
Did test out some slightly bogeh shots during my trip....didn't turn out so good i guess.....must be coz i forgot to correct the whitebalance thingy with this flower

This one turned out ok i think.....can improve??

was it reli dark that time when u took d pics? very underexposed to me especially d 1st pic
maybe u shud try spot metering instead of matrix

QUOTE(luvjim @ May 25 2010, 12:10 PM)
Hi, may I ask d40x can use 16gb memory card CL6?

I wanted to buy 16gb extreme III for my coming Bali trip. Will be going there for 7days. Afraid current 8gb not enough for my shooting. sweat.gif
if can afford more expensive higher class SD cards, then of cos no harm getting better 1
for D40x IMO u dun reli nid so much space if u jz take pics in Jpeg fine
IINM D40x with 8Gb card can take near or more than 1.2k pics
i thk 1x8Gb card is gud enuf for u, if u want to be safe, take 2x8Gb

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ May 25 2010, 03:51 PM)
than maybe get the 12-24mm
how bout cropped sensor widest lens? brows.gif
http://www.yamiya.com.my/store/product.php...0&cat=0&page=10
General_Nic
post May 25 2010, 06:57 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 25 2010, 06:50 PM)
ADL only adjust contrast and brightness, doesn't help the sensor. Merely another form of PP done by the camera.
i mean help improving image results in terms of dynamic range lor, in-built editing la

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0495sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:37 PM